LibGuides: Sustainability &amp; Going Green: Books &amp; eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

A Bright Future : How Some Countries Have Solved Climate Change and the Rest Can Follow The first book to offer a proven, fast, inexpensive, and practical way to cut greenhouse gas emissions and prevent catastrophic climate change. As climate change quickly approaches a series of turning points that guarantee disastrous outcomes, a solution is hiding in plain sight. Several countries have already replaced fossil fuels with low-carbon energy sources, and done so rapidly, in one to two decades. By following their methods, we could decarbonize the global economy by midcentury, replacing fossil fuels even while world energy use continues to rise. But so far we have lacked the courage to really try. In this clear-sighted and compelling book, Joshua Goldstein and Staffan Qvist explain how clean energy quickly replaced fossil fuels in such places as Sweden, France, South Korea, and Ontario. Their people enjoyed prosperity and growing energy use in harmony with the natural environment. They didn't do this through personal sacrifice, nor through 100 percent renewables, but by using them in combination with an energy source the Swedes call käkraft, hundreds of times safer and cleaner than coal. Clearly written and beautifully illustrated, yet footnoted with extensive technical references, Goldstein and Qvist's book will provide a new touchstone in discussions of climate change. It could spark a shift in world energy policy that, in the words of Steven Pinker's foreword, literally saves the world.
CLIMATE CHANGE and the road to NET-ZERO CLIMATE CHANGE and the road to NET-ZERO is a story of how humanity has broken free from the shackles of poverty, suffering, and war and for the first time in human history grown both population and prosperity. It’s also a story of how a single species has reconfigured the natural world, repurposed the Earth’s resources, and begun to re-engineer the climate. The book uses these conflicting narratives to explore the science, economics, technology, and politics of climate change. NET-ZERO blows away the entrenched idea that solving global warming requires a trade-off between the economy and environment, present and future generations, or rich and poor, and reveals why a twenty-year transition to a zero carbon system is a win-win solution for all on planet Earth.
Climate Courage : How Tackling Climate Change Can Build Community, Transform the Economy, and Bridge the Political Divide in America There's a new way of approaching climate change that no one is talking about. It's empowering citizens, uplifting communities, and it's changing the fate of our planet. Moreover, it's helping us live happier, healthier, more fulfilled lives. Most importantly, it's working. The new approach to climate change recognizes that people, not politics, are the agents of change that can create a sustainable world. And that in order to engage people in climate solutions, we need a new way of framing the problem. The problem is not that climate change is an insurmountable challenge--it's that it can seem like it is. Instead of focusing on governmental gridlock and apocalyptic visions, Climate Courage emphasizes the rate of job creation in the green economy, introduces the reader to the growing number of conservatives and people of faith already engaged in climate solutions, and tells the stories of the many communities that have come together to brainstorm clean energy solutions and put them into place. And in coming together to solve the climate crisis, we just may rediscover community, gratitude, and service--values which help us live more fulfilling, less consumption-oriented lives. This book brings a hopeful message that we don't often hear about--we're actually already on our way to solving the climate crisis and with more people involved in both big and small ways we will have a chance at preserving our environment.
The Climate Diet : How You Can Cut Carbon, Cut Costs, and Save the Planet The atmosphere is getting fat on our carbon and other greenhouse gas emissions and it needs our help. We live in a world of excess, consuming too much of everything-food, clothes, cars, toys, shoes, bricks, and mortar. Our bingeing is often so extreme that it threatens our own health and wellbeing. And we are not the only ones who are getting sick. The Earth, which provides the food, air, water, and land that sustains us, is also under severe pressure. We either take steps to put our personal and planetary systems back into balance or we suffer the consequences. So, what does any unhealthy overweight person do when the doctor tells him or her that they are eating themselves into an early grave? Go on a diet!This is the must-have guide to the most important diet ever, explaining climate change concepts, problems, and solutions in ways that anyone can easily understand. Following a six-step climate diet plan, families will be able to count their carbon calories and learn how to reduce them, leaving us with a slim healthy planet now and for the future.
