LibGuides: Bullying & Cancel Culture: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

25 Myths about Bullying and Cyberbullying Learn the truth about bullying in the 21st century: what to look for, and how to cope with the social problems facing today's kids. Whether dealing with bullying issues or worrying that they might occur, parents are faced with more challenges than ever before. In the age of the internet and social media, traditional approaches to bullying haven't kept pace with new realities, and new problems like cyberbullying have emerged. Parents searching for ways to prevent or cope with bullying are flooded by a deluge of advice, opinions, and strategies--often conflicting or, even worse, potentially harmful. 25 Myths about Bullying and Cyberbullying helps parents understand the causes and consequences of bullying, determine if something is truly a problem, and effectively deal with problems when they arise. This practical guide enables parents to appreciate how modern digital environments impact a young person's communication and relationships, recognize the most prevalent types of psychological bullying and cyberbullying, and know when and how to intervene. The author dispels common myths related to the confronting of bullies, victims seeking revenge on bullies, keeping kids off their phones and computers to prevent cyberbullying, the links between bullying and suicide, and many others. Backed by the most recent work in bullying and cyberbullying research, this book helps parents: Understand what causes, prevents, and stops bullying and cyberbullying. Tell the difference between bullying issues and normal 'growing pains'. Recognize the signs and effects of psychological bullying. Know when intervening is helpful, and when it can be destructive. Reduce social anxieties and the potential for bullying issues in children and young adults. 25 Myths about Bullying and Cyberbullying is an important resource for parents of school-age children and young adults, as well as staff in educational environments.
Beyond Bullying: Breaking the Cycle of Shame, Bullying, and Violence The first book to integrate shame research into a single overarching theory* Why are some kids magnets for bullying?* Why do gay teens commit suicide four times as frequently as "straight" teens?* Why do we have more men and women in prison than any other country in the world?* Why are school shootings and acts of domestic terrorism on the rise? What could possibly be the theme that ties all of these questions together, which provides a window into so many aspects of the darker aspects of human behavior? In a word, shame. Shame is a powerful and complex emotion, capable of producing dramatic reactions from even the most mild-mannered people. While shame can be employed in positive ways, such as teaching children good manners, other types of shame can be devastating, or even lethal. However, few people truly understand the role of shame in acts of bullying, violence, and discrimination. In Beyond Bullying: Breaking the Cycle of Shame, Bullying, and Violence, veteran professor of social work Jonathan Fast deftly weaves together research from the fields of psychology, sociology, economics, and history to create a single overarching theory of shame. The book introduces the concept of "weaponized shame," a toxic and intentional attack on another person, noting that weaponized shame is often at the heart of bullying situations. With clear, straightforward language, Dr. Fast traces the nuances of shame through several common types of bullying, highlighting bullying based on sexuality, gender, and race. Noting the pervasive presence of weaponized shame in American culture, Beyond Bullying extends shame theory to acts of domestic violence, racism, school shootings, and domestic terrorism. The issues that cause bullying are not limited to the schoolyard, but rather are responsible for horrific acts of violence across the nation. Beyond mere theory, the book provides concrete suggestions for healthy ways of dealing with shame, including techniques for diffusing potentially harmful situations. An invaluable resource for parents of bullied children, Beyond Bullying will also appeal to teachers, counselors, and social workers.
Also available in print: BF575.S45 F27 2016
Bullying: A Reference Handbook This volume explains how bullying became a problem in schools and what can be done about it. It also points readers to additional resources among the many that exist on the topic that will help them to fully understand it. Bullying: A Reference Handbook opens with a background and history of school bullying before diving into raging controversies over causes and solutions. It contains personal essays from experts in the field and profiles of empathy-building bullying prevention organizations and additionally includes data and documents, a chronological history of bullying, and resources for further research. Anyone interested in learning more about school bullying will come away with a clear understanding of the topic. This volume is the only resource on the issue of school bullying targeted for high school and college students as well as other serious researchers. With an emphasis on bullying prevention, including less well known but up-and-coming empathy-building programs, this book contributes ground-breaking material to help readers to learn about the scope of the problem as well as essential solutions that families and schools can practice in everyday life.
