The example announcements below are from a specific course. Each announcement can be customized for your course, just let us know what you'd like covered.
In addition you can choose how many announcements you'd like for your students to receive:
Here are some great resources for your course that can make your research and citations easier.
You’ll find links to all COM Library databases in A-Z Databases. Use the By Subject pull down menu to get the best nursing databases for your topic, or use this link: A-Z Databases: Biology.
All our databases can be accessed on or off campus 24/7. If you are off campus, you will have to log into any eBooks or databases (not including the book catalog) with your COM account. If you're not sure how to use any of our databases, try our How To guides, or ask us!
Our top biology databases are
When you perform your search a simple way to get more relevant results is to use your main concept as your first keyword. Getting more relevant results simply saves you time by having fewer, more focused articles in your result list.
In the example below, carbohydrates is the main concept. When you have more than one concept you combine your terms with the Boolean operators, AND OR. FYI, it's a good idea to use all caps for Boolean operators so the databases does not search for the words and, or, which will be in every article.
carbohydrates AND (structure OR function)
The Boolean operator tells the database how the terms should relate. Briefly, the operator AND indicates both terms should be present. OR indicates either term could be present. In the search above you are stating that carbohydrates must be present and that either structure or function should also be present. You can see more about Boolean operators and other search techniques in How to Search a Database. FYI, these techniques also work in Google and most other search engines.
A Place to Study
Don't forget, the library has great places for you to get away and study. Whiteboards, study rooms and tech workstations can all be booked in advanced. We've even got a coffee and snack station! Book a study space.
I can help you with grabbing citations, finding sources, doing research, or other library questions. You can ask your questions on the Ask the Virtual Librarian page via live chat, call, or get face-to-face help in the library during our open hours. When we are closed, you can still use our live chat, find answers in our Knowledge Base or send an email. Here is some contact info:
If you have questions, please, contact me. Have a great semester!
~Your Virtual Librarian
Here are some tips for citations and presentations.
Did you know? You can grab APA style citations for your sources right from these and our other databases! We have a Cite APA Style guide that shows you how to grab citations from our databases, how to tweak them and even gives formatting tips like how to create a hanging indent in Word (it's easy when you know the tricks!)
If you are citing a website, zoterbib is free and very quick. Just type in your URL to get a citation in the style of your choice.
COM students have full access to Academic Writer online! Its from the American Psychological Association (APA), the creators of APA style, so they are the ultimate experts!
It covers all things APA style. You can Browse Lessons & Samples to get citation examples for just about everything. The APA sample papers can be especially helpful. Want more? How to Use Academic Writer (APA).
The best ways to get help with PowerPoint are to come to the Library Lab to get one on one help, use one of our great how to eBooks on PowerPoint, or go to Microsoft's tutorials on using PowerPoint. You can go to Tips for PowerPoint & Presentations to learn more about these great resources that are all free for you to access. You'll find:
~Your Virtual Librarian
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
