The Salem Careers in series provides detailed and need-to-know information on various careers and adjacent occupations. Each chapter provides a wealth of real-world information including A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, and Conversations with Real Professionals, as well as contacts for more information.
See More
The eBooks listed below are just a few examples. See all Careers in the Collection to see what's available.
Get it in Print
All of the Salem eBooks are also available in print in the library.
Careers in Artificial Intelligence
Artificial intelligence (AI) is all around us, from music choices to electronics to healthcare. AI refers to machines that are programmed to think and act like humans. Examples of AI include Pandora personalized song lists, robotic vacuum cleaners and self-driving vehicles. Many industries offer careers in AI, including financial services, technology, marketing, agriculture, gaming, and retail. As the need for technology and its problem-solving abilities continues to grow, so does the need for highly-skilled individuals to work in this sector. Careers in Artificial Intelligence provides detailed information and need-to-know information on various careers in artificial intelligence. Each chapter provides a wealth of real-world information including A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, Areas with the Highest Employment Levels, and Conversations with Real Professionals.
Careers in Biology
Biology is the natural science that studies life and living organisms. A career in biology can mean the study of evolution, the study of health and disease, the study of the preservation of the natural environment, the study of pollen, or the study of animal behavior, to name a few. Biologists can work in a classroom, in a laboratory, on a farm, or under the ocean, so someone who is interested in a career in this field has many options to choose from.
Careers in Biotechnology
Provides an introduction to the wide range of career opportunities available to those interested in biotechnology, including biological technician, data scientist, forensic science technician, mechanical engineer, and more.
Careers in Earth Science
Provides a thorough introduction to the wide range of career opportunities available to those interested in the many areas of this in-demand and highly specialized area of the natural sciences, from being an agricultural engineer to a zoologist, and everything in between.
Careers in Healthcare
Written for students in high school or undergraduate programs, Careers in Healthcare explores a variety of growing fields to help young adults gain a head start in learning more about the many career opportunities available and to help those make a better-informed decisions when selecting a career path or field of study.
Careers in Heavy Equipment Operation, Maintenance and Repair
Careers in Heavy Equipment Operation, Maintenance & Repair.
Careers in Human Services
Written for students in high school or undergraduate programs, Careers in Human Services explores a variety of growing fields to help young adults gain a head start in learning more about the many career opportunities available and to help those make a better-informed decisions when selecting a career path or field of study.
Careers in Illustration and Animation
Careers in Illustration & Animation.
Careers in Intelligence and National Security
Provides an introduction to the wide range of career opportunities available to those interested in intelligence and national security, from being an actuary to a telecommunications technician, and everything in between.
Careers in Mass Communication
Provides a thorough introduction to the wide range of career opportunities available to those interested in the many areas of this influential industry, from acting to writing, and everything in between.
Careers in Nursing
Jobs in nursing are projected to grow 15% by 2026, much faster than the average for all occupations, because of an increased emphasis on preventive care; growing rates of chronic conditions, such as diabetes and obesity; and greater demand for healthcare services from the baby-boom population. This volume explores all levels of the nursing profession, to give students and adult job-seekers real-world information about their many career paths, including: Cardiovascular Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner, Geriatric Nursing, Neonatal Nursing, Oncology Nursing, Pediatric Nursing, Psychiatric Nursing and Women's Health Nursing.
Careers in the Music Industry
A musician might start by playing guitar in their teenaged bedroom, but the machinery behind their career is significant. Songwriters, composers, singers, all levels of musicians, and conductors train with individual teachers and often attend arts and music schools. Performance spaces managers and booking agents, sound engineers, promoters, and traveling crews are all crucial in bringing live performances to their audiences. On the business side, talent and business managers guide careers, and entertainment attorneys review contracts. The evolving recording business hosts a variety of careers as vinyl recording reemerge, and streaming platforms take the place of live performances due to the pandemic. Musicians in recording and digital media can also work on a range of projects such as recording radio and TV commercials or video game and film scores. Career options in the music industry are more varied than ever before, and technology just expands the field.
