Go to A-Z Databases: eBooks to search for more eBooks.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
Alternative Assets and Cryptocurrencies
Alternative assets such as fine art, wine, or diamonds have become popular investment vehicles in the aftermath of the global financial crisis. Correlation with classical financial markets is typically low, such that diversification benefits arise for portfolio allocation and risk management. Cryptocurrencies share many alternative asset features, but are hampered by high volatility, sluggish commercial acceptance, and regulatory uncertainties. This collection of papers addresses alternative assets and cryptocurrencies from economic, financial, statistical, and technical points of view. It gives an overview of their current state and explores their properties and prospects using innovative approaches and methodologies.
Bitcoin and Beyond : Cryptocurrencies, Blockchains, and Global Governance
Since the launch of Bitcoin in 2009 several hundred different 'cryptocurrencies' have been developed and become accepted for a wide variety of transactions in leading online commercial marketplaces and the 'sharing economy', as well as by more traditional retailers, manufacturers, and even by charities and political parties. Bitcoin and its competitors have also garnered attention for their wildly fluctuating values as well as implication in international money laundering, Ponzi schemes and online trade in illicit goods and services across borders. These and other controversies surrounding cryptocurrencies have induced varying governance responses by central banks, government ministries, international organizations, and industry regulators worldwide. Besides formal attempts to ban Bitcoin, there have been multifaceted efforts to incorporate elements of blockchains, the peer-to-peer technology underlying cryptocurrencies, in the wider exchange, recording, and broadcasting of digital transactions. Blockchains are being mobilized to support and extend an array of governance activities. The novelty and breadth of growing blockchain-based activities have fuelled both utopian promises and dystopian fears regarding applications of the emergent technology to Bitcoin and beyond. This volume brings scholars of anthropology, economics, Science and Technology Studies, and sociology together with GPE scholars in assessing the actual implications posed by Bitcoin and blockchains for contemporary global governance. Its interdisciplinary contributions provide academics, policymakers, industry practitioners and the general public with more nuanced understandings of technological change in the changing character of governance within and across the borders of nation-states.
The Bitcoin Big Bang : How Alternative Currencies Are about to Change the World
Get a handle on the digital currency revolution, and learn how to get on board The Bitcoin Big Bang is a guide to navigating the uncharted territory of digital currency. Written by CNBC contributor Brian Kelly, this book goes beyond Bitcoin 101 to explain how this transformative technology is about to change the world. Digital currency is thrown into perspective against the history of payment systems and its own evolution, as readers are invited to explore the ways in which this technology is already changing the way business gets done. Readers gain insight into the mechanisms behind Bitcoin, and an expert perspective on digital currency's effect on the future of money and the economic implications of the Bitcoin revolution. In the same way that e-mail changed the way we transfer information, the decentralized Bitcoin network is about to revolutionize the business world, the legal profession, and even the role of the government. The Bitcoin Big Bang dives head first into this paradigm shift, allowing readers to: Explore the origins of digital currency Learn the history and evolution of payment systems Discover how the Bitcoin network is facilitating free and instant transfer of value Understand the mining of Bitcoin, and how to invest The digital currency revolution has implications that spread far beyond the finance industry. Anyone who exchanges payment for goods and services is on the cusp of the next big push in societal evolution, and only an understanding of the technology and a clear knowledge of the systems and behaviors at play can fully prepare us for the changes to come. The Bitcoin Big Bang is the go-to guide, helping those who use money use it better.
Blockchain and Cryptocurrencies
Finance is the language of business and as technological disruption accelerates, a fundamental change is under way. This presents both opportunities and challenges for current-day organizations and finance professionals alike. Money makes the world go around, they say; but digital money not only makes the world go around, it does it in a decentralized fashion. Because the currencies are decentralized, with the right mix of technology the opportunities that emerge are noteworthy and emerge as a game changer for financial institutions. This book shows many different aspects, examples, and regulations of cryptocurrencies through its underpinning technology of blockchain in the present-day digital era. The diversity of the authors who sum up this book signify the importance of implementation in the digitized economy. It is divided into four main sections, with topics on Bitcoin, blockchain and digital returns, impact of cryptocurrencies in gaming, and cryptocurrency exchanges.
