Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
The Care of the Sick : The Emergence of Modern Nursing
The Care of the Sick is a detailed and comprehensive exploration of the emergence of modern nursing. Beginning with primitive and early historical nursing, the book traces the development of nursing through the ages and covers a variety of key topics, including the rise of the trained nurse; the problems faced by nursing during its development as a profession; education and working conditions; the government and nursing; the economics of nursing; and how the image of nursing has changed over time. Extensive and thorough, The Care of the Sick will appeal to those with an interest in the history of nursing, the history of medicine, and social history.
Collected Works of Florence Nightingale : Florence Nightingale on Public Health Care by
This sixth volume in the Collected Works of Florence Nightingale reports Nightingale's considerable accomplishments in the development of a public health care system based on health promotion and disease prevention. It follows directly from her understanding of social science and broader social reform activities, which were related in Society and Politics (Volume 5). Public Health Care includes a critical edition of Notes on Nursing for the Labouring Classes, papers on mortality in aboriginal schools and hospitals, and on rural health. It reports much unknown material on Nightingale's signal contribution of bringing professional nursing into the dreaded workhouse infirmaries. This collection presents letters and notes on a wide range of issues from specific diseases to germ theory, and relates some of her own extensive work as a nurse practitioner, which included organizing referrals to doctors and providing related care. Currently, Volumes 1 to 11 are available in e-book version by subscription or from university and college libraries through the following vendors: Canadian Electronic Library, Ebrary, MyiLibrary, and Netlibrary.
Colonial Caring : A History of Colonial and Post-colonial Nursing
From the height of colonialism in the mid-nineteenth century, through to the aftermath of the Second World War, nurses have been at the heart of colonial projects. They were ideally placed to insinuate the 'improving' culture of their employers into the local communities they served, and travelled in droves to far-flung parts of the globe to serve their country. Issues of gender, class and race permeate this book, as the complex relationships between nurses, their medical colleagues, governments and the populations they nursed are examined in detail, using case studies which draw on exciting new sources. Many of the chapters are based on first-hand accounts of nurses and reveal that not all were motivated by patriotic vigour or altruism, but went out in search of adventure. The book will be an essential read for colonial historians, as well as historians of gender and ethnicity. An electronic edition of this book is freely available under a Creative Commons (CC BY-NC-ND) licence.
Enduring Issues in American Nursing
Named an Outstanding Academic Title for 2001 by Choice Why turn to the past when attempting to build nursing's future'...To make good decisions in planning nursing's future in the context of our complex health care system, nurses must know the history of the actions being considered, the identities and points of view of the major players, and all the stakes that are at risk. These are the lessons of history." -- from the Introduction This book presents nursing history in the context of problems and issues that persist to this day. Issues such as professional autonomy, working conditions, relationships with other health professionals, appropriate knowledge for education and licensure, gender, class, and race are traced through the stories told in this volume. Each chapter provides a piece of the puzzle that is nursing. The editors, all noted nurse historians and educators, have carefully made selections from the best that has been published in the nursing and health care literature.
First World War Nursing
This book brings together a collection of works by scholars who have produced some of the most innovative and influential work on the topic of First World War nursing in the last ten years. The contributors employ an interdisciplinary collaborative approach that takes into account multiple facets of Allied wartime nursing: historical contexts (history of the profession, recruitment, teaching, different national socio-political contexts), popular cultural stereotypes (in propaganda, popular culture) and longstanding gender norms (woman-as-nurturer). They draw on a wide range of hitherto neglected historical sources, including diaries, novels, letters and material culture. The result is a fully-rounded new study of nurses' unique and compelling perspectives on the unprecedented experiences of the First World War.
