Go to A-Z Databases: eBooks to search for more eBooks.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
The Adolescent and Adult Neuro-Diversity
Increasing numbers of adults are realising that they have been living with an undiagnosed developmental condition, yet most information and support focuses on children. This leaves many adults confused and in the dark. The Adolescent and Adult Neuro-Diversity Handbook is a handy first-reference point guide to the full range of developmental conditions as they affect adolescents and adults. Each chapter focuses on a different condition, describing its history, causes and characteristics, its implications for the individual, diagnosis and assessment, treatments and approaches, and strategies for providing support and self-support. A wide range of conditions are covered, including Autistic Spectrum Disorders, Dyslexia, Dyspraxia, ADHD, OCD, Tourette's and Anxiety Disorders. The Adolescent and Adult Neuro-Diversity Handbook is an invaluable resource for health and social care practitioners, as well as for individuals who feel that they may be living with an undiagnosed developmental condition.
Autism is the first book on the condition that seeks to combine medical, historical and cultural approaches to an understanding of the condition. Its purpose is to present a rounded portrayal of the ways in which autism is currently represented in the world, It focuses on three broad areas: the facts of scientific research, including new ideas surrounding research into genetics and neuroscience, as well as the details of diagnosis and therapy; the history of the condition as it developed through psychiatric approaches to the rise of parent associations, neurodiversity and autism advocacy; and the fictional and media narratives through which it is increasingly expressed in the contemporary moment. Accessible and written in clear English, Autism is designed for student audiences in English, Disability Studies, Cultural Studies, History, Sociology, and Medicine and Health, as well as medical practitioners and the general reader. Autism is a condition surrounded by misunderstanding and often defined by contestation and argument. The purpose of this book is to bring clarity to the subject of autism across the full range of its manifestations.
Autism Equality in the Workplace
Neurodiversity in the workplace can be a gift. Yet only 15% of adults with an autism spectrum condition (ASC) are in full-time employment. This book examines how the working environment can embrace autistic people in a positive way. The author highlights common challenges in the workplace for people with ASC, such as discrimination and lack of communication or the right kind of support from managers and colleagues, and provides strategies for changing them. Setting out practical, reasonable adjustments such as a quiet room or avoiding disruption to work schedules, this book demonstrates how day to day changes in the workplace can make it more inclusive and productive for all employees. Autism in the Workplace is intended for any person with an interest in changing working culture to ensure equality for autistic people. It is an essential resource for employers, managers, trade unionists, people with ASCs and their workmates and supporters.
Disability, Inclusion and Inclusive Education
The book approaches the topic of disability, inclusion and inclusive education in a holistic way including both academic and psycho-social perspectives. It also focuses on the contemporary status of disability studies with a multidisciplinary dimension. The experiences and challenges of children with disabilities and the different dimensions of inclusive education have been situated appropriately by including at the outset, a chapter on 'Disability Studies: The Context'. Chapter on 'Sociology of Disability' accentuates the tone and perspective of the presentations of the authors and editor. The research findings presented in the book indicate grounded realities and suggestions for transactional strategies which are plausible in the Indian context. It has never been timely to publish a book that helps professionals who work with schools, special education teachers, and counsellors to analyze disabilities from a socio-psychological perspective keeping the protagonist at the centre. Case narrations situated in the Indian context enrich the presentations giving voice to the marginalized children/adults with disabilities. This work serves as a comprehensive reference for the most prevalent disabilities at school education level covering the conceptual understanding about each disability, their psycho-social perspectives, implications for classroom transactions, suggestions of transactional strategies along with a brief explanation of assistive technology that can be used in case of each disability.With Right to Education Act (2009) in place, a diverse range of readers, from special educators and other teachers in schools, prospective teachers pursuing their pre service teacher education programmes, teacher educators and researchers in the field of disabilities and inclusive education will all find this volume useful, as a reference material with long shelf life.
