LibGuides: Working with Literature: Criticism & Theory

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

A Companion to Literary Theory Introduces readers to the modes of literary and cultural study of the previous half century A Companion to Literary Theory is a collection of 36 original essays, all by noted scholars in their field, designed to introduce the modes and ideas of contemporary literary and cultural theory. Arranged by topic rather than chronology, in order to highlight the relationships between earlier and most recent theoretical developments, the book groups its chapters into seven convenient sections: I. Literary Form: Narrative and Poetry; II. The Task of Reading; III. Literary Locations and Cultural Studies; IV. The Politics of Literature; V. Identities; VI. Bodies and Their Minds; and VII. Scientific Inflections. Allotting proper space to all areas of theory most relevant today, this comprehensive volume features three dozen masterfully written chapters covering such subjects as: Anglo-American New Criticism; Chicago Formalism; Russian Formalism; Derrida and Deconstruction; Empathy/Affect Studies; Foucault and Poststructuralism; Marx and Marxist Literary Theory; Postcolonial Studies; Ethnic Studies; Gender Theory; Freudian Psychoanalytic Criticism; Cognitive Literary Theory; Evolutionary Literary Theory; Cybernetics and Posthumanism; and much more. Features 36 essays by noted scholars in the field Fills a growing need for companion books that can guide readers through the thicket of ideas, systems, and terminologies Presents important contemporary literary theory while examining those of the past The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Literary Theory will be welcomed by college and university students seeking an accessible and authoritative guide to the complex and often intimidating modes of literary and cultural study of the previous half century.
Critical Approaches to Literature: Feminist Salem Press' Critical Approaches to Literature series is designed to provide students and researchers with fresh insight into the various critical approaches to literary criticism. With thought-provoking analysis of several works in a wide variety of genres, each volume helps readers develop tools to analyze literary works using a particular critical lens. Volumes begin with an overview of the critical approach and guide readers on what to look for when evaluating works using that particular critical lens. Critical Contexts: Four essays, each over 4,000 words in length, provide readers with a thorough understanding of the cultural, critical, and historical context of the critical approach. Historical Background discusses how the time period influenced the development of this form of criticism across different cultures, as well as what makes this school of criticism relevant to a contemporary audience. Critical Reception surveys major pieces of criticism that mark the evolution of this school of literary criticism and identifies major critics. Critical Lens represents a close reading of a work using the specific critical lens. Comparative Analysis analyzes the specific school of criticism in light of another form of criticism across two or three different works. Critical Readings of Ten Works: In-depth essays, over 5,000 words in length, examine ten individual works using the specific critical approach. Works covered include short fiction, poetry, drama, and film. Works span across historical periods to demonstrate the breadth of this approach to literary critical analysis. Additional Resources include a Glossary of Frequent Terms, Timeline, About the Editor, About the Contributors, General Bibliography and Subject index. This new series provides literature students with the tools necessary to study each approach to literary criticism using a unique combination of critical contexts and analysis of several works. This arrangement allows readers to develop a deeper understanding of each critical approach alongside several in-depth critical readings of popular works spanning many different genres. A must for literature collections of all sizes.
Also available in print: PN56.F46 C75 2018
Critical Approaches to Literature: Moral Salem Press' Critical Approaches to Literature series is designed to provide students and researchers with fresh insight into the various critical approaches to literary criticism. With thought-provoking analysis of several works in a wide variety of genres, each volume helps readers develop tools to analyze literary works using a particular critical lens. Volumes begin with an overview of the critical approach and guide readers on what to look for when evaluating works using that particular critical lens. Critical Contexts: Four essays, each over 4,000 words in length, provide readers with a thorough understanding of the cultural, critical, and historical context of the critical approach. - Historical Background discusses how the time period influenced the development of this form of criticism across different cultures, as well as what makes this school of criticsm relevant to a contemporary audience Critical Reception surveys major pieces of criticism that mark the evolution of this school of ltierary criticism and identifies major critics Critical Lens represents a close reading of a work using the specific critical lens Comparataive Analysis analyzes the specific school of criticism in light of another form of criticism across two or three different works Critical Readings of Ten Works: In-depth essays, over 5,000 words in length, examine ten individual works using the specific critical approach. Works covered include short fiction, poetry, drama, and film. Works span across historical periods to demonstrate the breadth of this approach to literary critical analysis. Additional Resources include a Glossary of Frequent Terms, Timeline, About the Editor, About the Contributors, General Bibliography and Subject index . This new series provides literature students with the tools necessary to study each approach to literary criticism using a unique combination of critical contexts and analysis of several works. This arrangement allows readers to develop a deeper understanding of each critical approach alongside several in-depth critical readings of popular works spanning many different genres. A must for literature collections of all sizes.
Also available in print: PS169.W83 C75 2017
Critical Approaches to Literature: Multicultural Salem Press' Critical Approaches to Literature series is designed to provide students and researchers with fresh insight into the various critical approaches to literary criticism. With thought-provoking analysis of several works in a wide variety of genres, each volume helps readers develop tools to analyze literary works using a particular critical lens. Volumes begin with an overview of the critical approach and guide readers on what to look for when evaluating works using that particular critical lens. Critical Contexts: Four essays, each over 4,000 words in length, provide readers with a thorough understanding of the cultural, critical, and historical context of the critical approach. Historical Background discusses how the time period influenced the development of this form of criticism across different cultures, as well as what makes this school of criticism relevant to a contemporary audience. Critical Reception surveys major pieces of criticism that mark the evolution of this school of literary criticism and identifies major critics. Critical Lens represents a close reading of a work using the specific critical lens. Comparative Analysis analyzes the specific school of criticism in light of another form of criticism across two or three different works. Critical Readings of Ten Works: In-depth essays, over 5,000 words in length, examine ten individual works using the specific critical approach. Works covered include short fiction, poetry, drama, and film. Works span across historical periods to demonstrate the breadth of this approach to literary critical analysis. Additional Resources include a Glossary of Frequent Terms, Timeline, About the Editor, About the Contributors, General Bibliography and Subject index. This new series provides literature students with the tools necessary to study each approach to literary criticism using a unique combination of critical contexts and analysis of several works. This arrangement allows readers to develop a deeper understanding of each critical approach alongside several in-depth critical readings of popular works spanning many different genres. A must for literature collections of all sizes.