Bullying and Young People Bullying involves one or more people repeatedly and deliberately harming, threatening or frightening someone with words, behaviour or actions. Bullying can be insistent and insidious and have devastating impacts on not just victims, but everyone involved. Bullying is, unfortunately, common among young Australians at school, online and via mobile phones. This book identifies the various forms of bullying, explains its causes and effects, and presents advice on school anti-bullying strategies and how to tackle cyberbullying. Whether you are an educator, student, parent, bystander, offender or victim, there is an abundance of helpful information in this book to assist in understanding bullying and how to deal with it. Bullying is not okay, and should never be accepted as a regular part of growing up.
Bullying in North American Schools Bullying in North American Schools is an exciting compilation of research on bullying in school-aged youth by a representative group of researchers, including developmental, social, counseling, school, and clinical psychologists across North America. This new edition: illustrates the complexity of bullying behaviors and offers suggestions for decision-making to intervene and work to reduce bullying behaviors provides empirical guidance for school personnel as they develop bullying prevention and intervention programs or evaluate existing programs uses; a social-ecological perspective in which bullying is examined across multiple contexts including individual characteristics, peer and family influences, and classroom dynamics includes basic research data from leaders in the field of bullying and victimization in the United States and Canada teaches practical implications of various types of programs and how to choose and implement one that fits their school ecology. This text will help your students understand how to prevent bullying behavior and how to select and manage intervention efforts in schools and school districts.
Cancel Culture: A Critical Analysis "Cancel culture" has become one of the most charged concepts in contemporary culture and politics, but mainstream critiques from both the left and the right provide only snapshots of responses to the phenomenon. Takinga media and cultural studies perspective, this book traces the origins of cancel practices and discourses, and discusses their subsequent evolution within celebrity and fan cultures, consumer culture, and national politics in the U.S. and China. Moving beyond popular press accounts about the latest targets of cancelling or familiar free speech debates, this analysis identifies multiple lineages for both cancelling and criticisms about cancelling, underscoring the various configurations of power associated with "cancel culture" in particular cultural and political contexts. 
Cancel Culture: Tales from the Front Lines What is "cancel culture." A new phrase in popular circulation for less than two years, it has provoked passionate denunciations from observers concerned with civil liberties, especially rights of free speech and expression, and apologetic defenses from opponents who advocate equity and accountability in light of new mores. Still others deny that "cancel culture" exists at all, while many claim never to have heard of it. In Cancel Culture: Tales from the Front Lines, noted historian and critic Paul du Quenoy presents a series of case studies that reveal the new phenomenon known as "cancel culture" as experienced or claimed in media, academia, the arts, public space, and other areas of ideological controversy. More than a bald denunciation or frustrated description of an unfamiliar new concept, this groundbreaking approach seeks to understand "cancel culture" as a process - how it starts and stops, where it comes from and leads, and how and, indeed, whether it might one day end. This penetrating and highly original analysis sheds light on a society grappling feverishly with fundamental issues of freedom and liberty.
Cyberbullying: Bullying in the Digital Age Psychologists explore the reality of cyberbullies Millions of children are affected by bullies each year. Advances in social media, email, instant messaging, and cell phones, however, have moved bullying from a schoolyard fear to a constant threat. The second edition of Cyberbullying offers the most current information on this constantly-evolving issue and outlines the unique concerns and challenges it raises for children, parents, and educators. Authored by psychologists who are internationally recognized as experts in this field, the text uses the latest research in this area to provide an updated, reliable text ideal for parents and educators concerned about the cyberbullying phenomenon.  