Careers Paths to Entrepreneurship
Designed specifically for those who want to work for themselves, this volume dives deep into the many ways that individuals can translate doing what they love into a business. There are many business sectors that are ripe for entrepreneurship, including real estate, the creative arts, manufacturing, personal care services, retail, fashion, finance and so much more. This volume also highlights some critical aspects of entrepreneurship, from writing business plans to managing finances. Take a look at just some of the in-demand careers profiled in this volume: Chef/Cook Childcare Facility Director Fashion Designer Franchise Operator Hair Stylist Personal Trainer Software Developers Stockbroker Top Executive. Each chapter provides a wealth of real-world information including A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, and Conversations with Real Professionals.
The Practical Career Guides series provides information on what careers are available and which would one be a good fit.
They cover why to choose a career in the filed covered, forming a career plan, what education is needed and writing your resume and interviewing.
See More
The eBooks listed below are just a few examples. See all Practical Career Guides in the Collection to see what's available.
Cosmetologists : A Practical Career Guide
This book will walk you through the various steps in determining whether the cosmetology field is for you, from developing a understanding of what a career in cosmetology entails to arming yourself with the information you need to earn the necessary qualifications and land your dream job in an exciting, challenging, and potentially lucrative field.
Criminal Justice Professionals
Welcome to the criminal justice field! If you are interested in a career in criminal justice, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in this field? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various professions? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Criminal Justice Professionals: A Practical Career Guide, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Security guards/officer -Correctional officer -Parole/probation officer -Police officers/detectives -Criminal court prosecutors/judges
Culinary Arts : A Practical Career Guide
Welcome to the culinary arts field If you're interested in a career in culinary arts, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. This book, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers five main areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. Chefs Pop-up and traditional restaurant owners Caterers Media and art-related careers Bakers
Cybersecurity and Information Security Analysts
This book explores the growing, lucrative, exciting field of cybersecurity (also called information security or InfoSec) in an approachable, interesting, inviting way, geared towards middle school and high school students.
Dental Assistants and Hygienists
If you are interested in a career in the dental assistants and hygienists (the allied health field, as it is often called), you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Do these career paths have a bright future? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Dental Assistants and Hygienists includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers three main areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Dental assistants -Dental hygienists -Dental technicians
First Responders : A Practical Career Guide
Welcome to the first responders field If you are interested in a career as a first responder, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. This book, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers four main areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. Firefighters Police officers EMTs Paramedics and emergency medical professionals
Information Technology (IT) Professionals
Welcome to the Information Technology (IT) Professionals field If you are interested in a career as an Information Technology (IT) professionals you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. This book, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Technical Support Staff -Programmers -Web Developers -Systems Analysts -Network Architects -Security Analysts
Marketing Professionals
Welcome to the marketing field! If you are interested in a career as a marketing professional, you've come to the right book. What exactly do these people do on the job every day? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in this field? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various professions? Is this the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Marketing Professionals: A Practical Career Guide includes interviews with marketing professionals. This book covers the following job areas in marketing: -Digital marketing -SEO (search engine optimization) and web analytics -Social media marketing -Graphic design -Brand management -Product marketing
Mathematicians and Statisticians
Welcome to the mathematics and statistics field! If you are interested in a career in mathematics or statistics, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in this field? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various professions? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Mathematicians and Statisticians: A Practical Career Guide, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. Statisticians College Math Professors Actuaries Research Analysts Economists
