Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
Accident and Emergency Informatics
Time is short in emergency situations; the need for action becomes imperative. Biomedical Informatics can be invaluable in supporting the management of emergency medicine, and the need for the creation of Accident and Emergency Informatics (A&EI) as a novel subfield became obvious. As in all areas of Biomedical Informatics, A&EI must deal with issues such as relevant data collection, the management of data extracted from accident sites, health records or sensors, wearables and apps, and appropriate data processing, with the dual purpose of preventing harm and decision support. This book is an introduction to the research and application domain of A&EI, and is the product of three years' work by the Working Group in A&EI of the International Medical Informatics Association (IMIA). The book presents ten chapters organized in four sections. The first section explores the framework for achieving an emergency-informatics health information infrastructure; the second focuses on the gathering of critical clinical data related to the building up of a smart environment for A&EI; the third introduces state-of-the-art technologies for integration into virtual emergency registries; and the final part considers the delicate issues of patient safety raised by the introduction of surveillance technologies into clinical care, along with other issues presenting challenges to the domain of A&EI for the future. The book is an important contribution to the field of A&EI, and will be of interest to healthcare professionals, informaticians, and all those who want a better understanding of the domain of Accident and Emergency Informatics.
Advanced Health Technology: Managing Risk While Tackling Barriers to Rapid Acceleration
"Everything worth winning in life boils down to teamwork and leadership. In my positions as a businessman, athlete, community leader, and University trustee, there are tremendous parallels between all of these endeavors that mirror an extreme team sport such as medical technology. Understanding the game, defining the game, playing your position at your highest performance, and helping others play their best game. Advanced Health Technology represents an incredible opportunity to level up the game of healthcare and highlights the multiple disciplines - or positions to be mastered - while laying out winning plays to make that next level happen." Ronnie Lott, Managing Member, Lott Investments; Member, Pro Football Hall of Fame, and Trustee, Santa Clara University Healthcare stakeholders are paralyzed from making progress as risks explode in volume and complexity. This book will help readers understand how to manage and transcend risks to drive the quadruple aim of improved patient experiences, better patient and business outcomes, improved clinician experience, and lower healthcare costs, and also help readers learn from working successful examples across projects, programs, and careers to get ahead of these multidisciplinary healthcare risks.
AI-First Healthcare
AI is poised to transform every aspect of healthcare, including the way we manage personal health, from customer experience and clinical care to healthcare cost reductions. This practical book is one of the first to describe present and future use cases where AI can help solve pernicious healthcare problems. Kerrie Holley and Siupo Becker provide guidance to help informatics and healthcare leadership create AI strategy and implementation plans for healthcare. With this book, business stakeholders and practitioners will be able to build knowledge, a roadmap, and the confidence to support AI in their organizations--without getting into the weeds of algorithms or open source frameworks. Cowritten by an AI technologist and a medical doctor who leverages AI to solve healthcare's most difficult challenges, this book covers: The myths and realities of AI, now and in the future Human-centered AI: what it is and how to make it possible Using various AI technologies to go beyond precision medicine How to deliver patient care using the IoT and ambient computing with AI How AI can help reduce waste in healthcare AI strategy and how to identify high-priority AI application
Context Sensitive Health Informatics: the Role of Informatics in Global Pandemics
The COVID-19 pandemic has disrupted many global industries, none more so than healthcare, and has necessitated the need for health informatics innovations that can bridge time and space to provide timely care. It has also emphasized the need for a system-level informatics infrastructure to support the healthcare management of populations at a macro level, while also providing the necessary support for front line care delivery at a micro level. However, the need for change at a fast pace does not remove the need for an evidence base to support health technologies. This raises fundamental questions about how the informatics tools required can be delivered at pace without compromising the quality and safety of such tools.This book presents papers from the biennial conference on Context Sensitive Health Informatics, CSHI 2021, held as a virtual event on 15 and 16 November 2021. The theme of the 2021 conference was: The Role of Informatics in Global Pandemics, and this book includes 18 papers on a variety of topics, divided into 4 sections: health information management in the COVID-19 context; implementation of new practices and technologies in healthcare; sociotechnical analysis of task performance and workload in healthcare; and innovations in design and evaluation methods of health technologies.The book provides an overview of innovative health information systems rooted in robust scientific research on context and health information technology, and will be of interest to all those working in the field of health informatics.
