Business Calculus DemystifiedTake the FEAR OUT of Business Calculus Business Calculus Demystified clarifies the concepts and processes of calculus and demonstrates their applications to the workplace. Best-selling math author Rhonda Huettenmueller uses the same combination of winning step-by-step teaching techniques and real-world business and mathematical examples that have succeeded with tens of thousands of college students, regardless of their math experience or affinity for the subject. With Business Calculus Demystified, you learn at your own pace. You get explanations that make differentiation and integration -- the main concepts of calculus -- understandable and interesting. This unique self-teaching guide reinforces learning, builds your confidence and skill, and continuously demonstrates your mastery of topics with a wealth of practice problems and detailed solutions throughout, multiple-choice quizzes at the end of each chapter, and a "final exam" that tests your total understanding of business calculus. Learn business calculus for the real world! This self-teaching course conquers confusion with clarity and ease. Get ready to: Get a solid foundation right from the start with a review of algebra Master one idea per section -- develop complete, comfortable understanding of a topic before proceeding to the next Find a well-explained definition of the derivative and its properties; instantaneous rates of change; the power, product, quotient, and chain rules; and layering different formulas Learn methods for maximizing revenue and profit... minimizing cost... and solving other optimizing problems See how to use calculus to sketch graphs Understand implicit differentiation, rational functions, exponents, and logarithm functions -- learn how to use log properties to simplify differentiation Painlessly learn integration formulas and techniques and applications of the integral Take a "final exam" and grade it yourself! Who says business calculus has to be boring? Business Calculus Demystified is a lively and entertaining way to master this essential math subject!
Calculus Essentials for DummiesMany colleges and universities require students to take at least one math course, and Calculus I is often the chosen option. Calculus Essentials For Dummies provides explanations of key concepts for students who may have taken calculus in high school and want to review the most important concepts as they gear up for a faster-paced college course. Free of review and ramp-up material, Calculus Essentials For Dummies sticks to the point with content focused on key topics only. It provides discrete explanations of critical concepts taught in a typical two-semester high school calculus class or a college level Calculus I course, from limits and differentiation to integration and infinite series. This guide is also a perfect reference for parents who need to review critical calculus concepts as they help high school students with homework assignments, as well as for adult learners headed back into the classroom who just need a refresher of the core concepts.
Calculus for DummiesCalculus For Dummies, 2nd Edition (9781118791295) is now being published as Calculus For Dummies, 2nd Edition (9781119293491). While this version features an older Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the new release and should not be considered a different product. Slay the calculus monster with this user-friendly guide Calculus For Dummies, 2nd Edition makes calculus manageable--even if you're one of the many students who sweat at the thought of it. By breaking down differentiation and integration into digestible concepts, this guide helps you build a stronger foundation with a solid understanding of the big ideas at work. This user-friendly math book leads you step-by-step through each concept, operation, and solution, explaining the "how" and "why" in plain English instead of math-speak. Through relevant instruction and practical examples, you'll soon learn that real-life calculus isn't nearly the monster it's made out to be. Calculus is a required course for many college majors, and for students without a strong math foundation, it can be a real barrier to graduation. Breaking that barrier down means recognizing calculus for what it is--simply a tool for studying the ways in which variables interact. It's the logical extension of the algebra, geometry, and trigonometry you've already taken, and Calculus For Dummies, 2nd Edition proves that if you can master those classes, you can tackle calculus and win. Includes foundations in algebra, trigonometry, and pre-calculus concepts Explores sequences, series, and graphing common functions Instructs you how to approximate area with integration Features things to remember, things to forget, and things you can't get away with Stop fearing calculus, and learn to embrace the challenge. With this comprehensive study guide, you'll gain the skills and confidence that make all the difference. Calculus For Dummies, 2nd Edition provides a roadmap for success, and the backup you need to get there.