Dyslexia Is My Superpower (Most of the Time)
In more than 100 interviews, children and young adults reveal their personal tips and tactics for honing the creative benefits of dyslexia, enabling them to thrive in school and beyond. Strategies include ways to develop confidence and self-belief. The contributors have outlined specific approaches they feel have helped them, and others that haven't. The book contains stunning illustrations by 8-18 year olds with dyslexia. The first-hand accounts are inspiring in the way they normalise dyslexia and reveal the many success stories. There is an additional section for professionals who work in education or special learning environments, with advice given by school students themselves.
The Dyslexic Adult
A definitive and evidence-based guide for psychologists, teachers, coaches, HR personnel and all professionals who must understand and work with dyslexic adults. The only book to look at dyslexia within the context of life span developmental psychology, including the factors that contribute to success - now fully revised and updated Combines an accessible style with a strong focus on evidence-based practice and a sound theoretical model on which to base assessment, counselling, teaching and training Provides a clear guide to the kinds of assessment that can be conducted and the ways in which dyslexic adults can be supported in selection, training, education and employment Includes coverage of overlapping syndromes such as dyspraxia and dyscalculia, and up-to-date check lists for syndromes that can be used as part of the assessment process
Everything is Going to be K.O. : An illustrated memoir of living with specific learning difficulties
A hilarious and heartfelt illustrated memoir of living with specific learning difficulties. In Everything is Going to be K.O., Kaiya Stone writes about her experiences of living with specific learning difficulties: from struggling at school, to being diagnosed with dyslexia and dyspraxia at university, and performing her own one-woman stand up show inspired by her journey. Always funny and unfailingly honest, Kaiya not only outlines the frustrations of having SpLDs, but also the ways in which they have fuelled her creativity. She calls for neurodiversity to be celebrated so that instead of questioning how we are 'supposed' to think, we instead take pride in our cognitive differences. Everything is Going to be K.O. is for anyone who knows, or has wondered, what it is like to live with learning difficulties today.
Four Gifts of the Highly Sensitive
Utilize the science of sensitivity to help you maximize your gifts of empath, intuition, vision, and expression. Are you often told that you are too sensitive? Can you intuit things before they happen? Are you an introvert who cares deeply about the people and places around you? Using a new and specialized framework for understanding empaths and sensitive individuals, integrative health coach Courtney Marchesani demystifies the science of sensitivity to help you maximize your gifts of empathy, intuition, vision, and expression. Her insightful sensitivity quiz will help you to recognize where your strengths lie, while her Mind-Body Method will help you to heal from the past and current trauma affecting your sensory processing and employ coping skills to manage what can be an overwhelming onslaught of intense emotions and sensations. Allow your sensory intelligence to shine and relish your profound ability to connect with the world by recognizing and honoring your unique gift of sensitivity.
The Handbook for Highly Sensitive People : How to Transform Feeling Overwhelmed and Frazzled to Empowered and Fulfilled
re you often told to stop taking things to heart or to toughen up? Do you have a lot of empathy for others? Overanalyze things and get 'stuck in your own head'? Or become easily overwhelmed and frequently need to withdraw? If the answer is YES, you are probably a Highly Sensitive Person and this Handbook will be your survival guide! One in five people are born with the trait of high sensitivity. Yet, there is a general lack of awareness of the trait in our society, which leaves many people struggling physically, emotionally, mentally and spiritually with being highly sensitive in a non-sensitive world. More often than not, HSPs are yearning for acceptance of their trait, not just from other people but also for themselves. When they realize their sensitivity is 'normal' and it's acknowledged in a positive way, a deep sense of relief arises and they can begin to flourish - feeling empowered to bring their unique abilities of empathy, compassion, creativity, healing and much more into the world. Presented in four sections that lead the reader on a journey of true holistic self-understanding, the book starts with a section exploring the main qualities and challenges of the trait, and how it can be a real gift in life; not a flaw. The second section then delves into impacts of living as an HSP, such as the many masks that they tend to wear (people-pleasing and so on), the relationships they attract, and how they can start on the journey to feeling more valued. The third section provides a wide range of practical strategies to manage the trait more effectively, from more self-love, coping with over-arousal, tapping for emotional freedom, energy protection, dealing with loss and bereavement, and tuning into the healing power of animals. And the final section touches on the more spiritual aspect of life that many HSPs are searching for, whether knowingly or not - from past-life themes to the unseen world, such as angels - in their quest to fully accept themselves, and to live the authentic, fulfilling lives they deserve.