Blockchain Hurricane : The Origins, Application, and Future of Blockchain and Cryptocurrency
This book gives business decision makers and students a clear overview of the history, current applications, and future potential of distributed ledgers and cryptocurrency. The hype around blockchain technology is matched only by the innovation it inspires and the skepticism it provokes. This book gives business decision makers and students a clear overview of the history, current applications, and future potential of distributed ledgers and cryptocurrency. It explores strengths and weaknesses, emerging opportunities, and perceived threats. Technical frameworks are presented in a business context to help strategists understand the risks and rewards of different approaches to blockchain implementation, and the decision factors in determining whether this is a viable solution to the problem at hand.
A Critical Appraisal of Initial Coin Offerings : Lifting the Digital Token's Veil
In A Critical Appraisal of Initial Coin Offerings: Lifting the "Digital Token's Veil", Dominika Nestarcova examines the regulatory treatment of initial coin offerings ('ICOs'), a novel form of raising capital, where start-up companies issue blockchain-based assets ('digital tokens') to the public in return for a payment. The ICO model promises to utilize blockchain technology to enforce financial contracting via the underlying code, thereby substituting the traditional securities regulation. Dominika Nestarcova provides an in-depth analysis of this promise by examining the nature of digital tokens, the process, underlying benefits and risks to the model and the current state of the ICO regulation with an aim to uncover how the self-regulatory promise offered by ICOs lives up the expectations.
Cryptocurrency All-In-One for Dummies
Learn the skills to get in on the crypto craze The world of cryptocurrency includes some of the coolest technologies and most lucrative investments available today. And you can jump right into the middle of the action with Cryptocurrency All-in-One For Dummies, a collection of simple and straightforward resources that will get you up to speed on cryptocurrency investing and mining, blockchain, Bitcoin, and Ethereum. Stop scouring a million different places on the web and settle in with this one-stop compilation of up-to-date and reliable info on what's been called the "21st century gold rush." So, whether you're just looking for some fundamental knowledge about how cryptocurrency works, or you're ready to put some money into the markets, you'll find what you need in one of the five specially curated resources included in this book. Cryptocurrency All-in-One For Dummies will help you: Gain an understanding of how cryptocurrency works and the blockchain technologies that power cryptocurrency Find out if you're ready to invest in the cryptocurrency market and how to make smart decisions with your cash Build a cryptocurrency mining rig out of optimized and specifically chosen computing hardware Dive into the details of leading cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin and Ethereum Perfect for anyone curious and excited about the potential that's been unlocked by the latest in cryptocurrency tech, this book will give you the foundation you need to become a savvy cryptocurrency consumer, investor, or miner before you know it.
Cryptocurrency Investing for Dummies
The ultimate guide to the world of cryptocurrencies! While the cryptocurrency market is known for its volatility--and this volatility is often linked to the ever-changing regulatory environment of the industry--the entire cryptocurrency market is expected to reach a total value of $1 trillion this year. If you want to get in on the action, this book shows you how. Cryptocurrency Investing For Dummies offers trusted guidance on how to make money trading and investing in the top 200 digital currencies, no matter what the market sentiment. You'll find out how to navigate the new digital finance landscape and choose the right cryptocurrency for different situations with the help of real-world examples that show you how to maximize your cryptocurrency wallet. Understand how the cryptocurrency market works Find best practices for choosing the right cryptocurrency Explore new financial opportunities Choose the right platforms to make the best investments This book explores the hot topics and market moving events affecting cryptocurrency prices and shows you how to develop the smartest investment strategies based on your unique risk tolerance.
Cryptocurrency Mining for Dummies
Find out the essentials of cryptocurrency mining The cryptocurrency phenomenon has sparked a new opportunity mine for virtual gold, kind of like the prospectors of a couple centuries back. This time around, you need some tech know-how to get into the cryptocurrency mining game. This book shares the insight of two cryptocurrency insiders as they break down the necessary hardware, software, and strategies to mine Bitcoin, Ethereum, Monero, LiteCoin, and Dash. They also provide insight on how to stay ahead of the curve to maximize your return on investment. Get the tech tools and know-how to start mining Pick the best cryptocurrency to return your investment Apply a sound strategy to stay ahead of the game Find cryptocurrency value at the source From the basics of cryptocurrency and blockchain to selecting the best currency to mine, this easy-to-access book makes it easy to get started today!