Dealing with Bullying Bullying is the deliberate desire by one or more people to hurt, threaten or frighten someone with words, behaviour or actions. Bullying can be verbal, physical, social or psychological and is one of the major issues facing young people today. It occurs at school, in the workplace, and even online as cyberbullying OCo it is very common, and it can happen to anyone. Bullying can have devastating impacts on victims, and it can also have detrimental effects on all involved, including bullies. This book identifies the various forms of bullying, explains its causes and effects, and presents advice on how to develop strategies in schools, workplaces and online to deal with bullying behaviour. Banish bullying, don't put up with it, deal with it. 3 chapters: Bullying at school; Cyberbullying; Bullying at work.
Political Cyberbullying: Perpetrators and Targets of a New Digital Aggression Politically motivated attacks are the newest type of aggression to erupt in the cyberworld, making Political Cyberbullying's analysis of the psychology of cyberbullying adult perpetrators, the effects on their victims, and ways we can reduce the damage an essential read. Although cyber-aggression is not a new phenomenon, the presidential campaign and election in 2016 appeared to embolden some adults who exploited the principle of free speech to attack others for their personal characteristics or views, bringing cyberbullying into the political realm. The political climate remained toxic through 2017 and 2018, and 2019 has both enflamed the vitriolic and venomous potential of public discourse and encouraged the appropriation of personal disclosure for political ends, something likely to continue through the 2020 election and after. In this work, psychologist Sheri Bauman, an expert on cyberbullying who has addressed audiences across the nation and internationally, summarizes the world of political cyber-aggression, its perpetrators and their psyche, and its targets and how they are chosen. She then explains steps we can take to defuse the effectiveness and the harms of these online assaults. Case studies bring primary points to life, and the clarity of the text will appeal to students, researchers, and others interested in aggression, communication, and politics online.
Violence and Trolling on Social Media 'Trolls for Trump', virtual rape, fake news - social media discourse, including forms of virtual and real violence, has become a formidable, yet elusive, political force. What characterizes online vitriol? How do we understand the narratives generated, and also address their real-world - even life-and-death - impact? How can hatred, bullying, and dehumanization on social media platforms be addressed and countered in a post-truth world? This book unpicks discourses, metaphors, media dynamics, and framing on social media, to begin to answer these questions. Written for and by cultural and media studies scholars, journalists, political philosophers, digital communication professionals, activists and advocates, this book makes the connections between theoretical approaches from cultural and media studies and practical challenges and experiences 'from the field', providing insight into a rough media landscape.
Walk Away to Win: A Playbook to Combat Workplace Bullying Recognize toxic coworkers, support bullied colleagues, and thrive in the workplace and beyond. Ranging from general conflict to psychological violence, workplace bullying has become an epidemic at many offices. The Workplace Bullying Institute reports that workplace bullying affects approximately 80 million workers. And with the Great Resignation upon us, we’re seeing that a toxic culture or manager is one of the top reasons employees leave a company. In Walk Away to Win, Megan Carle draws on her own experience as a target of workplace bullying—paired with the latest research in the field—to reveal how unhealthy workplace cultures enable this insidious behavior. She describes the impact of bullying on an organization’s bottom line; explains what you can do to combat bullying against yourself or your coworkers; analyzes the common characteristics of bullies; and helps readers understand how to face each style of bullying behavior. You’ll learn everything you need to know about: The fundamentals of workplace bullying; Various types of bullies, including the Two-Face, the About-Face, and the Rat-Face; Cultural context of workplace bullying; A target’s options for responding to their bully; How you can help a colleague who is being bullied; How business leaders must respond to bullies—including termination; Walk Away to Win sends a loud-and-clear message to targets of bullying: this is not your fault, and there are steps you can take to protect yourself and your career—including the ultimate win of walking away if your company doesn’t support you. The book also sends a message to leaders in business: if you tolerate workplace bullies, you’ll lose staff, productivity and market share; a no-tolerance policy is the only path forward. If you, a coworker, or a member of your staff is experiencing bullying, Walk Away to Win belongs in your arsenal to combat this behavior and make positive change for everyone.
