LibGuides: Working with Literature: Writing About Literature

Featured Series Bloom's How to Write about Literature

Bloom’s How to Write about Literature series provides user friendly guidance on how to write good essays on the most assigned authors and works. It includes How to Write a Good Essay for writing in general, how to write about the author specifically, and then goes over individual works by the author. Follow the link below to see all the eBooks in the series.

Must be on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Bloom's How to Write about Literature Series

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

Literature : A Student's Guide to Research and Writing ells how to select a topic, gather research, take notes, organize one's points, and write and format a report or term paper.
The Wiley Guide to Writing Essays about Literature This outstanding practical guide to writing analytical essays on literature develops interpretive skills through focused exercises and modeled examples. The program is tailored to meet the specific needs of beginning undergraduates. Features unique, detailed guidance on paragraph structure Includes sample essays throughout to model each stage of the essay-writing process Focused exercises develop the techniques outlined in each chapter Dedicated checklists enable quick, accurate assessment by teachers and students Enhanced glossary with advice on usage added to core definitions
Writing About Literature : Essay and Translation Skills for University Students of English and Foreign Literature Writing about Literature combines detailed practical and scholarly advice with a sense of the scope and creative possibilities of literary criticism, empowering the student reader to make his or her own discoveries and experiments with language. In addition, it gives valuable guidance on adult language learning and translation skills for students of foreign literature.

Featured Print Books

Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.

The Literature Student's Survival Kit Who was Jezebel? What was the Wooden Horse? When was the Enlightenment? Who were the Luddites? And what is blank verse? The Literature Student's Survival Kit gives students about to embark on a literature degree all the background information they need to stay afloat. Designed to help literature students stay afloat in their studies Brings together the biblical, classical, historical and academic information that literature students need Provides an overview of the Bible, its books, characters, episodes and places. Contains a guide to classical mythology Features timelines that situate literary figures in relation to historical events and key social, cultural and linguistic changes Presents essential information on individuals, events, movements, and concepts that had an impact on the literature of each period Includes glossaries of literary and critical terms, and a list of key literary critics Offers advice on how to write essays and how to avoid common linguistic and stylistic errors Enables students to approach their studies with self-assurance.
Texts and Contexts: Writing about Literature with Critical Theory This updated edition offers expanded explanations of many of the critical theories, step-by-step reference guides to using each approach, and more examples of students applying critical theory to their own writing. The texts that are analyzed include Hemingway, Shakespeare and Milton.
Writing Essays about Literature Widely used in introductory literature courses as a style guide or as a supplement to anthologies, this text provides students with valuable guidelines for interpreting literature and writing essays.