Handbook of Digital Currency : Bitcoin, Innovation, Financial Instruments, and Big Data
Incorporating currencies, payment methods, and protocols that computers use to talk to each other, digital currencies are poised to grow in use and importance. The Handbook of Digital Currency gives readers a way to learn about subjects outside their specialties and provides authoritative background and tools for those whose primary source of information is journal articles. Taking a cross-country perspective, its comprehensive view of the field includes history, technicality, IT, finance, economics, legal, tax and regulatory environment. For those who come from different backgrounds with different questions in mind, The Handbook of Digital Currency is an essential starting point.
Money Code Space : Hidden Power in Bitcoin, Blockchain, and Decentralisation
Following the catastrophic events of the 2008 global financial crisis, an anonymous hacker released Bitcoin to claw back power from commercial and central banks. It quickly garnered an enthusiastic following who sought to forge a stable and democratic global economy - a world free fromhierarchy and control. In their eyes, Bitcoin's underlying architecture, blockchain, hailed the dawn of decentralisation.Money Code Space shatters these emancipatory claims. In their place, Jack Parkin constructs a new framework for revealing the geographies of power that lie behind blockchain networks. Drawing on first-hand experience in cryptocurrency communities and start-up companies from Silicon Valley to London,Parkin untangles the complex web of culture, politics, and economics that truly drive decentralisation.
The Promise of Bitcoin: The Future of Money and How It Can Work for You
From the cofounder of the longest-running bitcoin exchange comes a compelling argument for how this digital currency will transform the global economy--and how it can work for you. Bitcoin may be the best investment opportunity of our time, yet most people have yet to understand its promise. In this book, Bobby Lee, one of the earliest, most successful pioneers in the cryptocurrency space, debunks myths and dispels fears that surround bitcoin, arguing that this rational, logical system is superior to traditional monetary systems. Lee cites signs of bitcoin's widening acceptance: a growing community of users worldwide and multiple initiatives for investing in and holding bitcoin among major financial services organizations and institutional investors who control trillions in assets. Lee offers a primer on the best strategies for purchasing and investing in this digital currency. He discusses the pros and cons, and covers the more complicated method of acquiring bitcoin, mining. He predicts developments in regulation, technology, business, and society that will lead to bitcoin's price increasing 500 percent over the next two decades. In the wake of the current economic crisis, Lee calls on consumers to embrace a technology that will not only increase their wealth but make their lives easier.
Understanding Bitcoin : Cryptography, Engineering and Economics
Discover Bitcoin, the cryptocurrency that has the finance world buzzing Bitcoin is arguably one of the biggest developments in finance since the advent of fiat currency. With Understanding Bitcoin, expert author Pedro Franco provides finance professionals with a complete technical guide and resource to the cryptography, engineering and economic development of Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies. This comprehensive, yet accessible work fully explores the supporting economic realities and technological advances of Bitcoin, and presents positive and negative arguments from various economic schools regarding its continued viability. This authoritative text provides a step-by-step description of how Bitcoin works, starting with public key cryptography and moving on to explain transaction processing, the blockchain and mining technologies. This vital resource reviews Bitcoin from the broader perspective of digital currencies and explores historical attempts at cryptographic currencies. Bitcoin is, after all, not just a digital currency; it's a modern approach to the secure transfer of value using cryptography. This book is a detailed guide to what it is, how it works, and how it just may jumpstart a change in the way digital value changes hands. Understand how Bitcoin works, and the technology behind it Delve into the economics of Bitcoin, and its impact on the financial industry Discover alt-coins and other available cryptocurrencies Explore the ideas behind Bitcoin 2.0 technologies Learn transaction protocols, micropayment channels, atomic cross-chain trading, and more Bitcoin challenges the basic assumption under which the current financial system rests: that currencies are issued by central governments, and their supply is managed by central banks. To fully understand this revolutionary technology, Understanding Bitcoin is a uniquely complete, reader-friendly guide.
Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.