Florence Nightingale's Notes on Nursing by
Named a 2013 Doody's Core Title This beautiful book bound in red leather includes an in-depth history about each version and the preparation and publishing of Nightingale's works. What is very interesting is the editor's commentary on the bibliographical and social history behind the various versions. He discusses little known facts about the book, such as the one published for the educated professional is the second version, whereas the other versions, though more widely published and more widely known, were written mainly for the masses. The editor's research clearly describes Nightingale's legacy and the effect it has had on contemporary nursing as well as nursing's future. At $40.00, it is a steal.Score: 98, 5 Stars.-- Doody's Medical Reviews With the 2010 publication of Dr. Victor Skretkowicz's Florence Nightingale's Notes on Nursing (Revised with Additions) in Florence Nightingale's (1920-1910) centenary year, nurses and others will recognize this extraordinary woman whose dedication and determination helped to shape the course of modern global healthcare and holistic and integral relationship-centered care. Barbara Dossey, PhD, RN, AHN-BC, FAAN International Co-Director, Nightingale Initiative for Global Health Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, and Arlington, Virginia This book was a delight. An account of cutting-edge nursing and medical care from London, circa 1850, by somebody who needs no introduction. Florence Nightingale is nothing if not forthright and her description of both the nursing and social situation of the times is illuminating."--IAHPC (International Association for Hospice and Palliative Care) Newsletter Simultaneously witty, scathing, and anecdotal, Florence Nightingale's Notes on Nursing is perhaps the most influential work on nursing throughout the world. For years, the varying editions of this seminal work have puzzled scholars as well as readers. Now, Dr. Skretkowicz sets the historical record straight. This volume includes the annotated and unabridged July 1860 edition the "Library Standard Edition"] of Notes on Nursing, the 1868 edition of Notes on Nursing for the Labouring Classes], and additional manuscripts written by Nightingale in 1875 that she was never able to publish. Beautifully bound in faux leather with a decorative ribbon, this commemorative volume makes a perfect gift for any nurse and is a must-have for all nursing libraries and researchers. The new edition presents Nightingale's unabridged edition in its original form for the very first time since its publication in July 1860. Together with the 1868 edition and the 1875 manuscripts, the book provides today's educated readership with the nearest possible "authoritative, complete, and unexpurgated" version of "one of the best selling, globally circulated texts of the nineteenth century." Key Features: Complete with Dr. Skretkowicz's own expert commentary and annotations Describes the variant versions of the texts in the contexts of their social and cultural history Presents some of Nightingale's original passages that remained unpublished for more than 100 years Provides reactions and commentary from Nightingale's contemporaries "
G.I. Nightingales : The Army Nurse Corps in World War II
"The women of the Army Nurse Corps saw the horrors of battle on every front during the Second World War; and their experiences in the various theaters were highly diverse. While those serving in the South Pacific were forced to trade their nurses' uniforms for combat fatigues in order to protect themselves from malaria-carrying mosquitoes, women on the Italian and North African fronts faced constant water shortages and worked dangerously close to battle lines. Nurses in China and Burma worked in dirt-floored hospitals, monsoons, and temperatures reaching 120 degrees. In England they dealt with constant shortages of both food and supplies, and in a field hospital in France, army nurses treated 2,549 patients in two weeks." "Carefully weaving together information from official sources and personal interviews. Barbara Tomblin gives the first full-length account of the U.S. Army Nurse Corps in the Second World War. She describes how over 6,000 army nurses, all volunteers, cared for sick and wounded American soldiers in every theater of the war, serving in the jungles of the Southwest Pacific, the frozen reaches of Alaska and Iceland, the mud of Italy and northern Europe, or the heat and dust of the Middle East." "Many of the women in the Army Nurse Corps served in dangerous hospitals near the front lines - 201 nurses were killed by accident or enemy action, and another 1,600 won decorations for meritorious service. These nurses address the extreme difficulties of dealing with combat and its effects in World War II, and their stories are all the more valuable to women's and military historians because they tell of the war from a very different viewpoint than that of male officers."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
History of Professional Nursing in the United States
For over 400 years, a diverse array of nurses, nurses' aides, midwives, and public-minded citizens across the United States have attended to the health care of America's equally diverse populations. Beginning in 1607 when the first Englishmen landed in Virginia, and concluding in 2016 when Flint, Michigan, was declared to be in a state of emergency, this expansive nursing history text for undergraduate and graduate nursing programs examines the history of the nursing profession to help the reader better understand how nursing became what it is today. Grounded in the premise that health care can and should be promoted in partnership with communities to provide quality care for all, this history analyzes the resilience and innovation of nurses who provided care for the most underprivileged populations, such as slaves on Southern plantations, immigrants in tenements in Manhattan's Lower East Side, and isolated populations in rural Kentucky. It takes into account issues of race, class, and gender, and the influence of these factors on nurses and patients. Featuring nearly 300 photos, oral histories, and personal accounts from varied settings in the United States and other countries, the narrative discusses major medical and scientific advances, prominent leaders and grassroots movements in nursing, and ethical dilemmas that nurses faced with each change in the profession. Chapters include discussion questions for class sessions as well as a list of suggested reading. KEY FEATURES: Examines the history of nursing during the past four centuriesLinks challenges for nurses in the past to those of present-day nursesIncludes oral histories, medical discoveries, legal and ethical issues, personal perspectives, archival sites, discussion questions, suggested reading, and abundant notesCovers drugs, technological innovations, and scientific advances in each era
An Introduction to the Social History of Nursing
In recent years the study of nursing history in Britain has been transformed by the application of concepts and methods from the social sciences to original sources. The myths and legends which have grown up through a century of anecdotal writing have been chipped away to reveal the complex story of an occupation shaped and reshaped by social and technological change. Most of the work has been scattered in monographs, journals and edited collections. The skills of a social historian, a sociologist and a graduate nurse have been brought together to rethink the history of modern nursing in the light of the latest scholarship. The account starts by looking at the type of nursing care available in 1800. This was usually provided by the sick person's family or household servants. It traces the interdependent growth of general nursing and the modern hospital and examines the separate origins and eventual integration of mental nursing, district nursing, health visiting and midwifery. It concludes with reflections on the prospects for nursing in the year 2000.
