101 Salon PromotionsThis new resource provides all the information necessary to promote a salon effectively and inexpensively, for building and keeping a solid client base. With a wealth of simple and creative ways to attract clients and increase sales, 101 Salon Promotions relies on basic, easy-to-learn methods for building and maintaining a successful salon on a shoestring budget. Readers will learn how to capitalize on the weather, take advantage of holidays, network with other professionals, reward clients to ensure repeat business, and much more. Just some of what you will learn includes:
A Butler's Guide to Gentlemen's GroomingA real gentleman knows that it is essential to be well-groomed, and while a bit of moisturizer will help, it is not enough. Our Butler’s guide is the ultimate source of information for looking pukka. It need not take long either, and this short guide cuts to the chase: skin care, including the best shaving techniques, hair care, from the mop on your head to nasal hair trimming, style guide (with tips on what to wear for what occasion), and taking care of your clothes and shoes. This simple valet guide will get you dressed to perfection to impress the ladies and the gents.
The City & Guilds Textbook Level 2 Hairdressing and Barbering for the Technical Certificatesthis book will provide your learners with everything they need to know to succeed in their hairdressing studies. Complementing quality teaching, this textbook covers all the knowledge required for each unit of study. - Carefully matched to the requirements of the new qualifications, this comprehensive textbook will provide you and your learners all the guidance you need through this period of transition, in clear and accessible language. - Contains over a thousand photographs to ensure learners can visualise all the necessary practical skills. - Provides invaluable guidance on the more rigorous assessment regime including written exams and synoptic end tests.
Cutting Along the Color Line: Black Barbers and Barber Shops in AmericaToday, black-owned barber shops play a central role in African American public life. The intimacy of commercial grooming encourages both confidentiality and camaraderie, which make the barber shop an important gathering place for African American men to talk freely. But for many years preceding and even after the Civil War, black barbers endured a measure of social stigma for perpetuating inequality: though the profession offered economic mobility to black entrepreneurs, black barbers were obliged by custom to serve an exclusively white clientele. Quincy T. Mills traces the lineage from these nineteenth-century barbers to the bustling enterprises of today, demonstrating that the livelihood offered by the service economy was crucial to the development of a black commercial sphere and the barber shop as a democratic social space. Cutting Along the Color Line chronicles the cultural history of black barber shops as businesses and civic institutions. Through several generations of barbers, Mills examines the transition from slavery to freedom in the nineteenth century, the early twentieth-century expansion of black consumerism, and the challenges of professionalization, licensing laws, and competition from white barbers. He finds that the profession played a significant though complicated role in twentieth-century racial politics: while the services of shaving and grooming were instrumental in the creation of socially acceptable black masculinity, barbering permitted the financial independence to maintain public spaces that fostered civil rights politics. This sweeping, engaging history of an iconic cultural establishment shows that black entrepreneurship was intimately linked to the struggle for equality.
Hair and Hair CareReviews the chemical and physical properties, care and treatment of hair, including product development. The book discusses ethnic hair, its appropriate management measures and products; emphasizes manufacturing and sales strategies for domestic and international product viability; surveys instrumental methods for product performance evaluation; presents sensory and market research techniques for optimum consumer satisfaction; and more.
Knights of the Razor: Black Barbers in Slavery and FreedomBlack barbers, reflected a freed slave who barbered in antebellum St. Louis, may have been the only men in their community who enjoyed, at all times, the privilege of free speech. The reason lay in their temporary--but absolute--power over a client. With a flick of the wrist, they could have slit the throats of the white men they shaved. In Knights of the Razor, Douglas Walter Bristol, Jr., explores this extraordinary relationship in the largely untold story of African American barbers, North and South, from the American Revolution to the First World War. In addition to establishing the modern-day barbershop, these barbers used their skilled trade to navigate the many pitfalls that racism created for ambitious black men. Successful barbers assumed leadership roles in their localities, helping to form a black middle class despite pervasive racial segregation. They advocated economic independence from whites and founded insurance companies that became some of the largest black-owned corporations.
Man vs. Hair : 60 Tutorials for Handsome Hair and StubbleMan vs. Hair is your step-by-step guide to the latest and greatest in men's hairstyling and facial hair grooming. Groomed hair is a red-hot street style for men, inspired by bloggers, sports stars, actors, and models. With Man vs. Hair you can learn just how they do it. This is a collection of sixty fashionable men's hairstyles and facial hair looks. Step-by-step tutorials featuring simple how-to illustrations take the guesswork out of styling, while on-trend fashion photography demonstrates how to wear each 'do. With advice for different haircuts, types, and lengths, plus plenty of grooming tips, Man vs. Hair is the ultimate resource for amazing beards, braids, sideburns, mustaches, man buns, buzzcuts, and much more! Sharply packaged and easy to use, this is an ideal gift for any man of style.