Workplace Bullying: Symptoms and Solutions Is bullying really that bad? Why do some people just watch it happening? How do you know if it is bullying or strong management? What kind of leaders are able to create positive working environments? The effects of bullying on organisations and individuals can be devastating and can adversely affect both the workers themselves and the productivity of the organisation that they work for. This book explores the impact of bullying from the perspective of both the employee and the organisation in which they work. In addition to describing the negative outcome of bullying, Workplace Bullying also looks at ways to promote resilience and the opportunity for growth and learning to take place. Divided into four sections, this book covers: the impact and symptoms of workplace bullying individual interventions organisational interventions underlying causes and future considerations. Workplace Bullying is essential reading for anyone with responsibility to help and support workers involved in bullying as a victim, supporter, or investigator. It offers organisations a chance to create an environment thatnbsp;will not only build a more resilient workforce, providing appropriate and effective interventions, but also provides solutions that will lead to the possibility of individual and organisational growth and development.
Workplace Bullying in Higher Education Higher education leaders, managers, human resource professionals, faculty, and staff increasingly face uncivil, bullying behaviors in academe. This can manifest itself as constant public humiliation by a new department chair, exclusion of a contingent faculty member, undermining of work performance by a supervisor, stalking by a staff member, or taunting. As higher education institutions continue to face budget issues and external pressure, the incidences of bullying are on the rise. This edited volume provides guidance on the nature and impact of bullying, legal and ethical issues, and approaches to assist leaders in facing these challenges in their colleges and universities. Research-based chapters cover the impact of bullying on the workforce, the ways that bullying manifests within different sub-cultures and at different institutions including community colleges, the legal and ethical issues of bullying, and recommendations to address bullying on campus. Exploring bullying policies and innovative programs, this book provides a better understanding of how to rethink current policies and practices to proactively create more civil cultures. Workplace Bullying in Higher Education is a valuable resource for all higher education leaders and professionals on understanding, mediating, and preventing bullying.

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

Bullying Behavior: Current Issues, Research, and Interventions These timely intervention strategies make your school safer for everyone! Bullying Behavior: Current Issues, Research, and Interventions provides the most up-to-date reports on the dynamics of bullying, including who bullies and why, who the victims are, and how depression and anxiety are correlated with bullying. It also presents detailed case studies of successful anti-bullying strategies for both local schools and national campaigns. Drawing on national and international clinical research, this book is indispensable for teachers and school administrators, therapists and child psychologists, social workers, child advocates and counselors, court personnel, probation officers, and education policymakers.
Bullying Scars: The Impact on Adult Life and Relationships An explosion of research on bullying has raised our collective awareness of the serious impacts it can have on children. No longer do we accept it as an innocuous rite of passage, just a part of growing up that we grin and bear and grow out of later. But do we grow out of it, or are therelingering effects that last well beyond the school playgrounds and lunchrooms? Is bullying traumatic and, if so, does it last into adult life? Are there life-long consequences or are the effects pretty much shed as people grow? Are some of us more resilient than others? Are there any positive orunexpected outcomes as a result of being bullied (or having been a bully) as a child? In an effort to answer these questions, Bullying Scars describes childhood bullying from the vantage point of those victims, bullies, and bystanders who are now adults; the book discusses how lives have beenchanged, and explores the range of reactions adults exhibit.The research gathered for this book, through interviews with over 800 people, points out that even adult decision-making is often altered by the victimization they experience as children at the hands of peers, siblings, parents, oreducators.Written in an engaging and accessible style that draws heavily from the rich interview data that deLara has collected, this book will be of interest to anyone struggling with the lingering effects of being bullied. Additionally, it is highly relevant to mental health professionals - counselors,therapists, social workers, clinical psychologists - working with clients who are dealing with these issues.
