Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
Aesop's Fables
by
Timeless tales of inspiration and enlightenment In ancient Greece, a storyteller named Aesop captivated his listeners with tales both beautiful and instructive. Thousands of years later, his fables--from "The Ant and the Grasshopper" to "The Boy Who Cried Wolf" to "The Goose That Laid the Golden Egg" to "The Tortoise and the Hare"--have lost none of their power to guide and entertain. This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.
The Arabian Nights
by
"The Arabian Nights" is the title which encompasses all of the Persian, Arabian and Indian folk tales which have made their way into western culture over hundreds of years. This collection was edited by Andrew Lang, and his selections were made with the purpose of making the tales more suitable and interesting to a general audience.
The Blue Fairy Book
by
This beloved volume collects the world's most famous fairy tales, children's classics, and bedtime stories. The enchanting stories of childhood every girl and boy--and their parents--cherish are collected in this first volume of Andrew Lang's renowned Fairy Books. Originally published in 1889, this treasure trove of timeless tales of action and adventure, enchanted forests and fantastic creatures, and monsters and magic has thrilled readers all over the world for generations. The thirty-seven stories in this collection--including such favorites as "Little Red Riding Hood," "Sleeping Beauty," "Cinderella," "Rumpelstiltskin," "Beauty and the Beast," "Hansel and Gretel," "Puss in Boots," "Aladdin," and "Jack the Giant-Killer"--are more than just fairy tales; they are a priceless keepsake of childhood memories that will stand the test of time now and forever. The Blue Fairy Book also includes "The Bronze Ring," "Prince Hyacinth and the Dear Little Princess," "East of the Sun and West of the Moon," "The Yellow Dwarf," "The Tale of a Youth Who Set Out to Learn What Fear Was," "The Master-Maid," "Why the Sea Is Salt," "Felicia and the Pot of Pinks," "The White Cat," "The Water-Lily," "The Gold-Spinners," "The Terrible Head," "The Story of Pretty Goldilocks," "The History of Whittington," "The Wonderful Sheep," "Little Thumb," "The Forty Thieves," "Snow-White and Rose-Red," "The Goose-Girl," "Toads and Diamonds," "Prince Darling," "Blue Beard," "Trusty John," "The Brave Little Tailor," "A Voyage to Lilliput," "The Princess on the Glass Hill," "The Story of Prince Ahmed and the Fairy Paribanou," "The Black Bull of Norroway," and "The Red Etin."
The Cloak of Dreams
by
A man is changed into a flea and must bring his future parents together in order to become human again. A woman convinces a river god to cure her sick son, but the remedy has mixed consequences. A young man must choose whether to be close to his wife's soul or body. And two deaf mutes transcend their physical existence in the garden of dreams. Strange and fantastical, these fairy tales of Béla Balázs (1884-1949), Hungarian writer, film critic, and famous librettist of Bluebeard's Castle, reflect his profound interest in friendship, alienation, and Taoist philosophy. Translated and introduced by Jack Zipes, one of the world's leading authorities on fairy tales, The Cloak of Dreams brings together sixteen of Balázs's unique and haunting stories. Written in 1921, these fairy tales were originally published with twenty images drawn in the Chinese style by painter Mariette Lydis, and this new edition includes a selection of Lydis's brilliant illustrations. Together, the tales and pictures accentuate the motifs and themes that run throughout Balázs's work: wandering protagonists, mysterious woods and mountains, solitude, and magical transformation. His fairy tales express our deepest desires and the hope that, even in the midst of tragedy, we can transcend our difficulties and forge our own destinies. Unusual, wondrous fairy tales that examine the world's cruelties and twists of fate, The Cloak of Dreams will entertain, startle, and intrigue.
