LibGuides: Dental Hygiene : Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: eBooks to search for more eBooks.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

ADA Dental Drug Handbook The ADA Dental Drug Handbook contains the latest information from dental pharmacology's leading experts. Intended for use by practicing dentists, students, dental educators, it covers the drugs most commonly used in the dental practice, with information about dosage, possible interactions, potential complications and more. Patients are being prescribed more medications today than ever before, and the dental team is confronted with many considerations when treating patients. This book contains five sections; the main section focuses on drugs used by the dentist, and other sections include pediatric management, dental office emergencies, handling patients with specific medical conditions, and useful tables. Each chapter starts with a brief overview of the category and contains easy-to-use monographs with sample prescriptions, contraindications, precautions, drug interactions, common side effects, and more. This easy-to-read, spiral bound reference covers drugs used in dentistry, such as analgesics, antibiotics, antifungals, antivirals, anxiolytics, fluorides, local anesthetics and corticosteroids; smoking cessation, salivary management and oral lesion treatments; OTC products with the ADA Seal of Acceptance; ADA Guidelines on procedures such as general anesthesia, antibiotic prophylaxis and medication-related osteonecrosis of the jaw; diabetic events; drug management for pediatrics, emergency situations, and special care patients such as pregnant patients and the elderly.
Basic Guide to Dental Procedures Basic Guide to Dental Procedures, Second Edition provides an essential introduction to the core preventative and restorative treatments routinely carried out in the modern dental practice. Written as a guide for the whole dental team, 'before and after' colour photographs enable the reader to understand and explain the procedures to their patient with confidence. Each section is clearly structured to cover the reasoning behind the treatment described, the relevant dental background, the basics of how each procedure is carried out and any necessary aftercare information. Key features include: Colour photographs throughout combined with concise text to highlight the crucial points of each procedure Suitable for the whole dental team, from office support staff to the dentist explaining procedures to a patient Thoroughly updated and revised in line with the substantial changes to the role and professional obligations of the dental nurse, including a new chapter detailing extended duties The new images of tray set-ups means it is an ideal companion for trainee dental nurses studying for the NEBDN OSCE exam
Careers in Healthcare
Also available in print: R690 .C66 2024
Publication Date: 2024
Dental Hygiene Careers Page 41
Clinical Cases in Dental Hygiene Clinical Cases in Dental Hygiene is an indispensable resource to understanding both the theory and practice of dental hygiene, illustrated by real-life cases in a clinically relevant format.  Offers a unique case-based format that supports problem-based learning Promotes independent learning through self-assessment and critical thinking Includes a wealth of relevant cases for understanding dental procedures and management of patients Covers all essential topics within the scope of dental hygiene
Dental Anatomy Loaded with meticulously detailed, beautifully illustrated structures of the human dental anatomy and the surrounding systems that support its function, clearly and concisely labeled for easy identification. Illustrations by award-winning and best-selling medical illustrator Vincent Perez, whose life mission is cataloging the beauty and detail of our complicated body systems for the medical professional, the formative student and the inquisitive layperson. Suggested uses: o Dental Students & Hygienists - handy and incredibly thorough reference that is compact and easily reviewed on a daily basis o Dentists - what any professional office needs for reference while consulting patients, also leave guides in offices to look over while patients wait o Parents - can show kids where their adult teeth are hiding when losing teeth, plus to emphasize the importance of taking care of their mouth and teeth o Patient - use guide to locate sources of pain for reporting to your dentist
Dental Assistants and Hygienists If you are interested in a career in the dental assistants and hygienists (the allied health field, as it is often called), you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Do these career paths have a bright future? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Dental Assistants and Hygienists includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers three main areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Dental assistants -Dental hygienists -Dental technicians
Dental Erosion Erosive tooth wear is a multifactorial condition of growing concern to the clinician and is a subject of extensive research. This book is the first which deals in such detail with dental erosion. It presents the whole spectrum of views on the issue, from the molecular level to behavioral aspects, as well as trends in society. The multifactorial etiological pattern of erosive tooth wear is emphasized and is a strand connecting the different chapters of the book. Definition, diagnosis, prevalence, incidence and chemistry of dental erosion are discussed in the first part of the publication. Further, topics like extrinsic and intrinsic causes of dental erosion are covered and a chapter is devoted to dental erosion in children. Methods of assessment are presented and critically evaluated. The book concludes with themes on dentinal hypersensitivity, risk assessment and preventive measures and restorative options for erosive lesions. This publication is not only highly recommended to faculty members, researchers and dental students, but also to practitioners and other dental professionals who are committed to the prevention and treatment of dental erosion.
