Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
201 Knockout Answers to Tough Interview Questions
Increasingly, employers today are using a tough new kind of interview to evaluate candidates and determine how well they think on their feet. To be successful in these new competency-based interviews, job seekers must be prepared with situation-specific examples that highlight the accomplishments, knowledge, and abilities they have that employers need. Featuring a plethora of sample questions-and winning answers-this book is organized by the five core competencies most interviewers are looking for: * Individual responsibility (decisiveness, independence, flexibility, career goals) * Managerial skills (leadership, delegation, strategic planning) * Motivational factors (ambition, initiative) * Analytical skills (problem solving, attention to detail) * People skills (teamwork, communication, customer service) This indispensable guide features fill-in-the-blank exercises readers can use to prepare themselves to demonstrate sought-after competencies and wow potential employers. It's a powerful book no job seeker should be without.
Ask the Right Questions; Get the Right Job : Navigating the Job Interview to Take Control of Your Career
Too often people go to interviews prepared only to answer questions. They study the tough questions for days hoping to give the right responses on D-Day. These same people treat the interview as a cross examination; they see themselves on trial, under the spotlight, deer in the headlights. People who are being interviewed need another attitude, an attitude that says, "I'm here to interview you, to see if I want to bring my talents and experiences to your organization." Most people don't know how to do this. However, if armed with a few questions, they can even the playing field and engage in a useful conversation with their hosts. This book provides a set of questions that are appropriate for any job candidate to ask and allows candidates to participate in a dialogue, a conversation. Experience suggests that only a handful of questions are necessary in most interviews. Review all of the questions. Choose the ones that you believe provide you with the information you need. Learn to interview the interviewer!
Careers in Health Information Technology (HIT)
Describes 75 jobs and how to attain them Information technology is one of the fastest-growing segments of the labor market. This practical, one-stop career guide describes the depth and breadth of job opportunities and careers currently available in health information technology (HIT), and helps readers to enter and advance within this expanding field. The book offers guidance for students in higher education and currently employed individuals looking for mid-career opportunities. It includes a description of educational requirements for success in the HIT field and major themes of the HIT workforce such as informatics, provider-based jobs, vendor, government, and payer-based employment. The book describes quickest-route pathways for careers that require advanced training and professional associations that provide important information and resources. It examines the varied environments in which HIT careerists can work√>=hospitals, ambulatory care facilities, physician practices, the managed care and insurance sector, public health organizations, consulting firms and HIT vendors, and education and training√>=along with related job opportunities. Seventy-five jobs include a description, experience and/or education requirements, core competencies, salary, employment outlook, and references. Interviews with individuals in varied HIT careers present a human face that offers valuable advice. An international perspective on HIT workforce development addresses issues and challenges within other countries, and an industry expert sheds light on future expectations for the HIT industry. Links to job resources, and listings of professional conferences and meetings, add further value to the guide, as do job seeker "tips" throughout. Key Features: Provides comprehensive, practical information about health information technology (HIT) careers for students and mid-career job seekers Explores the great variety of work environments and job opportunities within them Details education requirements and quickest pathways to attain them Includes interviews with people currently in HIT careers, links to job resources, professional conferences and meetings, and helpful tips throughout Presents an international perspective on HIT career development and the future of HIT careers from industry experts
Careers in Human Services
The Essential Job Interview Handbook
The Essential Job Interview Handbook will help job seekers prepare effectively for interviews and become familiar with different types of interview questions and styles of interviews.
Get a Job! Powerful Tips and Tools to Ace Any Interview
Three essential aides to help you land the job of your dreams in today's competitive market. Ron Fry, the founder and president of Career Press for over three decades, is a sought after speaker, seminar leader, and expert authority on how best to prepare for the job interview process. From standout résumés to key questions and highly effective responses, Fry will show you how to get that job. 101 Great Answers to the Toughest Interview Questions: Thoroughly updated for today's job market, this brand-new twenty-fifth anniversary edition will help you successfully prep for any interview--no matter how tough--with answers that will convince employers you are the best candidate for the position. 101 Smart Questions to Ask on Your Interview: The interview is not over when you hear: "Do you have any questions for me?" Ron Fry shows you how to take charge of the interview process and sell the company on you while obtaining the information you need to make sure you are sold on them. 101 Great Résumés: Find the résumé format that will showcase your unique background, situation, skill sets, and career goals--and ensure you land your dream job.