The Complete Fairy Tales
by
Charles Perrault's versions gave classic status to the humble fairy tale, and it is in his telling that the stories of Little Red Riding-Hood, Sleeping Beauty, Cinderella and the rest have been passed down from the seventeenth century to the present day. Perrault's tales were enjoyed in thesalons of Louis XIV as much as they were loved in the nursery, and it is their wit, humour, and lively detail that capture the imagination of adult and child alike. They transmute into vivid fantasies the hidden fears and conflicts by which children are affected: fears of abandonment, or worse,conflicts with siblings and parents, and the trials of growing up. This new translation by Christopher Betts exactly captures the tone and flavour of Perrault's world, and the delightful spirit of the originals.In addition to the familiar stories, this edition also includes the three verse tales - the troubling account of patient Griselda, the comic Three Silly Wishes, and the notorious Donkey-Skin. The introduction explores the nature of the stories and how they have been interpreted; Gustave Dore'swonderful illustrations add a further dimension to their imaginative power.
Giambattista Basile's the Tale of Tales, or Entertainment for Little Ones
by
The Tale of Tales, made up of forty-nine fairy tales within a fiftieth frame story, contains the earliest versions of celebrated stories like Rapunzel, All-Fur, Hansel and Gretel, The Goose That Laid the Golden Egg, Sleeping Beauty, and Cinderella. The tales are bawdy and irreverent but also tender and whimsical, acute in psychological characterization and encyclopedic in description. They are also evocative of marvelous worlds of fairy-tale unreality as well as of the everyday rituals of life in seventeenth-century Naples. Yet because the original is written in the nonstandard Neopolitan dialect of Italian--and was last translated fully into English in 1932--this important piece of Baroque literature has long been inaccessible to both the general public and most fairy-tale scholars. Giambattista Basile's "The Tale of Tales, or Entertainment for Little Ones" is a modern translation that preserves the distinctive character of Basile's original. Working directly from the original Neopolitan version, translator Nancy L. Canepa takes pains to maintain the idiosyncratic tone of The Tale of Tales as well as the work's unpredictable structure. This edition keeps the repetition, experimental syntax, and inventive metaphors of the original version intact, bringing Basile's words directly to twenty-first-century readers for the first time. This volume is also fully annotated, so as to elucidate any unfamiliar cultural references alongside the text. Giambattista Basile's "The Tale of Tales, or Entertainment for Little Ones" is also lushly illustrated and includes a foreword, an introduction, an illustrator's note, and a complete bibliography. The publication of The Tale of Tales marked not only a culmination of the interest in the popular culture and folk traditions of the Renaissance period but also the beginning of the era of the artful and sophisticated "authored" fairy tale that inspired and influenced later writers like Charles Perrault and the Brothers Grimm. Giambattista Basile's "The Tale of Tales, or Entertainment for Little Ones" offers an excellent point of departure for reflection about what constitutes Italian culture, as well as for discussion of the relevance that forms of early modern culture like fairy tales still hold for us today. This volume is vital reading for fairy-tale scholars and anyone interested in cultural history.
The Green Fairy Book
by
This beloved volume collects the world's most famous fairy tales, children's classics, and bedtime stories. The enchanting stories of childhood every girl and boy cherish are collected in this volume of Andrew Lang's renowned Fairy Books. Originally published in 1892, this treasure trove of timeless tales of action and adventure, enchanted forests and fantastic creatures, and monsters and magic has thrilled readers all over the world for generations. The forty-two stories in this collection--including favorites such as "The Three Little Pigs," "The Story of the Three Bears," and "The Twelve Huntsman"--are more than just fairy tales; they are priceless keepsakes of childhood memories that will stand the test of time now and forever.