Fundamentals of CalculusFeatures the techniques, methods, and applications of calculus using real-world examples from business and economics as well as the life and social sciences An introduction to differential and integral calculus, Fundamentals of Calculus presents key topics suited for a variety of readers in fields ranging from entrepreneurship and economics to environmental and social sciences. Practical examples from a variety of subject areas are featured throughout each chapter and step-by-step explanations for the solutions are presented. Specific techniques are also applied to highlight important information in each section, including symbols interspersed throughout to further reader comprehension. In addition, the book illustrates the elements of finite calculus with the varied formulas for power, quotient, and product rules that correlate markedly with traditional calculus. Featuring calculus as the "mathematics of change," each chapter concludes with a historical notes section. Fundamentals of Calculus chapter coverage includes: Linear Equations and Functions The Derivative Using the Derivative Exponents and Logarithms Differentiation Techniques Integral Calculus Integrations Techniques Functions of Several Variables Series and Summations Applications to Probability Supplemented with online instructional support materials, Fundamentals of Calculus is an ideal textbook for undergraduate students majoring in business, economics, biology, chemistry, and environmental science.
Master Math : CalculusGet ready to master the principles and operations of calculus! Master Math: Calculus is a comprehensive reference guide that explains and clarifies the principles of calculus in a simple, easy-to-follow style and format. Beginning with the most basic fundamental topics and progressing through to the more advanced, the book helps clarify calculus using step-by-step procedures and solutions, along with examples and applications. A complete table of contents and a comprehensive index enable you to quickly find specific topics, and the approachable style and format facilitate an understanding of what can be intimidating and tricky skills. Perfect for both students who need some extra help or rusty professionals who want to brush up, Master Math: Calculus will help you master everything from series and approximations to partial derivatives.
Master Math: Pre-CalculusGet ready to master the principles and formulas of pre-calculus! Master Math: Pre-Calculus is a comprehensive reference guide that explains and clarifies pre-calculus and introductory calculus principles in a simple, easy-to-follow style and format. Beginning with the most basic fundamental topics and progressing through to the more advanced topics that will help prepare you for introductory calculus, the book helps clarify pre-calculus using step-by-step procedures and solutions, along with examples and applications. A complete table of contents and a comprehensive index enable you to quickly find specific topics, and the approachable style and format facilitate an understanding of what can be intimidating and tricky skills. Perfect for both students who need some extra help or rusty professionals who want to brush up on their basic math skills, Master Math: Pre-Calculus will help you master everything from sets and functions to derivatives and integrals.
Pre-Calculus Workbook for DummiesGet a handle on pre-calculus in a pinch! If you're tackling pre-calculus and want to up your chances of doing your very best, this hands-on workbook is just what you need to grasp and retain the concepts that will help you succeed. Inside, you'll get basic content review for every concept, paired with examples and plenty of practice problems, ample workspace, step-by-step solutions, and thorough explanations for each and every problem. In Pre-Calculus Workbook For Dummies, you'll also get free access to a quiz for every chapter online! With all of the lessons and practice offered, you'll memorize the most frequently used formulas, see how to avoid common mistakes, understand tricky trig proofs, and get the inside scoop on key concepts such as quadratic equations. Get ample review before jumping into a calculus course Supplement your classroom work with easy-to-follow guidance Make complex formulas and concepts more approachable Be prepared to further your mathematics studies. Whether you're enrolled in a pre-calculus class or you're looking for a refresher as you prepare for a calculus course, this is the perfect study companion to make it easier.
PrecalculusSchaum's has Satisfied Students for 50 Years. Now Schaum's Biggest Sellers are in New Editions! For half a century, more than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them study faster, learn better, and get top grades. Now Schaum's celebrates its 50th birthday with a brand-new look, a new format with hundreds of practice problems, and completely updated information to conform to the latest developments in every field of study. Schaum's Outlines-Problem Solved More than 100,000 sold! This book has been updated to reflect the latest course scope and sequence. Review problems have been added after key chapters as well as more supplementary practice problems. An informal level discussion of limits, continuity, and derivatives has also been added, as well as additional information on the algebra of the dot product, exponential form of complex numbers, and conic sections in polar coordinates-plus business applications such as average rate of change, price/demand and science applications, including projectiles.