The Age of Cryptocurrency: How Bitcoin and the Blockchain Are Challenging the Global Economic Order
Bitcoin became a buzzword overnight. A cyber-enigma with an enthusiastic following, it pops up in headlines and fuels endless media debate. You can apparently use it to buy anything from coffee to cars, yet few people seem to truly understand what it is. This raises the question: Why should anyone care about bitcoin? InThe Age of Cryptocurrency, Wall Street journalists Paul Vigna and Michael J. Casey deliver the definitive answer to this question. Cybermoney is poised to launch a revolution, one that could reinvent traditional financial and social structures while bringing the world's billions of "unbanked" individuals into a new global economy. Cryptocurrency holds the promise of a financial system without a middleman, one owned by the people who use it and one safeguarded from the devastation of a 2008-type crash. But bitcoin, the most famous of the cybermonies, carries a reputation for instability, wild fluctuation, and illicit business; some fear it has the power to eliminate jobs and to upend the concept of a nation-state. It implies, above all, monumental and wide-reaching change--for better and for worse. But it is here to stay, and you ignore it at your peril. Vigna and Casey demystify cryptocurrency--its origins, its function, and what you need to know to navigate a cyber-economy. The digital currency world will look very different from the paper currency world;The Age of Cryptocurrency will teach you how to be ready.
The Basics of Bitcoins and Blockchains
Understand Bitcoin, Blockchains, and Cryptocurrency "Antony helps us all clearly understand the mechanics of bitcoin and blockchain." -Rob Findlay, Founder, Next Money #1 Best Seller in Investing Derivatives and Natural Resource Extraction Industry, Futures, Banks & Banking, Energy & Mining, and Monetary Policy There's a lot of information on cryptocurrency and blockchains out there. But, for the uninitiated, most of this information can be indecipherable. The Basics of Bitcoins and Blockchains provides a clear guide to this new currency and the revolutionary technology that powers it. Bitcoin, Ethereum, and other cryptocurrencies. Gain an understanding of a broad spectrum of Bitcoin topics including the history of Bitcoin, the Bitcoin blockchain, and Bitcoin buying, selling, and mining. Learn how payments are made, and how to put a value on cryptocurrencies and digital tokens. Blockchain technology. What exactly is a blockchain, how does it work, and why is it important? The Basics of Bitcoins and Blockchains answers these questions and more. Learn about notable blockchain platforms, smart contracts, and other important facets of blockchains and their function in the changing cyber-economy. Things to know before buying cryptocurrencies. The Basics of Bitcoins and Blockchains offers trustworthy and balanced insights into Bitcoin investing and investing in other cryptocurrency. Discover the risks and mitigations, learn how to identify scams, and understand cryptocurrency exchanges, digital wallets, and regulations. Learn about: � Blockchain technology and how it works � Workings of the cryptocurrency market � Evolution and potential impacts of Bitcoin and blockchains on global businessesYou've read books such as Blockchain Bubble or Revolution, Cryptoassets, Blockchain Technology Explained, Blockchain Revolution, The Bitcoin Standard, Mastering Bitcoin, or Bitcoin For Dummies, but to really understand the technology read The Basics of Bitcoins and Blockchains .
Blockchain Basics: A Non-technical Introduction in 25 Steps
In 25 concise steps, you will learn the basics of blockchain technology. No mathematical formulas, program code, or computer science jargon are used. No previous knowledge in computer science, mathematics, programming, or cryptography is required. Terminology is explained through pictures, analogies, and metaphors. This book bridges the gap that exists between purely technical books about the blockchain and purely business-focused books. It does so by explaining both the technical concepts that make up the blockchain and their role in business-relevant applications. What You'll Learn What the blockchain is Why it is needed and what problem it solves Why there is so much excitement about the blockchain and its potential Major components and their purpose How various components of the blockchain work and interact Limitations, why they exist, and what has been done to overcome them Major application scenarios Who This Book Is For Everyone who wants to get a general idea of what blockchain technology is, how it works, and how it will potentially change the financial system as we know it
Bubble or Revolution: The Future of Bitcoin, Blockchains, and Cryptocurrencies
