Health Information & AI

AI-First Healthcare: AI Applications in the Business and Clinical Management of Health AI is poised to transform every aspect of healthcare, including the way we manage personal health, from customer experience and clinical care to healthcare cost reductions. This practical book is one of the first to describe present and future use cases where AI can help solve pernicious healthcare problems.

AI in Healthcare: How Artificial Intelligence Is Changing IT Operations and Infrastructure Services The best source for cutting-edge insights into AI in healthcare operations AI in Healthcare: How Artificial Intelligence Is Changing IT Operations and Infrastructure Services collects, organizes and provides the latest, most up-to-date research on the emerging technology of artificial intelligence as it is applied to healthcare operations. Written by a world-leading technology executive specializing in healthcare IT, this book provides concrete examples and practical advice on how to deploy artificial intelligence solutions in your healthcare environment. AI in Healthcare reveals to readers how they can take advantage of connecting real-time event correlation and response automation to minimize IT disruptions in critical healthcare IT functions. This book provides in-depth coverage of all the most important and central topics in the healthcare applications of artificial intelligence, including: Healthcare IT AI Clinical Operations AI Operational Infrastructure Project Planning Metrics, Reporting, and Service Performance AIOps in Automation AIOps Cloud Operations Future of AI Written in an accessible and straightforward style, this book will be invaluable to IT managers, administrators, and engineers in healthcare settings, as well as anyone with an interest or stake in healthcare technology.

Artificial Intelligence, Blockchain and IoT for Smart Healthcare The concepts of telemedicine and e-healthcare have eased as well as improved the reachability of experienced doctors and medical staff to remote patients. A patient who is living in a remote village area can directly connect to specialist doctors across the globe though his/her mobile phone using telemedicine systems and e-healthcare services. In pandemic situations like COVID-19, these online platforms helped society to get medical treatment from their residence without any physical movement. Technology is transforming human lives by playing an important role in the planning, designing, and development of intelligent systems for better service. This book presents a cross-disciplinary perspective on the concept of machine learning, blockchain and IoT by congregating cutting-edge research and insights. It also identifies and discusses various advanced technologies such as internet of things (IoT), big data analytics, machine learning, artificial intelligence, cyber security, cloud computing, sensors and so on that are vital to foster the development of smart healthcare and telemedicine systems by providing effective solutions to the medical challenges faced by humankind.

Artificial Intelligence: Applications in Healthcare Delivery

Computational Intelligence and Healthcare Informatics COMPUTATIONAL INTELLIGENCE and HEALTHCARE INFORMATICS The book provides the state-of-the-art innovation, research, design, and implements methodological and algorithmic solutions to data processing problems, designing and analysing evolving trends in health informatics, intelligent disease prediction, and computer-aided diagnosis. Computational intelligence (CI) refers to the ability of computers to accomplish tasks that are normally completed by intelligent beings such as humans and animals. With the rapid advance of technology, artificial intelligence (AI) techniques are being effectively used in the fields of health to improve the efficiency of treatments, avoid the risk of false diagnoses, make therapeutic decisions, and predict the outcome in many clinical scenarios. Modern health treatments are faced with the challenge of acquiring, analyzing and applying the large amount of knowledge necessary to solve complex problems. Computational intelligence in healthcare mainly uses computer techniques to perform clinical diagnoses and suggest treatments. In the present scenario of computing, CI tools present adaptive mechanisms that permit the understanding of data in difficult and changing environments. The desired results of CI technologies profit medical fields by assembling patients with the same types of diseases or fitness problems so that healthcare facilities can provide effectual treatments. This book starts with the fundamentals of computer intelligence and the techniques and procedures associated with it. Contained in this book are state-of-the-art methods of computational intelligence and other allied techniques used in the healthcare system, as well as advances in different CI methods that will confront the problem of effective data analysis and storage faced by healthcare institutions. The objective of this book is to provide researchers with a platform encompassing state-of-the-art innovations; research and design; implementation of methodological and algorithmic solutions to data processing problems; and the design and analysis of evolving trends in health informatics, intelligent disease prediction and computer-aided diagnosis. Audience The book is of interest to artificial intelligence and biomedical scientists, researchers, engineers and students in various settings such as pharmaceutical & biotechnology companies, virtual assistants developing companies, medical imaging & diagnostics centers, wearable device designers, healthcare assistance robot manufacturers, precision medicine testers, hospital management, and researchers working in healthcare system.

Ethics of Medical AI This is the first book to provide a coherent overview over the ethical implications of AI-related technologies in medicine. It explores how these technologies  transform practices,  relationships, and environments in the clinical field. It provides an introduction into ethical issues such as data security and privacy protection, bias and algorithmic fairness, trust and transparency, challenges to the doctor-patient relationship, and new perspectives for informed consent. The book focuses on the transformative impact that technology is having on medicine, and discusses several strategies for dealing with the resulting challenges. It also introduces innovative methods of ethics research for addressing existing desiderata and future challenges. This book is written to inform health care professionals, policy-makers, and researchers in medicine, health sciences, nursing science, social sciences, and ethics, but may also function as a primary textbook for graduate as wellas undergraduate university courses.

