The Anatomy of Anxiety Understanding and Overcoming the Body's Fear ResponseFrom acclaimed psychiatrist Dr. Ellen Vora comes a groundbreaking understanding of how anxiety manifests in the body and mind--and what we can do to overcome it. Anxiety affects more than forty million Americans--a number that continues to climb in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic. While conventional medicine tends to view anxiety as a "neck-up" problem--that is, one of brain chemistry and psychology--the truth is that the origins of anxiety are rooted in the body. In The Anatomy of Anxiety, holistic psychiatrist Dr. Ellen Vora offers nothing less than a paradigm shift in our understanding of anxiety and mental health, suggesting that anxiety is not simply a brain disorder but a whole-body condition. In her clinical work, Dr. Vora has found time and again that the symptoms of anxiety can often be traced to imbalances in the body. The emotional and physical discomfort we experience--sleeplessness, brain fog, stomach pain, jitters--is a result of the body's stress response. This physiological state can be triggered by challenging experiences as well as seemingly innocuous factors, such as diet and use of technology. The good news is that this body-based anxiety, or, as Dr. Vora terms it, "false anxiety," is easily treated. Once the body's needs are addressed, Dr. Vora reframes any remaining symptoms not as a disorder but rather as an urgent plea from within. This "true anxiety" is a signal that something else is out of balance--in our lives, in our relationships, in the world. True anxiety serves as our inner compass, helping us recalibrate when we're feeling lost. Practical, informative, and deeply hopeful, The Anatomy of Anxiety is the first book to fully explain the origins of anxiety and offer a detailed road map for healing and growth.
The Anxiety and Phobia WorkbookCelebrating 30 years as a classic in its field and recommended by therapists worldwide, The Anxiety and Phobia Workbook is an unparalleled, essential resource for people struggling with anxiety and phobias. Living with anxiety, panic disorders, or phobias can make you feel like you aren't in control of your life. Tackle the fears that hold you back with this go-to guide. Packed with the most effective skills for assessing and treating anxiety, this evidence-based workbook contains the latest clinical research. You'll find an arsenal of tools for quieting worry, ending negative self-talk, and taking charge of your anxious thoughts, including: Relaxation and breathing techniques; New research on exposure therapy for phobias; Lifestyle, exercise, mindfulness and nutrition tips. Written by a leading expert in cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), this fully revised and updated seventh edition offers powerful, step-by-step treatment strategies for panic disorders, agoraphobia, generalized anxiety disorder (GAD), obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD), post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), worry and fear. You will also find new information on relapse prevention after successful treatment, and updates on medication, cannabis derivatives, ketamine, exposure, nutrition, spirituality, the latest research in neurobiology, and more. Whether you suffer from anxiety and phobias yourself, or are a professional working with this population, this book provides the latest treatment solutions for overcoming the fears that stand in the way of living a meaningful and happy life. This workbook can be used on its own or in conjunction with therapy.
Bittersweet: How Sorrow and Longing Make Us WholeCain shows how a bittersweet state of mind is the quiet force that helps us transcend our personal and collective pain. If we don’t acknowledge our own heartache, she says, we can end up inflicting it on others via abuse, domination, or neglect. But if we realize that all humans know—or will know—loss and suffering, we can turn toward one another.
CopingCoping is a collection of philosophical essays on how we deal with life's challenges. We hope for better times, but what is hope, and is it a good thing to hope? How do we look back and make sense of our lives in the face of death? What is the nature of love, and how do we deal with its hardships? What makes for a genuine apology, and is there too much or too little apologizing in this world? Can we bring about changes in ourselves to adapt to our circumstances? How can we make sense of all the good advice-such as, count your blessings, don't cry over spilled milk-that people have on offer? Coping is a perfect companion text for a moral psychology course, a resilience course, or part of an ethics course. The material is written for readers who are new to philosophy and progresses in short self-contained sections. It draws on literature, music, podcasts, and news items. Each chapter has questions for discussion or essay writing and suggestions for material to explore the topic further.
