Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
Complete Electronics Self-Teaching Guide with Projects
An all-in-one resource on everything electronics-related! For almost 30 years, this book has been a classic text for electronics enthusiasts. Now completely updated for today's technology, this latest version combines concepts, self-tests, and hands-on projects to offer you a completely repackaged and revised resource. This unique self-teaching guide features easy-to-understand explanations that are presented in a user-friendly format to help you learn the essentials you need to work with electronic circuits. All you need is a general understanding of electronics concepts such as Ohm's law and current flow, and an acquaintance with first-year algebra. The question-and-answer format, illustrative experiments, and self-tests at the end of each chapter make it easy for you to learn at your own speed. Boasts a companion website that includes more than twenty full-color, step-by-step projects Shares hands-on practice opportunities and conceptual background information to enhance your learning process Targets electronics enthusiasts who already have a basic knowledge of electronics but are interested in learning more about this fascinating topic on their own Features projects that work with the multimeter, breadboard, function generator, oscilloscope, bandpass filter, transistor amplifier, oscillator, rectifier, and more You're sure to get a charge out of the vast coverage included in Complete Electronics Self-Teaching Guide with Projects!
Electrical Circuits: a Primer
This new resource provides a comprehensive and concise introduction of the underpinnings and fundamentals of electrical circuits. Models, the limitations of models, and examples are clearly explained. The book examines circuits with static sources and explains how to reduce any circuit to a system of linear equations.Moreover, the book presents dynamic sources that exhibit transient phenomena that require the solution of linear differential equations. MATLAB code is used throughout the book to help solve key problems and assist engineers in the field. Additionally, this hands-on volume explores circuits with sinusoidal sources also known as the AC paradigm. The book provides another key mathematical tool known as a phasor which are mathematical objects based on complex number theory. The book emphasizes solutions for computing power, interpreting power and energy, and compensating electrical systems if the power factor is too low. Professionals are offered design guidance throughout the book with many real-world examples.
Electrical Energy Storage for Buildings in Smart Grids
Current developments in the renewable energy field, and the trend toward self-production and self-consumption of energy, has led to increased interest in the means of storing electrical energy; a key element of sustainable development. This book provides an in-depth view of the environmentally responsible energy solutions currently available for use in the building sector. It highlights the importance of storing electrical energy, demonstrates the many services that the storage of electrical energy can bring, and discusses the important socio-economic factors related to the emergence of smart buildings and smart grids. Finally, it presents the methodological tools needed to build a system of storage-based energy management, illustrated by concrete, pedagogic examples.
Electrical Engineering : A Pocket Reference
This is a superb source of quickly accessible information on the whole area of Electrical Engineering and Electronics, including Electromagnetic Fields, Networks, Signals & Systems, Digital and Analog Electronics, and Power Supplies. Students will find this book a reliable and most effective tool for the solution of problems and exercises. For electrical engineers, it serves as a concise and quick reference. Each chapter is a self-contained unit, comprising all important expressions, formulas, rules and theorems, as well as many examples and applications. Extensive appendices provide much useful supplementary information. Figures, tables and frames are used to create a very clear and concise layout that makes finding essential information fast and easy.