Job Interviews for Dummies
Deliver a show-stopping interview performance Does the thought of interviewing for a new job send shivers down your spine? It doesn't have to! Whether you're searching for your first job, changing careers, or looking for advancement in your current line of work, Job Interviews For Dummies shows you how to use your skills and experiences to your advantage and land that job. Following a half-decade characterized by an explosion of economic crises, global expansion, and technological innovation in the job market, today's job seekers vie for employment in a tough era of new realities where few have gone before. In addition to covering how to prepare for an interview, this updated edition explores the new realities of the job market with scenarios that you can expect to encounter, an updated sample question and answer section, coverage of how you can harness social media in your job search, information on preparing for a Web-based interview, and the best ways to keep your credibility when applying for several jobs at once. Out-prepare the competition Overcome your fear of interviewing Ask smart questions about the job and the employer Give the best answers to make-or-break questions Fit your qualifications to the job's requirements Dress like an insider Survive personality tests Interview across cultures Evaluate a job offer Negotiate a better salary Whether you're fresh from the classroom, a prime-timer over 50, or somewhere in between, Job Interviews For Dummies quickly gets you up to speed on the skills and tools you need to land the job you want.
Knock Em Dead Cover Letters: Cover Letters and Strategies to Get the Job You Want
Knock em Dead Cover Letters--cover letters and strategies to get the job you want. Step-by-step guide for how write cover letters and every type of letter you will use in a job hunt. How to build, edit and polish professional letters for maximum impact and how to use them to get four times the interviews.
Microsoft Teams for Dummies
Discover the power of Microsoft Teams Millions of people access Microsoft Teams every day to assist with the collaboration it takes to get work done. That number continues to grow thanks to the countless communication tools for working with associates inside and outside your organization you can find in Microsoft Teams. If you're new to Microsoft Teams, start here. This book will give you must-have insight on chatting, file sharing, organizing teams, using video communication, and more. You'll also see just how you should be doing things, with best-practice recommendations and ideas for integrating Microsoft Teams into your existing workflows. Learn your way around Microsoft Teams and set up the interface Communicate via chat and video chat, inside and outside your org Integrate Teams with other Office apps for seamless collaboration Use Teams to optimize your meetings, build a knowledge wiki, and more! Microsoft's shared workspace can help you get collaborative and stay connected to the people and files you need, whether you're at your desk or on the go.
The Resume Makeover : 50 Common Resume and Cover Letter Problems--and How to Fix Them
Clear, quick, effective solutions to the 50 most common resume problems In this solution-oriented guide, bestselling careers author John J. Marcus zeros in on the 50 most common resume writing problems and offers easy-to-perform fixes for each. Among other crucial lessons, readers learn how to identify and deal effectively with job history problems, skill-set deficiencies, poor visual presentation, and formatting problems. A compelling feature that distinguishes The Resume Makeover from all the competition is its unique quick-reference, "Before & After" format. Each chapter focuses on one common problem and offers a proven solution, along with before-and-after documents illustrating how a few simple changes can significantly improve a resume. In addition, readers learn: How to write a resume in half the usual time Strategies for changing careers or reentering the workforce Key words and phrases to include How to write high-impact cover letters The five areas in which all recruiters and employers grade resumes, and how to ace each one
Resumes for Dummies
Master the art of resume writing and boost your chances of getting hired With unemployment rates still running high, getting an edge up on the competition in your field--whatever it may be--can be an intimidating and exhausting undertaking. Luckily, Resumes For Dummies is here to serve as your life raft as you navigate the murky waters of a modern-day job search. Inside, you'll find expert guidance on writing a winning resume that will set you head and shoulders above the crowd to land that elusive interview and get the job of your dreams. There's nothing easy and breezy about looking for a new job--whether you currently have one or not. But rather than succumbing to the panic that might convince you to hide under the covers, Resumes For Dummies arms you with the confidence you need to write a resume that will have prospective employers knocking your at your door. Includes tips on avoiding common resume-writing mistakes Provides updates on the latest changes in the job market that you'll need to take into account when writing a resume Outlines how to approach a lay-off in a professional light Covers how to confront privacy and reputation issues in online social job search Whether you're a recent graduate, second-timer looking for your next job, prime-timer who hasn't job-searched in decades, or the unfortunate victim of a lay-off, Resumes For Dummies takes the fear out of putting your skills on paper and sets you on the path to getting your foot in the door--and landing the job of your dreams.
The Ultimate Job Hunting Book
This is your complete course in finding that perfect job. From crafting the perfect CV and finding the job of your dreams, to writing a great cover letter and winning at interview, THE ULTIMATE JOB HUNTING BOOK is a dynamic collection of tools, techniques, and strategies for success. Short, punchy chapters mean you can read up quickly and start applying what you've learned immediately. * Part 1: Your CVs Masterclass * Part 2: Your Job Hunting Masterclass * Part 3: Your Cover Letters Masterclass * Part 4: Your Job Interviews Masterclass Discover the main themes, key ideas and tools you need and bring it all together with practical exercises. ABOUT THE SERIES ULTIMATE books are for managers, leaders, and business executives who want to succeed at work. From marketing and sales to management and finance, each title gives comprehensive coverage of the essential business skills you need to get ahead in your career. Written in straightforward English, each book is designed to help you quickly master the subject, with fun quizzes embedded so that you can check how you're doing.
