LibGuides: Geology: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

Environmental Geology : Principles and Practice Environmental Geology is aimed primarily at upper-level undergraduate and graduate students in departments of earth and environmental sciences, but will also strongly appeal to the professional geologist, geographer, civil engineer and planner. As human activities continue to degrade the Earth, the crucial importance of environmental geology is fast being recognized, and course structures are beginning to exhibit an environmental bias. As a result, this book is designed to cater to this new audience and direction. It provides an assessment and evaluation of environmental hazards (volcanoes, earthquakes, etc) and problems (mining, waste disposal, etc), and suggests methods of dealing with them. In short, it covers the planning, development and management of those aspects of the environment that relate to geology and those that are fundamental to the future health of our planet. Comprehensive coverage, up-to-date, densely illustrated and fully referenced throughout. Varied environmental concerns of different regions are represented by a broad geographical spread of examples. Author is a distinguished engineering geologist with extensive international experience.
Fundamentals of Geomorphology This extensively revised and updated edition continues to present an engaging and comprehensive introduction to the subject, exploring the world's landforms from a broad systems perspective. It reflects on the latest developments in the field and includes new chapters on geomorphic materials and processes, hillslopes and changing landscapes. Fundamentals of Geomorphologyis an engaging and comprehensive introduction. Starting with a consideration of the nature of geomorphology and the geomorphic system, geomorphic materials and processes, and the quest of process and historical geomorphologists, it moves on to discuss: structure: landforms resulting from, or influenced by, the endogenic agencies of tectonic and volcanic processes, geological structures and rock types process and form: landforms resulting from, or influenced by, the exogenic agencies of weathering, running water, flowing ice and meltwater, ground ice and frost, the wind and the sea history: earth surface history, giving a discussion of Quaternary landforms and ancient landforms, including the origin of old plains, relict, exhumed, and stagnant landscape features and evolutionary aspects of landscape change. Fundamentals of Geomorphologyprovides a stimulating and innovative perspective on the key topics and debates within the field of geomorphology. Written in an accessible and lively manner, it includes guides to further reading, chapter summaries and an extensive glossary of key terms. The book is also illustrated throughout with over 200 informative diagrams and attractive photographs, including a colour plate section.
Geology : A Self-teaching Guide Take a learning journey through billions of years of Earth history This indispensable guide to the fundamentals of geology is the ideal way to introduce yourself to all the basics, from rocks, minerals, and fossil fuels to earthquakes, volcanoes, and plate tectonics. Using quick quizzes and self-tests to reinforce key concepts, Geology carefully walks you through billions of years of Earth history. Illustrated with more than one hundred specially commissioned illustrations and fifty photographs that help clarify difficult concepts, this easy-to-follow book is an interactive resource for anyone interested in learning more about our planet. Whether you are new to geology or want to refresh and update your knowledge, the proven self-teaching guide approach will allow you to work at your own pace, check your progress, and learn more about this fascinating field of study.
Global Warming : A Very Short Introduction Global Warming is one of the most controversial scientific issues of the twenty-first century. This is a problem that has serious economic, sociological, geopolitical, political, and personal implications.This Very Short Introduction is an informative, up-to-date, and readable book about the predicted impacts of global warming and the surprises that could be in store for us in the near future. It unpacks the controversies that surround global warming, drawing on material from the recent report ofthe Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), a huge collaborative study drawing together current thinking on the subject from experts in a range of disciplines, and for the first time presents the findings of the Panel for a general readership. The book also discusses the politics of globalwarming, and looks at what we can do now to adapt to climate change and mitigate its worst effects.
Guide to the Oceans An authoritative and richly illustrated guide to the many facets of the world's oceans and seas. The first five sections describe the genesis and evolution of the oceans, the history of exploration, leisure on the oceans, sealife, and ocean resources. The Atlas section maps the ocean basins, their circulation patterns and unique features. An Encyclopedia of Marine Life catalogues the main groups of flora and fauna.
History of Life : A Very Short Introduction Here is the extraordinary story of the unfolding of life on Earth, told by Michael J. Benton, a world-renowned authority on biodiversity. Ranging over four billion years, Benton weaves together the latest findings on fossils, earth history, evolutionary biology, and many other fields tohighlight the great leaps that enabled life to evolve from microbe to human - big breakthroughs that made whole new ways of life possible - including cell division and multicellularity, hard skeletons, the move to land, the origin of forests, the move to the air. He describes the mass extinctions,especially the Permian, which obliterated 90% of life, and he sheds light on the origins of human beings, and of the many hominids that went before us. He ends by pointing out that studying the past helps us to predict the future: what happens if the atmosphere warms by 5 degrees? What happens if wedestroy much of the biodiversity on Earth? These things have happened before, Benton notes. We need only look to the distant past to know the future of life on Earth.