The Highly Sensitive Person : How to Thrive When the World Overwhelms You
Are You A Highly Sensitive Person? Do you have a keen imagination and vivid dreams? Is time alone each day as essential to you as food and water? Are you "too shy" or "too sensitive" according to others? Do noise and confusion quickly overwhelm you? If your answers are yes, you may be a Highly Sensitive Person (HSP). Most of us feel overstimulated every once in a while, but for the HSP, it's a way of life. In this groundbreaking book, Dr. Elaine Aron, a clinical psychologist, workshop leader, and an HSP herself, shows you how to identify this trait in yourself and make the most of it in everyday situations. Drawing on her many years of research and hundreds of interviews, she shows how you can better understand yourself and your trait to create a fuller, richer life. Updated with a new Author's Note, including the latest scientific research, and a fresh discussion of anti-depressants for HSPs, this edition of The Highly Sensitive Person also includes: Self-assessment tests to help you identify your particular sensitivities Ways to reframe your past experiences in a positive light and gain greater self-esteem in the process Insight into how high sensitivity affects both work and personal relationships Tips on how to deal with overarousal Information on medications and when to seek help Techniques to enrich the soul and spirit "Elaine Aron's perceptive analysis of this fundamental dimension of human nature is must reading. Her balanced presentation suggests new paths for making sensitivity a blessing, not a handicap." --Philip G. Zimbardo, author of Shyness "Enlightening and empowering, this book is a wonderful gift to us all." -Riane Ensler, author of The Chalice and the Blade
Imagining Autism : Fiction and Stereotypes on the Spectrum
A disorder that is only just beginning to find a place in disability studies and activism, autism remains in large part a mystery, giving rise to both fear and fascination. Sonya Freeman Loftis's groundbreaking study examines literary representations of autism or autistic behavior to discover what impact they have had on cultural stereotypes, autistic culture, and the identity politics of autism. Imagining Autism looks at fictional characters (and an author or two) widely understood as autistic, ranging from Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes and Harper Lee's Boo Radley to Mark Haddon's boy detective Christopher Boone and Steig Larsson's Lisbeth Salander. The silent figure trapped inside himself, the savant made famous by his other-worldly intellect, the brilliant detective linked to the criminal mastermind by their common neurology--these characters become protean symbols, stand-ins for the chaotic forces of inspiration, contagion, and disorder. They are also part of the imagined lives of the autistic, argues Loftis, sometimes for good, sometimes threatening to undermine self-identity and the activism of the autistic community.
Living Well on the Spectrum
Navigating the "neurotypical" world with Asperger syndrome or high-functioning autism (AS/HFA) can be extremely stressful. But by understanding the specific ways your brain works differently--and how to tap into your personal strengths--you can greatly enhance your well-being. In this wise and practical book, experienced therapist Valerie L. Gaus helps you identify goals that will make your life better and take concrete steps to achieve them. Grounded in psychological science, the techniques in this book help you: *Learn the unspoken rules of social situations. *Improve your communication skills. *Get organized at home and at work. *Manage anxiety and depression. *Strengthen your relationships with family and friends. *Live more successfully on your own or with others. A wealth of stories, questionnaires, worksheets, and concrete examples help you find personalized solutions to problems you are likely to encounter. You can download and print additional copies of the worksheets for repeated use. Of special note, the Introduction was updated in 2017 with the latest information on how autism spectrum disorder is defined in DSM-5. Finally, a compassionate, knowledgeable, positive guide to living well on the spectrum. Mental health professionals, see also the author's Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy for Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorder, Second Edition.