Letters of a Civil War Nurse by
She was called "The Florence Nightingale of America." From the fighting at Gettysburg to the capture of Richmond, this young Quaker nurse worked tirelessly to relieve the suffering of soldiers. She was one of the great heroines of the Union. Cornelia Hancock served in field and evacuating hospitals, in a contraband camp, and (defying authority) on the battlefield. Her letters to family members are witty, unsentimental, and full of indignation about the neglect of wounded soldiers and black refugees. Hancock was fiercely devoted to the welfare of the privates who had "nothing before them but hard marching, poor fare, and terrible fighting."
Nurses' Work: Issues Across Time and Place
Designated a Doody's Core Title Winner of an AJN Book of the Year Award Every nursing student and practicing nurse would benefit from reading this book." Score: 91, 4 stars --Doody's The excerpts taken from original writings and events provide readers with a sneak peak into a forgotten world....This book is a must for anyone in the nursing profession. Essential. All levels.--Choice With contributions from some of the most renowned nursing scholars and historians, the real-life history of how nurses worked and how they endured the ever-changing economic, social, educational, and technological milieus is presented in a captivating collection of articles. Through time and place, experts chronicle the rich variety of nurses' work by presenting actual accounts of clinical practice experiences. Tracing the evolution of nursing from the role as family caregiver to roles in clinical practice today, the contributors approach this history by focusing on four thematic categories: Who does the work of nursing? Who pays for the work of nursing? What is the real work of nursing? How have our nursing predecessors struggled with the relationship between work and knowledge? Nurses' Work, provides an incredible collection of significant historical scholarship and contemporary themes that encourages us to understand and think these questions and the future of nursing.
Nurses and Disasters Global, Historical Case Studies
This timely volume describes and analyzes the nursing response to a variety of historic and recent global disasters that occurred between 1885 and 2012, including Hurricane Sandy. The book is unique in its discussion of cooperation and conflict in the disaster responses regarding the mobilization of individuals across national borders and continents. It examines how partnerships developed, their implications for policy, and how we can use lessons learned to improve care in the future. The book addresses such questions as: How did local, regional, and national communities mobilize for emergency care? What was the role of local nurses in emergency care after disasters? What was the role of the national or international Red Cross, local and federal governments, physicians, nurses, and other first responders? What was the impact of social attitudes and issues of race, class, and gender on the ways nurses and other health care professionals reacted to the disasters? How did unpreparedness for the type or scope of the disaster affect the response? The book will be of value to a wide variety of undergraduate and graduate students in nursing, social work, history, health policy, women's studies, public health, and urban studies. KEY FEATURES: Addresses the role of nurses in di saster response Highlights nurses' roles in di sasters that occurred in the context of World War II√>=heretofore unaddressed in the interest of political correctness Discusses policy implications of the different disasters
Nurses in War: Voices from Iraq and Afghanistan
This is no doubt the most significant work on military nursing recorded since Florence Nightingale wrote her Notes on Nursing. You definitely want to have this book for your private bookshelf."--Society of Air Force Nurses (SAFN) Newsletter "This book speaks to the strength, skill, professionalism, and determination of US military nurses, clearly identifying them as unsung heroes of the Afghanistan and Iraq wars....Recommended."--Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries Nurses in War embodies the core values of each of the military services and is a personal testament to the integrity, excellence, selflessness, devotion to duty, courage, and commitment that exemplifies military nursing...This book should be in every nurse's personal library. It has a well-deserved place of honor in my own nursing literature collection." Brigadier General Linda J. Stierle (Retired) United States Air Force Thank you to Beth Scannell-Desch and Mary Ellen Doherty for documenting this critical period of nursing history. It is a true classic, deserving a prominent place in your library. Lucille A. Joel, RN, EdD, FAAN Professor, Rutgers College of Nursing Former President, American Nurses Association Former First Vice-President, International Council of Nurses (ICN) Powerful, poignant, riveting account of nurses in war...This book captures the palpable essence of what it is like to live and work in Iraq and Afghanistan as a military nurse during the current wars. Based on three research studies, this book reads like a novel. The reader gets up close to these 37 nurses as they care for casualties in combat support hospitals, on medevac aircraft, and on forward surgical teams. You can feel