PrecalculusAuthoritative. Concise. Easy-to-Use. Schaum's Easy Outlines are streamlined versions of best-selling Schaum's titles. We've shortened the text, broadened the visual appeal, and introduced study techniques to make mastering any subject easier. The results are reader-friendly study guides with all the impressive academic authority of the originals. Schaum's Easy Outlines feature: Concise text that focuses on the essentials of the course Quick-study sidebars, icons, and other instructional aids Sample problems and exercises for review
Precalculus : A Self-teaching GuideThe fastest, easiest way to master precalculus . . . by doing it! Do logarithmic functions throw you for a loop? Does the challenge of finding an inverse function leave you overwhelmed? Does the Law of Cosines make you feel clueless? With this helpful, easy-to-follow guide, you will gain total command of these precalc concepts-and many more-in no time at all. Precalculus: A Self-Teaching Guide includes an algebra review and complete coverage of exponential functions, log functions, and trigonometry. Whether you are studying precalculus for the first time, want to refresh your memory, or need a little help for a course, this clear, interactive primer will provide you with the skills you need. Precalculus offers a proven self-teaching approach that lets you work at your own pace-and the frequent self-tests and exercises reinforce what you've learned. Turn to this one-of-a-kind teaching tool and, before you know it, you'll be solving problems like a mathematician!
Schaum's Outline of Beginning CalculusThis easy-to-understand calculus study aid may be useful for those who are new to the subject. It offers a well-illustrated, step-by-step introduction that moves along at an easy-to-keep-up-with pace. Use it with your textbook or for independent study to improve your comprehension and boost your grades. It features 226 solved and 513 skill-building supplementary problems. This will make up the calculus segments of one-semester liberal arts courses and the various one-semester Calculus courses for business or life sciences. This book should also address weaker students in general freshman calculus and high school advanced placement courses.
Schaum's Outline of Theory and Problems of PrecalculusThis text reviews algebra and trigonometry and prepares students for first year calculus courses at university. It shows in simple steps how to apply the basic principles to actual problems, and is suitable for struggling students who want to master the basics before starting a university level calculus course.
Teach Yourself: Understand CalculusThis is a comprehensive introduction to calculus that will help you to progress to an advanced level. It offers a carefully graded series of lessons that introduce the basic concepts of differentiation and integration, and helps you to achieve understanding through clearly worked examples, diagrams and exercises.
Calculus: A Complete IntroductionCalculus: A Complete Introduction is the most comprehensive yet easy-to-use introduction to using calculus. Written by a leading expert, this book will help you if you are studying for an important exam or essay, or if you simply want to improve your knowledge. The book covers all areas of calculus, including functions, gradients, rates of change, differentiation, exponential and logarithmic functions and integration. Everything you will need to know is here in one book. Each chapter includes not only an explanation of the knowledge and skills you need, but also worked examples and test questions.
The Calculus Diaries : How Math Can Help You Lose Weight, Win in Vegas, and Survive a Zombie ApocalypseKiss My Math meets A Tour of the Calculus Jennifer Ouellette never took math in college, mostly because she-like most people-assumed that she wouldn't need it in real life. But then the English-major-turned-award-winning-science-writer had a change of heart and decided to revisit the equations and formulas that had haunted her for years. The Calculus Diaries is the fun and fascinating account of her year spent confronting her math phobia head on. With wit and verve, Ouellette shows how she learned to apply calculus to everything from gas mileage to dieting, from the rides at Disneyland to shooting craps in Vegas-proving that even the mathematically challenged can learn the fundamentals of the universal language.