Hans Christian Andersen's Fairy Tales
by
Eighteen enduring fables from one of the world's best-loved storytellers Hans Christian Andersen's fairy tales have long delighted millions of readers, young and old, and inspired myriad film, stage, and musical adaptations. This collection, including beloved classics "The Emperor's New Clothes," "The Snow Queen" (the basis for the blockbuster film Frozen), and "The Little Match Girl," is the perfect introduction to Andersen's groundbreaking use of plain language and realistic settings to explore life's great mysteries. Inspired by the ancient Danish legends and stories from Arabian Nights that his father told him, Andersen composed his fables to be read aloud, and approached difficult subjects and complex truths with a directness that children and adults still find refreshing nearly two centuries later. From "The Red Shoes" to "The Dream of Little Tuk," this selection of Hans Christian Andersen fairy tales is a must-have for readers who already know his work by heart, and those discovering the singular power of his imagination for the very first time. This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.
The Red Fairy Book
by
This beloved volume collects the world's most famous fairy tales, children's classics, and bedtime stories. The enchanting stories of childhood every girl and boy cherish are collected in this volume of Andrew Lang's renowned Fairy Books. Originally published in 1890, this treasure trove of timeless tales of action and adventure, enchanted forests and fantastic creatures, and monsters and magic has thrilled readers all over the world for generations. The thirty-seven stories in this collection--including favorites such as "Jack and the Beanstalk," "Rapunzel," "The Three Dwarfs," "The Golden Goose," and "The Nettle Spinner"--are more than just fairy tales; they are priceless keepsakes of childhood memories that will stand the test of time now and forever.
The Sorcerer's Apprentice : An Anthology of Magical Tales
A diverse new anthology that traces the meaning and magic of the sorcerer's apprentice tale throughout history "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" might conjure up images of Mickey Mouse from the Disney film Fantasia, or of Harry Potter. As this anthology reveals, however, "sorcerer's apprentice" tales--in which a young person rebels against, or complies with, an authority who holds the keys to magical powers--have been told through the centuries, in many languages and cultures, from classical times to today. This unique and beautifully illustrated book brings together more than fifty sorcerer's apprentice stories by a plethora of writers, including Ovid, Sir Walter Scott, and the Brothers Grimm. From Goethe's "The Pupil in Magic" to A. K. Ramanujan's "The Guru and His Disciple," this expansive collection presents variations of a classic passed down through countries and eras. Readers enter worlds where household objects are brought to life and shape-shifting occurs from human to animal and back again. We meet two types of apprentice: "The Humiliated Apprentice," a foolish bumbler who wields magic ineffectively and promotes obedience to authority; and "The Rebellious Apprentice" who, through ambition and transformative skills, promotes empowerment and self-awareness. In an extensive introduction, esteemed fairy-tale scholar Jack Zipes discusses the significance and meaning of the apprentice stories, the contradictions in popular retellings, and the importance of magic as a tool of resistance against figures who abuse their authority. Twenty specially commissioned black-and-white illustrations by noted artist Natalie Frank bring the stories to visual life. The Sorcerer's Apprentice enlightens and entertains readers with enduring, spellbinding tales of sorcery that have been with us through the ages.
The Tale of Genji
by
Written in the eleventh century, this exquisite portrait of courtly life in medieval Japan is widely celebrated as the world’s first novel. Genji, the Shining Prince, is the son of an emperor. He is a passionate character whose tempestuous nature, family circumstances, love affairs, alliances, and shifting political fortunes form the core of this magnificent epic. Royall Tyler’s superior translation is detailed, poetic, and superbly true to the Japanese original while allowing the modern reader to appreciate it as a contemporary treasure. Supplemented with detailed notes, glossaries, character lists, and chronologies to help the reader navigate the multigenerational narrative, this comprehensive edition presents this ancient tale in the grand style that it deserves.
Tales from Grimm
by
Renowned children's book author Wanda G#65533;g presents these classic Grimm tales, accompanied by whimsical illustrations. Drawing on her peasant heritage and childlike sense of wonder, G#65533;g translated the fairy tales in a uniquely American vernacular tongue. In Tales from Grimm we find her touch on timeless stories like "Hansel and Gretel," "The Musicians of Bremen," "Rapunzel," and others. No other editions of Grimm's fairy tales for children can match G#65533;g's richness of prose and the humor, beauty, and sheer magic of her pictorial interpretation. Best known for her Newbery Honor winner Millions of Cats, Wanda G#65533;g (1893-1946) was a pioneer in children's book writing, integrating text and illustration. Born in New Ulm, Minnesota, she rose to international acclaim. In recognition of her artistry, she was posthumously awarded the 1958 Lewis Carroll Shelf Award for Millions of Cats and the 1977 Kerlan Award for her body of work.