Electrical Safety
Learn How to Implement Safety Codes and Regulations Effectively A number of electrical fatalities and injuries that occur each year can be overcome by a thorough understanding of electrical concepts. Yet due to the complexity of regulatory requirements, many safety professionals may not be fully equipped to handle the task. Electrical Safety: Systems, Sustainability, and Stewardship addresses the problem by simplifying the knowledge acquisition process, and arming safety professionals with the tools needed to successfully meet safety and efficacy goals. From power generation facility to electrical device, this text combines knowledge of industry standards, regulations, and real-world experience to provide a detailed explanation of electrical power generation, transmittal, and use. Explains the Concepts behind Electric Code The book introduces the basic sustainability and stewardship concepts inherent to reliability centered maintenance (RCM). It explains how these concepts apply to the components of an electrical system (the concepts can be used when auditing for electrical safety, training on electrical safety, and overseeing an upgrade or extension of a building's electrical system). In addition, it addresses general electrical safety, electromagnetic field shields, ohm/resistance study criteria, arc flash hazard analysis, and hazardous energy control. The authors outline OSHA requirements and the reasons for those requirements, and explain the implementation exigencies. This book: Describes power generation, transmittal, and usage Contains regulatory summaries from the OSHA electrical safety standards Presents the various types of electrical studies including arc flash, electromagnetic field, and ohm resistance investigations Discusses earthing grounds and overcurrent devices as overall components of electrical control and safety Offers an up-to-date discussions of arc flash criteria and evaluation needs that are linked to general electrical safety and grounding requirements Considers electromagnetic field physics, measurement, and control alternatives Electrical Safety: Systems, Sustainability, and Stewardship provides a step-by-step dialogue of the OSHA requirements and more importantly the reasons for those requirements. Describing electrical use within industrial settings, and presenting a ground approach to understanding how electrical power is used, this book lays down the ground work for making important decisions.
Electricity and Magnetism
Electromagnetism is the force that causes attraction and repulsion between charged particles and between magnets. This force is responsible for almost all interactions, including how a car runs, how electronic equipment is powered, and how high-voltage electricity from a power plant is converted to a lower voltage for use in the home. Electricity and Magnetism, Second Edition explains the basics of electromagnetism, including what electricity and magnetism are and how they interact with each other, giving physics students a complete understand of this fundamental force.
Electronic Circuits with MATLAB, PSpice, and Smith Chart
Provides practical examples of circuit design and analysis using PSpice, MATLAB, and the Smith Chart This book presents the three technologies used to deal with electronic circuits: MATLAB, PSpice, and Smith chart. It gives students, researchers, and practicing engineers the necessary design and modelling tools for validating electronic design concepts involving bipolar junction transistors (BJTs), field-effect transistors (FET), OP Amp circuits, and analog filters. Electronic Circuits with MATLAB®, PSpice®, and Smith Chart presents analytical solutions with the results of MATLAB analysis and PSpice simulation. This gives the reader information about the state of the art and confidence in the legitimacy of the solution, as long as the solutions obtained by using the two software tools agree with each other. For representative examples of impedance matching and filter design, the solution using MATLAB and Smith chart (Smith V4.1) are presented for comparison and crosscheck. This approach is expected to give the reader confidence in, and a deeper understanding of, the solution. In addition, this text: Increases the reader's understanding of the underlying processes and related equations for the design and analysis of circuits Provides a stepping stone to RF (radio frequency) circuit design by demonstrating how MATLAB can be used for the design and implementation of microstrip filters Features two chapters dedicated to the application of Smith charts and two-port network theory Electronic Circuits with MATLAB®, PSpice®, and Smith Chart will be of great benefit to practicing engineers and graduate students interested in circuit theory and RF circuits.
Enabling Technologies for the Internet of Things
Enabling Technologies for the Internet of Things: Wireless Circuits, Systems and Networkscollects slides and notes from the lectures given in the 2017 Seasonal School Enabling Technologies for the Internet-of-Things, supported by IEEE CAS Society and by INTEL funding, and organized by Prof. Sergio Saponara and Prof. Giuliano Manara. The book discusses new trends in Internet-of-Things (IoT) technologies, considering technological and training aspects, with special focus on electronic and electromagnetic circuits and systems. IoT involves research and design activities both in analog and in digital circuit/signal domains, including focus on sensors interfacing and conditioning, energy harvesting, low-power signal processing, wireless connectivity and networking, functional safety (FuSa). FuSa is one of the emerging key issues in IoT applications in safety critical domains like industry 4.0, autonomous and connected vehicles and e-health. Our world is becoming more and more interconnected. Currently it is estimated that two hundred billion smart objects will be part of the IoT by 2020. This new scenario will pave the way to innovative business models and will bring new experiences in everyday life. The challenge is offering products, services and comprehensive solutions for the IoT, from technology to intelligent and connected objects and devices to connectivity and data centers, enhancing smart homes, smart factories, autonomous driving cars and much more, while at the same time ensuring the highest safety standards. In safety-critical contexts, where a fault could jeopardize the human life, safety becomes a key aspect.
