LibGuides: Online Study Skills: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

How to Become a Successful College Student This book is your one-stop shop for the academic tools and habits needed to make your transition from high school to college a resounding success!
Online Learning for Dummies Get great grades from a distance New to online academia and need someone to show you around? You're in the right place--and you're not alone! As more of everything goes online--fueled by tech trends as well as unexpected events like the COVID-19 crisis--it's no surprise that many of us are getting our educations there, too. Online Learning For Dummies is here to welcome you to the gigantic (and gigantically exciting!) virtual campus, and help you get settled in by providing an overview of the endless opportunities offered by distance learning, as well as offering practical advice to make sure you have the right equipment, mindset, and study techniques for success. In a step-by-step style, this friendly guide takes you from the process of determining what sort of online program is right for you, through applying and enrolling, to building the skills you'll need to succeed. You'll learn how to navigate the common features of the online learning classroom, explore the digital etiquette that will help you get the most out of your instructors and fellow students, and discover how to effectively and professionally present your work. You'll also find out how to develop good online study habits to help you avoid distraction, and how to set aside undisturbed time in between juggling the demands of work, family, and social life. Evaluate the latest courses and opportunities Make sure you have the correct hardware and software Develop your online study skills via best practices Avoid digital fatigue Regardless of age or experience, we can all do with a few pointers on how to get more from the vast array of educational opportunities offered online. This book has them all: Get reading, get online, and get the most from that education you've been dreaming about.
The Savvy Student's Guide to Online Learning The Savvy Student's Guide to Online Learning prepares students of all kinds for contemporary online learning. While technologies and formats vary, this book serves as an authoritative resource for any student enrolling in an online degree program or taking an online course. Topics covered include: * How to become a great online student * Creating an online presence * Interaction and communication techniques * Online group projects and individual work * Technological requirements and how to get technical support * Online classroom "netiquette" and time management The authors, both experts in online education, introduce the information and skills required of successful online students to navigate this new learning landscape with confidence. A highly useful companion website provides video presentations that explain the different types of online learning as well as a real online course with activities for students to practice and interact with other learners around the world.
Studying Online Helping you get to grips with online learning, this book contains a wealth of practical tips and strategies that will make studying online easier. Covering the advantages of online learning as well as the problems you might face, this book provides tried and tested advice to help you overcome those difficulties so that you can work to the best of your abilities. Identifying techniques designed specifically for studying online, this key guide explores topics and methods such as: the differences between traditional and online study, preparing for online study as well as planning and organising; making sole working a collaborative and shared experience; reading online, online notetaking, using study forums, using video, collaboration, and coping with online exams; understanding the possible effects on mental and physical health and how to cope with the distractions the virtual world can bring while taking care of your mental and physical health. With step-by-step instructions for each of the techniques, as well as guidance on using online study software to the best effect, this must-have student companion provides tips and tricks to make university distance studying both effective and enjoyable. Visit the accompanying website here: https://studyingonline.tips
Also available in print: LB2395.7 .J66 2022
Studying Online: Succeeding Through Distance Learning Helping you get to grips with online learning, this book contains a wealth of practical tips and strategies that will make studying online easier. Covering the advantages of online learning as well as the problems you might face, this book provides tried and tested advice to help you overcome those difficulties so that you can work to the best of your abilities. Identifying techniques designed specifically for studying online, this key guide explores topics and methods such as: the differences between traditional and online study, preparing for online study as well as planning and organising; making sole working a collaborative and shared experience; reading online, online notetaking, using study forums, using video, collaboration, and coping with online exams; understanding the possible effects on mental and physical health and how to cope with the distractions the virtual world can bring while taking care of your mental and physical health. With step-by-step instructions for each of the techniques, as well as guidance on using online study software to the best effect, this must-have student companion provides tips and tricks to make university distance studying both effective and enjoyable. Visit the accompanying website here: https://studyingonline.tips
The Study Skills Handbook This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over 20 years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the sixth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university. New content in this edition helps students make the most of online learning, with a new self-evaluation page and more on working collaboratively online. This edition includes support tailored for students on hybrid, asynchronous or distance learning courses as well as more material on building study stamina and improving concentration.