the tension as mortars fall in hospital compounds. You can hear the sound of helicopters ferrying patients. You can feel the adrenaline rush as nurses respond to mass casualties in the emergency room or triage area as they fight to save the lives of soldiers, local villagers, and children caught in the chaos of war. This book is a must-read." Wendy C. Budin, PhD, RN-BC, FACCE, FAAN Director of Nursing Research at NYU Langone Medical Center, NY Adjunct Professor, NYU College of Nursing President-Elect, Eastern Nursing Research Society Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Perinatal Education This unique volume presents the experience of 37 U.S. military nurses sent to the Iraq and Afghanistan theaters of war to care for the injured and dying. The personal and professional challenges they faced, the difficulties they endured, the dangers they overcame, and the consequences they grappled with are vividly described from deployment to discharge. In mobile surgical field hospitals and fast-forward teams, detainee care centers, base and city hospitals, medevac aircraft, and aeromedical staging units, these nurses cared for their patients with compassion, acumen, and inventiveness. And when they returned home, they dealt with their experience as they could. The text is divided into thematic chapters on essential issues: how the nurses separated from their families and the uncertainties they faced in doing so; their response to horrific injuries that combatants, civilians and children suffered; working and living in Iraq and Afghanistan for extended periods; personal health issues; and what it meant to care for enemy insurgents and detainees. Also discussed is how the experience enhanced their clinical skills, why their adjustment to civilian life was so difficult, and how the war changed them as nurses, citizens, and people. Key Features: Describes verbatim the experiences of 37 nurses in two brutal, chaotic theaters of war Offers poignant encounters with patients Includes advice, clarity, and lessons learned about nursing in war Offers a women's health perspective on working and living in a wa
Nurses on the Front Line: When Disaster Strikes, 1878-2010
Nurses on the Front Line examines how nurses have responded to both natural and man-made disasters in the United States, Canada, and other nations over the course of the previous and current centuries. It documents 12 disasters, including the Galveston hurricane of 1900, the 1942 Cocoanut Grove nightclub fire, September 11th, and Hurricane Katrina. More than a simple narrative, this text provides intimate first-hand experiences-through letters, memoirs, oral histories, and newspaper articles-of health care workers, survivors, and civic and private organizations that reflect on the character and speed of responders during a disaster. It illustrates how nurses can restore stability in the aftermath of a chaotic event and analyzes the nurses' role as part of a community response. Key features: Explains in detail what nurses can expect during disasters and what measures to take when disaster strikes Examines previous natural disasters and calls into question whether disasters were caused by accidents or intentional/unintentional human error Discusses policy implications of the different disasters, focusing on the federal government's response Investigates the roles and effects of race, class, and gender during a disaster
Nursing, Physician Control, and the Medical Monopoly: Historical Perspectives on Gendered Inequality in Roles, Rights, and Range
Nursing, Physician Control, and the Medical Monopoly traces the efforts by physicians over time to achieve a monopoly in healthcare, often by subordinating nurses--their only genuine competitors. Attempts by nurses to reform many aspects of healthcare have been repeatedly opposed by physicians whose primary interest has been to achieve total control of the healthcare "system," often to the detriment of patients' health and safety. Thetis M. Group and Joan I. Roberts first review the activities of early women healers and nurses and examine nurse-physician relations from the early 1900s on. The sexist domination of nursing by medicine was neither haphazard nor accidental, but a structured and institutionalized phenomenon. Efforts by nurses to achieve greater autonomy were often blocked by hospital administrators and organized medicine. The consolidation of the medical monopoly during the 1920s and 1930s, along with the waning of feminism, led to the concretization of stereotyped gender roles in nursing and medicine. The growing unease in nurse-physician relations escalated from the 1940s to the 1960s; the growth and complexity of the healthcare industry, expanding scientific knowledge, and increasing specialization by physicians all created heavy demands on nurses. Conflict between organized medicine and nursing entered a public, open phase in the late 1960s and 1970s, when medicine unilaterally created the physician's assistant, countered by nursing's development of the advanced nurse practitioner. But gender stereotypes remained central to nurse-physician relations in the 1980s and into the 1990s. Finally, Group and Roberts examine the results of the medical monopoly, from the impact on patients' health and safety, to the development of HMOs and the current overpriced, poorly coordinated, and fragmented healthcare system.