Cybersecurity for eHealth: A Simplified Guide to Practical Cybersecurity for Non-Technical Healthcare Stakeholders & Practitioners
The modern realities of cybersecurity have uncovered the unpreparedness of many sectors and industries to deal with emerging threats. One of these sectors is the healthcare industry. The pervasiveness and proliferation of digital innovation, systems, and applications in global healthcare, especially powered by modern information and communications technologies, have created a threat domain wherein policy and regulation struggle to keep pace with development, standardization faces contextual challenges, and technical capacity is largely deficient. It is now urgent that healthcare professionals understand the most relevant concepts and fundamentals of global cybersecurity related to healthcare (particularly eHealth). Cybersecurity for eHealth: A Practical Guide for Non-Technical Healthcare Stakeholders & Practitioners combines a rigorous academic and practical professional approach in covering the essentials of cybersecurity. This book Distills foundational knowledge and presents it in a concise manner that is easily assimilated Draws lessons from real-life case studies across the global healthcare industry to drive home complex concepts, principles, and insights Helps eHealth professionals to deal more knowledgeably and effectively with the realities of cybersecurity Written for healthcare professionals without a background in the technical workings of information and communication technologies, this book presents the basics of cybersecurity and an overview of eHealth. It covers the foundational concepts, perspectives, and applications of cybersecurity in the context of eHealth, and traverses the cybersecurity threat landscape to eHealth, including Threat categories, agents, and objectives Strategies and approaches deployed by various threat agents Predisposing risk factors in cybersecurity threat situations Basic practical techniques for protecting against cybersecurity incidents at the personal and institutional levels A comprehensive and practical guide, this book discusses approaches and best practices for enhancing personal cybersecurity, covers the basics of data and information security in healthcare, and presents an overview of the goals and responsibilities of governance, ethics, and regulation in eHealth. Who should use this book? Healthcare stakeholders and practitioners seeking a better understanding of cybersecurity as it pertains to healthcare information and communication technologies Regulatory and Board Authorities seeking to design comprehensive and foundational training programs in cybersecurity for healthcare stakeholders and practitioners Chief Information Officers and Chief Information Security Officers of healthcare organizations needing a basic internal training resource for healthcare professionals Non-technical enthusiasts seeking to understand the threat landscape and realities of cybersecurity in healthcare
Health Information Systems : Technological and Management Perspectives
This heavily revised open access edition provides a thorough overview of the technologies available to assemble, manage and assess the quality of health information systems. It details a variety of scenarios in the context of both health and heath care, including where prevention and wellness are related, such as the treatment of both acute and chronic diseases. Stakeholder requirements are also described to provide perspectives for describing the architectures and management techniques associated with health information systems, enabling the reader to develop a detailed holistic overview of the subject. Health Information Systems: Technological and Management Perspectives features a detailed overview of how information systems in health care can be managed and is a vital resource for medical informatics students seeking an up-to-date text on the topic.
Informatics and Technology in Clinical Care and Public Health
Data, informatics, and technology are now among the most important aspects inspiring health professionals and informaticians to improve healthcare for the benefit of patients. This book presents the proceedings of the 19th annual International Conference on Informatics, Management, and Technology in Healthcare (ICIMTH 2021), held as a virtual event due to COVID-19 pandemic restrictions on 16 and 17 October 2021 in Athens, Greece. The ICIMTH conferences are a series of scientific events which bring together scientists working in the field of biomedical and health informatics from around the world. The 2021 conference examined the field of biomedical and health informatics in a very broad framework, presenting the research and application outcomes of informatics from cell to populations, and including a number of technologies such as imaging, sensors and biomedical equipment, as well as management and organizational aspects, including legal and social issues and the setting of research priorities in health informatics. A significant number of the papers included here relate to the COVID-19 pandemic.Providing an insight into the latest developments in biomedical and health informatics, the book will be of interest to all those working in the field.
