The example announcements below are from a specific course. Each announcement can be customized for your course, just let us know what you'd like covered.
In addition you can choose how many announcements you'd like for your students to receive:
Here are some great resources for your course that can make your research and citations easier.
Here are some library guides that are designed to both save you time and help you with researching, writing, and citing sources.
Access resources for your class in the American History Guides. There are guides for each specific era or time period on the guide homepage. We’ve collected articles, books, media, and primary sources for you.
The Social Responsibility in American History guides have great sources for your assignment and links to even more specific guides on topics like:
There may be more movements included than what your assignment requires, so make sure to pick one that your instructor has specified. Also note that in some cases, books or eBooks may include only a chapter on your topic and that they may cover more than one era in American history.
To find more sources visit the A-Z Databases: American History page.
Did you know? You can grab APA style citations for your sources right from these and our other databases! We have a Cite APA Style guide that shows you how to grab citations from our databases, how to tweak them and even gives formatting tips like how to create a hanging indent in Word (it's easy when you know the tricks!)
If you are citing a website, zoterbib is free and very quick. Just type in your URL to get a citation in the style of your choice.
COM students have full access to Academic Writer online! You can Browse Lessons & Samples, to get citation examples for just about everything, and see sample papers. The APA Sample Papers can be especially helpful. Want more? How to Use Academic Writer (APA).
Get tips on formatting your paper with hanging indents, changing margins, running headers and more, as well as critical thinking and doing research in the social sciences. We've collected lost of great tips on annotated bibliographies, finding article's with Methodology or primary sources and more! Writing, Research & Presentations for Social Sciences.
I can help you with grabbing citations, finding sources, doing research, or other library questions. You can ask your questions in this Virtual Librarian Forum, chat live on the Ask the Virtual Librarian page, call or get face-to-face help in the library during our open hours. When we are closed you can find answers in our Knowledge Base or send email. Here is some contact info:
If you have questions, please contact me. Have a great semester!
~ Your Virtual Librarian
I just wanted to make sure you were aware of some more great resources that you might find useful for your paper, including top databases for history and places to find primary sources.
You’ll find links to all COM Library databases in A-Z Databases. Use the By Subject pull down menu to get the best history databases for your topic, or use this link: A-Z Databases: American History.
All our databases can be accessed on or off campus 24/7. If you're not sure how to use any of our databases, try our How To guides, or ask us!
Our top American history databases are American History Online, Issues & Controversies in History, JSTOR and ProQuest History.
Primary sources can be hard to find but we have some great collections for every time period of American history.
We also have some more great tips you might find useful:
You can see all our tips here: https://libguides.com.edu/Tips
Hopefully something here makes your research go a bit more smoothly! As always, don’t hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.
~Your Virtual Librarian
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