Medical Office Professionals
Welcome to medical office professional careers If you are interested in a career in the medical office professional field, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much money can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Do these career paths have a bright future? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. This book, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers eight main areas of the medical office professionals field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Nurse Practitioner -Physician Assistant -Medical Records and Health Information Technologist -Optometrist -Pharmacy Technician -Phlebotomist -Sonographer -Surgical Technologist
Multimedia and Graphic Designers
Welcome to the multimedia and graphic designer field! If you are interested in a career in these fields, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Multimedia and Graphic Designers: A Practical Career Guide includes interviews with professionals in a field that has proven to be a stable, lucrative, and growing profession. -Graphic designers -Multimedia artists -Web designers
Nursing Professionals
Welcome to the nursing field If you are interested in a career as a nurse, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Nursing Professionals: A Practical Career Guide, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. - RNs - LPNs - Nurse Practitioners - Nursing Assistants - Orderlies
Skilled Trade Professionals : A Practical Career Guide
Welcome to the skilled trade field If you're interested in a career in trade, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. This book, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers five main areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Electrician -HVAC Technician -Plumber -Construction Laborer, Craftsperson, and Manager -Automotive Service Technician/Mechanic
Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
300 Best Jobs Without a Four-Year Degree
With this updated volume, readers discover the 300 jobs with the best pay, fastest growth, and most openings, no four-year degree required. The author has taken massive data from the US Department of Labor's Occupational Information Network (O*NET) database and other sources and turned it into a useful, interesting resource for workers who want good jobs and career advancement without four years in college. Features 60 insightful "best jobs" lists and 300 information-packed job descriptions. In just two steps, 300 Best Jobs Without a Four-Year Degree helps the reader quickly and easily narrow career options (step 1: the lists) and learn more about jobs of interest (step 2: the job descriptions). This edition includes the most current labor market information, career cluster information for each job, and "Considerations for Job Outlook" for each occupation. It features: coverage of a wide range of fields and industries; and six education, training, and work experience levels that include many people.
Career Finder : Where to Go from Here for a Successful Future Hasson, Gill
DISCOVER THE CAREER THAT IS RIGHT FOR YOU The quest for the work and a career that's right for you--that's fulfilling and that you enjoy--is a process of discovery. It involves learning about yourself and finding out about the wide range of work and careers available. And it involves finding out how best to access the work or career you're interested in. TAKE CONTROL AND DO WORK YOU LOVE! Whether you have no idea what work or career you want to do or there's too many options and you can't decide, Career Finder will help you discover what's right for you and how to go about achieving it. Understand how the world of work and careers is changing Overcome limiting beliefs, identify your strengths, skills and values and build your confidence Identify--from the wide range of career options--the best possibilities for you (not what other people think you should do!) Discover the opportunities that will lead to the work and career you're interested in Whatever's happening in the world and whether you've just started thinking about a career, want to go in a new direction, or have a complete change, Career Finder will guide and advise you. You'll be prepared to move toward a career that you enjoy and works in harmony with your life and who you are.
Career Match : Connecting Who You Are with What You'll Love to Do
For some, a job is just a way to pay the bills. For others -- those whose careers fit their passions and personalities -- it is a source of great satisfaction and success.Career Match is designed to help people discover their ideal work. Using the author's revealing ten-minute self-assessment, the book helps readers determine their personality style, then walks them through the range of career choices best for them. This indispensable guide will enable anyone to: * identify the type of work that will inspire and exhilarate them * recognize the type of boss and work environment they need to thrive * confirm the rightness of the path they are on -- or help them find a better one * speed up their job search The book includes in-depth chapters for each personality type, detailed explanations of career options, and inspiring real-life stories of people who have found fulfillment in work that suits their personality. This invaluable resource will help anyone in need of direction match who they are with what they should do -- for a lifetime of gratifying work and greater success.