Success As an Online Student This book is a practical guide for any student considering enrollment in, currently enrolled in, or recently graduated from an online course. The authors, both with substantial online teaching and learning experience as well as seasoned professionals, deliver concise guidance to make the online learning journey enjoyable, productive, and most of all, worthwhile. Major topics include how to identify the best online program; comparing online with traditional education programs; finding an ideal work-life balance; managing time and staying organized; how to form good habits to maximize your chances for success; getting the most out of an online learning environment; and using your online education to succeed in your career. As the singular guide to success as an online learner, this practical book serves as the essential desk reference for every online student.
Your Super Quick Guide to Learning Online Learn how to successfully adapt to online remote learning with this super quick guide. Packed with pragmatic, applied tips on how to adjust to a digital learning experience, this handy resource will instil you with the confidence and know-how needed to succeed. Set up an effective workplace and stay motivated Work well with tutors and get the support you need Get the most out of different forms of learning, from lectures to field work Make the best use of materials, such as online databases and open-access content. Collaborate effectively with peers and create your best work. An invaluable guide to get you through university cool, calm and in control!

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

101 Ways to Make Studying Easier and Faster for College Students In this totally revised second edition, learn how to create an effective study environment, get organised, and more. We will provide you with various studying methods such as the proved SQ3R method, as well as exercises to improve your skills.
How to Study in College Over a million students have transformed adequate work into academic achievement with this best-selling text. HOW TO STUDY IN COLLEGE sets students on the path to success by helping them build a strong foundation of study skills, and learn how to gain, retain, and explain information. Based on widely tested educational and learning theories, HOW TO STUDY IN COLLEGE teaches study techniques such as visual thinking, active listening, concentration, note taking, and test taking, while also incorporating material on vocabulary building. Questions in the Margin, based on the Cornell Note Taking System, places key questions about content in the margins of the text to provide students with a means for reviewing and reciting the main ideas. Students then use this technique--the Q-System--to formulate their own questions. The Eleventh Edition maintains the straightforward and traditional academic format that has made HOW TO STUDY IN COLLEGE the leading study skills text in the market.
Online Learning In every online class, some students are wildly successful, some earn average or slightly below-average grades, some barely pass, some fail, and some drop out. Whatever a student's age, situation, or lifestyle, everything needed for successfully completing an online class is right here in this book. Each chapter covers a specific element of online learning and provides the new online student with practical strategies and how-to information so that any student can go into an online classroom prepared to succeed. This book has strategies and tips that every online professor wants students to know before they sign up for an online class. Bowman has provided a reference tool for students to develop self-directed learning skills that will help them become secure and knowledgeable about technology, studying, communicating online, and getting work done on time.
The Secrets of College Success Heading off to college? Or perhaps already there? This book's just for you. Winner of the 2010 USA Book News Award for best book in the college category, The Secrets of College Success combines easy-to-follow tips that really work with insider information that few professors are willing to reveal. The over 800 tips in this book will show you how to: Pick courses and choose a major Manage your time and develop college-level study skills Get on top of the core requirements Get good grades and avoid stress Interact effectively with the professor Match college and career, and more. New to this second edition are tips for: Online courses and MOOCs Community Colleges, Engineering Schools, and Arts and Design Colleges E-readers, tablets, and laptops Taking out Student Loans and Paying them Off, and more. Ideal for college students at any stage, and college-bound high school students, The Secrets of College Success makes a wonderful back-to-college or high-school-graduation gift - or a smart investment in your own future.
A Student's Guide to Online Learning Online learning skills differ from those needed for face-to-face learning. A Student's Guide to Online Learning teaches you how to develop those skills through a range of advice, examples and practical exercises whether you are undertaking distance, wholly online or blended learning.