The Calculus LifesaverFor many students, calculus can be the most mystifying and frustrating course they will ever take. The Calculus Lifesaver provides students with the essential tools they need not only to learn calculus, but to excel at it. All of the material in this user-friendly study guide has been proven to get results. The book arose from Adrian Banner's popular calculus review course at Princeton University, which he developed especially for students who are motivated to earn A's but get only average grades on exams. The complete course will be available for free on the Web in a series of videotaped lectures. This study guide works as a supplement to any single-variable calculus course or textbook. Coupled with a selection of exercises, the book can also be used as a textbook in its own right. The style is informal, non-intimidating, and even entertaining, without sacrificing comprehensiveness. The author elaborates standard course material with scores of detailed examples that treat the reader to an "inner monologue"--the train of thought students should be following in order to solve the problem--providing the necessary reasoning as well as the solution. The book's emphasis is on building problem-solving skills. Examples range from easy to difficult and illustrate the in-depth presentation of theory. The Calculus Lifesaver combines ease of use and readability with the depth of content and mathematical rigor of the best calculus textbooks. It is an indispensable volume for any student seeking to master calculus. Serves as a companion to any single-variable calculus textbook Informal, entertaining, and not intimidating Informative videos that follow the book--a full forty-eight hours of Banner's Princeton calculus-review course--is available at Adrian Banner lectures More than 475 examples (ranging from easy to hard) provide step-by-step reasoning Theorems and methods justified and connections made to actual practice Difficult topics such as improper integrals and infinite series covered in detail Tried and tested by students taking freshman calculus
The Calculus StoryCalculus is the key to much of modern science and engineering. It is the mathematical method for the analysis of things that change, and since in the natural world we are surrounded by change, the development of calculus was a huge breakthrough in the history of mathematics. But it is alsosomething of a mathematical adventure, largely because of the way infinity enters at virtually every twist and turn...In The Calculus Story David Acheson presents a wide-ranging picture of calculus and its applications, from ancient Greece right up to the present day. Drawing on their original writings, he introduces the people who helped to build our understanding of calculus. With a step by step treatment, hedemonstrates how to start doing calculus, from the very beginning.
Counterexamples in CalculusCounterexamples in Calculus serves as a supplementary resource to enhance the learning experience in single variable calculus courses. This book features carefully constructed incorrect mathematical statements that require students to create counterexamples to disprove them. Methods of producing these incorrect statements vary. At times the converse of a well-known theorem is presented. In other instances crucial conditions are omitted or altered or incorrect definitions are employed. Incorrect statements are grouped topically with sections devoted to: Functions, Limits, Continuity, Differential Calculus and Integral Calculus. This book aims to fill a gap in the literature and provide a resource for using counterexamples as a pedagogical tool in the study of introductory calculus.
E-Z PrecalculusAn experienced math teacher breaks down precalculus into a series of easy-to-follow lessons designed for self-teaching and rapid learning. The book features a generous number of step-by-step demonstration examples as well as numerous tables, graphs, and graphing-calculator-based approached. Major topics covered include: algebraic methods; functions and their graphs; complex numbers; polynomial and rational functions; exponential and logarithmic functions; trigonometry and polar coordinates; counting and probability; binomial theorem; calculus preview; and much more. Exercises at the end of each chapter reinforce key concepts while helping students monitor their progress. Barron's continues its ongoing project of improving, updating, and giving contemporary new designs to its popular Easy Way books, now re-named Barron's E-Z Series. The new cover designs reflect the books' brand-new page layouts, which feature extensive two-color treatment, a fresh, modern typeface, and many more graphics. In addition to charts, graphs, and diagrams, the graphic features include instructive line illustrations, and where appropriate, amusing cartoons. Barron's E-Z books are self-teaching manuals designed to improve students' grades in many academic and practical subjects. In most cases, the skill level ranges between senior high school and college-101 standards. In addition to their self-teaching value, these books are also widely used as textbooks or textbook supplements in classroom settings. E-Z books review their subjects in detail and feature short quizzes and longer tests to help students gauge their learning progress. All exercises and tests come with answers. Subject heads and key phrases are set in a second color as an easy reference aid.