Do It Yourself : A Handbook For Changing Our World 'Kaleidoscopic, energetic and refreshingly full of practical details. Could become a cult classic.' Robert Newman, comedien and novelist'A wonderful book. ... I recommend it with enormous enthusiasm.'John Holloway, author of Change the World Without Taking Power'Very thoughtful and sophisticated ... helps you act and makes you think. Give it to everyone you know - and don't leave yourself out either.'Rebecca Solnit, author of Hope in the Dark-- A Radical Guide to Ethical and Sustainable Living --Climate change, resource wars, privatisation, the growing gap between rich and poor, politicians that don't listen...Massive issues, but how can we make any difference? 'Do It Yourself: A Handbook for Changing Our World' shows how. It's not a book about what's wrong with the world, but a collection of dynamic ideas which explore how we can build radical and meaningful social change, ourselves, here and now.The book weaves together analysis, stories and experiences. It combines in-depth analytical chapters followed by easy to follow 'How to Guides' with practical ideas for change. Taken together, these small steps can move us towards taking back control of our lives from governments and corporations.Written and edited by activists and grassroots campaigners, Do It Yourself is part of a growing response from the global social justice movement. The book reflects on their experiences covering nine different areas:" Low impact living - reducing your energy consumption" Decision making - organising without leaders" Food - setting up and growing a community garden" Health - organising a health collective" Education - inspiring change through learning together" Alternative media - challenging the mainstream by creating your own media" Autonomous spaces - setting up and running a social centre" Cultural activism - unleashing creative potential" Direct action -building and maintaining effective campaignsThe Handbook for Changing Our World is the first book to be published by Pluto Press under the ground-breaking Creative Commons license allowing greater rights for non-commercial uses.
Energy, Sustainability and the Environment The complexity of carbon reduction and economic sustainability is significantly complicated by competing aspects of socioeconomic practices as well as legislative, regulatory, and scientific requirements and protocols. An easy to read and understand guide, Sioshansi, along with an international group of contributors, moves through the maze of carbon reduction methods and technologies, providing steps and insights to meet carbon reduction requirements and maintaining the health and welfare of the firm. The book's three part treatment is based on a clear and rigorous exposition of a wide range of options to reduce the carbon footprint Part 1 of the book, Challenge of Sustainability, examines the fundamental drivers of energy demand - economic growth, the need for basic energy services, and the interdependence of economic, political, environmental, social, equity, legacy and policy issues. Part 2 of the book, Technological Solutions, examines how energy can be used to support basic energy service needs of homes, commercial and industrial facilities and for other applications. Part 3 of the book, case studies, covers a number of innovative projects, initiatives, concepts or self-imposed targets in different parts of the world with the aim of significantly reducing energy use and carbon footprint of a company, a community, a city or an entire country. There was a widespread recognition among environmental engineers and energy economist of the importance of carbon reduction while sustaining the firm's economic growth. The only book to bring together both subjects into one easy to understand reference, Carbon Reduction and Economic Sustainability not only clearly explains which option has the lowest energy/carbon footprint but also which option would better suit the business in question. This includes carbon reduction for residential, transport, industrial and public sectors.
Environmental Management Towards Sustainability This book is about understanding challenges in managing our environment and ensuring sustainability of this planet. It presents the critical state of our resources and threats to resource security due to overconsumption, pollution and poor and uneven governance. Role of key stakeholders such as the Government, Financing Institutions, Business and Communities is important. These stakeholders need to collaborate at multiple levels - viz. Local, Regional, National and Global. Chapters are devoted to describing the role of the above stakeholders with numerous case studies. The book can serve as a textbook to academia, a reference for policy makers and planners and a resource for conducting continuing education programs for the professionals to introduce both the concepts and practice experience on sustainability.
Food Systems Sustainability and Environmental Policies in Modern Economies Food security is essential to the advancement and development of economies and societies worldwide. The promotion of viable food structures is the most effective method of promoting food security. Food Systems Sustainability and Environmental Policies in Modern Economies is a relevant research publication that explores the importance of viable food structures as well as the critical positive impact these viable structures have on food security, nutrition, and poverty. Featuring coverage on a broad range of topics such as irrigation schemes, agricultural input subsidies, and food cycles, this publication is geared toward professionals, researchers, and students seeking current research on viable food structures and their impact on society.
Global Warming Combat Manual : Solutions for a Sustainable World Exporting is a fantastic way for companies of all sizes to grow their business, and with many governments offering extensive support for their exporters, there has never been a better time to start. Building Your Business Through Export is an indispensible handbook for new and established exporters. In this thorough but accessible guide, John Westwood explains how to navigate the risks, build an understanding of potential target markets and make the most of the services many governments make available to their exporters as you develop and implement your export strategy. Including a range of international case examples, complete sample export and export marketing plans and supported by online checklists and country mini-profiles, this book offers essential advice on choosing and using agents and distributors, pricing, sales promotion, payment methods for export sales and ensuring your company website is ready for international customers.