Your Healthcare Job Hunt: How Your Digital Presence Can Make or Break Your Career
Did you know that more than half of employers won't hire a candidate who doesn't have an online presence, and most companies are using social media to screen job applicants? Healthcare job seekers--from new graduates to seasoned professionals--need to know how to successfully achieve their career aspirations in a highly digitized job market. Your Healthcare Job Hunt: How Your Digital Presence Can Make or Break Your Career focuses on getting the most out of the internet during a healthcare job search. With colorful, evocative examples specific to the field, this book covers information, tools, and online resources that can help you stand out and maximize your career advancement opportunities. Topics covered include: creating a digital presence that accurately reflects your career goals, professionalism, and skills; exploring the ins and outs of digital self-branding; using online tools and social media sites to find potential employers and job openings; optimizing job sites such as LinkedIn and Indeed; mastering online interviews and resumes; and networking and mentoring in the digital environment. A professional online presence is essential to career advancement. If you are ready to put forward your best online self and pair your online persona with your offline career aspirations, then this book is a must-read.
Zoom for Dummies
Zoom into the new world of remote collaboration While a worldwide pandemic may have started the Zoom revolution, the convenience of remote meetings is here to stay. Zoom For Dummies takes you from creating meetings on the platform to running global webinars. Along the way you'll learn how to expand your remote collaboration options, record meetings for future review, and even make scheduling a meeting through your other apps a one-click process. Take in all the advice or zoom to the info you need - it's all there! Discover how to set up meetings Share screens and files Keep your meetings secure Add Zoom hardware to your office Get tips for using Zoom as a social tool Award-winning author Phil Simon takes you beyond setting up and sharing links for meetings to show how Zoom can transform your organization and the way you work.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
Creating Your First Resume : A Step-by-Step Guide to Write Your First Competitive Resume
Written in a workbook-style with brand new resume samples for each type of entry level and that represent the push toward STEM technical programs to provide training and certifications for high school students. It includes effective material for training in technical programs and high school career classes. It contains fully updated information with recent resume examples and is presented in clear, plain language with directions and suggestions for creating the best resume possible for the job seekers experience.
The Damn Good Resume Guide, Fifth Edition
One of the best-selling resume books of all time and a trusted resource for job-seekers for nearly three decades, this edition of The Damn Good Resume Guide has been completely revised and updated for today's marketplace. The Shortest Distance Between You and Your Next Job For hundreds of thousands of job seekers, The Damn Good Resume Guide has been the go-to resource for writing and refining their resumes to damn near perfection. Filled with savvy advice and written in a straightforward, user-friendly style, The Damn Good Resume Guide will help you zero in on that dream job, then craft a winning resume that gets your foot in the door. This tried-and-true best seller has been fully revised and updated for today's job market, including: Contemporary sample resumes (all of which landed interviews!) with job objectives running the career gamut--from line cook to sales manager, school principal to software engineer. Tips on creating a functional, chronological, or hybrid resume--and advice on choosing which format is best for you. What to include and what to leave out of your resume, so you get the job you really want. Smart ways to deal with gaps in your work history and other less-than-ideal resume scenarios. Instructions for writing cover emails and submitting resumes electronically. How to set up (and excel at) an informational interview. Advice for formatting, polishing, and proofing your resume so that it stands out in the right way. And much more! Follow Parker and Brown's ten easy steps, and you'll be well on your way to a smart, effective, and thoroughly modern resume--a resume that makes you look good and produces results.
How to Ace Online, Video, or Zoom Interviews: Your Guide to Getting Hired
Ace any video job interview using Zoom, Skype, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, or any other online video calling platform! This comprehensive look at online job interviewing will show you exactly how to put your best self forward and get the job offer. Look Great On Camera•The best background, lighting, sound, and camera angles•What to wear for video interviews (colors, patterns, and more)•Which surprising mistakes to avoid•How to set up accounts if you haven’t done it beforeExcel in Your Interview•The best interview prep you can do•Answer 14 important interview questions•Tell stories that highlight your skill sets and accomplishments•Avoid the words that are interview killers•Clearly show that you’re the best person to hire•Boost your interview confidence and perform at the top of your game•5 clarifying, insightful questions to askAvoid the Biggest Mistakes of Video Interviewing•Which questions NEVER to ask in an interview•Handle panel interviews with multi-screens•Recover from mistakes or technical issues•Follow up after the interviewPLUS! •12 Remote Job Interview Questions with Job-Winning Answers •Step-by-Step Job Interview Prep KitThis book is for anyone at any level of experience with online video call platforms. If you’re new to this game, you’ll learn how to manage it and excel at it. If you’ve been on more Zoom calls than you ever wanted to be, you can still learn tips and strategies to be more effective and strategic in video interviews.