Careers for Dummies
Feeling stuck? Find out how to work toward the career of your dreams If you're slogging through your days in a boring or unrewarding job, it may be time to make a big change. Careers For Dummies is a comprehensive career guide from a top career coach and counselor that will help you jump start your career and your life. Dive in to learn more about career opportunities, with a plethora of job descriptions and the certifications, degrees, and continuing education that can help you build the career you've always wanted. Whether you're entering the workforce for the first time or a career-oriented person who needs or wants a change, this book has valuable information that can help you achieve your career goals. Find out how you can build your personal brand to become more attractive to potential employers, how to create a plan to "get from here to there" on your career path, and access videos and checklists that help to drive home all the key points. If you're not happy in your day-to-day work now, there's no better time than the present to work towards change. Get inspired by learning about a wide variety of careers Create a path forward for a new or better career that will be rewarding and fun Determine how to build your personal brand to enhance your career opportunities Get tips from a top career coach to help you plan and implement a strategy for a more rewarding work life Careers For Dummies is the complete resource for those looking to enhance their careers or embark on a more rewarding work experience.
Do What You Are : Discover the Perfect Career for You Through the Secrets of Personality Type
The bestselling guide to finding career success and satisfaction through Personality Type is now thoroughly revised, expanded, and updated. Do What You Are -- the time-honored classic that has already helped more than a million people find truly satisfying work -- is now updated to include jobs in today's hottest markets, including health services, education, and communications technology. With the global economy's ups and downs, the advent of astonishing new technology, the migration to online work and study, and the ascendancy of mobile communication, so much has changed in the American workplace since this book's fourth edition was published in 2007. What hasn't changed is the power of Personality Type to help people achieve job satisfaction. This fifth edition is especially useful for millennials and for baby boomers experiencing midlife career switches. The book leads readers step-by-step through the process of determining and verifying Personality Type. Then it identifies occupations that are popular with each Type, provides helpful case studies, and offers a rundown of each Type's work-related strengths and weaknesses. Focusing on each Type's strengths, Do What You Are uses workbook exercises to help readers customize their job search, ensuring the best results in the shortest period of time.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The comprehensive Occupational Outlook Handbook includes occupational profiles covering hundreds of detailed occupations. Each occupational profile describes: what workers do, where they work, typical education and training requirements, wages, job outlook, state and area data.
What's Your Type of Career?
Match Your Personality Type to Your Perfect Career-and Find Success! The simple truth is that to be happy and successful in your work, you need a career that not only matches your interests but fits your personality type as well. In this approachable book, author Donna Dunning uses the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator? (MBTI?) to introduce eight distinct ways of working. Encouraging you to reflect on your own natural preferences-using checklists, exercises, strategies and tips
What Color Is Your Parachute? : Your Guide to a Lifetime of Meaningful Work and Career Success
The groundbreaking, indispensable guide to rewarding work and a fulfilling life--more than ten million copies sold! For more than fifty years, What Color Is Your Parachute? has transformed the way people think about job hunting. Whether searching for that first position, recovering from a layoff, or dreaming of a career change, What Color Is Your Parachute? has shown millions of readers how to network effectively, compose impressive resumes and cover letters, interview with confidence, and negotiate the best possible salary--while discovering how to make their livelihood part of authentic living. More than a job-hunting book, Richard N. Bolles's timeless wisdom and famed self-assessment exercise clarifies seven key dimensions, so you can uncover your greatest passions, most valued traits, and transferable skills to design a life that enables you to flourish. With the job market in constant flux, people everywhere have found that understanding who they are--what they care about, where and how they do their best work, and the most effective way to express their abilities--is the best compass to navigating an ever-changing and challenging professional landscape. It is also how their work can become part of a life filled with passion and purpose. Using the trailblazing advice and enduring guidance of What Color Is Your Parachute?, job-hunters and career changers will have the tools to discover--and land--the work, and life, most meaningful to them.