Grief and Loss: Your Questions AnsweredAlthough aimed primarily at teens and young adults, who may be experiencing a significant loss for the first time, the information, guidance, and resources this book offers make it a valuable tool for anyone directly or indirectly affected by grief. Although a near-universal experience, grief can be very difficult to talk about and handle. Many of the thoughts and emotions that arise during grief are powerful and can be isolating, confusing, and overwhelming. Teens often struggle with loss and may feel alone, betrayed, or guilty. If left unsupported, bereaved adolescents and young adults can develop emotional and behavioral problems or depression, or even become suicidal. Dealing with grief in healthy ways is critical to accepting and adapting to the loss and the changes loss brings. Books in Greenwood's Q&A Health Guides series follow a reader-friendly question-and-answer format that anticipates readers' needs and concerns. Prevalent myths and misconceptions are identified and dispelled, and a collection of case studies illustrates key concepts and issues through relatable stories and insightful recommendations. Each book also includes a section on health literacy, equipping teens and young adults with practical tools and strategies for finding, evaluating, and using credible sources of health information both on and off the Internet--important skills that contribute to a lifetime of healthy decision-making. Helps readers better understand and navigate the emotionally tumultuous experience of grief; Makes the subject approachable and accessible to readers through a simple Q&A format; Helps readers hone their research and critical thinking skills in a Guide to Health Literacy section; Provides real-world examples of concepts discussed in the book through case studies; Dispels popular misconceptions surrounding grief in a Common Myths section and points readers toward accurate information.
Maybe You Should Talk to SomeoneFrom a New York Times best-selling author, psychotherapist, and national advice columnist, a hilarious, thought-provoking, and surprising new book that takes us behind the scenes of a therapist's world--where her patients are looking for answers (and so is she). One day, Lori Gottlieb is a therapist who helps patients in her Los Angeles practice. The next, a crisis causes her world to come crashing down. Enter Wendell, the quirky but seasoned therapist in whose office she suddenly lands. With his balding head, cardigan, and khakis, he seems to have come straight from Therapist Central Casting. Yet he will turn out to be anything but. As Gottlieb explores the inner chambers of her patients' lives -- a self-absorbed Hollywood producer, a young newlywed diagnosed with a terminal illness, a senior citizen threatening to end her life on her birthday if nothing gets better, and a twenty-something who can't stop hooking up with the wrong guys -- she finds that the questions they are struggling with are the very ones she is now bringing to Wendell. With startling wisdom and humor, Gottlieb invites us into her world as both clinician and patient, examining the truths and fictions we tell ourselves and others as we teeter on the tightrope between love and desire, meaning and mortality, guilt and redemption, terror and courage, hope and change. Maybe You Should Talk to Someone is revolutionary in its candor, offering a deeply personal yet universal tour of our hearts and minds and providing the rarest of gifts: a boldly revealing portrait of what it means to be human, and a disarmingly funny and illuminating account of our own mysterious lives and our power to transform them.
Also available in print: Also available in print RC480.8 .G68 2019
Principles of Health: Anxiety and StressAnxiety disorders are the most common mental illness diagnosis in America, and everyone experiences stress at some point in their life. Principles of Health: Anxiety & Stress provides both information about these conditions as well as support mechanisms and coping skills necessary to deal with them. Written in clear, accessible language, this volume is indispensable to anyone managing their own issues, their support network, and those interested in learning more about the mental health field. Topics cover Types of Anxiety Disorders, Mind-Body Connection, Coping Strategies, Stress Reduction, and Prevalence in the Adolescent Population. Essays are comprehensive and accessible to high school and undergraduate students and general readers interested in the study, mechanics, and treatment of anxiety and stress. Each essay includes Principal Terms, multiple subheads including an opening Summary, and Further Reading. The volume ends with a Glossary, Bibliography, and Subject Index.
Also available in print: Also available in print BF575.S75 P75 2020
Sexual Harassment: Your Questions AnsweredThis book answers readers' most pressing questions about sexual harassment, including how to identify it, its causes, and its effects. It also provides guidance and resources for anyone experiencing or witnessing sexual harassment. Unfortunately, sexual harassment is an all-too-common reality for many women and men. But what exactly constitutes sexual harassment, and how is it different from assault, bullying, and other forms of unwanted attention? Why is sexual harassment so common? How can being sexually harassed impact an individual's academic or work performance, psychological well-being, and even physical health? What can you do if you experience sexual harassment or believe someone else is experiencing it? Books in Greenwood's Q&A Health Guides series follow a reader-friendly question-and-answer format that anticipates readers' needs and concerns. Prevalent myths and misconceptions are identified and dispelled, and a collection of case studies illustrates key concepts and issues through relatable stories and insightful recommendations. Each book also includes a section on health literacy, equipping teens and young adults with practical tools and strategies for finding, evaluating, and using credible sources of health information both on and off the internet--important skills that contribute to a lifetime of healthy decision-making.