The Impact of Overbuilding on People and the Planet This book challenges the status quo where profligate building and urban development is described as 'green' and 'low carbon', exposing a number of 'elephants in the big green room' that severely impact upon society and the environment. It questions the ethics, equity and sustainability of continued growth of the building stock in industrialized contexts amid diminishing demand, whilst the developing world is deprived of basic resources and infrastructure. Even a 'circular' built environment may not go far enough, when dramatic reduction in consumption of resources is required to meet 'sufficient' service levels. More socio-economic value may be derived from built resources by their stewardship, adaptation, reuse and equitable sharing, while ameliorating the adverse impacts of overconsumption. By taking a wider perspective of a sustainable built environment, the text illustrated by case studies from the Olympics and nine countries reframes the policy debate and reforms current approaches through a new theory and manifesto. It will appeal to policy makers, architects, urban designers, educators, students and green building practitioners.
Learning to Live with Climate Change : From Anxiety to Transformation This imaginative and empowering book explores the ways that our emotions entangle us with climate change and offers strategies for engaging with climate anxiety that can contribute to social transformation. Climate educator Blanche Verlie draws on feminist, more-than-human and affect theories to argue that people in high-carbon societies need to learn to 'live-with' climate change: to appreciate that human lives are interconnected with the climate, and to cultivate the emotional capacities needed to respond to the climate crisis. Learning to Live with Climate Change explores the cultural, interpersonal and sociological dimensions of ecological distress. The book engages with Australia's 2019/2020 'Black Summer' of bushfires and smoke, undergraduate students' experiences of climate change, and contemporary activist movements such as the youth strikes for climate. Verlie outlines how we can collectively attune to, live with, and respond to the unsettling realities of climate collapse while counteracting domineering ideals of 'climate control.' This impressive and timely work is both deeply philosophical and immediately practical. Its accessible style and real-world relevance ensure it will be valued by those researching, studying and working in diverse fields such as sustainability education, climate communication, human geography, cultural studies, environmental sociology and eco-psychology, as well as the broader public. The Open Access version of this book, available at https://doi.org/10.4324/9780367441265, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.  
Principles of Sustainability This new volume provides students and researchers with a solid foundation to the study of sustainability. Whether students want to know how to live or work more sustainably, or want to know more about the ecology of sustainability, or want to learn more about the economics or politics involved with sustainability, this is the resource to turn to.
Race For Sustainability: Energy, Economy, Environment And Ethics "Even with the latest and best vehicles, machinery, technology and buildings, if we continue to use resources irresponsibly -- if we continue to waste food, water and energy -- we are not even in the race."This book looks at the sustainable issues and the accompanying opportunities, and leads readers on a fast track to clear the air and drive to a sustainable, low-carbon future. To focus on renewable energy and energy efficiency. To stop the burning and stop wasting resources. Read on and let the wealth of information in this book inspire you along your sustainability journey. Join the race and act soon.A portfolio of stories, essays, profiles and case studies covering the four E's of Sustainability: Energy, Economy, Environment and Ethics.
The Reference Shelf: Renewable Energy Explores the renewable energy debate and draws from the press and politics to gather opinions about subjects like wind and wave energy, the future of solar energy, the challenge of designing eco-friendly energy storage, and the difficulties in tackling fossil fuel dominance in the energy industry.
Also available in print: TJ808 .R4123 2023
Sustainability: the Basics Sustainability is a pressing concern for people and governments around the world, but it is also an essentially contested concept that requires an understanding of the stakes, trade-offs, and complex politics at play.　Sustainability: The Basics　offers an accessible and interdisciplinary introduction to the concept, and discusses key questions such as: What are the core principles of sustainability? What are the key ethical considerations for questions of sustainability? How do we measure sustainability? What are the critical obstacles to achieving global sustainability? What happens when societies fail to observe principles of sustainability? Fully updated in its second edition,　Sustainability: The Basics　now includes coverage of the Sustainable Development Goals, a global range of case studies and explores the complex social dynamics of Earth system changes that affect our critical life supports.　 The second edition also proposes a new, "sustainable humanism" that animates much of our work to make a better, more humane world. As the world reels from the effects of the Covid-19 pandemic, this book is an ideal starting point for anyone who wants to know more about what we need to do to sustain civilization, humanity, and the world we live in.
There Is No Planet B : A Handbook for the Make or Break Years Feeding the world, climate change, biodiversity, antibiotics, plastics, pandemics - the list of concerns seems endless. But what is most pressing, and what should we do first? Do we all need to become vegetarian? How can we fly in a low-carbon world? How can we take control of technology? And, given the global nature of the challenges we now face, what on Earth can any of us do, as individuals? Mike Berners-Lee has crunched the numbers and plotted a course of action that is full of hope, practical, and enjoyable. This is the big-picture perspective on the environmental and economic challenges of our day, laid out in one place, and traced through to the underlying roots - questions of how we live and think. This updated edition has new material on protests, pandemics, wildfires, investments, carbon targets and of course, on the key question: given all this, what can I do?
