LibGuides: Working with Literature: Historical Context

Best Searches for Books

Understanding what life was like when a work was written can help you understand the work.

You can find more in OneSearch by combining a time period with terms like history, life, society, religion, women, customs, social, philosophy, thought or culture. For instance, if you wanted to have a better understanding of Chaucer’s Wife of Bath you could combine the time period “middle ages” with women to learn more about women’s roles in the middle ages. Use quotes for phrases and the plus sign for a more effective search.

"middle ages" +women

Here are some more examples:

ancient +religion
“colonial period”+society
"civil war" +culture
renaissance +philosophy
reformation +life
"Elizabethan age" +history
"20th century" +customs
"21st century" +social
Enlightenment
+thought
"daily life" +colonial

Featured Series: American Decades

American Decades: 1920-1929 Cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, public librarians and general researchers who need to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history (1900-1999).
American Decades: 1930-1939 Cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, public librarians and general researchers who need to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history (1900-1999).
American Decades: 1940-1949 Cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, public librarians and general researchers who need to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history (1900-1999).
American Decades: 1950-1959 Cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, public librarians and general researchers who need to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history (1900-1999).
American Decades: 1960-1969 Cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, public librarians and general researchers who need to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history (1900-1999).
American Decades: 1970-1979 Cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, public librarians and general researchers who need to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history (1900-1999).

Featured Series: World Eras

American Decades: Ancient Mesopotamia, 3300-331 B.C.E. Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of ancient Mesopotamia, 3300-331 B.C.E.
World Eras: Ancient Egypt, 2615 - 332 B.C.E. Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of ancient Egypt, 2615-332 B.C.E.
World Eras: Classical Greek Civilization, 800-323 B.C.E. Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of classical Greek civilization, 800-323 B.C.E.
World Eras: European Renaissance and Reformation, 1350-1600 Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of the European Renaissance and Reformation, 1350-1600.
World Eras: Imperial China, 617-1644 Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of imperial China, 617-1644.
World Eras: Industrial Revolution in Europe, 1750-1914 Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of the Industrial Revolution in Europe, 1750-1914.
World Eras: Medieval Europe, 814-1350 Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of medieval Europe, 814-1350.
World Eras: Rise and Spread of Islam, 622-1500 Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of the rise and spread of Islam, 622-1500.
World Eras: Roman Republic and Empire, 264 B.C.E.- 476 C.E. Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of the Roman Republic and Empire, 264 B.C.E.-476 C.E.
World Eras: West African Kingdoms, 500-1590 Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of West African kingdoms, 500-1590.