Planetary Surface Processes Planetary Surface Processes is the first advanced textbook to cover the full range of geologic processes that shape the surfaces of planetary-scale bodies. Using a modern, quantitative approach, this book reconsiders geologic processes outside the traditional terrestrial context. It highlights processes that are contingent upon Earth's unique circumstances and processes that are universal. For example, it shows explicitly that equations predicting the velocity of a river are dependent on gravity: traditional geomorphology textbooks fail to take this into account. This textbook is a one-stop source of information on planetary surface processes, providing readers with the necessary background to interpret new data from NASA, ESA and other space missions. Based on a course taught by the author at the University of Arizona for 25 years, it is aimed at advanced students, and is also an invaluable resource for researchers, professional planetary scientists and space-mission engineers.
Plate Tectonics Palaeomagnetism, plates, hot spots, trenches and ridges are the subject of this unusual book. Plate Tectonics is a book of exercises and background information that introduces and demonstrates the basics of the subject. In a lively and lucid manner, it brings together a great deal of material in spherical trigonometry that is necessary to understand plate tectonics and the research literature written about it. It is intended for use in first year graduate courses in geophysics and tectonics, and provides a guide to the quantitative understanding of plate tectonics.
Principles of Geology This new volume explores the academic discipline of geology and related fields of study in more than 100 easy-tounderstand entries. Geology, the earth science concerned with the solid structure of Earth and any terrestrial planet or natural satellite, studies the rocks of which it is made, and the processes by which they change over time. Broad categories covered in this volume include: Plate tectonics, Evolutionary history of life, Geologic time, Planetary geology, Hydrology and Dating techniques, like relative or absolute dating.
Regional Geology and Tectonics: Phanerozoic Passive Margins, Cratonic Basins and Global Tectonic Maps Expert petroleum geologists David Roberts and Albert Bally bring you Regional Geology and Tectonics: Phanerozoic Passive Margins, Cratonic Basins and Global Tectonic Maps, volume three in a three-volume series covering Phanerozoic regional geology and tectonics. Its key focus is on both volcanic and non-volcanic passive margins, and the importance of salt and shale driven by sedimentary tectonics to their evolution. Recent innovative research on such critical locations as Iberia, Newfoundland, China, and the North Sea are incorporated to provide practical real-world case studies in regional geology and tectonics. The vast amount of volcanic data now available to form accurate hydrocarbon assessments and analysis at passive margin locations is also included into this thorough yet accessible reference.
Structural Geology Structural Geology is a groundbreaking reference that introduces you to the concepts of nonlinear solid mechanics and non-equilibrium thermodynamics in metamorphic geology, offering a fresh perspective on rock structure and its potential for new interpretations of geological evolution. This book stands alone in unifying deformation and metamorphism and the development of the mineralogical fabrics and the structures that we see in the field. This reflects the thermodynamics of systems not at equilibrium within the framework of modern nonlinear solid mechanics. The thermodynamic approach enables the various mechanical, thermal, hydrological and chemical processes to be rigorously coupled through the second law of thermodynamics, invariably leading to nonlinear behavior. The book also differs from others in emphasizing the implications of this nonlinear behavior with respect to the development of the diverse, complex, even fractal, range of structures in deformed metamorphic rocks. Building on the fundamentals of structural geology by discussing the nonlinear processes that operate during the deformation and metamorphism of rocks in the Earth's crust, the book's concepts help geoscientists and graduate-level students understand how these processes control or influence the structures and metamorphic fabrics--providing applications in hydrocarbon exploration, ore mineral exploration, and architectural engineering. Authored by two of the world's foremost experts in structural geology, representing more than 70 years of experience in research and instruction Nearly 300 figures, illustrations, working examples, and photographs reinforce key concepts and underscore major advances in structural geology
Why Geology Matters : Decoding the Past, Anticipating the Future Volcanic dust, climate change, tsunamis, earthquakes--geoscience explores phenomena that profoundly affect our lives. But more than that, as Doug Macdougall makes clear, the science also provides important clues to the future of the planet. In an entertaining and accessibly written narrative, Macdougall gives an overview of Earth's astonishing history based on information extracted from rocks, ice cores, and other natural archives. He explores such questions as: What is the risk of an asteroid striking Earth? Why does the temperature of the ocean millions of years ago matter today? How are efforts to predict earthquakes progressing? Macdougall also explains the legacy of greenhouse gases from Earth's past and shows how that legacy shapes our understanding of today's human-caused climate change. We find that geoscience in fact illuminates many of today's most pressing issues--the availability of energy, access to fresh water, sustainable agriculture, maintaining biodiversity--and we discover how, by applying new technologies and ideas, we can use it to prepare for the future.

Featured Print Books

Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.