Uncharted Waters: The New Economics of Water Scarcity and Variability The 21st century will witness the collision of two powerful forces -- burgeoning population growth, together with a changing climate. With population growth, water scarcity will proliferate to new areas across the globe. And with climate change, rainfall will become more fickle, with longer and deeper periods of droughts and deluges. This report presents new evidence to advance understanding on how rainfall shocks coupled with water scarcity, impacts farms, firms, and families.
Urban Sustainability and River Restoration Urban Sustainability and River Restoration: Green and Blue Infrastructure considers the integration of green and blue infrastructure in cities as a strategy useful for acting on causes and effects of environmental and ecological issues. River restoration projects are unique opportunities for sustainable development and smart growth of communities, providing multiple environmental, economic, and social benefits.This book analyzes initiatives and actions carried out and developed to improve environmental conditions in cities and better understand the environmental impact of (and in) dense urban areas in the United States and in Europe.
Water Always Wins : Thriving in an Age of Drought and Deluge A hopeful journey around the world and across time, illuminating better ways to live with water.  Nearly every human endeavor on the planet was conceived and constructed with a relatively stable climate in mind. But as new climate disasters remind us every day, our world is not stable--and it is changing in ways that expose the deep dysfunction of our relationship with water. Increasingly severe and frequent floods and droughts inevitably spur calls for higher levees, bigger drains, and longer aqueducts. But as we grapple with extreme weather, a hard truth is emerging: our development, including concrete infrastructure designed to control water, is actually exacerbating our problems. Because sooner or later, water always wins. In this quietly radical book, science journalist Erica Gies introduces us to innovators in what she calls the Slow Water movement who start by asking a revolutionary question: What does water want? Using close observation, historical research, and cutting-edge science, these experts in hydrology, restoration ecology, engineering, and urban planning are already transforming our relationship with water.  Modern civilizations tend to speed water away, erasing its slow phases on the land. Gies reminds us that water's true nature is to flex with the rhythms of the earth: the slow phases absorb floods, store water for droughts, and feed natural systems. Figuring out what water wants--and accommodating its desires within our human landscapes--is now a crucial survival strategy. By putting these new approaches to the test, innovators in the Slow Water movement are reshaping the future.

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

50 Simple Things You Can Do to Save the Earth Back in 1990, when John Javna self-published 50 Simple Things You Can Do to Save the Earth, the Green movement was still in its nascent stages. But this handy paperback, filled with tips and suggestions caught the public's imagination and became a phenomenon, empowering millions to actually be environmentalists in easy, doable ways. As awareness and concerns about the environment have grown, so has the scope and power of the 2008 version of 50 Simple Things.
The Age of Sustainable Development Jeffrey D. Sachs is one of the world's most perceptive and original analysts of global development. In this major new work he presents a compelling and practical framework for how global citizens can use a holistic way forward to address the seemingly intractable worldwide problems of persistent extreme poverty, environmental degradation, and political-economic injustice: sustainable development. Sachs offers readers, students, activists, environmentalists, and policy makers the tools, metrics, and practical pathways they need to achieve Sustainable Development Goals. Far more than a rhetorical exercise, this book is designed to inform, inspire, and spur action. Based on Sachs's twelve years as director of the Earth Institute at Columbia University, his thirteen years advising the United Nations secretary-general on the Millennium Development Goals, and his recent presentation of these ideas in a popular online course, The Age of Sustainable Development is a landmark publication and clarion call for all who care about our planet and global justice.