Nursing and Social Change
Nursing and Social Change is essential reading for nurses who wish to understand how their profession had developed from its earliest beginnings to the present day. Now in its third edition the book has been completely revised to take into account the challenges facing nurses. Ten new chapters include contributions from senior members of the nursing profession who have been closely involved in the most recent health service reorganisation and the radical changes to nurse education. Students and practitioners will find Nursing and Social Change invaluable as a comprehensive source of reference which offers a unique combination of scholarship and readability.
Nursing Before Nightingale, 1815-1899
Nursing Before Nightingale is a study of the transformation of nursing in England from the beginning of the nineteenth century until the emergence of the Nightingale nurse as the standard model in the 1890s. From the nineteenth century onwards, historians have considered Florence Nightingale, with her training school established at St. Thomas's Hospital in 1860, the founder of modern nursing. This book investigates two major earlier reforms in nursing: a doctor-driven reform which came to be called the 'ward system, ' and the reforms of the Anglican Sisters, known as the 'central system' of nursing. Rather than being the beginning of nursing reform, Nightingale nursing was the culmination of these two earlier reforms. This study will be of great value to those studying the history of medicine, labour, religion, gender studies and the rise of a respectable society in the nineteenth century
Nursing History for Contemporary Role Development
Nursing practice has progressed beyond Florence Nightingale, and so has nursing history. This book delves into the intricacies of nursing history and its impact on contemporary nursing practice, education, and research. Nurses have always been political advocates for underprivileged and vulnerable populations during times of war, changing cultural landscapes, and social unrest. Today is no different. With historically significant case studies that ground the narrative, this book weaves the complex story of how the role of nurses has changed over time to adapt to new environments and needs, all the while retaining the key leadership and advocacy roles that have been inherent since the birth of the profession. Chapters examine key issues in contemporary nursing today, such as the care of diverse populations, rural health care, mental health care, neonatal health care, the nurse educator role, entry into practice issues, and more, and contextualize their evolution, showing what remains tried and true, what has been disproven, and what remains to be examined. The text illustrates how nursing history fits into the broader context of culture and society from the late 19th century to the present. Each chapter features critical thinking questions and extensive resources for all levels of nursing education. An accompanying instructor's manual features guidelines for bringing historical elements into nursing curricula. Key Features: Embeds historical material into contemporary nursing practice, education, and research issuesDemonstrates how contemporary nursing roles and issues have evolved over the course of historyIncludes numerous case studies from expert nursing historiansAddresses the intersection of gender, race, and ethnicity as they impact health care today
Nursing Interventions Through Time : History As Evidence
Named a 2011 Choice Outstanding Academic Title Designated a Doody's Core Title This is a must-read for nurses who are interested in where nursing has been and what nurses have done to get to the present day. " Score: 94, 4 stars --Doody's Nursing has a rich history that consistently informs contemporary practice and standards. This book, by examining pivotal historical interventions across the spectrum of clinical care, allows nurses of today to incorporate the wisdom of the past into their own daily work. Maternal-child health programs, palliative care, tuberculosis, medications, pediatric care, and diabetes care, and more are discussed. This invaluable resource documents how and why specific nursing interventions came about, what aspects of these interventions are utilized today and why, and how nurses of the past have addressed and solved the challenges of practice, from adapting to new technologies to managing the tension of the nurse-physician relationship. Learn how nurses of the past 150 years have combated the challenges of: Providing care to victims of pandemics, such as yellow fever, tuberculosis, and influenza Adapting to new medical practices and technologies throughout the 20th century Integrating cultural sensitivity into clinical care for special populations and underserved communities Bringing public health services to rural communities Fighting for public health policies that support hospice services in the United States
Nursing Rural America: Perspectives from the Early 20th Century
"This book offers an interesting historical backdrop to nursing in rural parts of the US. Each of the nine chapters presents an individual case study from a different geographic area and focuses on a different ethnic population... Recommended. Nursing collections serving all levels of students, researchers/faculty, and professionals/practitioners." J. Clawson, University of Central Missouri CHOICE "Each chapter depicts nurses facing and overcoming a multitude of challenges as they addressed the medical needs of rural Americans. Because of their spirit of acceptance and community cooperation, their outcomes were remarkable: fully immunized communities, a decrease in mortality rates, statewide health policy implementation, and growth in community pride. The resilience of these nurses and their communities serves as a source of professional pride for problems solved and health enhanced." Mary S. Collins, PhD, RN, FAAN Glover-Crask Professor of Nursing Director, DNP Program Wegmans School of Nursing St. John Fisher College Rochester, NY Tracing the history of nursing in rural America during the first