Dental Hygienist's Chairside Pocket Guide A DAVIS'S NOTES BOOK! The perfect chairside reference ... in class, clinic, and practice This unique, pocket-sized guide gives your instant access to commonly used clinical practices and procedures integral to comprehensive patient care. Carry it with you wherever you go for quick reference at a moment's notice. And, its write-on/wipe-off, waterproof pages let you disinfect it according to infection control standards. It's also perfect for preparing for tests and board exams. See what students are saying about the 1st Edition... Every dental hygiene student needs this chairside guide "This chairside guide is so helpful and thorough. I am in my second semester of hygiene school preparing to see patients for the first time and this manual will help me through those times of need. I highly recommend this book. I think the team that created this guide are genius and understand the challenges of this field, and truly want those who utilize this guide to be knowledgeable and successful."--A. Diggs Great Investment! "I'm starting to finish up dental hygiene school and I wish I had this little book from the beginning! It' s a great reference for clinic and for boards and I can definitely see myself using it in private practice."--Michael Burner A huge help! "This book is fantastic! I'm so glad I purchased it! It has everything I need! Great book for any DH student!"--Amanda Landers
Dental Public Health at a Glance Dental Public Health at a Glance presents a richly-illustrated introduction to dental and oral health issues in communities and populations. Each topic is presented in an easy-to-comprehend two-page spread with essential facts clearly summarized and accompanied by tables, illustrations and diagrams Comprehensive coverage of wide range of key concepts including: evidence-based dentistry, oral health promotion, the relationship of fluoride, diet, smoking, and alcohol to oral health, and considerations for a dental public health career Written by an expert in dental public health and offering illuminating insights into oral health at the population level A must-have introductory textbook and revision guide for dentistry and dental hygiene and therapy students
Evidence-Based Dentistry for the Dental Hygienist Like any other dental professional, dental hygienists must practice evidence-based dentistry (EBD) to provide the best care to their patients, whether it be through scaling and root planing, caries prevention, or patient education. This book is intended as a textbook for dental hygienists to learn the importance of EBD in the practice of dental hygiene as well as how to implement EBD practices and share EBD findings among office staff. As the dental knowledge base evolves and scientific discoveries are made, dental hygienists must understand how to seek out and evaluate findings and, if appropriate, apply them in their clinical practice, and this book provides all the necessary tools to do just that.
Foundations of Periodontics for the Dental Hygienist Comprehensive and easy-to-understand, Foundations of Periodontics for the Dental Hygienist, Enhanced 5th Edition equips dental hygiene students with up-to-date, evidence-based coverage of periodontal anatomy, the periodontal disease process, and classifications of periodontal disease.Rather than presenting information in narrative style, the author--a leading expert in the field--uses a detailed outline format, making the information easier to read, understand, and reference. Rich with engaging learning features and student resources, the Enhanced 5th Edition has been revised and updated throughout to reflect the hygienist's increasingly important role in periodontal therapy and to help students confidently apply what they've learned to clinical patient care situations.
General and Oral Pathology for Dental Hygiene Practice Be prepared to provide the very best care to your patients! Develop the foundation in pathology you need to recognize the signs and symptoms of the oral conditions and the manifestations of systemic diseases you'll encounter in clinical practice. Step by step, you'll learn about the etiology of each disease or condition, how to recognize it, what the diagnostic process is, how the disease progresses, and what the treatment options are. Concise text and full-color photographs, complemented by animations of pathological processes online at DavisPlus, show you exactly what you need to know. Interactive case studies and critical-thinking exercises prepare you to make the correct patient care decisions.
General and Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist This updated Third Edition of General and Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist provides the information students need to develop an understanding of basic pathology and recognize the clinical manifestations of oral and systemic disease. In accordance with ADEA Curriculum Guidelines, which stress the recognition of oral disease based on clinical signs and symptoms, the oral pathology section is uniquely organized by distinct clinical/radiographic features of oral lesions to help students evaluate and categorize lesions according to appearance, emphasizing the concept of differential diagnosis. This edition features new "Oral Medicine Considerations" that highlight the relationship between oral and systemic disease, a stunning collection of art work with over 600 images, and a wide range of online resources, such as case studies and practice questions, that reinforce student learning.