Further Electrical and Electronic Principles
Further Electrical and Electronic Principles is a core text for pre-degree courses in electrical and electronic engineering courses. The coverage of this new edition has been brought in line with the specialist unit 'Further Electrical Principles' of the 2007 BTEC National Engineering specification from Edexcel. As the book follows a logical topic progression rather than a particular syllabus, it is also suitable for other Level 3 students on vocational courses such as Vocational AS/A Level, City & Guilds courses and NVQs.More advanced material has also been included, making this text also suitable for HNC/HND and foundation degree courses. Each chapter starts with learning outcomes tied to the syllabus. All theory is explained in detail and backed up with numerous worked examples. Students can test their understanding with end of chapter assignment questions for which answers are provided. The book also includes suggested practical assignments and handy summaries of equations. In this new edition, the layout has been improved and colour has been added to make the book more accessible for students. The textbook is supported with free electronic resources featuring supplementary worked examples and additional chapters at https://www.routledge.com/9780750687478
Guidelines for Electrical Transmission Line Structural Loading
Prepared by the Task Committee on Electrical Transmission Line Structural Loading of the Electrical Transmission Structures Committee of the Special Design Issues Technical Administrative Committee of the Structural Engineering Institute of ASCE Fully revised and updated, Guidelines for Electrical Transmission Line Structural Loading, Fourth Edition,　MOP 74, provides the most current and relevant loading concepts and applications specific to transmission line design. A valuable resource for the development of a loading philosophy for electrical transmission structures, the information presented can be applied to an individual project or at a regional level. Key topics addressed in this manual are Uniform procedures and definitions used in the industry for the calculation of loads, Design procedures addressing uniform levels of reliability for transmission lines, Up-to-date techniques for quantifying weather-related loads, Procedures for calculating design loads and determining their corresponding load factors, Updated techniques for quantifying wire system and other non-weather-related loads, Failure containment philosophy, and Practical examples providing more detail on the application of load recommendations. This Manual of Practice will be an important guide to engineers involved in electrical utility and structural engineering.
Mathematics for Electrical Engineering and Computing
Mathematics for Electrical Engineering and Computing embraces many applications of modern mathematics, such as Boolean Algebra and Sets and Functions, and also teaches both discrete and continuous systems - particularly vital for Digital Signal Processing (DSP). In addition, as most modern engineers are required to study software, material suitable for Software Engineering - set theory, predicate and prepositional calculus, language and graph theory - is fully integrated into the book. Excessive technical detail and language are avoided, recognising that the real requirement for practising engineers is the need to understand the applications of mathematics in everyday engineering contexts. Emphasis is given to an appreciation of the fundamental concepts behind the mathematics, for problem solving and undertaking critical analysis of results, whether using a calculator or a computer. The text is backed up by numerous exercises and worked examples throughout, firmly rooted in engineering practice, ensuring that all mathematical theory introduced is directly relevant to real-world engineering. The book includes introductions to advanced topics such as Fourier analysis, vector calculus and random processes, also making this a suitable introductory text for second year undergraduates of electrical, electronic and computer engineering, undertaking engineering mathematics courses. Dr Attenborough is a former Senior Lecturer in the School of Electrical, Electronic and Information Engineering at South Bank University. She is currently Technical Director of The Webbery - Internet development company, Co. Donegal, Ireland.