half of the 20th century, this well-researched book describes how nurses shaped health care delivery in remote, isolated rural settings, and analyzes how insights from their remarkable achievements in the face of formidable barriers can be applied to health care today. The book examines the multiple factors that influenced how and why nurses responded to the health care needs of rural residents, with coverage of rural nursing from the advent of the American Red Cross to Mary Breckinridge and her legendary Frontier Nursing Service; from rural Maine to the Navajo reservation in the Four Corners region. Through case histories, it depicts how nurses, working in the hinterlands of place, race, class, and ethnicity, broke geographic, cultural, and economic barriers to provide quality care. Based on nine actual case histories throughout America, the book identifies how nursing care was delivered to rural communities during the first five decades of the 20th century (before the advent of Medicare and Medicaid), and analyzes the impact of gender, class, race, policy, and place on rural health care delivery. It describes how nurses used ingenuity and self-reliance in order to practice to the full extent of their education, and explains how they provided access to care and health education in the face of many barriers. By documenting the reality of rural nursing in several different areas of the country and within multiethnic populations, the book also fills a gap in health care history. It provides historical primary source data that supports concepts, theory, and practice in rural nursing today. The book also highlights nursesí advocacy for their often disenfranchised patients, and examines how we can learn from their achievements to provide quality health care today. Key Features: Traces the history of rural nursing during the first half of the 20th century through nine case histories Describes nursing care for populations including adults, children, itinerant tenant farmers, and rural poor throughout the continental United States Showcases how nurses can serve diverse populations lacking a quality health care infrastructure Provides analysis of past rural nursing as it can help guide nursing today Offers historical primary source data that supports theory and practice in rural nursing today
Nursing the Nation: Building the Nurse Labor Force
Modern health care cannot exist without professional nurses. Throughout the twentieth century, there was seldom a sustained period when the supply of nurses was equal to demand. Nursing the Nation offers a historical analysis of the relationship between the development of nurse employment arrangements with patients and institutions and the appearance of nurse shortages from 1890 to 1950. The response to nursing supply and demand problems by health care institutions and policy-making organizations failed to address nurse workforce issues adequately, and this failure resulted in, at times, profound and lengthy nurse shortages. Nurses also lost the ability to control their own destiny within health care institutions while nevertheless establishing themselves as the most critical part of health care provision today.
Say Little, Do Much: Nursing, Nuns, and Hospitals in the Nineteenth Century
Nearly half a century before Florence Nightingale became a legendary figure for her pioneering work in the nursing trade, nursing nuns made significant but little-known accomplishments in the field.
War Girls: The First Aid Nursing Yeomanry in the First World War
War girls reveals the fascinating story of the British women who volunteered for service in the First Aid Nursing Yeomanry (FANY) during the Great War. Examining their experiences on the Western Front with the Belgian, British and French armies, this book shows how the FANY worked as nurses and ambulance driver-mechanics, inspiring stories of female heroism and solidarity. The FANY created skilled gendered performances against the cultural myths of the time, and in concert with their emerging legend. Coming from privileged backgrounds, they drew upon and subverted traditional arrangements, crafting new and unconventional identities for themselves. The author shares the stories of the FANY - a fascinating, quirky and audacious group of women - and illustrates the ways the Great War subverted existing gender arrangements. It will make fascinating reading for those working in the field of gender and war, as well as those who wish to find out more about this remarkable group of women.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
And If I Perish: frontline U.S. Army nurses in World War II
A galvanizing narrative of the wartime role played by U.S. Army nurses—from the invasion of North Africa to the bloody Italian campaign to the decisive battles in France and the Rhineland. More than 59,000 nurses volunteered to serve in the U.S. Army Nurse Corps alone: 217 lost their lives (16 by enemy action), and more than 1,600 were decorated for meritorious service and bravery under fire. But their stories have rarely been heard. Now, drawing on never-before-published eyewitness accounts—many heroic, some mundane and comic—Monahan and Neidel-Greenlee take us to the front lines, to the withering fire on the beaches of Anzio and Normandy, and to the field and evacuation hospitals, as well as bombed and burned hospital ships. We witness the nurses—and the doctors with whom they served—coping with the physical and psychological damage done to the soldiers in combat. We see them working—often with only meager supplies and overwhelmed by the sheer number of casualties—to save the lives and limbs of thousands of wounded troops. With them we experience the almost constant packing up and moving on to keep up with advancing troops, foxholes dug under camp beds, endless mud, and treacherous minefields. The vividness and immediacy of their recollections provide us with a powerfully visceral, deeply affecting sense of their experiences—terrifying and triumphant, exhausting and exhilarating. A revelatory work that at last gives voice to the nurses who played such an essential role in World War II.