How to Use Evidence-Based Dental Practices to Improve Clinical Decision-Making This book is a one-stop resource for learning how to harness the power of the latest scientific information and optimize patient care. How to Use Evidence-Based Dental Practices to Improve Your Clinical Decision-Making is the definitive resource for dental students and practitioners who want to learn from leaders in the field of evidence-based dentistry (EBD); quickly conduct searches for the latest research; master the skill of critically appraising clinical studies; confidently apply the latest research to patient care; teach others how to inform their practice with the latest clinical evidence; and access everything they need to become an EBD all-star. The ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry oversaw the development of this publication. Dental teams and educators alike will find it a useful resource for incorporating the most up-to-date scientific evidence in clinical decisions and instilling others with the curious mindset needed to provide evidence-based health care. Includes link to e-book.
Master the Dental Hygienist Exam Peterson's Master the Dental Hygienist Exam is a comprehensive guide that offers essential test-prep and review material to those seeking to advance their dental hygienist careers. Readers will find the information they need to know about what dental hygienists do, the steps to becoming a dental hygienist, and preparation and practice on the two component questions of the National Board Dental Hygiene Exam (NBDHE).
Orthodontic Handbook for Dental Assistants This handbook covers the basic knowledge of orthodontics and orthodontic treatment necessary for dental assistants, presented with photographs and illustrations that will make topics easy to understand. Each chapter begins with learning objectives and ends with a quiz so that readers can get the most out of the materials presented. Topics include the many types of oral conditions and malocclusion that dental assistants may come across and strategies to correct them, interacting with patients of different ages and levels of oral hygiene, and all of the different tools and appliances that will be used on a daily basis. This practical manual is invaluable not only for students but for practicing dental assistants and hygienists who want a concise and useful guide to reference in their work.
Patient Assessment Tutorials: a Step-By-Step Guide for the Dental Hygienis This updated Fourth Edition of Jill Gehrig's highly visual, step-by-step guide takes dental hygienists-in-training through the process of patient assessment, emphasizing both the actual physical assessment and the human interaction involved.The Fourth Edition includes four chapters on communication (including an all-new motivational interviewing chapter), as well as unique Human Element sections that include real-life experiences shared by patients, students, and clinicians.Enhanced by case studies, student learning aids, videos, and a new audio glossary, Patient Assessment Tutorials provides students with everything they need to succeed in the course and their future careers as dental hygienists.
Peri-Implant Therapy for the Dental Hygienist Peri-Implant Therapy for the Dental Hygienist is a comprehensive guide for implant history, prosthetic designs, and patient selection including oral systemic health and risk assessment. The text also discusses pre-surgical procedures, communicating with patients about implant dentistry, in-office maintenance protocols, plus new innovative home-care options to ensure success of the implant and overall health of the patient.  An essential tool for dental hygienists to prepare to take on this very important challenge in the profession, Peri-Implant Therapy for the Dental Hygienist is a valuable resource for the entire dental team.
Ultrasonic Periodontal Debridement Ultrasonic Periodontal Debridement: Theory and Technique is the first textbook to focus exclusively on this fundamentally important component of periodontal therapy. George, Donley, and Preshaw provide a comprehensive resource for dental students, dental hygiene and therapy students, and periodontal residents, as well as practicing dental hygienists and dentists who are looking to increase their familiarity and skills with ultrasonic instrumentation. The opening section describes the basic foundational knowledge of periodontal debridement; how it differs from and supersedes scaling and root planing, how it fits with modern concepts of periodontal disease pathogenesis, and includes a comparison of periodontal debridement instrumentation modalities. Section 2 describes ultrasonic technology, the variety of tip designs that are available, and provides practical guidance in appropriate tip selection. Section 3 focuses on the clinical applications of ultrasonic periodontal debridement, including patient assessment, medical and dental considerations, and provides specific guidance in clinical debridement techniques. Included are technique modules for each quadrant as well as case studies using real-world examples of situations likely to be encountered in everyday clinical practice, including ultrasonic instrumentation around dental implants.
Wilkens' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist Staying true to Esther Wilkins' pioneering vision that made her best-selling text the "Bible" for dental hygienists, Wilkins' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist, Thirteenth Edition progresses through crucial topics in dental hygiene in a straightforward format to ensure students develop the knowledge and skills they need for successful, evidence-based practice in today's rapidly changing oral health care environment. This cornerstone text, used in almost every dental hygiene education program in the country, has been meticulously updated by previous co-authors, Linda Boyd and Charlotte Wyche, and new co-author Lisa Mallonee to even better meet the needs of today's students and faculty, while reflecting the current state of practice in dental hygiene. Maintaining the hallmark outline format, the Thirteenth Edition continues to offer the breadth and depth necessary not only for foundation courses but for use throughout the entire dental hygiene curriculum.

Featured Print Books

Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.