Also available in print: PN56.M8 C75 2017
Critical Approaches to Literature: Psychological Salem Press' Critical Approaches to Literature series is designed to provide students and researchers with fresh insight into the various critical approaches to literary criticism. With thought-provoking analysis of several works in a wide variety of genres, each volume helps readers develop tools to analyze literary works using a particular critical lens. Volumes begin with an overview of the critical approach and guide readers on what to look for when evaluating works using that particular critical lens. Critical Contexts: Four essays, each over 4,000 words in length, provide readers with a thorough understanding of the cultural, critical, and historical context of the critical approach. - Historical Background discusses how the time period influenced the development of this form of criticism across different cultures, as well as what makes this school of criticsm relevant to a contemporary audience Critical Reception surveys major pieces of criticism that mark the evolution of this school of ltierary criticism and identifies major critics Critical Lens represents a close reading of a work using the specific critical lens Comparataive Analysis analyzes the specific school of criticism in light of another form of criticism across two or three different works Critical Readings of Ten Works: In-depth essays, over 5,000 words in length, examine ten individual works using the specific critical approach. Works covered include short fiction, poetry, drama, and film. Works span across historical periods to demonstrate the breadth of this approach to literary critical analysis. Additional Resources include a Glossary of Frequent Terms, Timeline, About the Editor, About the Contributors, General Bibliography and Subject index . This new series provides literature students with the tools necessary to study each approach to literary criticism using a unique combination of critical contexts and analysis of several works. This arrangement allows readers to develop a deeper understanding of each critical approach alongside several in-depth critical readings of popular works spanning many different genres. A must for literature collections of all sizes.
Also available in print: PN56.P93 P69 2017
The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory A comprehensive encyclopedia of literary and cultural theory. Covers Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory. This encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory. With explanations of complex terms and important theoretical concepts, and summaries of the work and ideas of key figures, it is a highly informative reference work for a multi-disciplinary readership.
An Introduction to Criticism : Literature, Film, Culture An accessible and thorough introduction to literary theory and contemporary critical practice, this book is an essential resource for beginning students of literary criticism. Covers traditional approaches such as formalism and structuralism, as well as more recent developments in criticism such as evolutionary theory, cognitive studies, ethical criticism, and ecocriticism Offers explanations of key works and major ideas in literary criticism and suggests key elements to look for in a literary text Also applies critical approaches to various examples from film studies Helps students to build a critical framework and write analytically
An Introduction to Literary Studies In this classic beginner's guide to English literature, Mario Klarer offers a concise and accessible discussion of central issues in the study of literary texts, looking at: definitions of key terms such as literature and text the genres of fiction, poetry, drama, and film periods and classifications of literature theoretical approaches to texts the use of secondary resources guidelines for writing research essays The new and expanded edition is fully updated to include: a wider range of textual examples from world literature additional references to contemporary cinema, a section on comparative literature an extended survey of literary periods and genres recent changes in MLA guidelines information on state-of-the-art citation management software the use and abuse of online resources. The book also features suggestions for further reading as well as an extensive glossary of key terms.
Literary Criticism : A New History A THE Book of the WeekHow many people know that Aristotle thought the best tragedies were those which ended happily? Or that the first mention of the motor car in literature may have been in 1791 in Boswell's Life of Johnson? Or that it was not unknown in the nineteenth century for book reviews to be 30,000 words long!These are just a few of the fascinating facts to be found in this absorbing history of literary criticism.
Literary Theory The new edition of this bestselling literary theory anthology has been thoroughly updated to include influential texts from innovative new areas, including disability studies, eco-criticism, and ethics. Covers all the major schools and methods that make up the dynamic field of literary theory, from Formalism to Postcolonialism Expanded to include work from Stuart Hall, Sara Ahmed, and Lauren Berlant. Pedagogically enhanced with detailed editorial introductions and a comprehensive glossary of terms
Literary Theory : The Basics With a new introduction and fully updated pointers to further reading, this second edition of Hans Bertens'bestselling book is a must-have guide to the world of literary theory.Exploring a broad range of topics from Marxist and feminist criticism to post-modernism and new historicism it includes new coverage of:the latest developments in post-colonial and cultural theoryliterature and sexualitythe latest schools of thought, including eco-criticism and post-humanismthe future of literary theory and criticism.Literary Theory: The Basics is an essential purchase for anyone who wants to know what literary theory is and where it is going.
The Literary Theory Handbook The Literary Theory Handbook introduces students to the history and scope of literary theory, showing them how to perform literary analysis, and providing a greater understanding of the historical contexts for different theories.
The Routledge Companion to Critical Theory The Routledge Companion to Critical Theory is an indispensable aid for anyone approaching this exciting field of study for the first time. By exploring ideas from a diverse range of disciplines, ‘theory'encourages us to d