Survival Guide For Empaths : How To Overcome Your Limiting Beliefs, A Plan For The Highly Sensitive, Coping With Destress, Empath Healing Made Easy For BeginnersAre you an Empath experiencing high levels of distress... or do you feel as though you aren't using your natural abilities? Are you buried under limiting beliefs at work or home? Do you feel stagnant, stuck in a rut, and wish you had a survival guide? Are you terrified of ending life with regrets knowing you could have done better? If you keep doing what you've always done, you'll never break free and fully use your empathic abilities. Is this positive for you? Survival Guide For Empaths: How To Overcome Your Limiting Beliefs, A Plan For The Highly Sensitive, Coping With Distress, Empath Healing Made Easy For Beginners teaches you every step, including an action plan for destroying stress at the roots. This is a book of action and doesn't just tell you to try harder. Life rewards those who take matters into their own hands, and this book is where to start. Survival Guide For Empaths is full of real-life examples of healing tips for empaths just like you as well as proven techniques that have worked for gifted people just like you. These methods are backed up by life-changing experiences, all of which will arm you with a mindset primed for success with powerful and concrete empathic healing techniques. Easy-to-implement small changes and practical takeaways for immediate action. Create the life and peace you want.
Trauma and Resilience: Your Questions AnsweredAimed primarily at teens and young adults, the information, guidance, and resources in this book will also make it valuable for anyone directly or indirectly affected by trauma as well as those wishing to learn new resiliency and coping strategies. Traumatic experiences come in many forms, from fighting in a war zone to suffering abuse at the hands of a stranger or a loved one to being in or witnessing an accident. Trauma can have far-reaching and long-lasting negative impacts, affecting psychological well-being, relationships, and even physical health. But with proper treatment, many individuals are able to not only survive after trauma, but thrive. Books in Greenwood's Q&A Health Guides series follow a reader-friendly question-and-answer format that anticipates readers' needs and concerns. Prevalent myths and misconceptions are identified and dispelled, and a collection of case studies illustrates key concepts and issues through relatable stories and insightful recommendations. Each book also includes a section on health literacy, equipping teens and young adults with practical tools and strategies for finding, evaluating, and using credible sources of health information both on and off the internet--important skills that contribute to a lifetime of healthy decision-making. Provides a resource for teens and young adults struggling with trauma and for those seeking to build resiliency.
Addicted to the Monkey Mind: Change the Programming that Sabotages Your LifeIn his book, J.F. Benoist--a visionary thought leader in the fields of addiction treatment and personal development--uses the journeys of two relatable characters to teach you how to develop a powerful new mindset and finally break the pattern of negative self-talk. Addicted to the Monkey Mind offers a toolbox of practical skills to shift self-sabotaging, programmed ways of thinking and learn actionable steps to: - Overcome addiction & debilitating habits - Resolve relationship issues - Replace burnout with passion - Sustain an abiding joy. This book is designed as a step-by-step guide for creating lasting change. You'll learn why our thoughts are so erratic; why our emotions sometimes spiral out of control; why some days we feel great, but other days we're so anxious that we drink, use drugs, snap at our partners, sabotage our career, or feel so depressed that we can't get out of bed. Most of us are caught in these endless, self-sabotaging cycles because we've been taught that external factors determine our experience. How many times a day do we blame others and outside circumstances for how we're feeling? The hairstylist who butchered our haircut, the spouse who isn't pulling their share, the job that consumes all our time, the alcohol that made us act like a fool last night -- the list is endless. When we think this way, we're viewing the world through our Monkey Minds, whose constant chattering continues our cycles of self-destructive behavior. Luckily, Addicted to the Monkey Mind offers another way to view the world. The Observing Mind. By applying the skills of the Observing Mind, you will finally actualize the things you've been deeply longing for in your life: a substance-free lifestyle, healthy relationships, a thriving career, and a healthy body and mind.