All We Can Save : truth, courage, and solutions for the climate crisis NATIONAL BESTSELLER . Provocative and illuminating essays from women at the forefront of the climate movement who are harnessing truth, courage, and solutions to lead humanity forward. "A powerful read that fills one with, dare I say . . . hope?"-The New York Times NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SMITHSONIAN MAGAZINE There is a renaissance blooming in the climate movement- leadership that is more characteristically feminine and more faithfully feminist, rooted in compassion, connection, creativity, and collaboration. While it's clear that women and girls are vital voices and agents of change for this planet, they are too often missing from the proverbial table. More than a problem of bias, it's a dynamic that sets us up for failure. To change everything, we need everyone. All We Can Save illuminates the expertise and insights of dozens of diverse women leading on climate in the United States-scientists, journalists, farmers, lawyers, teachers, activists, innovators, wonks, and designers, across generations, geographies, and race-and aims to advance a more representative, nuanced, and solution-oriented public conversation on the climate crisis. These women offer a spectrum of ideas and insights for how we can rapidly, radically reshape society. Intermixing essays with poetry and art, this book is both a balm and a guide for knowing and holding what has been done to the world, while bolstering our resolve never to give up on one another or our collective future. We must summon truth, courage, and solutions to turn away from the brink and toward life-giving possibility. Curated by two climate leaders, the book is a collection and celebration of visionaries who are leading us on a path toward all we can save. With essays and poems by- Emily Atkin .Xiye Bastida .Ellen Bass.Colette Pichon Battle .Jainey K. Bavishi .Janine Benyus .adrienne maree brown .Regine Clement .Abigail Dillen .Camille T. Dungy .Rhiana Gunn-Wright .Joy Harjo .Katharine Hayhoe .Mary Annaise Heglar .Jane Hirshfield . Mary Anne Hitt .Ailish Hopper.Tara Houska, Zhaabowekwe .Emily N. Johnston .Joan Naviyuk Kane .Naomi Klein .Kate Knuth .Ada Lim n .Louise Maher-Johnson .Kate Marvel .Gina McCarthy .Anne Haven McDonnell. Sarah Miller .Sherri Mitchell, Weh'na Ha'mu Kwasset .Susanne C. Moser .Lynna Odel.Sharon Olds.Mary Oliver .Kate Orff .Jacqui Patterson .Leah Penniman .Catherine Pierce . Marge Piercy .Kendra Pierre-Louis .Varshini . Prakash .Janisse Ray .Christine E. Nieves Rodriguez .Favianna Rodriguez .Cameron Russell .Ash Sanders .Judith D. Schwartz .Patricia Smith . Emily Stengel .Sarah Stillman .Leah Cardamore Stokes .Amanda Sturgeon .Maggie Thomas .Heather McTeer Toney .Alexandria Villasenor .Alice Walker. Amy Westervelt .Jane Zelikova
Can a City Be Sustainable? Cities are the world's future. Today, more than half of the global population--3.7 billion people--are urban dwellers, and that number is expected to double by 2050. There is no question that cities are growing; the only debate is over how they will grow. Will we invest in the physical and social infrastructure necessary for livable, equitable, and sustainable cities? In the latest edition of State of the World, the flagship publication of the Worldwatch Institute, experts from around the globe examine the core principles of sustainable urbanism and profile cities that are putting them into practice. State of the World first puts our current moment in context, tracing cities in the arc of human history. It also examines the basic structural elements of every city: materials and fuels; people and economics; and biodiversity. In part two, professionals working on some of the world's most inventive urban sustainability projects share their first-hand experience. Success stories come from places as diverse as Ahmedabad, India; Freiburg, Germany; and Shanghai, China. In many cases, local people are acting to improve their cities, even when national efforts are stalled. Parts three and four examine cross-cutting issues that affect the success of all cities. Topics range from the nitty-gritty of handling waste and developing public transportation to civic participation and navigating dysfunctional government. Throughout, readers discover the most pressing challenges facing communities and the most promising solutions currently being developed. The result is a snapshot of cities today and a vision for global urban sustainability tomorrow.    
Climate Courage : how tackling climate change can build community, transform the economy, and bridge the political divide in America A hopeful approach to climate change that offers us practical tools to band together across the political spectrum and create the green energy-powered sustainable world that's in our grasp There's a new way of approaching climate change that no one is talking about. It's empowering citizens, uplifting communities, and it's changing the fate of our planet. Moreover, it's helping us live happier, healthier, more fulfilled lives. Most importantly, it's working. The new approach to climate change recognizes that people, not politics, are the agents of change that can create a sustainable world. And that in order to engage people in climate solutions, we need a new way of framing the problem. The problem is not that climate change is an insurmountable challenge--it's that it can seem like it is. Instead of focusing on governmental gridlock and apocalyptic visions, Climate Courage emphasizes the rate of job creation in the green economy, introduces the reader to the growing number of conservatives and people of faith already engaged in climate solutions, and tells the stories of the many communities that have come together to brainstorm clean energy solutions and put them into place. And in coming together to solve the climate crisis, we just may rediscover community, gratitude, and service--values which help us live more fulfilling, less consumption-oriented lives. This book brings a hopeful message that we don't often hear about--we're actually already on our way to solving the climate crisis and with more people involved in both big and small ways we will have a chance at preserving our environment.