Featured Print Books

Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.

The Cambridge History of Literary Criticism Surveying the beginnings of critical consciousness in Greece and proceeding to the writings of Aristophanes, Plato, Aristotle, and Hellenistic and Roman authors, this volume is not only for classicists but for those with no Greek or Latin who are interested in the origins of literary history, theory, and criticism.
Essentials of the Theory of Fiction What accounts for the power of stories to both entertain and illuminate? This question has long compelled the attention of storytellers and students of literature alike, and over the past several decades it has opened up broader dialogues about the nature of culture and interpretation. This third edition of the bestselling Essentials of the Theory of Fiction provides a comprehensive view of the theory of fiction from the nineteenth century through modernism and postmodernism to the present. It offers a sample of major theories of fictional technique while emphasizing recent developments in literary criticism. The essays cover a variety of topics, including voice, point of view, narration, sequencing, gender, and race. Ten new selections address issues such as oral memory in African American fiction, temporality, queer theory, magical realism, interactive narratives, and the effect of virtual technologies on literature. For students and generalists alike, Essentials of the Theory of Fiction is an invaluable resource for understanding how fiction works. Contributors. M. M. Bakhtin, John Barth, Roland Barthes, Wayne Booth, John Brenkman, Peter Brooks, Catherine Burgass, Seymour Chatman, J. Yellowlees Douglas, Rachel Blau DuPlessis, Wendy B. Faris, Barbara Foley, E. M. Forster, Joseph Frank, Joanne S. Frye, William H. Gass, Henry Louis Gates Jr., G#65533;rard Genette, Ursula K. Heise, Michael J. Hoffman, Linda Hutcheon, Henry James, Susan S. Lanser, Helen Lock, Georg Luk#65533;cs, Patrick D. Murphy, Ruth Ronen, Joseph Tabbi, Jon Thiem, Tzvetan Todorov, Virginia Woolf
A Glossary of Contemporary Literary Theory Now in its fourth edition, the critically acclaimed Glossary of Contemporary Literary Theory has been thoroughly revised and expanded to include over 70 important new terms and usages from this volatile and fast-changing field.