Living with Dyspraxia : A Guide for Adults with Developmental Dyspraxia
This book provides a diverse range of basic information and practical advice for adults with dyspraxia. Colley is able to describe in detail the impact that coordination and motor learning difficulties can have on many everyday activities, including cooking, shopping, sewing, gardening and swallowing medicines. This book provides a very readable, comprehensive and useful resource for adults with dyspraxia and their carers. It might also be useful for clinicians who are new to the field and have limited practical experience.' - British Journal of Occupational Therapy 'This concise and interestingly written handbook is aimed at helping dyspraxic adults to understand their condition and its impact on work, study, social relationships and leisure activities. It contains practical tips on everyday living, including voice control, body language, cooking, study skills, driving and self-care. Especially fascinating are the accounts by four dyspraxic adults of their own experiences. I would recommend the book to teachers and parents, student therapists and clinicians (especially those working in a multidisciplinary setting) who need an insight into developmental dyspraxia as experienced by adolescent and adult clients and an overview of the help available.' - Speech and Language Therapy in Practice For people with Developmental Dyspraxia, everyday life can pose a multitude of problems. Tasks the majority of people would find simple can often be taxing and fraught with difficulty. Living with Dyspraxia was written to help all adults with Dyspraxia tackle the everyday situations that many people take for granted. It is full of practical advice on everything from getting a diagnosis to learning how to manage household chores. Important topics are addressed, such as self-esteem, whether to disclose your condition within the workplace, how to communicate more effectively and also how Dyspraxia often interacts with other conditions, such as Dyslexia, ADHD and Asperger's Syndrome. This practical resource will be of use to adults with Dyspraxia, the professionals and families members who come into contact with them as well as those who simply wish to learn more about Dyspraxia.
Making Dyslexia Work for You
Written for dyslexic adults or anyone who thinks they might be dyslexic, this bold and imaginative book is deliberately concise and easy to dip into. User-friendly, essential guide to the world of study and work for anyone with dyslexia; Identifies the key needs of adults and young people who are dyslexic; Encourages them to put together their own package of ideas and strategies for success; Offers practical activities, examples and support covering reading, memory, organization, self-esteem, IT and dyslexia in the workplace; Over 100 topics from this book are expanded on our online resource. This unique guide to overcoming the day-to-day difficulties associated with dyslexia will also be of great interest to employers, colleagues, teachers, friends and family of those with dyslexia.
The Memory and Processing Guide for Neurodiverse Learners
Armed with the wealth of understanding and strategies in this guide, students will discover how they can learn best, to make studying and revision more effective (and less stressful). Packed with simple, tried and tested strategies and workarounds, this study guide for supporting kids and teens who learn differently (such as those with ADHD, dyslexia, dyspraxia or ASD) explains what memory and processing issues are, and how to work around them. Written by a tutor and specialist with years of experience of working with students with learning differences, this book enables the student to understand the best ways they learn and the reasons behind this. Unpacking processing speed, sensory processing, metacognition, and executive functioning, including working memory, this uniquely relatable and empowering study guide will provide students with the self-understanding they need to manage exams and academic tasks at school with confidence and peace of mind.
Neurodiverse Relationships : Autistic and Neurotypical Partners Share Their Experiences
Comprised of the accounts of twelve heterosexual couples in which the man is on the Autism Spectrum, this book invites both partners to discuss their own perspectives of different key issues, including anxiety, empathy, employment and socialising. Autism expert Tony Attwood contributes a commentary and a question and answer section for each of the twelve accounts. The first book of its kind to provide perspectives from both sides of a relationship on a variety of different topics, Neurodiverse Relationships is the perfect companion for couples in neurodiverse relationships who are trying to understand one another better.
The Neurodiverse Workplace : An Employer's Guide to Managing and Working with Neurodivergent Employees, Clients and Customers
Estimates suggest that up to 20% of employees, customers and clients might have a neurodivergent condition - such as dyslexia, autism, Asperger's, ADHD or dyspraxia - yet these individuals often struggle to gain and maintain employment, despite being very capable. This practical, authoritative business guide will help managers and employers support neurodiverse staff, and gives advice on how to ensure workplaces are neuro-friendly. The book demonstrates that neurodiversity is a natural aspect of human variation to be expected and accepted, rather than a deficit to be accommodated. Employer responsibilities are highlighted, including the 2010 Equality Act, and a range of strategies and policies are provided, including recruitment advice and the benefits of neurodiverse employees, along with advice on physical environments, interaction and communication, and working with clients and customers. This book is an ideal resource for all employers wanting to support and empower people with specific needs to help create a more inclusive workplace, benefiting both neurodiverse individuals and the companies employing them.