Eco-hustle! : global warming, greenwashing, and sustainability How many of our efforts to save the environment are effective? Learn how our system is simply masking the symptoms of global warming. Climate change is more than just a buzzword. It is a reality that society and industry have failed to deal with effectively. "Greenwashing," a term that author Bruce E. Johansen defines as the "environmental sleight of hand" performed by technology and advertising, has us convinced that certain "green" practices are sustainable. In his book, Johansen examines the sanctioned activities and practices commonly touted as environmentally responsible and points out their failings. He explains why the global climate change problem is more urgent than many people think, and provides real-world examples of companies that are taking measures with genuine benefits to the environment. Presenting information relevant to every inhabitant of earth and that environmentalists, climate scientists, and students and educators in environmental studies will find essential reading, this book brings questions about legislation and economics to the forefront and asks whether today's system can support a true effort at sustainable living. It presents honest--and what some readers may find surprising--answers to inquiries into what is really "good for the environment," such as why corn ethanol may be worse for the atmosphere than oil and why coal capture and sequestration may be the worst "green" idea yet. Explains global warming science in terms that laypeople and scholars can understand Examines "greenwashing" practices employed by today's society and describes the negative impact they will have Asks truly compelling questions about what will really protect the environment from future damage Proposes changes to today's system that truly recognize the need for sustainable practices and a move away from production and consumption
Ecological Intelligence : The Hidden Impacts of What We Buy The bestselling author of Emotional Intelligence and Primal Leadership now brings us Ecological Intelligence—revealing the hidden environmental consequences of what we make and buy, and how with that knowledge we can drive the essential changes we all must make to save our planet and ourselves. We buy “herbal” shampoos that contain industrial chemicals that can threaten our health or contaminate the environment. We dive down to see coral reefs, not realizing that an ingredient in our sunscreen feeds a virus that kills the reef. We wear organic cotton t-shirts, but don’t know that its dyes may put factory workers at risk for leukemia. In Ecological Intelligence, Daniel Goleman reveals why so many of the products that are labeled green are a “mirage,” and illuminates our wild inconsistencies in response to the ecological crisis. Drawing on cutting-edge research, Goleman explains why we as shoppers are in the dark over the hidden impacts of the goods and services we make and consume, victims of a blackout of information about the detrimental effects of producing, shipping, packaging, distributing, and discarding the goods we buy. But the balance of power is about to shift from seller to buyer, as a new generation of technologies informs us of the ecological facts about products at the point of purchase. This “radical transparency” will enable consumers to make smarter purchasing decisions, and will drive companies to rethink and reform their businesses, ushering in, Goleman claims, a new age of competitive advantage.
Green up Your Cleanup Shows how to eliminate toxic and harmful chemical cleaning agents from households and replace them with natural, homemade solutions that work.
Hacking Planet Earth : how geoengineering can help us reimagine the future An exploration of the cutting-edge technology that will enable us to confront the realities of climate change. For decades scientists and environmentalists have sounded the alarm about the effects of global warming. We are now past the tipping point. As floods, storms, and extreme temperatures become our daily reality, "Reduce, Reuse, Recycle" efforts aren't enough anymore. In Hacking Planet Earth, New York Times bestselling author Thomas Kostigen takes readers to the frontlines of geoengineering projects that scientists, entrepreneurs, engineers, and other visionaries around the world are developing to solve the problems associated with climate change. From giant parasols hovering above the Earth to shield us from an unforgiving sun, to lasers shooting up into clouds to coax out much-needed water, Kostigen introduces readers to this inspiring work and the people who are spearheading it. These futurist, far- thinking, world-changing ideas will save us, and Hacking Planet Earth offers readers their new vision for the future.
How to Avoid a Climate Disaster #1 NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER * In this urgent, authoritative book, Bill Gates sets out a wide-ranging, practical--and accessible--plan for how the world can get to zero greenhouse gas emissions in time to avoid a climate catastrophe. Bill Gates has spent a decade investigating the causes and effects of climate change. With the help of experts in the fields of physics, chemistry, biology, engineering, political science, and finance, he has focused on what must be done in order to stop the planet's slide to certain environmental disaster. In this book, he not only explains why we need to work toward net-zero emissions of greenhouse gases, but also details what we need to do to achieve this profoundly important goal. He gives us a clear-eyed description of the challenges we face. Drawing on his understanding of innovation and what it takes to get new ideas into the market, he describes the areas in which technology is already helping to reduce emissions, where and how the current technology can be made to function more effectively, where breakthrough technologies are needed, and who is working on these essential innovations. Finally, he lays out a concrete, practical plan for achieving the goal of zero emissions--suggesting not only policies that governments should adopt, but what we as individuals can do to keep our government, our employers, and ourselves accountable in this crucial enterprise. As Bill Gates makes clear, achieving zero emissions will not be simple or easy to do, but if we follow the plan he sets out here, it is a goal firmly within our reach.