From Survive to Thrive: Living Your Best Life with Mental IllnessWhat's holding you back? Learn how to take the steps needed to get to a place where you are happier, more productive, and more at peace. Are you struggling with personal problems, a mental health condition, or addiction? Are you looking to permanently improve your well-being and happiness? If you'd like to lead a fuller, more satisfying life--or help a mentally ill loved one--this book is for you. In From Survive to Thrive, Dr. Margaret S. Chisolm, a psychiatrist at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, describes a tried-and-true plan to help anyone grappling with life's challenges learn how to flourish. Dr. Chisolm does not define health as the mere absence of illness. She wants you to be able to lead the best life possible--to thrive! In down-to-earth prose, Dr. Chisolm provides insight into how readers can cultivate healthy habits and more positive reactions to life's provocations, choosing not to allow past life circumstances or a disease state to define their well-being. She also introduces the four perspectives through which all mental distress should be examined: disease, dimensional, behavior, and life story; describes the four pathways associated with well-being: family, work, education, and community. Includes fascinating stories from her own clinical (and personal) experience featuring real people who found fulfillment by embracing these perspectives and pathways. Supplements detailed, step-by-step advice with interactive elements, including self-assessments and self-reflection exercises. Incorporates graphic elements to illustrate important lessons. This upbeat guide is the first to detail evidence-based principles for improving well-being in those with mental illness.
It's Your Loss: Living with Grief is Hard; We Hope this Book will HelpWritten by two women who were bereaved at a young age It's Your Loss explores approaches to grieving loss to find the one that's right for you. Any kind of loss - whether the death of a loved one, breakdown of a relationship, or loss of your job - can be devastatingly painful, leaving life feeling empty. Even subtle losses in life can trigger a sense of grief. But, loss is a natural part of life and can be a catalyst for new beginnings. By working through your emotions and taking time to heal and accept your loss, you will discover that it is also an opportunity to find new meaning and make positive changes in your life. Emma Hopkinson and Robyn Donaldson believe that there is no right or wrong way to navigate loss, and explore their natural inclination to either keep their feelings in (Emma) or let them all out (Robyn), and expert commentary from a professional psychologist anchors their differing viewpoints in scientific fact. By the time they've guided you to the end of the book, your grieving journey will be over, and you will be ready to move on with your life.
On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of LossTen years after the death of Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, this commemorative edition of her final book combines practical wisdom, case studies, and the authors' own experiences and spiritual insight to explain how the process of grieving helps us live with loss. Includes a new introduction and resources section. Elisabeth Kübler-Ross's On Death and Dying changed the way we talk about the end of life. Before her own death in 2004, she and David Kessler completed On Grief and Grieving, which looks at the way we experience the process of grief. Just as On Death and Dying taught us the five stages of death -- denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance -- On Grief and Grieving applies these stages to the grieving process and weaves together theory, inspiration, and practical advice, including sections on sadness, hauntings, dreams, isolation, and healing.
The Overthinking Cure: How to Stay in the Present, Shake Negativity, and Stop Your Stress and AnxietyYour mind doesn't have to be a minefield. Constant chatter is unhealthy; find a better way and see a brighter life. A distracted and non-present mind is the biggest cause of unhappiness. It prevents us from seeing what possibilities lie before us. Life turns into a minefield rather than a set of new opportunities. The key to a happy life is your internal dialogue. Remain your own master. The Overthinking Cure is a book that understands what you've been through, the exhausting situation you've put yourself into, and how you lose your mind in the trap of anxiety and stress. Acclaimed author Nick Trenton will walk you through the obstacles with detailed and proven techniques to help you rewire your brain, control your thoughts, and change your mental habits. What's more, the book will provide you scientific approaches to completely change the way you think and feel about yourself by ending the vicious thought patterns. Keep your thoughts from spiraling out of control. Nick Trenton grew up in rural Illinois and is quite literally a farm boy. His best friend growing up was his trusty companion Leonard the dachshund. RIP Leonard. Eventually, he made it off the farm and obtained a BS in Economics, followed by an MA in Behavioral Psychology. A day without worry, rumination, or anxiety. That could be yours. -Simple ways to shift your perspective to positivity and opportunity -The anti-anxiety superweapon of going META -A new approach on how to destroy the toxic habit of rumination. How to change your world one cognitive distortion at a time. Seeing the world in shades of grey - and not black and white. Psychologically-proven tips to get out of your head and into your life. No more self-deprecating talk. No more sleepless nights with racing thoughts. Free your mind from overthinking and achieve more, feel better, and unleash your potential. Finally be able to live in the present moment.