Victorian Fairy Tales: The Revolt of the Fairies and Elves
This is an illuminating, irresistible, and unique anthology of fairy tales written by some of the most notable writers of the Victorian period. Presented chronologically, the twenty-two tales in this volume, by such masters of storytelling as Charles Dickens, Lewis Carroll, Oscar Wilde, Rudyard Kipling, and Edith Nesbitt, will enthrall readers of all ages. Most of the tales are accompanied by their original illustrations, including work by some of the best known illustrators of the time. Through his insightful introduction to the collection and his introduction to each tale, Jack Zipes brings to life the history of the development of the fairy tale, presents background material on the authors, and describes the role the fairy tale played in Victorian society.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
Mufaro's Beautiful Daughters
A Caldecott Honor and Reading Rainbow book, this memorable retelling of Cinderella is perfect for introducing children to the fairy tale as well as the history, culture, and geography of the African nation of Zimbabwe. Inspired by a traditional African folktale, this is the story of Mufaro, who is proud of his two beautiful daughters. Nyasha is kind and considerate, but everyone--except Mufaro--knows that Manyara is selfish and bad-tempered. When the Great King decides to take a wife and invites the most worthy and beautiful daughters in the land to appear before him, Mufaro brings both of his daughters--but only one can be queen. Who will the king choose Award-winning artist John Steptoe's rich cultural imagery of Africa earned him the Coretta Scott King Award for Mufaro's Beautiful Daughters. The book also went on to win the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award. This stunning story is a timeless treasure that readers will enjoy for generations. Coretta Scott King Award for Illustration Caledcott Honor Reading Rainbow Book Boston Globe-Horn Book
Lon Po Po
by
This Caldecott Medal-winning, classic retelling of Little Red Riding Hood is one of the most celebrated picture books of our time. With characteristic flair and energy, award-winning artist Ed Young illustrates the ancient Chinese version of the favorite fairy tale Little Red Riding Hood. Young's vibrant, yet delicate, pastels and watercolors add drama to the deftly translated story. ★ ''A gripping variation of Red Riding Hood. This is an outstanding achievement that will be pored over again and again." --School Library Journal, starred review
The Complete Hans Christian Andersen Fairy Tales
by
Here are all 159 tales written by Hans Christian Anderson, the master Danish storyteller, accompanied by illustrations from Arthur Rackham, Hans Richter, and other. These cherished tales include: • "The Little Mermaid" • "Thumbelina" • "The Emperor's New Clothes" • "The Snow Queen" • "Ib and Little Christina" • "The Princess and the Pea"
The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm
by
When Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm published their Children's and Household Tales in 1812, followed by a second volume in 1815, they had no idea that such stories as "Rapunzel," "Hansel and Gretel," and "Cinderella" would become the most celebrated in the world. Yet few people today are familiar with the majority of tales from the two early volumes, since in the next four decades the Grimms would publish six other editions, each extensively revised in content and style. For the very first time, The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm makes available in English all 156 stories from the 1812 and 1815 editions. These narrative gems, newly translated and brought together in one beautiful book, are accompanied by sumptuous new illustrations from award-winning artist Andrea Dezsö. From "The Frog King" to "The Golden Key," wondrous worlds unfold--heroes and heroines are rewarded, weaker animals triumph over the strong, and simple bumpkins prove themselves not so simple after all. Esteemed fairy tale scholar Jack Zipes offers accessible translations that retain the spare description and engaging storytelling style of the originals. Indeed, this is what makes the tales from the 1812 and 1815 editions unique--they reflect diverse voices, rooted in oral traditions, that are absent from the Grimms' later, more embellished collections of tales. Zipes's introduction gives important historical context, and the book includes the Grimms' prefaces and notes. A delight to read, The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm presents these peerless stories to a whole new generation of readers.