Life Without Plastic : The Practical Step-by-Step Guide to Avoiding Plastic to Keep Your Family and the Planet Healthy After the birth of their son, Jay Sinha and Chantal Plamondon set out on a journey to eliminate plastic baby bottles as the Canadian government moved to ban BPA. When they found it was difficult to procure glass baby bottles, Jay and Chantal made it their mission to not only find glass and metal replacements for plastic, but to make those products accessible to the public as well. Printed on FSC-certified paper and with BPA-free ink, Life Without Plastic strives to create more awareness about BPA-based products, polystyrene and other single-use plastics, and provides readers with ideas for safe, reusable and affordable alternatives. While plastic has its uses in technology, the medical and industrial sectors and some products around the home, single-use plastics may release chemicals when they come in contact with food and water. These disposable plastics are commonly used to package food and drinks as well as personal care and cleaning products. Jay and Chantal show readers how to analyze their personal plastic use, find alternatives and create easy replacements in this step-by-step guide. Get your family healthier, spread consciousness and radiate positive plastic-free energy by taking action to help the environment.
Nature's Best Hope A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Douglas W. Tallamy's first book, Bringing Nature Home, awakened thousands of readers to an urgent situation: wildlife populations are in decline because the native plants they depend on are fast disappearing. His solution? Plant more natives. In this new book, Tallamy takes the next step and outlines his vision for a grassroots approach to conservation. Nature's Best Hope shows how homeowners everywhere can turn their yards into conservation corridors that provide wildlife habitats. Because this approach relies on the initiatives of private individuals, it is immune from the whims of government policy. Even more important, it's practical, effective, and easy--you will walk away with specific suggestions you can incorporate into your own yard.   If you're concerned about doing something good for the environment, Nature's Best Hope is the blueprint you need. By acting now, you can help preserve our precious wildlife--and the planet--for future generations.  
The Power of Trees
Principles of Sustainability This new volume provides students and researchers with a solid foundation to the study of sustainability. Whether students want to know how to live or work more sustainably, or want to know more about the ecology of sustainability, or want to learn more about the economics or politics involved with sustainability, this is the resource to turn to.
Regeneration : ending the climate crisis in one generation A radically new understanding of and practical approach to climate change by noted environmentalist Paul Hawken, creator of the New York Times bestseller Drawdown Regeneration offers a visionary new approach to climate change, one that weaves justice, climate, biodiversity, equity, and human dignity into a seamless tapestry of action, policy, and transformation that can end the climate crisis in one generation. It is the first book to describe and define the burgeoning regeneration movement spreading rapidly throughout the world.   Regeneration describes how an inclusive movement can engage the majority of humanity to save the world from the threat of global warming, with climate solutions that directly serve our children, the poor, and the excluded. This means we must address current human needs, not future existential threats, real as they are, with initiatives that include but go well beyond solar, electric vehicles, and tree planting to include such solutions as the fifteen-minute city, bioregions, azolla fern, food localization, fire ecology, decommodification, forests as farms, and the number one solution for the world: electrifying everything.   Paul Hawken and the nonprofit Regeneration Organization are launching a series of initiatives to accompany the book, including a streaming video series, curriculum, podcasts, teaching videos, and climate action software. Regeneration is the inspiring and necessary guide to inform the rapidly spreading climate movement.
Saving Us : a climate scientist's case for hope and healing in a divided world NATIONAL BESTSELLER "An optimistic view on why collective action is still possible--and how it can be realized." --The New York Times "As far as heroic characters go, I'm not sure you could do better than Katharine Hayhoe." --Scientific American "A must-read if we're serious about enacting positive change from the ground up, in communities, and through human connections and human emotions." --Margaret Atwood, Twitter United Nations Champion of the Earth, climate scientist, and evangelical Christian Katharine Hayhoe changes the debate on how we can save our future. Called "one of the nation's most effective communicators on climate change" by The New York Times, Katharine Hayhoe knows how to navigate all sides of the conversation on our changing planet. A Canadian climate scientist living in Texas, she negotiates distrust of data, indifference to imminent threats, and resistance to proposed solutions with ease. Over the past fifteen years Hayhoe has found that the most important thing we can do to address climate change is talk about it--and she wants to teach you how. In Saving Us, Hayhoe argues that when it comes to changing hearts and minds, facts are only one part of the equation. We need to find shared values in order to connect our unique identities to collective action. This is not another doomsday narrative about a planet on fire. It is a multilayered look at science, faith, and human psychology, from an icon in her field--recently named chief scientist at The Nature Conservancy. Drawing on interdisciplinary research and personal stories, Hayhoe shows that small conversations can have astonishing results. Saving Us leaves us with the tools to open a dialogue with your loved ones about how we all can play a role in pushing forward for change.