The Power of Awe: Overcome Burnout & Anxiety, Ease Chronic Pain, Find Clarity & Purpose--in Less than 1 Minute Per DayDiscover a clinically proven way to reduce inflammation, stress, loneliness, and burnout, while improving overall well-being. As lifelong meditators and mindfulness teachers, we confess we were almost embarrassed when we stumbled onto a 5-15 second shortcut to transcendence. This idea ran counter to everything we knew about meditation before we began our research. But, yes, it is possible. It only requires accessing the powerful emotion of awe in ordinary, everyday life. The changes in our lives have been profound, and after seeing the results repeated again and again in our thousands of patients, clients, and study participants, we've proven that our shortcut, coined the A.W.E. Method, works. Research has proven that mindfulness improves well-being and reduces stress, anxiety, and pain. But for some, the practice itself feels challenging and inaccessible. That's where the A.W.E. Method comes in. In The Power of Awe, therapist Jake Eagle and chronic pain specialist Michael Amster, MD, share their extraordinary yet simple mindfulness practice that turns ordinary moments into awe-inducing experiences, helping you effortlessly achieve a heightened state of consciousness usually reserved for seasoned practitioners of mindfulness--all within a matter of seconds. A.W.E. stands for Attention, Wait, Exhale and Expand, and the method is a five- to fifteen-second, three-step process--a type of "microdosing mindfulness," or a brief, informal mindfulness practice supported by research conducted at UC Berkeley. The A.W.E. Method quickly transports us into awe, an incredibly powerful emotion that produces wonderment and a heightened state of consciousness along with some remarkable changes in the mind and body that can improve health and wellness. Experiencing awe does not require any demanding discipline or skills or "awesome" settings. The A.W.E. Method ensures that awe and its many benefits are accessible to you at any time, in any place--sitting at a stoplight, cooking a meal, petting an animal, or listening to a loved one's laugh.
The Power of Regret: How Looking Backward Moves Us ForwardA new book about the transforming power of our most misunderstood yet potentially most valuable emotion: regret. Everybody has regrets, Daniel H. Pink explains in The Power of Regret. They're a universal and healthy part of being human. Understanding how regret works can help us make smarter decisions, perform better at work and school, and bring greater meaning to our lives. Drawing on research in social psychology, neuroscience, and biology, Pink debunks the myth of the "no regrets" philosophy of life. And using the largest sampling of American attitudes about regret ever conducted as well as his own World Regret Survey--which has collected regrets from more than 15,000 people in 105 countries--he lays out the four core regrets that each of us has. These deep regrets offer compelling insights into how we live and how we can find a better path forward. As he did in his bestsellers Drive, When, and A Whole New Mind, Pink lays out a dynamic new way of thinking about regret and frames his ideas in ways that are clear, accessible, and pragmatic. Packed with true stories of people's regrets as well as practical takeaways for reimagining regret as a positive force, The Power of Regret shows how we can live richer, more engaged lives.
Stop Overthinking: 23 Techniques to Relieve Stress, Stop Negative Spirals, Declutter Your Mind, and Focus on the PresentOvercome negative thought patterns, reduce stress, and live a worry-free life. Overthinking is the biggest cause of unhappiness. Don't get stuck in a never-ending thought loop. Stay present and keep your mind off things that don't matter, and never will. Break free of your self-imposed mental prison. Stop Overthinking is a book that understands where you've been through, the exhausting situation you've put yourself into, and how you lose your mind in the trap of anxiety and stress. Acclaimed author Nick Trenton will walk you through the obstacles with detailed and proven techniques to help you rewire your brain, control your thoughts, and change your mental habits. What's more, the book will provide you scientific approaches to completely change the way you think and feel about yourself by ending the vicious thought patterns. Stop agonizing over the past and trying to predict the future. Nick Trenton grew up in rural Illinois and is quite literally a farm boy. His best friend growing up was his trusty companion Leonard the dachshund. RIP Leonard. Eventually, he made it off the farm and obtained a BS in Economics, followed by an MA in Behavioral Psychology. Powerful ways to stop ruminating and dwelling on negative thoughts. How to be aware of your negative spiral triggers; Identify and recognize your inner anxieties; How to keep the focus on relaxation and action; Proven methods to overcome stress attacks; Learn to declutter your mind and find focus; Unleash your unlimited potential and start living.