Neurodiversity : Discovering the Extraordinary Gifts of Autism, ADHD, Dyslexia, and Other Brain Differences
A new term has emerged from the disability movement in the past decade to help change the way we think about neurological disorders: Neurodiversity. ADHD. Dyslexia. Autism. The number of categories of illnesses listed by the American Psychiatric Association has tripled in the past fifty years. With so many people affected by our growing -- culture of disabilities, -- it no longer makes sense to hold on to the deficit-ridden idea of neuropsychological illness. With the sensibility of Oliver Sacks and Kay Redfield Jamison, psychologist Thomas Armstrong offers a revolutionary perspective that reframes many neuropsychological disorders as part of the natural diversity of the human brain rather than as definitive illnesses. Neurodiversity emphasizes their positive dimensions, showing how people with ADHD, bipolar disorder, and other conditions have inherent evolutionary advantages that, matched with the appropriate environment or ecological niche, can help them achieve dignity and wholeness in their lives.
Building on work in feminist studies, queer studies and critical race theory, this volume challenges the universality of propositions about human nature, by questioning the boundaries between predominant neurotypes and 'others', including dyslexics, autistics and ADHDers. This is the first work of its kind to bring cutting-edge research across disciplines to the concept of neurodiversity. It offers in-depth explorations of the themes of cure/prevention/eugenics; neurodivergent wellbeing; cross-neurotype communication; neurodiversity at work; and challenging brain-bound cognition. It analyses the role of neuro-normativity in theorising agency, and a proposal for a new alliance between the Hearing Voices Movement and neurodiversity. In doing so, we contribute to a cultural imperative to redefine what it means to be human. To this end, we propose a new field of enquiry that finds ways to support the inclusion of neurodivergent perspectives in knowledge production, and which questions the theoretical and mythological assumptions that produce the idea of the neurotypical. Working at the crossroads between sociology, critical psychology, medical humanities, critical disability studies, and critical autism studies, and sharing theoretical ground with critical race studies and critical queer studies, the proposed new field - neurodiversity studies - will be of interest to people working in all these areas.
A Radical Guide for Women with ADHD
Live boldly as a woman with ADHD! This radical guide will show you how to cultivate your individual strengths, honor your neurodiversity, and learn to communicate with confidence and clarity. If you are a woman with attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), you've probably known--all your life--that you're different. As girls, we learn which behaviors, thinking, learning, and working styles are preferred, which are accepted and tolerated, and which are frowned upon. These preferences are communicated in innumerable ways--from media and books to our first-grade classroom to conversations with our classmates and parents. Over the course of a lifetime, women with ADHD learn through various channels that the way they think, work, speak, relate, and act does not match up with the preferred way of being in the world. In short, they learn that difference is bad. And, since these women know that they are different, they learn that they are bad. It's time for a change. A Radical Guide for Women with ADHD is the first guided workbook for women with ADHD designed to break the cycle of negative self-talk and shame-based narratives that stem from the common and limiting belief that brain differences are character flaws. In this unique guide, you'll find a groundbreaking approach that blends traditional ADHD treatment with contemporary treatment methods, such as acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), to help you untangle yourself from the beliefs that have kept you from reaching your potential in life. If you're ready to develop a strong, bold, and confident sense of self, embrace your unique brain-based differences, and cultivate your individual strengths, this step-by-step workbook will help guide the way.