Men's Society : Guide to Social Protocol, Necessary Skills, Superior Style, and Everything Else That Will Set You Apart From The PackIn the complicated modern world, not every man is born with those necessary things he should know or have. Let the minds behind the successful Men's Society brand instruct you in everything about being a man that they forgot to teach you in school. With the Men's Society, you'll learn the skills that every man needs to impress those around him and stand out from a crowd. Whether you want to mix a martini, build a campfire, or pack the perfect outfit for a weekend getaway, this collection of must-know skills will make you the impressive specimen that everyone wants to be around. Other skills taught in this book include: Basic knowledge of wine, beer, and liquor How to get what you want from a barber, and fix your hair and beard if you don't How to avoid, withstand, and cure a hangover How to deescalate a fight before it starts Important books, films, and musicians to know in order to impress a date Six things every man should do with his hands, including cook an omelet, build a fire, and more.
Menswear Revolution : The Transformation of Contemporary Men's FashionIn recent years, menswear has moved decisively center stage. Menswear Revolution investigates the transformation of men's fashion through the lens of shifting masculinities, examining how its increasing diversity has created new ways for men to explore and express their identities. Harnessing sustained market growth and creative dynamism on the runway, ground-breaking designers from Raf Simons and Hedi Slimane to Craig Green have revolutionized the discipline with their bold re-imaginings of the male wardrobe. Analysing the role of the media in shaping attitudes to men's fashion, Menswear Revolution studies how competing narratives of masculinity are reflected in popular discourse. Taking us from the mod and peacock revolutions of the 1960s to the new wave aesthetics of the 1980s, the book explores historical precedents for today's menswear scene - and looks at the evolution of the 'ideal' male body, from the muscular to the lean and boyish. Combining interviews with fashion professionals with close analyses of garments and advertising, Menswear Revolution provides an authoritative account of menswear design today. Highlighting its relationship to changing concepts of gender, the book provides a much-needed update to scholarship on masculinity, fashion and the body.
Safety and Health in the Salon: Facilitator's GuideThis comprehensive, easy-to-use program is designed to ensure OSHA compliance in the salon. The program addresses all areas of the salon-reception, chemical dispensary, shampoo, rinsing and conditioning, haircutting and styling, permanent waving and haircoloring, manicure and pedicure, facials, and facial makeup-to help salon owners provide a healthy and safe environment for both workers and clients.
Salon Client Care: How to Maximize Your Potential for SuccessThis new book is a comprehensive guide to customer service and client care for the salon industry. Readers learn how to build and retain a strong customer base, communicate effectively with clients, and generate an ideal salon ambiance. Complete with statistics, tips on computer software for salon use, and suggestions for staff maintenance, this resource contains all of the essential information on how to operate a successful salon. Just some of what you will learn includes: -How to store and access key information about your clients -How to build your client base and keep them coming back -How to select the most valuable, easy-to-use software programs for salon marketing -How to smoothly and effectively implement change in your salo
Anatomy of a Barber, the Hair Professionals Guide to SuccessSlated to be the go-to book for barbers and stylists seeking success in the hair industry today, Al Reid, better known as "Alsmillions," covers everything from identifying the special abilities of barbers to how to build a productive clientele from just 5 clients. As a master educator, CEO and entrepreneur, Al digs deep into the wealth of his over 26 years of experience to share with you, the major factors that gives a barber or stylist true success in this competitive field. No fluff here. Al shares "wisdom without the pain," an invaluable tool to have as you build your hair business. Stay on the right track when you read Anatomy Of A Barber, The Professionals Guide To Success.
Fashions in Hair: The First Five Thousand YearsThe definitive text on hair fashions through the ages is back. This revised edition has 16 new pages by fashion historian Caroline Cox to bring hair fashions up to the present day. The first to attempt a comprehensive historical survey of men's and women's hair styles through the ages, from Ancient Egypt through Greece, Egypt, Rome, and Anglo-Saxon times to recent trends in fashion, this book is now an essential work of reference. Drawing on many years of research by the author, this is an essential handbook for theatrical designers, hair artists, illustrators, and beauty consultants as well as all those interested in the changing fashions in hair. Guaranteed to entertain and educate the general reader as well as historians of fashion, this is the perfect companion piece to both Fashions in Make-Up and Fashions In Eyeglasses.