Unwinding Anxiety: New Science Shows how to Break the Cycles of Worry and Fear to Heal your MindA step-by-step plan clinically proven to break the cycle of worry and fear that drives anxiety and addictive habits. We are living through one of the most anxious periods any of us can remember. Whether facing issues as public as a pandemic or as personal as having kids at home and fighting the urge to reach for the wine bottle every night, we are feeling overwhelmed and out of control. But in this timely book, Judson Brewer explains how to uproot anxiety at its source using brain-based techniques and small hacks accessible to anyone. We think of anxiety as everything from mild unease to full-blown panic. But it's also what drives the addictive behaviors and bad habits we use to cope (e.g. stress eating, procrastination, doom scrolling and social media). Plus, anxiety lives in a part of the brain that resists rational thought. So we get stuck in anxiety habit loops that we can't think our way out of or use willpower to overcome. Dr. Brewer teaches us to map our brains to discover our triggers, defuse them with the simple but powerful practice of curiosity, and to train our brains using mindfulness and other practices that his lab has proven can work. Distilling more than 20 years of research and hands-on work with thousands of patients, including Olympic athletes and coaches, and leaders in government and business, Dr. Brewer has created a clear, solution-oriented program that anyone can use to feel better - no matter how anxious they feel.
What Happened to You? Conversations on Trauma, Resilience, and HealingOur earliest experiences shape our lives far down the road, and What Happened to You? provides powerful scientific and emotional insights into the behavioral patterns so many of us struggle to understand. This book is going to change the way you see your life. Have you ever wondered "Why did I do that?" or "Why can't I just control my behavior?" Others may judge our reactions and think, "What's wrong with that person?" When questioning our emotions, it's easy to place the blame on ourselves; holding ourselves and those around us to an impossible standard. It's time we started asking a different question. Through deeply personal conversations, Oprah Winfrey and renowned brain and trauma expert Dr. Bruce Perry offer a groundbreaking and profound shift from asking "What's wrong with you?" to "What happened to you?" Here, Winfrey shares stories from her own past, understanding through experience the vulnerability that comes from facing trauma and adversity at a young age. In conversation throughout the book, she and Dr. Perry focus on understanding people, behavior, and ourselves. It's a subtle but profound shift in our approach to trauma, and it's one that allows us to understand our pasts in order to clear a path to our future--opening the door to resilience and healing in a proven, powerful way.
Widen the Window: Training your Brain and Body to Thrive During Stress and Recover from TraumaA pioneering researcher gives us a new understanding of stress and trauma, as well as the tools to heal and thrive. Stress is our internal response to an experience that our brain perceives as threatening or challenging. Trauma is our response to an experience in which we feel powerless or lacking agency. Until now, researchers have treated these conditions as different, but they actually lie along a continuum. Dr. Elizabeth Stanley explains the significance of this continuum, how it affects our resilience in the face of challenge, and why an event that's stressful for one person can be traumatizing for another. This groundbreaking book examines the cultural norms that impede resilience in America, especially our collective tendency to disconnect stress from its potentially extreme consequences and override our need to recover. It explains the science of how to direct our attention to perform under stress and recover from trauma. With training, we can access agency, even in extreme-stress environments. In fact, any maladaptive behavior or response conditioned through stress or trauma can, with intentionality and understanding, be reconditioned and healed. The key is to use strategies that access not just the thinking brain but also the survival brain. By directing our attention in particular ways, we can widen the window within which our thinking brain and survival brain work together cooperatively. When we use awareness to regulate our biology this way, we can access our best, uniquely human qualities: our compassion, courage, curiosity, creativity, and connection with others. By building our resilience, we can train ourselves to make wise decisions and access choice--even during times of incredible stress, uncertainty, and change. With stories from men and women Dr. Stanley has trained in settings as varied as military bases, healthcare facilities, and Capitol Hill, as well as her own striking experiences with stress and trauma, she gives readers hands-on strategies they can use themselves, whether they want to perform under pressure or heal from traumatic experience, while at the same time pointing our understanding in a new direction.