Celebrating Nurses: a visual history
This refreshing narrative history of nursing marks an exception to standard, often dry academic descriptions of the nursing profession. It presents dramatic, highly readable illustrated stories of nursing's pioneering, often heroic leaders. Following an account of early nineteenth-century nursing practice during the Napoleonic Wars, the book goes on to highlight the life and work of Florence Nightingale who, in the 1850s, elevated nursing to a respected branch of medicine when she served on the Crimean War's battlefields. Also chronicled are the contributions to nursing by Clara Barton, founder of the American Red Cross, and the poet Walt Whitman during the American Civil War. Surgical nursing first became important in the late nineteenth century, following discoveries by Robert Koch in Germany and Louis Pasteur in France of germ theory and infection control. Early twentieth-century accounts chronicle the origin of public health services, and include the story of Adelaide Nutting, the world's first professor of nursing at Columbia Teacher's College in New York. Here too is the story of Edith Cavell, who was executed for helping Allied soldiers escape from German-occupied Belgium during World War I. Nursing's contributions during World War II, as well as in the Korean and Vietnam wars are also described in several vivid accounts. A concluding chapter explains how twenty-first-century nursing has expanded to cover many duties that were once the responsibility of junior doctors. The book's absorbing text is complemented with approximately 200 illustrations and photos.
Feminism and Nursing an historical perspective on power, status, and political activism in the nursing profession
This book examines nursing's feminist consciousness as the profession has developed and evolved over time. The interrelationship between the status of nursing and the status of women in patriarchal society is analyzed. Nursing's struggle to overcome its oppression and gain increased autonomy and political power is considered from an historical perspective. Early leaders in the profession, such as Florence Nightingale, Lavinia Dock, and Lillian Wald, are analyzed with regard to their social reform, political, and feminist activities. Nursing's support for the Equal Rights Amendment and its role in the women's movement that reemerged in the 1960s is examined in light of the profession's ambivalence to feminist issues. The last 20 years show that the profession has become actively aware of important issues such as pay equity and equal job opportunity and that nursing has become more cognizant and supportive of feminist goals on a variety of issues. This work provides a comprehensive review of the history of the nursing profession while simultaneously instructing in new paradigms of thought relative to provision of healthcare and human services by women.
A history of nursing : the evolution of nursing systems from the earliest times to the foundation of the first English and American training schools for nurses
The Evolution of Nursing Systems From the Earliest Times to the Foundation of the First English and American Training Schools for Nurses Support carried on to an extent which made me suspect in it a feature of the greatest importance for the maintenance of life, the preservation of each species, and its further evolution. He quotes another Russian scholar, Professor Kessler of St. Petersburg, who in 1880 lectured on this Subject and pointed out that beside the law of Mutual Struggle there is in Nature the law of Mutual Aid, which for the progressive evolution of the species is far more important than the law of mutual mmest. About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.
No Place Like Home a history of nursing and home care in the United States
Winner of the Lavinia Dock Award from the American Association for the History of NursingHonorable Mention for the Association of American Publishers Professional/Scholarly Publishing Awards in Nursing and Allied Heath No Place Like Homesets out to determine why home care, despite its potential as a cost-effective alternative to institutional care, remains a marginalized experiment in care giving. Nurse and historian Karen Buhler-Wilkerson traces the history of home care from its nineteenth-century origins in organized visiting nurses' associations, through a time when professional home care nearly disappeared, on to the 1960s, when a new wave of home care gathered force as physicians, hospital managers, and policy makers responded to economic mandates. Buhler-Wilkerson links local ideas about the formation and function of home-based services to national events and health care agendas, and she gives special attention to care of the "dangerous" sick, particularly poor immigrants with infectious diseases, and the "uninteresting" sick--those with chronic illnesses.
