Archives Collections

The Atlantic was originally created with a focus on publishing leading writers' commentary on abolition, education and other major issues in contemporary political affairs at the time. Over its more than 150 years of publication. It has featured articles in the fields of politics, foreign affairs, business and the economy, culture and the arts, technology, science and more. Some of the founding sponsors of the magazine include prominent writers such as Ralph Waldo Emerson, Oliver Wendell Holmes, Sr., Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Harriet Beecher Stowe and John Greenleaf Whittier. Login with your COM account for off campus access.

The Indian Revolt, 1857 A Brief Review of the Kansas Usurpation, 1858 The Progress of the Electric Telegraph, 1860 The Future of American Railways, 1860 The Field of Gettysburg, 1865 The Awakening of the Negro by Booker T. Washington, 1896 An Odyssey of the North by Jack London, 1900 Why I Came to America, 1911 Letters From the Dust Bowl, 1936 Atomic War or Peace, by Albert Einstein, 1947 The Runaway Presidency by Arthur Schlesinger Jr, 1973

Since 1945, EBONY magazine has shined a spotlight on the worlds of Black people in America and worldwide. It covers the Black entertainment and celebrity news, the latest trends in Black style and fashion, African American history and culture as well as highlighting disparities in African American lifestyle and current events. Login with your COM account for off campus access.

Langston Hughes, As poet or playboy, he is nearest to an American Shelley, 1946 THE KING PLAN FOR FREEDOM: Protest leader M. L. King, Jr., stresses eight points to speed equality fight, 1956 THE SUPREMES MAKE IT BIG: Sweet-sounding Detroiters push to top as new rulers of “rock”; first girl vocal trio to make million-seller record list with three consecutive hits, 1966 BARBARA JORDAN: Texan Is A New Power On Capitol Hill, 1975 The Aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, 2005

Jet was a weekly magazine that focused on news, culture, and entertainment related to the African-American community. Founded in November 1951, the magazine chronicled the civil rights movement from its earliest years, including the murder of Emmett Till, the Montgomery bus boycott, and the activities of civil rights leader Martin Luther King Jr. Login with your COM account for off campus access.

Chicago Boy, 14, Kidnaped By Miss. Whites (Emmett Till), 1955  Battle for Dignity Heads for High Court: 30 Witnesses Tell World Why They Don’t Ride Ala Busses, 1956 Negroes Who Helped Space Flight Succeed, 1962 Negro Named to U. S. Supreme Court: Thurgood Marshall, Called “Mr. Civil Rights,” Gets Big Seat, 1967 A New Look At Muhammad Ali, 1976 Nobel Prize In Literature A “Knockout” For Morrison, 1st Black Award Recipient (Toni Morrison) 1993 America’s New Beginning: Barack Obama Sworn In 44th President, 2009

Life was launched as a weekly magazine in 1936 by Henry Luce, publisher of Time, and it quickly became a cornerstone of his Time-Life Publications. it covered every day life, popular culture, politics and world events. Life was best known for it's icons photographs, featuring top photographers such as Margaret Bourke-White, Gordon Parks, and Robert Capa. Login with your COM account for off campus access.

Life Goes to America's Most Famous Party: New Orleans Mardi Gras, 1938 America Goes to War, 1941 Dusty Plague Upon the Land, 1954 Castro on Eve of His Big Bid, 1958 Split-Second Horror as the Sniper’s Bullets Struck (Kennedy Assassination), 1963  Here Come Those Beatles, 1964 What I want, What I am, What you force me to be, is what you are by Gordon Parks, 1968 Apollo’s Great Leap for the Moon, 1969 Three Days That Shook America: A Vision of Terror (Rodney King), 1992

Founded by abolitionists in 1865, The Nation has long believed that independent journalism has the capacity to bring about a more democratic and equitable world. The archive includes perspectives on news, politics, and culture from writers, artists, novelists, and playwrights. The Nation Archive is a fully searchable online version of the magazine's complete backfile, offering a 150-year archive of reporting opinion and criticism. Login with your COM account for off campus access.

Corporations and Monopolies, 1874 "Labor" Having Its Fling, 1902 Chronicle of the War, 1914 Pineapple Politics (Al Capone), 1928 “Social Security” Under the New Deal, 1935 The McCarthy Method, 1950 "Injustice" by Pablo Neruda, 1981 Covid’s Deadly Toll, 2021

National Geographic Magazine started publication in October 1888 as the official journal of the National Geographic Society, a nonprofit dedicated to funding science and exploration across the planet. In 1905, it began including pictures, a style for which it became well-known. Its first color photos appeared in the 1910s.  Over time, the magazine has redefined itself as a committed outlet for world-class photojournalism, documenting the wonders of the planet and tackling serious issues around environmental and human rights. Login with your COM account for off campus access.

The Heart of the Antarctic by Ernest Shackleton, 1909 The Foreign-Born of the United States, 1914 Palestine Today, 1946 Firsthand Look at the Soviet Union, 1959 Saigon: Eye of the Storm, 1965 The Atomic Age: Its Problems and Promises, 1966 Long Road Home: A Story of War and Revelation in Afghanistan, 2002 These Animals are Slipping Away, 2020

Newsweek was launched in 1933 by Thomas J.C. Martyn. Soon becoming one of the "big three" of weekly news magazines, Newsweek brought the news to life with photographs, signed columns, and analysis to people across America and later across the globe. Login with your COM account for off campus access.

Democrats Take Over National Government: Roosevelt Starts to make Good on His New Deal Pledges, 1933 Control of the Atomic Bomb, 1945 The U.S., Ike and Sputnik, 1957 Incident in Suburbia, 1961 The Day Kennedy Died, 1963 'My God! They're Killing US' (Kent State), 1970 The Nixon Tapes, 1973 Beijing Bloodbath: The Army Finally Cracks Down on the Students Occupying Tiananmen Square, Killing 500 to 1,000 Supporters of the Democracy Movement, 1989 Spring Cloning: Three Months After Dolly, Pigs, Cows and More Sheep are Pregnant with Genetic Duplicates, 1997

Founded in 1923, by Briton Hadden and Henry Luce, TIME began as the first weekly news magazine in the United States. It was a digest of world events, for busy people to read. TIME's format set the standard for general newsmagazines, featuring concise articles on important and interesting topics, organized into departments like national and international affairs, business, education, science, medicine, law, religion, sports, books, and the arts. Today TIME’s mission is to provide trusted guidance about the ideas and people who shape and improve the world. Login with your COM account for off campus access.

Troubles of Mitchell (Stock market Crash), 1929 The Invasion (D-Day),1944 June 6 (p17); The Decision (p18); June Night (p19 & 20); "Our Sons Will Triumph..." (p21) Bitter Cold (Cold War), 1950 "A Great Ride" (Rosa Parks) 1957 Night War in the Jungle (Vietnam), 1961 First nation in cyberspace, 1993

The original version of Vanity Fair featured popular, avant-garde covers for its first run from September 1913 through February 1936. Beginning with the Jazz Age, the archive chronicles popular culture, fashion, celebrity portraiture and politics through the years. The magazine relaunched 47 years later in March 1983 by Conde Nast Publications with a focus on politics, business, Hollywood, style and culture. Login with your COM account for off campus access.

Silence Is Golden: Being the Misanthropic Reflections of an English Novelist on First Hearing a Picture Talk by Aldous Huxley, 1929 Evolution of the speakeasy, 1932 Who We Are, (9/11) 2001 Watergate’s Last Chapter by Carl Bernstein, 2005 How New Orleans Drowned, 2006 Enter Obama, 2009