Newnes Electrical Power Engineer's Handbook
The second edition of this popular engineering reference book, previously titles Newnes Electrical Engineer's Handbook, provides a basic understanding of the underlying theory and operation of the major classes of electrical equipment. With coverage including the key principles of electrical engineering and the design and operation of electrical equipment, the book uses clear descriptions and logical presentation of data to explain electrical power and its applications. Each chapter is written by leading professionals and academics, and many sections conclude with a summary of key standards. The new edition is updated in line with recent advances in EMC, power quality and the structure and operation of power systems, making Newnes Electrical Power Engineer's Handbook an invaluable guide for today's electrical power engineer.
Power Integrity for Electrical and Computer Engineers
A professional guide to the fundamentals of power integrity analysis with an emphasis on silicon level power integrity Power Integrity for Electrical and Computer Engineers embraces the most recent changes in the field, offers a comprehensive introduction to the discipline of power integrity, and provides an overview of the fundamental principles. Written by noted experts on the topic, the book goes beyond most other resources to focus on the detailed aspects of silicon and optimization techniques in order to broaden the field of study. This important book offers coverage of a wide range of topics including signal analysis, EM concepts for PI, frequency domain analysis for PI, numerical methods (overview) for PI, and silicon device PI modeling. Power Integrity for Electrical and Computer Engineers examine platform technologies, system considerations, power conversion, system level modeling, and optimization methodologies. To reinforce the material presented, the authors include example problems. This important book: * Includes coverage on convergence, accuracy, and error analysis and explains how these can be used to analyze power integrity problems * Contains information for modeling the power converter from the PDN to the load in a full system level model * Explores areas of device level modeling of silicon as related to power integrity * Contains example word problems that are related to an individual chapter's subject Written for electrical and computer engineers and academics, Power Integrity for Electrical and Computer Engineers is an authoritative guide to the fundamentals of power integrity and explores the topics of power integrity analysis, power integrity analytics, silicon level power integrity, and optimization techniques.
Practical Electronics Handbook
Ian Sinclair's Practical Electronics Handbook combines a wealth useful day-to-day electronics information, concise explanations and practical guidance in this essential companion to anyone involved in electronics design and construction. The compact collection of key data, fundamental principles and circuit design basics provides an ideal reference for a wide range of students, enthusiasts, technicians and practitioners of electronics who have progressed beyond the basics. The sixth edition is updated throughout with new material on microcontrollers and computer assistance, and a new chapter on digital signal processing.
Understandable Electric Circuits
In this digital age, as the role of electronic circuits becomes ever broader and more complex, a thorough understanding of the key concepts of circuits is a great advantage. This book offers a thorough reference guide to the theory, elements and design of basic electric circuits, providing a solid foundation for those who plan to move into the field of electronics engineering, and essential information for anyone who uses electric circuitry in their profession or research. The book is designed to be accessible to newcomers to the field while also providing a useful review for more advanced readers. It has been extensively revised and expanded for this new edition to provide a clear source of information on this complex topic. Materials are presented visually with less text and more outlines so that readers can quickly get to the heart of each topic, making studying and reviewing more effective.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
Bird's Electrical Circuit Theory and Technology
Now in its seventh edition, Bird's Electrical Circuit Theory and Technology explains electrical circuit theory and associated technology topics in a straightforward manner, supported by practical engineering examples and applications to ensure that readers can relate theory to practice. The extensive and thorough coverage, containing over 800 worked examples, makes this an excellent text for a range of courses, in particular for Degree and Foundation Degree in electrical principles, circuit theory, telecommunications, and electrical technology. The text includes some essential mathematics revision, together with all the essential electrical and electronic principles for BTEC National and Diploma syllabuses and City & Guilds Technician Certificate and Diploma syllabuses in engineering. This material will be a great revision for those on higher courses. This edition includes several new sections, including glass batteries, climate change, the future of electricity production, and discussions concerning everyday aspects of electricity, such as watts and lumens, electrical safety, AC vs DC, and trending technologies. Its companion website at www.routledge.com/cw/bird provides resources for both students and lecturers, including full solutions for all 1400 further questions, multiple choice questions, lists of essential formulae and bios of famous engineers; as well as full solutions to revision tests, lab experiments, and illustrations for adopting course instructors.