Supporting Neurodiverse College Student Success
The basic premise of neurodiversity is that there is no "normal" baseline for brain processes, but that all individual brains vary and therefore are diverse. The CAST organization estimates that 11% of college students enrolling in post-secondary campuses having a learning disability or learning difference. As neurodiverse students enroll in post-secondary education, the environments within which these students learn, can either support or impede their ability to succeed. Simply put, a neurodiverse campus population means that educators recognize that all students process and learn differently and must adapt our approaches and services in order to reach and support all students enrolled on our campuses. Neurodiverse students are a growing population on today's college campus. Their growing presence prompts new approaches to support their success and change traditional student services and collegiate experiences. This practical guide: Assists readers in better understanding neurodiverse students and the way campus services can create welcoming environments Explores the role Universal Design for Learning (UDL) and Executive Functioning (EF) plays in student success, and Focuses on specific collegiate offices and services that effectively address the needs of neurodiverse learners. Chapters cover tutoring, learning supports, academic coaching, academic advising, career services, residential living, and classroom experiences that impact and assist neurodiverse college students.
Survival Guide For Empaths : How To Overcome Your Limiting Beliefs, A Plan For The Highly Sensitive, Coping With Destress, Empath Healing Made Easy For Beginners
Are you an Empath experiencing high levels of distress... or do you feel as though you aren't using your natural abilities? Are you buried under limiting beliefs at work or home? Do you feel stagnant, stuck in a rut, and wish you had a survival guide? Are you terrified of ending life with regrets knowing you could have done better? If you keep doing what you've always done, you'll never break free and fully use your empathic abilities. Is this positive for you? Survival Guide For Empaths: How To Overcome Your Limiting Beliefs, A Plan For The Highly Sensitive, Coping With Distress, Empath Healing Made Easy For Beginners teaches you every step, including an action plan for destroying stress at the roots. This is a book of action and doesn't just tell you to try harder. Life rewards those who take matters into their own hands, and this book is where to start. Survival Guide For Empaths is full of real-life examples of healing tips for empaths just like you as well as proven techniques that have worked for gifted people just like you. These methods are backed up by life-changing experiences, all of which will arm you with a mindset primed for success with powerful and concrete empathic healing techniques. Easy-to-implement small changes and practical takeaways for immediate action. What happens if you ignore emotional the vampires around you? • Learn how to see people for who they truly are? • Why should you care about people near you sucking your life from you? • How will you escape before it is too late? • The consequences of ignoring these vampires How will you learn to be free from the pressure? • Identify the source of your stress • How other people help you • Tricks for handling toxic people • How to develop new habits What happens when you don't let life pass you by? • Never wonder "what if" you could be free of your stress! • Wake up every day with high energy and desire • Inspire yourself and others to create the life they want. • Feel comfortable with your identity. Find out how to open up your gifts and take flight towards the empathic life of your dreams, period. Create the life and peace you want. Try Survival Guide For Empaths: How To Overcome Your Limiting Beliefs, A Plan For The Highly Sensitive, Coping With Distress, Empath Healing Made Easy For Beginners today by clicking the BUY NOW button at the top right of this page! P.S. You'll be amazed at just how fast you can finally feel the freedom!
Tourette syndrome (TS) is finally recognized as a common neurodevelopmental disorder, and has gained increasingly high social awareness and scientific interest worldwide. Knowledge of its clinical presentation, mechanisms of disease, and available treatment approaches has increased remarkablyover the last decade. Likewise, the way clinicians, teachers, social care workers and families face the problems manifested by patients with TS is rapidly evolving. Tourette Syndrome, edited by Davide Martino and James F. Leckman, offers a unique opportunity to capture this interesting momentumthrough a comprehensive and up-to-date overview.Tourette Syndrome covers of all the main aspects related to TS, analyzing the complexity of its clinical presentation, the novel viewpoints of causes and mechanisms, the best way to assess TS patients, and the multifaceted and multidisciplinary treatment options. The multidisciplinary and up-to-datecontent is the main asset of this volume, which represents a useful source of consultation for a wide audience of professionals, all of whom will have access to what is known so far on TS within their particular area of expertise, at the same time being able to expand and update their knowledge inother areas.Medical and PhD students, as well as post-doctoral scientists, will be able to use the volume as a valuable learning source. Also, questions for future research are clearly presented in the volume, providing a summary of the viewpoint of the contributing authors upon where research on TS should beheading. Finally, clinicians and other health professionals will have access at a glance to the main patients' associations and organizations dedicated to TS worldwide, which can facilitate the direct contact with patients.