How to Write Better Résumés and Cover Letters
Written by an expert career advisor, this book shows job seekers how to summarize and advertise their skills clearly and effectively for résumé presentation. But just as important, it also advises on how to get the most out of word processing software by using an appropriate typeface and a logical layout to produce an elegant and truly effective résumé. In today’s job market, the résumé must also be Internet-friendly and adaptable for e-mail. Author Pat Criscito enlightens her readers with a virtually fail-safe 12-step process for producing that perfect résumé adaptable to all formats needed for a comprehensive job search. She also offers detailed advice on creating an attention-catching cover letter. Both beginners seeking their first job and professionals looking to advance their careers will find the help they’re looking for in this newly updated edition.
Job Search
Looking for a job does not have to be frustrating. All you need are the right job hunting techniques. Job Search: Fundamentals of Effective Job Hunting, Resumes, and Interviews will help you develop those skills. In Job Search, you will be given step-by-step instructions on writing a resume that stands out and building a search-optimized profile that shows up on the top of potential employers' lists. You'll learn how to interview more effectively and get the job. You'll get search tips on navigating top job boards and social media sites, such as LinkedIn, Facebook, Indeed, and CareerBuilder. As a bonus, a directory is included: a list of over 500 websites that you can use to find your next job. Job Search has 18 years of firsthand experience behind it. As a recruiter interacting with many Fortune 500 hiring managers, I've learned what employers are looking for. This book shares those insider insights with you.
Resumes for Dummies
Polish up that old resume--and land your dream job We've all been there: it's time to apply for a job or internship and you have to create or revise your resume. Many questions pop in your head. What do employers want? What skills should I highlight? How do I format this? How do I get noticed? But resume writing doesn't have to be a daunting task. The latest edition of Resumes For Dummies answers all of these questions and more--whether you're a resume rookie, looking for new tips, or want to create that eye-catching winning resume. In this trusted guide, Laura DeCarlo decodes the modern culture of resume writing and offers you insider tips on all the best practices that'll make your skills shine and your resume pop. Let's start writing! Write effective resumes that will stand out in a crowd Understand Applicant Tracking Systems and how to adapt your resume Keep your resume up with the current culture Position a layoff or other career change and challenge with a positive spin Leverage tips and tricks that give your resume visual power In order to put your best foot forward and stand out in a pile of papers, it's important to have an excellent and effective resume--and now you can.
Rip the Resume : Job Search & Interview Power Prep
Peterson's Rip the Resume, authored by Torin Ellis, a well-known Human Capital Strategist, is a job search and interview power prep guide. Infused with real-life examples, self-analysis exercises, and advice from an industry professional, Peterson's Rip the Resume is more than a "how to write a better resume" book; it's a proven system designed to challenge job seekers to take complete control and responsibility during a job search. Follow a ground-breaking roadmap on your journey to becoming the candidate that employers are seeking - whether you are a millennial looking to launch an exciting and fulfilling career or an experienced individual exploring greater career opportunities. Peterson's Rip the Resume provides the following tools you need to transform yourself into the candidate that employers are seeking: Cutting-edge guidance for job seekers in any field Vital resume deconstruction techniques to highlight important areas and downplay others to render a stronger document Winning conversation strategies to make a lasting impression during the important job interview Practical advice to help you use social media wisely, both in the job search and in building your personal brand. "Get the edge you need!" is how a successful reviewer describes this highly effective job and interview power prep guide.
This is How to Get Your Next Job : An Inside Look at What Employers Really Want
Even in a bad economy, companies have job openings they can't fill. Considering the millions of people who are out of work or unhappily employed, how can that be?What are job seekers doing to turn off employers? And what is it that employers want but aren't finding? Leading career expert and syndicated columnist Andrea Kay asked employers one simple question: why didn't you hire the last ten people you interviewed? What it came down to, every time, wasn't a matter of skills or experience, but how applicants seemed based on what they said or did. From lack of preparation, to pushiness, to a subtly defensive attitude, it's the simple behaviors prospective employees exhibit before, during, and after interviews that stand between them and job offers. Based on candid insights from real-life employers, and featuring a foreword by Richard Nelson Bolles, bestselling author of What Color Is Your Parachute?, this book helps job hunters take control of how they come across to the people in charge of hiring. From "20 Things You Should Never Do" to a "Would You Hire You?" test, This Is How to Get Your Next Job helps readers show hiring managers who they are and why they're the perfect fit for the job they seek.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