Dental Hygiene: Theory and Practice Comprehensive and up to date, Dental Hygiene, 3rd Edition offers complete coverage of today's dental hygiene skills and theories -- all based on the Human Needs Model for better hygienist/patient communication. With a strong focus on clinical application, each section closely follows the critical thinking and clinical assessment approach that a hygienist must use in the classroom, clinic, and practice. Clinical competencies at the beginning of each chapter provide a clear, quick overview of exactly what you need to know, and procedure boxes with detailed steps and rationales ensure that you understand the reasoning behind each step in the competencies. In addition, new chapters on caries risk assessment and the oral-systemic health connection keep you up to date with today's major areas of research. UNIQUE! Human Needs Conceptual Model framework follows Maslow's human needs theory, helping hygienists treat the whole patient - not just specific diseases. Comprehensive coverage addresses the need-to-know issues in dental hygiene - from the rationale behind the need for dental hygiene care through assessment, diagnosis, care planning, implementation, pain and anxiety control, the care of individuals with special needs, and practice management. Step-by-step procedure boxes list the equipment required and the steps involved in performing key procedures. Rationales for the steps are provided in printable PDFs online. Critical Thinking exercises and Scenario boxes encourage application and problem solving, and help prepare students for the case-based portion of the NBDHE. Client Education boxes list teaching points that the dental hygienist may use to educate clients on at-home daily oral health care. High-quality and robust art program includes full-color illustrations and clinical photographs as well as radiographs to show anatomy, complex clinical procedures, and modern equipment. Legal, Ethical, and Safety Issues boxes address issues related to risk prevention and management. Expert authors Michele Darby and Margaret Walsh lead a team of international contributors consisting of leading dental hygiene instructors, researchers, and practitioners. NEW chapters on evidence-based practice, the development of a professional portfolio, and palliative care provide research-based findings and practical application of topics of interest in modern dental hygiene care. NEW content addresses the latest research and best practices in attaining clinical competency, including nutrition and community health guidelines, nonsurgical periodontal therapy, digital imaging, local anesthesia administration, pharmacology, infection control, and the use of the electronic health record (EHR) within dental hygiene practice. NEW photographs and illustrations show new guidelines and equipment, as well as emerging issues and trends. NEW! Companion product includes more than 50 dental hygiene procedures videos in areas such as periodontal instrumentation, local anesthesia administration, dental materials manipulation, common preventive care, and more. Sold separately.
Drug Information Handbook for Dentistry Information is presented in an easy-to-use, two-column format, with medications alphabetically indexed by brand and generic names, as well as by index terms. Within individual drug monographs, dental-specific fields are highlighted in red, a timesaving feature within an information-rich resource. Drug content is complemented by special sections dedicated to medically compromised patients, specific oral conditions, and sample prescriptions.
Foundations of Periodontics for the Dental Hygienist Comprehensive and easy-to-understand, Foundations of Periodontics for the Dental Hygienist, 5th Edition equips dental hygiene students with up-to-date, evidence-based coverage of periodontal anatomy, the periodontal disease process, and classifications of periodontal disease. Rather than presenting information in narrative style, the author--a leading expert in the field--uses a detailed outline format, making the information easier to read, understand, and reference. Rich with engaging learning features and student resources, the Fifth Edition has been revised and updated throughout to reflect the hygienist's increasingly important role in periodontal therapy and to help students confidently apply what they've learned to clinical patient care situations.
General and Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist This updated Third Edition of General and Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist provides the information students need to develop an understanding of basic pathology and recognize the clinical manifestations of oral and systemic disease. In accordance with ADEA Curriculum Guidelines, which stress the recognition of oral disease based on clinical signs and symptoms, the oral pathology section is uniquely organized by distinct clinical/radiographic features of oral lesions to help students evaluate and categorize lesions according to appearance, emphasizing the concept of differential diagnosis. This edition features new "Oral Medicine Considerations" that highlight the relationship between oral and systemic disease, a stunning collection of art work with over 600 images, and a wide range of online resources, such as case studies and practice questions, that reinforce student learning.