Secondhand From the acclaimed author of Junkyard Planet, a global exploration of the hidden market for used stuff and a travelogue that follows unwanted, obsolescent objects' journey into a reusable future. When you drop a box of unwanted items off at the local thrift store, where does it go? Probably across the country - or even halfway across the world - to people and places eager to re-use what you don't want. In Secondhand, Adam Minter delves into the vast, multibillion-dollar industry that resells used stuff around the world. He follows the trail of unwanted objects from the closets, garages and storage units of middle America, to epic used goods markets in Canada, Mexico, Japan, Ghana, India, Malaysia and beyond. Secondhand takes us through the often painful and heartbreaking process of cleaning out a lifetime's worth of possessions, and shows that used stuff still has a place in a world that values new and shiny - it entertains us, makes fortunes, fulfills needs, and transforms the way we live and work.
Taming the Sun : innovations to harness solar energy and power the planet How solar could spark a clean-energy transition through transformative innovation--creative financing, revolutionary technologies, and flexible energy systems. Solar energy, once a niche application for a limited market, has become the cheapest and fastest-growing power source on earth. What's more, its potential is nearly limitless--every hour the sun beams down more energy than the world uses in a year. But in Taming the Sun, energy expert Varun Sivaram warns that the world is not yet equipped to harness erratic sunshine to meet most of its energy needs. And if solar's current surge peters out, prospects for replacing fossil fuels and averting catastrophic climate change will dim. Innovation can brighten those prospects, Sivaram explains, drawing on firsthand experience and original research spanning science, business, and government. Financial innovation is already enticing deep-pocketed investors to fund solar projects around the world, from the sunniest deserts to the poorest villages. Technological innovation could replace today's solar panels with coatings as cheap as paint and employ artificial photosynthesis to store intermittent sunshine as convenient fuels. And systemic innovation could add flexibility to the world's power grids and other energy systems so they can dependably channel the sun's unreliable energy. Unleashing all this innovation will require visionary public policy: funding researchers developing next-generation solar technologies, refashioning energy systems and economic markets, and putting together a diverse clean energy portfolio. Although solar can't power the planet by itself, it can be the centerpiece of a global clean energy revolution. A Council on Foreign Relations Book
Waste Management and Sustainable Consumption The accelerated pace of global consumption over the past decades has meant that governments across the world are now faced with significant challenges in dealing with the dramatically increased volume of waste. While research on waste management has previously focused on finding technological solutions to the problem, this book uniquely examines the social and cultural views of waste, shedding new light on the topic by emphasising the consumer perspective throughout. Drawing on a wide variety of disciplines including environmental, economic, social and cultural theories, the book presents philosophical reflections, practical examples and potential solutions to the problem of increasing waste. It analyses and compares case studies from countries such as Sweden, Japan, the USA, India, Nigeria and Qatar, bringing out valuable insights for the international community and generating a critical discussion on how we can move towards a more sustainable society. This book will be of great interest to post-graduate students and researchers in environmental policy, waste management, social marketing and consumer behaviour, as well as policymakers and practitioners in consumer issues and business.
Zero Waste : Simple Life Hacks to Drastically Reduce Your Trash Easy and Effective Strategies to Jumpstart a Sustainable, Waste-Free Lifestyle We have a worldwide trash epidemic. The average American disposes of 4.4 pounds of garbage per day, and our landfills hold 254 million tons of waste. What if there were a simple--and fun--way for you to make a difference? What if you could take charge of your own waste, reduce your carbon footprint, and make an individual impact on an already fragile environment? A zero waste lifestyle is the answer--and Shia Su is living it. Every single piece of unrecyclable garbage Shia has produced in one year fits into a mason jar--and if it seems overwhelming, it isn't! In Zero Waste, Shia demystifies and simplifies the zero waste lifestyle for the beginner, sharing practical advice, quick solutions, and tips and tricks that will make trash-free living fun and meaningful. Learn how to: Build your own zero waste kit Prepare real food--the lazy way Make your own DIY household cleaners and toiletries Be zero waste even in the bathroom! And more! Be part of the solution! Implement these small changes at your own pace, and restructure your life to one of sustainable living for your community, your health, and the earth that sustains you.