Bully Nation It's not just the bully in the schoolyard that we should be worried about. The one-on-one bullying that dominates the national conversation, this timely book suggests, is actually part of a larger problem--a natural outcome of the bullying nature of our national institutions. And as long as the United States embraces militarism and aggressive capitalism, systemic bullying and all its impacts--at home and abroad--will persist as a major crisis. Bullying looks very similar on the personal and institutional levels: it involves an imbalance of power and behavior that consistently undermines its victim, securing compliance and submission and reinforcing the bully's sense of superiority and legitimacy. The similarity, this book tells us, is not a coincidence. Applying the concept of the "sociological imagination," which links private problems and public issues, authors Charles Derber and Yale Magrass argue that individual bullying is an outgrowth--and a necessary function--of a larger social phenomenon. Bullying is seen here as a structural problem arising from systems organized around steep power hierarchies--from the halls of the Pentagon, Congress, and corporate offices to classrooms and playing fields and the environment. Dominant people and institutions need to create a culture in which violence and aggression are seen as natural and just: one where individuals compete over who will be bully or victim, and each is seen as deserving their fate within this hierarchy. The larger the inequalities of power in society, or among nations, or even across species, the more likely it is that both institutional and personal bullying will become commonplace. The authors see the life-long psychological scars interpersonal bullying can bring, but believe it is almost impossible to reduce such bullying without first challenging the institutions that breed and encourage it. In the United States a system of intertwined corporations, governments, and military institutions carries out "systemic bullying" to create profits and sustain its own power. While acknowledging the diversity and savagery of many other bully nations, the authors contend that America, as the most powerful nation in the world--and one that aggressively promotes its system as a model--merits special attention. It is only by recognizing the bullying built into this model that we can address the real problem, and in this, Bully Nation makes a hopeful beginning.
Cyberbullying in Social Media Within Educational Institutions Cyberbullying in social media is one of the most important concerns in educational institutions at the K-12 and higher education levels today. Cyberbullying is complicated because it involves children, parents, and other family members as well as society at-large. It hurts the victim, the cyberbully, their families, their friends, others at and beyond the school, and our American society in countless direct and indirect ways -- educationally, emotionally, mentally, physically, socially, and in some cases it takes the victim's life away. Sometimes the results of cyberbullying are intentional, other times the results are unintended. This book presents the information from the collaborative efforts and perspectives of a current school district superintendent who has researched and worked day-to-day with the issues, and an attorney currently dealing with the legal issues relevant to cyberbullying. This book is helpful to students, parents, educators, mental and medical health professionals, and attorneys who work with the misery, fears, terror and other consequences of cyberbullying in social media.
Defusing Angry People: Practical Tools for Handling Bullying, Threats, and Violence One in five adults has and anger management problem, and 45 percent are losing their tempers on a regular basis. These alarming statistics show unchecked anger is all around us, whether it be hostile individuals, backstabbing family members, bullies, or normally peaceful people who inexplicably go ballistic. InDefusing Angry People, Kevin Fauteux utilizes his experience treating patients' anger issues, gives important steps to understanding rage, and then shows how to employ specific de-escalation assessment techniques to effectively defuse volatile situations.
Reading the Comments: Likers, Haters, and Manipulators at the Bottom of the Web What we can learn about human nature from the informative, manipulative, confusing, and amusing messages at the bottom of the web. Online comment can be informative or misleading, entertaining or maddening. Haters and manipulators often seem to monopolize the conversation. Some comments are off-topic, or even topic-less. In this book, Joseph Reagle urges us to read the comments. Conversations "on the bottom half of the Internet," he argues, can tell us much about human nature and social behavior. Reagle visits communities of Amazon reviewers, fan fiction authors, online learners, scammers, freethinkers, and mean kids. He shows how comment can inform us (through reviews), improve us (through feedback), manipulate us (through fakery), alienate us (through hate), shape us (through social comparison), and perplex us. He finds pre-Internet historical antecedents of online comment in Michelin stars, professional criticism, and the wisdom of crowds. He discusses the techniques of online fakery (distinguishing makers, fakers, and takers), describes the emotional work of receiving and giving feedback, and examines the culture of trolls and haters, bullying, and misogyny. He considers the way comment--a nonstop stream of social quantification and ranking--affects our self-esteem and well-being. And he examines how comment is puzzling--short and asynchronous, these messages can be slap-dash, confusing, amusing, revealing, and weird, shedding context in their passage through the Internet, prompting readers to comment in turn, "WTF?!?"