A Student's Guide to Surviving and Thriving in Online Classes Staying at home and continuing your education via online classes may not have been your choice. At the present time, however, it may be your only option, so it's vital that you make the most of it. Preparation is key. Are you ready to log on and learn in the online classroom? You may have comfortable clothes and a snack prepared, but have you created a plan for how you'll participate, considered how you'll troubleshoot potential technical issues, and thought through other challenges and opportunities? A Student's Guide to Surviving and Thriving in Online Classes provides you with practical, research-based suggestions to prepare you for success in online educational experiences. With this guide, you'll reframe your concept of the "classroom" and reflect on your personal learning style in relation to online learning. You'll learn how to adapt critical study habits and learning skills, including self-regulation, personal motivation, goal setting, and time and task management, to virtual settings. A timely and vital resource, this guide will help you develop the mindset and skillsets required for you to thrive in your online courses. A Student's Guide to Surviving and Thriving in Online Classes is part of the Cognella Series on Student Success, a collection of books designed to help students develop the essential life and learning skills needed to support a happy, healthy, and productive higher education experience.
Study and Critical Thinking Skills in College For Study Skills and Critical Thinking courses. A unique integration of study and critical-thinking skills to help students succeed Study and Critical Thinking Skills in College, Eighth Edition aligns closely with the ways students read, study, learn, think, and network in the twenty-first century. McWhorter discusses the active strategies that develop students' proficiency with text and lecture material, emphasizing that students must adapt how they read and how they study to suit the characteristics of each unique academic discipline. Study and Critical Thinking Skills in College also encourages students to study and think in ways that match their learning styles and to use technologies (such as online databases and social media) that maximize their productivity.
Thinking Critically in College Finally, a college prep book that actually prepares students for college! Almostall first-year college students discover that college courses are moreacademically challenging than they expected, and certainly harder thanclasses in high school. Professors expect students not just to absorbmaterial, but to analyze and synthesize it, consider multipleperspectives, evaluate conflicting evidence, and then apply what they've learned in new contexts. Thinking Critically in College explains how to do all this and more. Louis E. Newman draws on decades of experience as a professor atCarleton College and Dean of Academic Advising and Associate ViceProvost for Undergraduate Education at Stanford, offering the guidanceyou need to succeed both in college and in life post-graduation. Uniqueamong college prep books, Thinking Critically in College buildson the latest research in learning, spells out the key critical thinkingskills you need, shows you how to tackle actual college assignments,and provides exercises throughout to reinforce the lessons. Written in a personal, engaging style, Thinking Critically in Collegeexplains how to do the work your professors will require--exactly thepreparation you need, no matter what your academic background.Practical, accessible, comprehensive, and interactive, Thinking Critically in Collegeis the definitive guide, not only for those in college or headed there,but for everyone who needs a refresher on thinking clearly.
The Ultimate Guide to College Study Skills: Achieve More in Less Time Stop Drowning in Textbooks: Master College Success in Less Time! Tired of endless study sessions that lead nowhere? "The Ultimate Guide to College Study Skills" is your key to better grades and less stress. Ditch the overwhelm and become a focused, efficient learning machine. Here's what set this guide apart: Modern Techniques: Forget outdated advice! Learn adaptable strategies that work with how YOU learn in the digital age. Master Any Exam: Conquer any question format with proven tactics tailored to each class. Time-Saving Hacks: Fit effective studying into your busy schedule. No more all-nighters! Conquer Stress: Manage anxiety and stay motivated, even during the toughest semester. Unlock Your Potential: Develop a growth mindset to tackle any subject or challenge. Lifelong Learning: Build skills for success in college and beyond! Not Another "Study Harder" Book! Learn to work WITH your brain for lasting results. Includes strategies to overcome disorganization. Concise & Actionable: This book dives straight into solutions. No fluff, no filler. If you're ready to own your exams, achieve higher grades, and enjoy learning again, clicking "Buy Now" is your next move! Invest in a brighter academic future today.