LibGuides: Collection Recommendations for Faculty: Introduction

Tell Us What You Want!

College libraries rely on faculty input for the collection. No one knows better than you what you are teaching and which books will help your students the most. Help us make our collection even better!

Use the Collection Recommendations form to recommend books, eBooks, DVDs, feature films for Swank or databases.

New York Times Book Review

Book Reviews

Review Existing Collections

The library provides students, faculty and staff with a variety of physical and online collections including books, eBooks, DVDs, streaming media and databases with full text articles. Top book, eBook and streaming collections are listed below. See all our collections on our A- Z Databases page. Use the pull down menus on the A- Z Databases page to limit by subject, content type and/or provider.

Academic Video Online (AVON)
For streaming videos. Thousands of documentaries, educational, technical and archival films from great producers like Film Platform, PBS and Sony Pictures Classics.
Ebook Central
- This link opens in a new window
Our largest collection of academic eBooks from ProQuest. Many but not all titles have unlimited simultaneous access.
EBSCO eBooks
- This link opens in a new window
Large collection of academic eBooks. Most titles allow 1-3 simultaneous users, some are unlimited.
Films on Demand
For streaming videos. Thousands of documentaries, educational, technical and archival films from great producers like BBC, HBO, PBS.
Gale eBooks
- This link opens in a new window
This collection is excellent for literature criticism, history, social issues, primary sources. All titles provide unlimited simultaneous access.
OneSearch
- This link opens in a new window
For items physically in the library such as books or DVDs. Bonus! It can also search most of our online collections.
Libby/Overdrive eBooks
This growing collection is excellent for contemporary literature, as well as some classic literature and popular leisure, health and self help titles. All titles are one user at a time and must be checked out to be used.
Salem Online eBooks
- This link opens in a new window
This growing collection is excellent for literature criticism, history, social issues, primary sources. All titles provide unlimited simultaneous access.
Swank
For streaming feature films.