Notes on Nursing; what it is, and what it is not by
"My heart always sinks within me when I hear the good housewife, of every class, say, 'I assure you the bed has been well slept in,' and I can only hope it is not true. What? Is the bed already saturated with somebody else's damp before my patient comes to exhale in it his own damp? Has it not had a single chance to be aired? No, not one. It has been slept in every night." From the best known work of Florence Nightingale (1820-1910), the originator and founder of modern nursing, comes a collection of notes that played an important part in the much needed revolution in the field of nursing. For the first time it was brought to the attention of those caring for the sick that their responsibilities covered not only the administration of medicines and the application of poultices, but the proper use of fresh air, light, warmth, cleanliness, quiet, and the proper selection and administration of diet. Miss Nightingale is outspoken on these subjects as well as on other factors that she considers essential to good nursing. But, whatever her topic, her main concern and attention is always on the patient and his needs. One is impressed with the fact that the fundamental needs of the sick as observed by Miss Nightingale are amazingly similar today (even though they are generally taken for granted now) to what they were over 100 years ago when this book was written. For this reason, this little volume is as practical as it is interesting and entertaining. It will be an inspiration to the student nurse, refreshing and stimulating to the experienced nurse, and immensely helpful to anyone caring for the sick.
Nursing As a Spiritual Practice: a contemporary application of Florence Nightingale's views
Florence Nightingale is widely regarded as the founder of modern nursing. What is less well known is that she also had well-developed ideas about the spiritual aspects of nursing care. Her views draw from both Eastern and Western spiritual traditions and have a startling relevance to nursing practice today. Janet Macrae, both a Nightingale scholar and a nationally recognized expert on therapeutic touch, outlines Nightingale's ideas on spirituality in this book and discusses how a variety of techniques can be used to implement a more spiritual and humane form of nursing care. The techniques, which include yoga, meditation, and relaxation exercises can be used by both nurses and patients.
Rituals and Myths in Nursing
Nursing is a complex profession steeped in tradition and history. Tried and tested ways of working have been the mainstay of how and why nurses do what they do. Completing tasks in a certain way because "Sister says so" describes the custom and practice of nursing, passed on through the generations that existed for most of the 20th Century and can still hold sway today.Science and evidence-based practice have weakened the hold on tradition but ritual is still part of the fabric of nursing. Packed with amusing and sometimes poignant reminiscences this book paints a picture of nursing from the first registration of SRN No 1, Ethel Bedford Fenwick in 1919, to the present day.Each chapter follows a theme, explores the historical background and brings it to life with stories told by nurses from different eras. We have tales of alcohol prescribed to dilate blood vessels or simply for the feel good factor. Enemas were less fun, given for almost all bowel conditions; 'High, hot and a helluva lot!' was the phrase for remembering this ritual.Written with humour and a light touch, readers don't need a nursing background to enjoy these stories, but those who trained as nurses will identify with many of the amusing and often eccentric traditions retold by generations of nurses.
Veiled Warriors: allied nurses of the First World War
Caring for the wounded of the First World War was tough and challenging work, demanding extensive knowledge, technical skill, and high levels of commitment. Although allied nurses were admired in their own time for their altruism and courage, their image was distorted by the lens of popular mythology. They came to be seen as self-sacrificing heroines, romantic foils to the male combatant and doctors' handmaidens, rather than being appreciated as trained professionals performing significant work in their own right. Christine Hallett challenges these myths to reveal the true story of allied nursing in the First World War - one which is both more complex and more absorbing. Drawing upon evidence from archives across the world, Veiled Warriors offers a compelling account of nurses' wartime experiences and a clear appraisal of their work and its contribution to the allied cause between 1914 and 1918, on both the Western and the Eastern Fronts.Nurses believed they were involved in a multi-layered battle. Primarily, they were fighting for the lives of their patients on the "second battlefield" of casualty clearing stations, transports, and military hospitals. Beyond this, they were an integral component of the allied military machine, putting their own lives at risk in field hospitals close to the front lines, on board hospital ships vulnerable to enemy submarine attack, and in base hospitals subject to heavy bombardment. As working women in a sometimes hostile, chauvinistic world, allied nurses were also fighting to gain recognition for their profession and political rights for their sex. For them, military nursing might help to win not only the war itself, but also a more powerful voice for women in the post-war world.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