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office Be prepared to handle life-threatening dental emergencies! Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office, 7th Edition helps you learn the skills needed to manage medical emergencies in the dental office or clinic. It describes how to recognize and manage medical emergencies promptly and proactively, and details the resources that must be on hand to deal effectively with these situations. This edition includes new guidelines for drug-related emergencies, cardiac arrest, and more. Written by respected educator Dr. Stanley Malamed, this expert resource provides dental professionals with the tools for implementing a basic action plan for managing medical emergencies. "It successfully fulfils its aim of stimulating all members of the dental team to improve and maintain their skills in the effective prevention, recognition and management of medical emergencies." Reviewed by European Journal of Orthodontics, March 2015 "...very easy to read and provides a very comprehensive reference for a variety of medical emergencies." Reviewed by S.McKernon on behalf of British Dental Journal, July 2015 A logical format reflects the way emergencies are encountered in a dental practice, with chapters organized by commonly seen clinical signs and symptoms, such as unconsciousness or altered consciousness, respiratory distress, seizures, drug-related emergencies, chest pain, and cardiac arrest. Step-by-step procedures include detailed, numbered instructions for stabilizing and treating victims (PCABD) in common medical emergencies. Full-color illustrations demonstrate emergency techniques in realistic clarity. Summary tables and boxes make it easy to find essential concepts and information. Quick-reference algorithms in the appendix include step-by-step diagrams showing the decision-making process in common emergency situations. A differential diagnosis chapter ends each of the book's parts on common emergencies. UPDATED content includes the most current guidelines for drug-related emergencies, unconsciousness, altered consciousness, and cardiac arrest as well as protocols for obstructed airway management. UPDATED PCABD boxes reflect the American Heart Association's new sequence of steps for stabilizing and treating victims with an easy-to-remember acronym: Positioning, Circulation, Airway, Breathing, and Definitive Management. UPDATED! Emergency drug and equipment kit instructions help you assemble emergency kits and ensure that your dental office has safe, current materials on hand.
Mosby's Dental Dictionary An essential dental resource that goes beyond education! Mosby's Dental Dictionary, 4th Edition is the must-have, pocket-sized reference covering all areas of dentistry that's designed for both students and practitioners. This new edition defines over 10,000 terms on dynamic areas of dentistry, including materials, imaging, surgery, orthodontics, pain control, and more.'Throughout the text, over 300 illustrations address new innovations, research, technology, and products in the field, and extensive appendices provide quick access to the information you will use every day. Plus, a free companion website contains more than 5,000 audio pronunciations, 500 additional images, videos, and animations to help illustrate key concepts. Portable size offers convenience as a chair-side or computer-side reference. Companion website includes over 5,000 audio pronunciations, an expanded image collection, and videos and animations. Bolded pronunciations indicate terms that may be heard on the companion website. Practical appendices (in print and online) provide a reference to abbreviations, clinical oral structures, anesthesia color codes, implants, and more. Colored thumb tabs make it easy to locate definitions quickly. NEW! Terms on dynamic areas of dentistry, include materials, imaging, surgery, orthodontics, pain control, and more! NEW! Artwork, includes photos of the latest equipment, clinical techniques and modern illustrations to bring key concepts to life. NEW! Expanded audio pronunciations on the companion website ensures you're using the correct pronunciations of complex terms.   NEW! Who's-who of dentistry Editorial Board features expert editor Margaret Fehrenbach - Dental Hygienist, Oral Biologist, Educational Consultant, Dental Science Writer, and Dental Hygiene Instructor.
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference No dental office should be without this quick-reference drug handbook! Ideal for chairside use by the entire dental team, Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 13th Edition provides guidelines for safe, accurate drug administration. More than 800 drug monographs make it easy to find the information most relevant to oral healthcare practitioners, including indications and dosages, contraindications, interactions, side effects, serious reactions, and dental-specific drug data. From lead editor Arthur Jeske, a well-known researcher and author on dental pharmacology, this pocket guide provides the current, concise drug information needed at the point of care. More than 800 drug monographs include each drug's generic name, pronunciation, brand names, drug class, controlled substances schedule, mechanism of action, uses or indications, pharmacokinetics, doses and routes of administration, side effects/adverse reactions, contraindications, precautions, drug interactions of concern to dentistry, and more. Durable, pocket-sized format provides essential drug information at a glance, and makes this guide ideal for chairside use. Detailed dental considerations at the end of each monograph include an easy-to-use, bulleted list of specific dental-related information as well as general drug information, saving you time with information that is dentistry-focused and easy to use. Convenient reference information in the front of the guide includes a primer on the management of medically compromised patients, and the back of the guide includes convenient appendices on abbreviations, drugs associated with dry mouth, drugs that affect taste, oral contraceptives, preventing medication errors, and improving medication safety. Emphasis on oral health, prevention, and treatment from the dental hygienist's perspective makes it easier to use drug information for patient and family education. Coverage of oral contraceptives provides dental information on these commonly used drugs, often known to patients only by their brand names. Evolve website includes more than 100 additional monographs, including new monographs on monoclonal antibodies, images of common pathologic conditions, and information on common oral complications, alternative medicine, and drugs of abuse. NEW! More than 70 new monographs are included on the Evolve website for newly released, FDA-approved monoclonal antibody drugs, plus up-to-date content on the latest drug therapies.