Grammar Basics

Featured resources are specialized or unique resources. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Grammar in MLA Handbook Plus
MLA Handbook Plus includes the latest edition of the MLA Handbook, full text online available 24/7. In addition to citation examples and sample papers, you can access the Mechanics of Prose (chapter 2) of the MLA Handbook. This is where you will find tips on:

• 2.1–2.3: Spelling
• 2.4: Punctuation
• 2.5–2.25: Commas
• 2.26–2.27: Semicolons and Colons
• 2.28–2.32: Dashes and Parentheses
• 2.33–2.48: Hyphens
• 2.49–2.54: Apostrophes
• 2.55–2.57: Quotation Marks
• 2.58: Slashes
• 2.59: Periods, Question Marks, and Exclamation Points
• 2.60–2.63: Italics in Prose
• 2.64–2.70: Capitalization of Terms
• 2.71–2.86: Names of Persons in Your Prose
• 2.87–2.88: Names of Organizations, Groups, Literary Periods, and Cultural Movements
• 2.89–2.125: Titles of Works in Your Prose
• 2.126–2.139: Numbers

Featured resources are specialized or unique resources. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Grammar in Academic Writer
Academic Writer includes the latest APA Style guidelines, full text online available 24/7. In addition to citation examples and sample papers, you can access the APA Quick Guides. This is where you will find tips on:

• Fundamental Writing Skills
  Find information on 
  • Fragments, Comma Splices, and Run-On Sentences
  • Misplaced and Dangling Modifiers
  • Transition Sentences
  • And more!
• Mechanics of Style 
  Find information on: 
  • Capitalization
  • Commas and Semicolons
  • Parentheses and Brackets
  • And more!