Hair Story: Untangling The Roots of Black Hair in AmericaTwo world wars, the Civil Rights movement, and a Jheri curl later, Blacks in America continue to have a complex and convoluted relationship with their hair. From the antebellum practice of shaving the head in an attempt to pass as a "free" person to the 1998 uproar over a White third-grade teacher's reading of the bookNappy Hair, the issues surrounding African American hair continue to linger as we enter the twenty-first century. Hair Story is a historical and anecdotal exploration of Black Americans' tangled hair roots. A chronological look at the culture and politics behind the ever-changing state of Black hair from fifteenth-century Africa to the present-day United States, it ties the personal to the political and the popular. Read about: * Why Black American slaves used items like axle grease and eel skin to straighten their hair. * How a Mexican chemist straightened Black hair using his formula for turning sheep's wool into a minklike fur. * How the Afro evolved from militant style to mainstream fashion trend. * What prompted the creation of the Jheri curl and the popular style's fall from grace. * The story behind Bo Derek's controversial cornrows and the range of reactions they garnered. Major figures in the history of Black hair are presented, from early hair-care entrepreneurs Annie Turnbo Malone and Madam C. J. Walker to unintended hair heroes like Angela Davis and Bob Marley. Celebrities, stylists, and cultural critics weigh in on the burgeoning sociopolitical issues surrounding Black hair, from the historically loaded terms "good" and "bad" hair, to Black hair in the workplace, to mainstream society's misrepresentation and misunderstanding of kinky locks. Hair Story is the book that Black Americans can use as a benchmark for tracing a unique aspect of their history, and it's a book that people of all races will celebrate as the reference guide for understanding Black hair.
Of Beards and Men : The Revealing History of Facial HairThis fascinating and erudite history of facial hair cracks the masculine hair code, shedding light on the choices men make as they shape the hair on their faces. Oldstone-Moore adeptly lays to rest common misperceptions about beards and vividly illustrates the connection between grooming, identity, culture, and masculinity. To a surprising degree, we find, the history of men is written on their faces
The Quintessential Grooming Guide for the Modern GentlemanThe Quintessential Grooming Guide for the Modern Gentleman is a practical treatise for chaps who wish to look their tip-top best. Drawing on Captain Fawcett's far-flung travels, culturally rich experiences, and extensive historical research, the book offers fascinating insights from the world's most respected barbers, tonsorial artists, style aficionados, and master craftsmen of essential male-grooming items. The Captain highlights centuries-old techniques that have been refined for the present day; accompanied by easy-to-follow step-by-step instructions. Packed with beautiful illustrations, photographs, witty observations, inspiring historical and literary quotations, this is a comprehensive exploration of all aspects of gentlemen's grooming and, indeed, what it means to be a gentleman in the twenty-first century.
Ready, Set, Go! the Start-Up Guide for Opening, Remodeling & Running a Successful BarbershopFinally - a book that brings old world barbering back with today's business strategies Learn the success strategies for opening, remodeling, and running a barbershop that focuses on the needs of your targeted clientele-the millennial man. Getting your game plan together can be time consuming and expensive when you try to "go it alone." Why take years to master the operational tactics that will lead your business to success? Jeff and Eric have laid out the game plan and thought of every last detail to help you budget your expenses, save money, and invest in your business. It's packed with the steps, tips, checklists, ideas, and strategies to make your barbershop a success. Whether you already own a barbershop or you are just advancing your career in this direction, this book is for you. Ready, Set, Go will help you to: - Visualize, plan, and organize your new business venture. - Assess and pick the right location and negotiate your lease. - Select your legal and financial team and set up the business and financial structure for your barbershop. - Design a barbershop that fits within your budget and set up a successful working relationship with your contractors. - Find the money or capital that you need to finance your business venture and open your doors. - Hire the right people to staff your barbershop. - And, everything else you will need to own and operate a profitable barbershop In addition, this book has a special section, The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly, that contains advice that comes straight from other owners and industry leaders who offered their input on opening, remodeling, managing, marketing, and solving problems and challenges. The Check It Out sections enable you to be sure you don't forget a single detail. With this book you will have laid the groundwork, from start to finish, for eliminating trial-and-error approaches, preventing unforeseen problems, and running a successful barbershop.
The Vanishing American Barber Shop : An Illustrated History of Tonsorial Art, 1860-1960In the most comprehensive book ever written on barber shop history, author, Ronald Barlow, traces the evolution of professional shaving and haircutting. Over 750 vintage photographs and illustrations accompany a text which is both educational and entertaining. Included in the book are lessons on shaving (with a straight razor) and haircutting as taught in early barber school manuals. For collectors and hobbyists, many pages are reproduced in detail from very rare old Barber Supply catalogs. Shown in detail are wooden poles, revolving poles, barber signs, wood and porcelain barber chairs. A must-have book for barber enthusiasts. The price guide section is an invaluable research tool for colletors. The book devotes several chapters to the memoirs of old-time barbers who actually worked in shops from 1860 to 1960. Something for everyone!