What Color Is Your Parachute? for College
An indispensable guide for college students, adapted from the world's most popular and bestselling career book, What Color Is Your Parachute? What Color Is Your Parachute? for College is the only guide you need for making the most of your college career from start to finish. Based on the bestselling job-hunting system in the world, created by Richard N. Bolles, it covers deciding on a major, designing a four-year plan with your interests and values in mind, creating impactful social media, developing a resume that stands out in a crowd, and making invaluable connections to the workplace. Filled with introspective activities designed to bring out your unique skills and knowledge for interviews, resumes, and cover letters, this book provides easy-to-follow templates, rubrics, and lists to help you create the best possible social media platform, including LinkedIn.You'll discover how to leverage your skills and experiences throughout college to start your future-whether that means landing a meaningful internship (and making the most of it!), finding your first job, continuing on to graduate school, or taking a gap year. Whatever your future plans, What Color Is Your Parachute? for College will get you there.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
Born for This : How to Find the Work You Were Meant to Do
Have you ever met someone with the perfect job? To the outside observer, it seems like they've won the career lottery -- that by some stroke of luck or circumstance they've found the one thing they love so much that it doesn't even feel like work--and they're getting paid well to do it. To the outside observer, it seems like they've won the career lottery--that by some stroke of luck or circumstance, they've found the one thing they love so much that it doesn't even feel like work, and they're getting paid well to do it. In reality, their good fortune has nothing to do with chance. There's a method for finding your perfect job, and Chris Guillebeau, the bestselling author of The $100 Startup, has created a practical guide for how to do it--whether within a traditional company or business, or by striking out on your own. Finding the work you were "born to do" isn't just about discovering your passion. Doing what brings you joy is great, but if you aren't earning a living, it's a hobby, not a career. And those who jump out of bed excited to go to work every morning don't just have jobs that turn their passions into paychecks. They have jobs where they also can lose themselves for hours in the flow of meaningful work. This intersection of joy, money, and flow is what Guillebeau will help you find in this book. Through inspiring stories of those who have successfully landed their dream career, as well as actionable tools, exercises, and thought experiments, he'll guide you through today's vast menu of career options to discover the work perfectly suited to your unique interests, skills, and experiences. You'll learn how to: * Hack the job of your dreams within a traditional organization by making it work for you * Find not only your ideal work but also your ideal working conditions * Create plans that will allow you to take smarter career risks and "beat the house" every time * Start a profitable "side hustle" and earn extra cash on top of your primary stream of income * Escape the prison of working for someone else and build a mini-empire as an entrepreneur * Become a rock star at any creative endeavor by creating a loyal base of fans and followers Whichever path you choose, this book will show you how to find that one job or career that feels so right, it's like you were born to do it.
Career Match : Connecting Who You Are With What You'll Love to Do
The simple quiz that can change your life... Is your job just a way to pay the bills? It doesn't have to be that way. You'll find that when your career fits your personality, it becomes a source of tremendous satisfaction and success. Career Match is designed to help you discover your ideal work. Take the ten-minute self-assessment to determine your personality style and then turn to the corresponding chapter--the one that reads as if it's written just for you--and: * Identify career choices that will exhilarate you * Recognize the type of work environment and boss you need to thrive * Learn to leverage your natural strengths * Customize and speed your job search Updated to include hot new careers in areas such as gaming, web design, alternative energy, cybersecurity, food science, and more, the second edition features expanded chapters for each personality type and fresh stories of people who have found fulfillment in work perfectly suited to them. If you're looking for direction, this indispensable guide will help you match who you are with what you're meant to do--for a lifetime of gratifying work and greater success.
What Color Is Your Parachute? 2018
With more than 10 million copies sold in 28 countries, the world's most popular job-search book is updated for 2018 and tailors Richard Bolles's long-trusted guidance with up-to-the-minute information and advice for today's job-hunters and career-changers. In today's challenging job-market, the time-tested advice of What Color Is Your Parachute? is needed more than ever. Recent grads facing a tough economic landscape, workers laid off mid-career, and people searching for an inspiring work-life change all look to career guru Richard N. Bolles for support, encouragement, and advice on which job-hunt strategies work--and which don't. This revised edition combines classic elements like the famed Flower Exercise with updated tips on social media and search tactics. Bolles demystifies the entire job-search process, from writing resumes to interviewing to networking, expertly guiding job-hunters toward their dream job.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