The Oxford Book of Modern Fairy Tales
by
The stories of magic and transformation that we call fairy tales are among the oldest known forms of literature, and many the most popular. "Jack and the Beanstalk," "Sleeping Beauty," "Little Red Ridinghood"--these ageless tales seem to have been written an almost magically long time ago. Yet fairy tales are still being created to this very day. And while they are principally directed to children and have child protagonists, these modern fairy tales, like the classics, have messages to those of all ages. In The Oxford Book of Modern Fairy Tales, Alison Lurie has collected forty tales that date from the late nineteenth century up to the present. Here are trolls and princesses, magic and mayhem, morals to be told and lessons to be learned--all the elements of the classic fairy tale, in new and fantastical trappings. In Charles Dickens's "The Magic Fishbone," we find an unusually pragmatic princess who uses her one wish only after she has tried to solve her family's problems through hard work. Angela Carter's "The Courtship of Mr. Lyon" is a "Beauty and the Beast" tale with a contemporary twist, in which Beauty leaves Beast to live the high life, becoming a society brat who "smiled at herself in mirrors too much." And in T.H. White's "The Troll," we find out how his father killed the troll that tried to eat him. In these enchanting pages we also see how modern writers have taken the classic fairy tale and adapted it to their times in a variety of ways. Francis Browne, for example, takes a poke at Victorian standards of beauty in "The Story of Fairyfoot," about a young prince who is cast out of the kingdom of Stumpinghame because, unlike the fashion of the town, his feet are too small. Some writers, such as Ursula Le Guin, have taken familiar myths and turned them upside down. In Le Guin's "The Wife's Story," a mother sees the horrible transformation of her husband into "the hateful one", and then watches her sister and neighbors mob and kill this "creature whose hair had begun to come away all over his body...the eyes gone blue...staring at me out of that flat, soft, white face." And L.F. Baum's "The Queen of Quok," contains a castle and royal characters in a kingdom run by common sense and small-town American values. At one point the boy king of Quok has to borrow a dime from his counsellor to buy a ham sandwich, and greed transforms his young queen-to-be into a haggard old woman. With tales from the likes of Nathaniel Hawthorne, Oscar Wilde, Carl Sandburg, James Thurber, Donald Barthelme, Louise Erdrich, and many more, The Oxford Book of Modern Fairy Tales brings us through the modern-day world of the supernatural, the mystical, the moral, and reminds us that fairy tales are still very much alive.
Victorian Fairy Tales
by
The Victorian fascination with fairyland is reflected in the literature of the period, which includes some of the most imaginative fairy tales ever written. They offer the shortest path to the age's dreams, desires, and wishes. Authors central to the nineteenth-century canon such as Thackeray,Oscar Wilde, Ford Madox Ford, and Rudyard Kipling wrote fairy tales, and authors primarily famous for their work in the genre include George MacDonald, Juliana Ewing, Mary De Morgan, and Andrew Lang. This anthology brings together fourteen of the best stories, by these and other outstandingpractitioners, to show the vibrancy and variety of the form and its ability to reflect our deepest concerns.The stories in this selection range from pure whimsy and romance to witty satire and darker, uncanny mystery. Paradox proves central to a form offered equally to children and adults. Fairyland is a dynamic and beguiling place, one that permits the most striking explorations of gender, suffering,love, family, and the travails of identity. Michael Newton's introduction and notes explore the literary marketplace in which these tales appeared, as well as the role they played in contemporary debates on scepticism and belief. The book also includes a selection of original illustrations by someof the masters of the field such as Richard Doyle, Arthur Hughes, and Walter Crane.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