Hacking Healthcare: How AI and the Intelligence Revolution Will Reboot an Ailing System In this original work, Tom Lawry takes readers on a journey of understanding what we learned from fighting a global pandemic and how to apply these learnings to solve healthcare's other big challenges. This book is about empowering clinicians and consumers alike to take control of what is important to them by harnessing the power of AI and the Intelligent Health Revolution to create a sustainable system that focuses on keeping all citizens healthy while caring for them when they are not.

Machine Learning and AI for Healthcare: Big Data for Improved Health Outcomes The book has been updated with the latest research in massive data, machine learning, and AI ethics. It covers new topics in managing the complexities of massive data, and provides examples of complex machine learning models. Updated case studies from global healthcare providers showcase the use of big data and AI in the fight against chronic and novel diseases, including COVID-19. The ethical implications of digital healthcare, analytics, and the future of AI in population health management are explored. You will learn how to create a machine learning model, evaluate its performance, and operationalize its outcomes within your organization. Case studies from leading healthcare providers cover scaling global digital services. Techniques are presented to evaluate the efficacy, suitability, and efficiency of AI machine learning applications through case studies and best practice, including the Internet of Things.

Practical AI for Healthcare Professionals Practical AI for Healthcare Professionals   Artificial Intelligence (AI) is a buzzword in the healthcare sphere today. However, notions of what AI actually is and how it works are often not discussed. Furthermore, information on AI implementation is often tailored towards seasoned programmers rather than the healthcare professional/beginner coder. This book gives an introduction to practical AI in the medical sphere, focusing on real-life clinical problems, how to solve them with actual code, and how to evaluate the efficacy of those solutions. You'll start by learning how to diagnose problems as ones that can and cannot be solved with AI. You'll then learn the basics of computer science algorithms, neural networks, and when each should be applied. Then you'll tackle the essential parts of basic Python programming relevant to data processing and making AI programs. The Tensorflow/Keras library along with Numpy and Scikit-Learn are covered as well.   Once you've mastered those basic computer science and programming concepts, you can dive into projects with code, implementation details, and explanations. These projects give you the chance to explore using machine learning algorithms for issues such as predicting the probability of hospital admission from emergency room triage and patient demographic data. We will then use deep learning to determine whether patients have pneumonia using chest X-Ray images.   The topics covered in this book not only encompass areas of the medical field where AI is already playing a major role, but also are engineered to cover as much as possible of AI that is relevant to medical diagnostics. Along the way, readers can expect to learn data processing, how to conceptualize problems that can be solved by AI, and how to program solutions to those problems. Physicians and other healthcare professionals who can master these skills will be able to lead AI-based research and diagnostic tool development, ultimately benefiting countless patients.

Precision Health and Artificial Intelligence: With Privacy, Ethics, Bias, Health Equity, Best Practices, and Case Studies This book provides a comprehensive explanation of precision (i.e., personalized) healthcare and explores how it can be advanced through artificial intelligence (AI) and other data-driven technologies. From improving the diagnosis, treatment, and monitoring of many medical conditions to the effective implementation of precise patient care, this book will help you understand datasets produced from digital health technologies and IoT and teach you how to employ analytical methods such as convolutional neural networks and deep learning to analyze that data. You'll also see how this data-driven approach can enhance and democratize value-based healthcare delivery. Additionally, you'll learn how the convergence of AI and precision health is revolutionizing healthcare, including some of the most difficult challenges facing precision medicine, such as ethics, bias, privacy, and health equity.  Precision Health and Artificial Intelligence provides the groundwork for clinicians, engineers, bioinformaticians, and healthcare enthusiasts to apply AI to healthcare. What You Will Learn Understand the components required to facilitate precision health and personalized care Apply and implement precision health systems Overcome the challenges of delivering precision healthcare at scale Reconcile ethical and moral implications of delivering precision healthcare Gain insight into the hurdles providers face while implementing precision healthcare  Who This Book Is For Healthcare professionals, clinicians, engineers, bioinformaticians, chief information officers (CIOs), and students

Smart Healthcare Systems About the Book The book provides details of applying intelligent mining techniques for extracting and pre-processing medical data from various sources, for application-based healthcare research. Moreover, different datasets are used, thereby exploring real-world case studies related to medical informatics. This book would provide insight to the learners about Machine Learning, Data Analytics, and Sustainable Computing. Salient Features of the Book Exhaustive coverage of Data Analysis using R Real-life healthcare models for: Visually Impaired Disease Diagnosis and Treatment options Applications of Big Data and Deep Learning in Healthcare Drug Discovery Complete guide to learn the knowledge discovery process, build versatile real life healthcare applications Compare and analyze recent healthcare technologies and trends Target Audience This book is mainly targeted at researchers, undergraduate, postgraduate students, academicians, and scholars working in the area of data science and its application to health sciences. Also, the book is beneficial for engineers who are engaged in developing actual healthcare solutions.