Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
East of Eden: New and Recent Essays
This volume includes one dozen new and recent essays on John Steinbeck¿s East of Eden (1952). First commissioned by the late Professor Michael J. Meyer, a renowned Steinbeck scholar, the volume was originally designed to commemorate the 60th anniversary of the novel¿s publication. The collection contains critical writings from a variety of literary fields. These include the biographical essay, travel essay, essays on varied themes in Steinbeck¿s works, writings on critical approaches to Steinbeck and also a new essay on Elia Kazan¿s film adaptation of the novel. This volume is of interest for the Steinbeck scholar, the literary critic and also the casual reader seeking new ways to understand Steinbeck¿s novel.
The Essential Criticism of John Steinbeck's of Mice and Men
Ever since it was first published in 1937, Of Mice and Men has grown in both popularity and critical esteem. A staple of American literature for more than seven decades, this slender but powerful work by John Steinbeck continues to be studied by high school classes as well as by literary scholars throughout the world. In order to help readers more fully appreciate Of Mice and Men's legacy, Michael J. Meyer has collected some of the most valuable criticism about the novel. Divided by decade, The Essential Criticism of John Steinbeck's Of Mice and Men provides an overview of the critical responses that span the seventy years the book has been in print. In addition, this volume assembles important articles and book excerpts from critics and reviewers, while also reproducing a number of the early reviews and highlighting some of the most significant studies that have appeared.
John Steinbeck
Each book in the Bloom''s Major Short Story Writers series covers four to six short stories, offering a variety of viewpoints by different critics on the important aspects of each work. These guides introduce critical analysis to students of literature.'
John Steinbeck: The Years of Greatness, 1936-1939
This volume is derived from papers presented by the North American delegates at the Third International Steinbeck Congress, held in May 1990 in Honolulu, Hawaii, under the co-sponsorship of the Steinbeck Society of Japan and the International Steinbeck Society. These ten essays, arranged in two parts, seek to provide a clearer understanding of Steinbeck's life and work during his most productive period. Part I discusses Steinbeck's women, with emphasis on the function of the feminine from original perspectives. It uses recent research sources, including some of the Steinbeck-Gwyn love letters and poems. Part II explores the Depression trilogy--"In Dubious Battle", "Of Mice and Men," and "The Grapes of Wrath"--Steinbeck's major works of the late 1930s.
Obscene in the Extreme: The Burning and Banning of John Steinbeck's The Grapes of Wrath
Few books have caused as big a stir as John Steinbeck's The Grapes of Wrath, when it was published in April 1939. By May, it was the nation's No. 1 bestseller, flying off store shelves at a rate of 10,000 copies a week. But in Kern County, California--the Joads' newfound home--the book was burned publicly and banned from library shelves. Obscene in the Extreme tells the remarkable story behind that fit of censorship, a moment when several lives collided as part of a larger class struggle roiling the nation. It is a superb historical narrative that serves as an engaging window into an extraordinary time of upheaval in America, when as Steinbeck put it, "A revolution is going on."
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
John Steinbeck : The Contemporary Reviews
This volume is the first to collect the critical responses of Steinbeck's generation to his many fiction and non-fiction works, as they appeared from the late 1920s onwards. The articles trace the record of Steinbeck's progress through the 1930s and go on to reflect Steinbeck's steady series of achievements through the 1960s, including his attainment of the Nobel Prize in 1967. These articles offer a means of seeing Steinbeck's writings as they were perceived by his contemporaries, whose task it was first to evaluate and interpret them for an ever-growing readership.
A New Study Guide to Steinbeck's Major Works with Critical Explications
A sequel to Hayashi's study guide series--A Study Guide to Steinbeck: A Handbook to His Major Works (Part 1, 1974, Part II, 1979), this book collects contributions from a new generation of Steinbeck teachers-scholars who employ the latest research materials, now available in both published and unpublished sources--letters and manuscripts along with pertinent time-tested materials. They include Dr. Louis Owens, a prominent teacher, scholar, critic, and novelist, along with Charlotte Hadella, Barbara Heavilin, Helen Lojek, Michael J. Meyer, and Patrick W. Shaw, who discuss frequently taught Steinbeck titles with enthusiasm and expertise, keeping the classroom audience in mind. Each chapter presents background, plot synopsis, critical explication, topics for research and discussion, and selected bibliography.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