Everyday Calculus : Discovering the Hidden Math All Around UsCalculus. For some of us, the word conjures up memories of ten-pound textbooks and visions of tedious abstract equations. And yet, in reality, calculus is fun, accessible, and surrounds us everywhere we go. In Everyday Calculus, Oscar Fernandez shows us how to see the math in our coffee, on the highway, and even in the night sky. Fernandez uses our everyday experiences to skillfully reveal the hidden calculus behind a typical day's events. He guides us through how math naturally emerges from simple observations--how hot coffee cools down, for example--and in discussions of over fifty familiar events and activities. Fernandez demonstrates that calculus can be used to explore practically any aspect of our lives, including the most effective number of hours to sleep and the fastest route to get to work. He also shows that calculus can be both useful--determining which seat at the theater leads to the best viewing experience, for instance--and fascinating--exploring topics such as time travel and the age of the universe. Throughout, Fernandez presents straightforward concepts, and no prior mathematical knowledge is required. For advanced math fans, the mathematical derivations are included in the appendixes. Whether you're new to mathematics or already a curious math enthusiast, Everyday Calculus invites you to spend a day discovering the calculus all around you. The book will convince even die-hard skeptics to view this area of math in a whole new way.
Humongous Book of Calculus ProblemsLet's face it. Math textbooks are not published out of the goodness of people's hearts. They're published because most of the people who write them will get fired from their jobs as college professors if they don't publish a textbook every now and then. This book, however, is an exception. Mike Kelley, bestselling author of The Complete Idiot's Guide to Calculus, has taken what appears to be a typical calculus workbook, chock full of solved calculus problems, and made notes in the margins adding missing steps and simplifying concepts and solutions so that what could be baffling to students is made perfectly clear. It's as if your best friend-who just happens to be a calculus wiz and who's painfully aware of your mathematical shortcomings-got a hold of your calculus workbook and went bananas with his ink pen, illuminating everything you find confusing! He was even kind enough to write legibly! No longer will befuddled students cry out in frustration- "Where the %#*! did that number come from?" or "Did they skip steps in this answer or am I just dumb?".
Pre-Calculus for DummiesThe fun and easy way to learn pre-calculus Getting ready for calculus but still feel a bit confused? Have no fear. Pre-Calculus For Dummies is an un-intimidating, hands-on guide that walks you through all the essential topics, from absolute value and quadratic equations to logarithms and exponential functions to trig identities and matrix operations. With this guide's help you'll quickly and painlessly get a handle on all of the concepts ? not just the number crunching ? and understand how to perform all pre-calc tasks, from graphing to tackling proofs. You'll also get a new appreciation for how these concepts are used in the real world, and find out that getting a decent grade in pre-calc isn't as impossible as you thought. Updated with fresh example equations and detailed explanations Tracks to a typical pre-calculus class Serves as an excellent supplement to classroom learning If "the fun and easy way to learn pre-calc" seems like a contradiction, get ready for a wealth of surprises in Pre-Calculus For Dummies!
Precalculus Mathematics in a NutshellGeometry is a very beautiful subject whose qualities of elegance, order, and certainty have exerted a powerful attraction on the human mind for many centuries. . . Algebra's importance lies in the student's future. . . as essential preparation for the serious study of science, engineering, economics, or for more advanced types of mathematics. . . The primary importance of trigonometry is not in its applications to surveying and navigation, or in making computations about triangles, but rather in the mathematical description of vibrations, rotations, and periodic phenomena of all kinds, including light, sound, alternating currents, and the orbits of the planets around the sun. In this brief, clearly written book, the essentials of geometry, algebra, and trigonometry are pulled together into three complementary and convenient small packages, providing an excellent preview and review for anyone who wishes to prepare to master calculus with a minimum of misunderstanding and wasted time and effort. Students and other readers will find here all they need to pull them through.