Some experts say that cryptocurrencies and blockchains are just a scam; others say they're "the most important invention since the internet." It's hard to tell who's right. Authored by Product Managers from Google, Microsoft, and Facebook, Bubble or Revolution cuts through the hype to offer a balanced, comprehensive, and accessible analysis of blockchains and cryptocurrencies. You'll learn the core concepts of these technologies and understand their strengths and weaknesses from real-world case studies; dive deep into their technical, economic, political, and legal complexities; and gain insights about their future from exclusive interviews with dozens of tech industry leaders. No coding or math needed! Are cryptocurrencies and blockchains a bubble or a revolution? We'll help you decide for yourself. What's inside: Bitcoin and the blockchain How Bitcoin and blockchains work from a technical perspective with no assumed technical knowledge Satoshi Nakamoto and the history of Bitcoin, the original blockchain A thorough overview of crucial crypto concepts (eg. blocks, keys, mining, nodes, etc.) Frameworks for understanding when it actually makes sense to use blockchain Major application scenarios for blockchain and cryptocurrencies and where it'll fall flat Public blockchains and altcoins Emerging trends in blockchain technology What you should know before buying any cryptocurrency An overview of Etherum and smart contracts An overview of the strengths and weaknesses of the top altcoins and stable coins, including Monero (XMR), Tether (USDT), and Bitcoin Cash (BCH) Alternatives to blockchain and cryptocurrencies New kinds of decentralized ledger technology (dlt) The economics of both traditional payment methods and cryptocurrencies Cryptocurrency security best practices and major breach case studies Private blockchains How blockchain, cryptocurrencies, and traditional banking and finance will interact with one another in the future Public blockchains vs private blockchains Limitations and shortcomings of public blockchains and cryptocurrencies The role of blockchain in the strategy of top tech companies like Facebook and Microsoft Case studies of how non-tech companies are effectively utilizing blockchain (eg. Walmart using it to prevent foodborne illness) Business blockchain case studies ranging from gaming (e.g. Xbox) to cloud services (e.g. Microsoft Azure's blockchain-as-a-service and Amazon's AWS offering) Blockchain's use for big data, internet of things (IoT), and machine learning (ML) Cryptocurrency regulation and policy ICOs vs STOs vs IPOs ICOs' status as securities The SEC's STO rules and Reg A+/CF/D/S KYC and AML laws The debate over whether cryptocurrencies are securities The official stance of various countries on crypto An overview of crypto policy and regulatory hurdles The role of crypto in emerging markets and China Digital democracy and voting on the blockchain The future of decentralized technology If, how, and when the tokenization of national currencies will play out Facebook and WhatsApp's upcoming cryptocurrencies Currency tokenization and China's efforts to tokenize the yuan Blockchain, IoT, and the tangle Cryptocurrencies vs. fiat vs. the gold standard Predictions about the future of money, business, and currency Why blockchains would do better on Mars than Earth
Blockchain Revolution: How the Technology Behind Bitcoin and Other Cryptocurrencies Is Changing the World
The first, foundational book on blockchain technology, from the bestselling author of Wikinomics Don Tapscott and blockchain expert Alex Tapscott, now in paperback with a new preface and chapter explaining recent developments in the world of blockchain, including cryptoassets, ICOs, smart contracts, and more. "This book has had an enormous impact on the evolution of blockchain in the world." --Satya Nadella, CEO, Microsoft Corporation In this revelatory book, Don and Alex Tapscott bring us a brilliantly researched, highly readable, and essential book about the technology driving the future of the economy. Blockchain is the ingeniously simple, revolutionary protocol that allows transactions to be simultaneously anonymous and secure by maintaining a tamperproof public ledger of value. Though it's best known as the technology that drives bitcoin and other digital currencies, it also has the potential to go far beyond currency, to record virtually everything of value to humankind, from birth and death certificates to insurance claims, land titles, and even votes. As with major paradigm shifts that preceded it, blockchain technology will create winners and losers. This book shines a light on where it can lead us in the next decade and beyond.
Blockchain Technology Explained: The Ultimate Beginner's Guide About Blockchain Wallet, Mining, Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Zcash, Monero, Ripple, Dash, IOTA and Smart Contracts
Instead of talking about investing, this book will focus on how blockchain technology works and how it might be used in the future. Topics you can expect to see in this book include: What problem does blockchain solve? How can technology make our institutions faster and less expensive? Could technology replace our institutions (like governments, banks, etc) altogether? How does blockchain build trust between strangers? How does blockchain increase security for transactions and contracts? Can blockchain be used outside of finance? What is a block? What is the chain and why do we need it? What's a technical explanation of what happens in the blockchain? What is mining and why do we need it? Are there alternatives to mining to create a blockchain? What's the story of Bitcoin? Does Bitcoin have any problems? What is Ethereum, and what is a smart contract? Are there other blockchain technologies I should know about? How are companies adopting blockchain? What regulatory hurdles might slow blockchain adoption? Whew, that's a lot of questions. If you're ready to tackle them, I'm ready
© 2022 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