Earth Environments : Past, Present and Future This book provides a comprehensive coverage of the major topics within undergraduate study programmes in geosciences, environmental science, physical geography, natural hazards and ecology. This text introduces students to the Earth′s four key interdependent systems: the atmosphere, lithosphere, hydrosphere and biosphere, focussing on their key components, interactions between them and environmental change. Topics covered include: An earth systems model; components systems and processes: atmospheric systems; oceanography, endogenic geological systems and exogenic geological systems, biogeography and, aspects of the Earth′s Record. The impact of climate and environmental change is discussed in a final chapter which draws together Earth′s systems and their evolution and looks ahead to future earth changes and environments and various time periods in the geological record. Throughout the book geological case studies are used in addition to the modern processes.
Gem A dazzling visual guide to precious and semiprecious stones, organic gems, and precious metals that showcases beautiful, specially commissioned images as well as science, natural history, mythology, and true stories of adventure and discovery. From diamonds and sapphires to emeralds and obsidian, Gem profiles all the key gemstones and other precious materials. Its stunning images show the jewels in their different cuts, colors, and uses. See the exquisite jewelry pieces of royalty around the world, high-society women, and Native American traditions. Visit the Russian Amber Room, study the details of a Fabergé egg, and find out what characteristics are needed for a record-breaking gem. The stories, myths, and legends that surround the most celebrated gems and jewel-laden artifacts from around the world are revealed, from their journeys in the company of royalty, film stars, and thieves to the curse of the Hope Diamond. Follow the history of the world's most famous jewelry houses and their designers, including Cartier, Harry Winston, Tiffany & Co., and more. For additional information about the world's natural treasures, an 80-page reference section at the back of the book highlights a variety of other rocks and minerals, and a color guide directory groups gems according to their main color. Created in association with the Smithsonian Institution and featuring a foreword by New York Times-bestselling author Aja Raden, Gem combines lavish photographs with expert knowledge, making it perfect for gift-giving.
Language of the Earth : [a literary anthology] Man′s complex relationship to planet Earth is explored in this second edition of the landmark anthology edited by Frank Rhodes and Bruce Malamud. This volume provides a portrait of the planet as experienced not just by scientists, but by artists, aviators, poets, philosophers, novelists, historians, and sociologists as well. A unique collection that bridges the gap between science and humanities Contains writings by scientists, artists, aviators, poets, philosophers, novelists, historians, and sociologists including Charles Darwin, Dane Picard, Rachel Carson, John Muir, Mark Twain and Archibald Geikie Represents the human experience over the centuries, covering a span of 2,500 years Reflects the planet′s extraordinary physical diversity The previous edition was voted one of the 25 ′Great Books of Geology′ by readers of the Journal of Geological Education "...this is a very worthwhile read, with something for everyone interested in geography, earth systems and geology, natural history or the general environment." Robert A. Francis, King′s College London, Progress in Physical Geography
Physical Geology Introducing geology, the essentials of plate tectonics, and other important concepts -- Atoms, elements, and minerals -- Igneous rocks, intrusive activity,and the origin of igneous rocks -- Volcanism and extrusive rocks --Weathering and soil -- Sediment and sedimentary rocks -- Metamorphism, metamorphic rocks, and hydrothermal rocks -- Time and geology -- Mass wasting -- Streams and floods -- Ground water -- Glaciers and glaciation -- Deserts and wind action --- Waves, beaches, and coasts -- Geologic structures -- Earthquakes -- Earth's interior and geophysical properties -- Sea floor -- Plate tectonics -- Mountain belts and the continental crust -- Geologic resources -- Earth's companions
Principles of Geology This new volume explores the academic discipline of geology and related fields of study in more than 100 easy-tounderstand entries. Geology, the earth science concerned with the solid structure of Earth and any terrestrial planet or natural satellite, studies the rocks of which it is made, and the processes by which they change over time. Broad categories covered in this volume include: Plate tectonics, Evolutionary history of life, Geologic time, Planetary geology, Hydrology and Dating techniques, like relative or absolute dating.
Structural Geology Lavishly illustrated in color, this textbook takes an applied approach to introduce undergraduate students to the basic principles of structural geology. The book provides unique links to industry applications in the upper crust, including petroleum and groundwater geology, which highlight the importance of structural geology in exploration and exploitation of petroleum and water resources. Topics range from faults and fractures forming near the surface to shear zones and folds of the deep crust. Students are engaged through examples and parallels drawn from practical everyday situations, enabling them to connect theory with practice. Containing numerous end-of-chapter problems, e-learning modules, and with stunning field photos and illustrations, this book provides the ultimate learning experience for all students of structural geology.
Visualizing Geology Offering a visually engaging approach, this book helps readers become "geologically literate" with a sound understanding of basic geologic processes and the environmental ramifications of Earth's systems. It introduces plate tectonics early and incorporates numerous illustrations and photos to make the difficult concepts easier to comprehend. Readers will also benefit from the structured and effective format and accessible writing style.