Electrical and Mechanical Engineering
A concise, clearly expressed introduction to a complex set of ideas. The Degree in a Book series has sold over 118,000 copies worldwide and has been published in 10 different languages. Illustrated in full-color throughout.
Principles of Electrical Safety
Principles of Electrical Safety discusses current issues in electrical safety, which are accompanied by series' of practical applications that can be used by practicing professionals, graduate students, and researchers. . * Provides extensive introductions to important topics in electrical safety * Comprehensive overview of inductance, resistance, and capacitance as applied to the human body * Serves as a preparatory guide for today's practicing engineers
Schaum's Outline of Electric Circuits
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Textbook too pricey? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. This all-in-one-package includes more than 500 fully-solved problems, examples, and practice exercises to sharpen your problem-solving skills. Plus, you will have access to 25 detailed videos featuring math instructors who explain how to solve the most commonly tested problems--it's just like having your own virtual tutor! You'll find everything you need to build your confidence, skills, and knowledge and achieve the highest score possible. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them study faster, learn better, and get top grades. Now Schaum's is better than ever-with a new look, a new format with hundreds of practice problems, and completely updated information to conform to the latest developments in every field of study. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format and helpful tables and illustrations also help increase your understanding of the subject at hand. Schaum's Outline of Electrical Circuits, Seventh Edition features: * Updated content to match latest curriculum * Over 500 problems with clear explanations * Accessible format for quick and easy review * Material that supports all the major textbooks for electric circuits courses * Extra practice on topics such as amplifiers and operational amplifier circuits, waveforms and signals, AC power, and more * Access to revised Schaums.com website with access to 25 problem-solving videos, and more
Schaum's Outline of Signals and Systems, Fourth Edition
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Textbook too Pricey? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. Schaum's Outline of Signals and Systems, Fourth Edition is packed hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This updated guide approaches the subject in a more concise, ordered manner than most standard texts, which are often filled with extraneous material. Schaum's Outline of Signals and Systems, Fourth Edition features: * 571 fully-solved problems * 20 problem-solving videos* 23 MATLAB videos * Additional material on matrix theory and complex numbers * Clear, concise explanations of all signals and systems concepts * Content supplements the major leading textbook for signals and systems courses * Content that is appropriate for Basic Circuit Analysis, Electrical Circuits, Electrical Engineering and Circuit Analysis, Introduction to Circuit Analysis, AC and DC Circuits courses PLUS: Access to the revised Schaums.com website and new app, containing 20 problem-solving videos, and more. Schaum's reinforces the main concepts required in your course and offers hundreds of practice exercises to help you succeed. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time--and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines--Problem solved.
Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers
Up-to-date coverage of every facet of electric power in a single volume This fully revised, industry-standard resource offers practical details on every aspect of electric power engineering. The book contains in-depth discussions from more than 100 internationally recognized experts. Generation, transmission, distribution, operation, system protection, and switchgear are thoroughly explained. Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Seventeenth Edition, features brand-new sections on measurement and instrumentation, interconnected power grids, smart grids and microgrids, wind power, solar and photovoltaic power generation, electric machines and transformers, power system analysis, operations, stability and protection, and the electricity market. Coverage includes: * Units, symbols, constants, definitions, and conversion factors * Measurement and instrumentation * Properties of materials * Interconnected power grids * AC and DC power transmission * Power distribution * Smart grids and microgrids * Wind power generation * Solar power generation and energy storage * Substations and switch gear * Power transformers, generators, motors, and drives * Power electronics * Power system analysis, operations, stability, and protection * Electricity markets * Power quality and reliability * Lightning and overvoltage protection * Computer applications in the electric power industry * Standards in electrotechnology, telecommunications, and IT
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