Precision Health and Artificial Intelligence
This book provides a comprehensive explanation of precision (i.e., personalized) healthcare and explores how it can be advanced through artificial intelligence (AI) and other data-driven technologies. From improving the diagnosis, treatment, and monitoring of many medical conditions to the effective implementation of precise patient care, this book will help you understand datasets produced from digital health technologies and IoT and teach you how to employ analytical methods such as convolutional neural networks and deep learning to analyze that data. You'll also see how this data-driven approach can enhance and democratize value-based healthcare delivery. Additionally, you'll learn how the convergence of AI and precision health is revolutionizing healthcare, including some of the most difficult challenges facing precision medicine, such as ethics, bias, privacy, and health equity. Precision Health and Artificial Intelligence provides the groundwork for clinicians, engineers, bioinformaticians, and healthcare enthusiasts to apply AI to healthcare. What You Will Learn Understand the components required to facilitate precision health and personalized care Apply and implement precision health systems Overcome the challenges of delivering precision healthcare at scale Reconcile ethical and moral implications of delivering precision healthcare Gain insight into the hurdles providers face while implementing precision healthcare Who This Book Is For Healthcare professionals, clinicians, engineers, bioinformaticians, chief information officers (CIOs), and students
The Project Manager's Guide to Health Information Technology Implementation
This book focuses on providing information on project management specific for software implementations within the healthcare industry. It can be used as a guide for beginners as well as a reference for current project managers who might be new to software implementations. Utilizing the Project Management Institute's (PMI) methodology, process groups and knowledge areas are defined as they relate to implementing custom and commercial off-the-shelf (COTS) software. The Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) is a standard for developing custom software, but can also be followed for implementing COTS applications as well. How will the system be set up from an architecture and hardware standpoint? What environments will be needed and why? How are changes managed throughout the project and after? These questions and more will be reviewed. The differences between types of testing are defined as well as when each are utilized. Planning for the activation and measuring the success of the project and how well the strategic need has been met are key activities that are often not given the time and effort as the other parts of the implementation project. This new edition updates the current content to better align with the newest version of the PMI's Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK), as well as the latest technology and concepts. In addition, this new edition includes additional chapters on agile management, stakeholder management, and choosing the right methodology.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
Health Informatics: Multidisciplinary Approaches for Current and Future Professionals
Developed for those training in academic centers as well as for those already "out in the field," this book looks at how attorneys, behavioral health experts, business development experts, chief information officers, chief medical officers, chief nursing information officers, consumer advocates, cryptographic experts, futurists, geneticists, informaticists, managed care executives, nurses, pharmacists, physicians, public health professionals, software developers, systems security officers, and workforce experts are collaborating on a "team-based," IT-enabled approach to improve healthcare.
Health Informatics: Practical Guide
Health informatics (also known as biomedical and health informatics or just plain informatics) is the field concerned with the optimal use of data and information, usually aided by technology, to improve individual health, healthcare, public health, and biomedical research. The goal of this book is to provide a comprehensive introduction to the major areas of the field, both for those who are just beginning their studies or are already working in the field. This 8th edition reflects the current knowledge of the field and provides learning objectives, extensive references, and additional readings.
Making a Difference: Careers in Health Informatics
Making a Difference: Careers in Health Informatics addresses everyday questions from people interested in working in health informatics. Typically, this includes people who work in health care, computer and technology fields, information science, finance / insurance and related areas. The book aims to tell students about various jobs that exist in the health informatics field, what credentials they need to qualify for those jobs, and a brief description about what people in those roles tend to do every day. As faculty members teaching in a Master of Science in Health Informatics program, the authors say that they are fortunate to have eager, bright, and talented graduate students who are invested in related health informatics areas. This could be their experiences in medicine, nursing, clinical care, software engineering, finance, business, library science, data science, or caregiving. Common questions we hear from our students that may be similar to questions among readers include: 'what jobs are out there?', 'what can I do with this degree?' or 'what does a health informatics specialist do?' This book aims to answer some of these questions with a look into a day in the life of people working in this field. The book examines career options, roles, and skill sets important in health informatics across 6 related industries. We want readers to realize that their skills and interests can apply in many areas of the field, not exclusively hospitals. This book highlights 6 unique work segments (hospital systems, long term care, health IT / consumer health organizations, government, consulting, and payer / insurance companies) into which readers may look to expand their career opportunities. The hope is that this book will provide insight into career opportunities students and professionals may be qualified for, and interested in, but simply not aware of. Hiring managers and human resource professionals across the stakeholder groups across the stakeholder groups may also find the book helpful in learning about other roles that may benefit their organizations.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
