LibGuides: Biology: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

50 Biology Ideas You Really Need to Know From mass extinction to immunity, and from sociobiology to swarm behaviour, 50 Biology Ideas You Really Need to Know will open you eyes to the fundamental biological processes that are essential to all life on earth, beginning with innovations unique to animals - such as the development of muscles and importance of circulation - and moving through to genetics, cells, tissues and, finally, the nature of groups of organisms.
The Biogenesis of Cellular Organelles The Biogenesis of Cellular Organelles represents a comprehensive summary of recent advances in the study of the biogenesis and functional dynamics of the major organelles operating in the eukaryotic cell. This book begins by placing the study of organelle biogenesis in a historical perspective by describing past scientific strategies, theories, and findings and relating these foundations to current investigations.
The Biological Universe: Life in the Milky Way and Beyond Are we alone in the universe, or are there other life forms 'out there'? This is one of the most scientifically and philosophically important questions that humanity can ask. Now, in the early 2020s, we are tantalizingly close to an answer. As this book shows, the answer will almost certainly be that life forms are to be found across the Milky Way and beyond. They will be thinly spread, to be sure. Yet the number of inhabited planets probably runs into the trillions. Some are close enough for us to detect evidence of life by analysing their atmospheres. This evidence may be found within a couple of decades. Its arrival will be momentous. But even before it arrives we can anticipate what life elsewhere will be like by examining the ecology and evolution of life on Earth. This book considers the current state of play in relation to these titanic issues.
Biology Demystified Say goodbye to dry presentations, grueling formulas, and abstract theory that would put Einstein to sleep--now there's an easier way to master chemistry, biology, trigonometry, and geometry. McGraw-Hill's Demystified Series teaches complex subjects in a unique, easy-to-absorb manner and is designed for users without formal training, unlimited time, or genius IQs
Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution Packed with descriptions of terms, specimens, sites and names, covers a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology, and zoology.
The Development of Animal Form : Ontogeny, Morphology, and Evolution Contemporary research in the field of evolutionary developmental biology, or 'evo-devo', has to date been predominantly devoted to interpreting basic features of animal architecture in molecular genetics terms. Considerably less time has been spent on the exploitation of the wealth of facts and concepts available from traditional disciplines, such as comparative morphology, even though these traditional approaches can continue to offer a fresh insight into evolutionary developmental questions.
A Dictionary of Biology This major revision of A Dictionary of Biology, including over 1,500 new entries, is the most up-to-date biology dictionary available. Including 4,000 clear and concise entries, it covers all the commonly encountered terms and concepts in biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, as well as terms from medicine and palaeontology taking into account the recent advances in these fields. Conforming to the recommendations of the Institute of Biology, both in its definition of terms and system of classification, this superb dictionary offers authoritative coverage of current areas of study such as molecular biology, genetics (including genetic engineering), and biotechnology, and new areas such as food technology, geomicrobiology, and glycobiology. It is the perfect reference source for anyone interested in this dynamic field.
Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology The Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology, Second Edition is the first comprehensive reference focused on the field's terms, research, history, and people. This authoritative A-to-Z resource covers classical morphological and cytological terms along with those from modern genetics and molecular biology.
Encyclopedia of the Human Genome Presenting a comprehensive and rigorously detailed overview of current research and its groundbreaking applications, this major reference work examines many peripheral topics surrounding the field such as law, ethics, medicine and public health, history, religion and industry.
First Signals : The Evolution of Multicellular Development The enormous recent success of molecular developmental biology has yielded a vast amount of new information on the details of development. So much so that we risk losing sight of the underlying principles that apply to all development. To cut through this thicket, John Tyler Bonner ponders a moment in evolution when development was at its most basic--the moment when signaling between cells began.
Genetics 101 What should the average person know about science? Because science is so central to life in the 21st century, science educators and other leaders of the scientific community believe that it is essential that everyone understand the basic concepts of the most vital and far-reaching disciplines. Genetics 101 does exactly that.
Hormones, Signals and Target Cells in Plant Development Meristematic cells in plants become the many different types of cells found in a mature plant. This is achieved by a selective response to chemical signals both from neighbouring cells and distant tissues. It is these responses that shape the plant, its time of flowering, the sex of its flowers, its length of survival or progress to senescence and death.
The Importance of Species : Perspectives on Expendability and Triage A great many species are threatened by the expanding human population. Though the public generally favors environmental protection, conservation does not come without sacrifice and cost. Many decision makers wonder if every species is worth the trouble. Of what consequence would the extinction of, say, spotted owls or snail darters be? Are some species expendable? Given the reality of limited money for conservation efforts, there is a compelling need for scientists to help conservation practitioners set priorities and identify species most in need of urgent attention.
Integrative Organismal Biology Integrative Organismal Biology synthesizes current understandings of the causes and consequences of individual variation at the physiological, behavioral and organismal levels. Emphasizing key topics such as phenotypic plasticity and flexibility, and summarizing emerging areas such as ecological immunology, oxidative stress biology and others, Integrative Organismal Biology pulls together information from diverse disciplines to provide a synthetic view of the role of the individual in evolution.
Kant's Theory of Biology During the last twenty years, Kant's theory of biology has increasingly attracted the attention of scholars and developed into a field which is growing rapidly in importance within Kant studies. The volume presents fifteen interpretative essays written by experts working in the field, covering topics from seventeenth- and eighteenth-century biological theories, the development of the philosophy of biology in Kant's writings, the theory of organisms in Kant's Critique of the Power of Judgment, and current perspectives on the teleology of nature.
Keywords and Concepts in Evolutionary Developmental Biology The first comprehensive reference work for this expanding field. Covering more than fifty central terms and concepts in entries written by leading experts, Keywords offers an overview of all that is embraced by this new subdiscipline of biology, providing the core insights and ideas that show how embryonic development relates to life-history evolution, adaptation, and responses to and integration with environmental factors.
Mathematical Biology It has been over a decade since the release of the now classic original edition of Murray's Mathematical Biology. Since then mathematical biology has grown at an astonishing rate and is well established as a distinct discipline. Mathematical modeling is now being applied in every major discipline in the biomedical sciences. Though the field has become increasingly large and specialized, this book remains important as a text that introduces some of the exciting problems that arise in biology and gives some indication of the wide spectrum of questions that modeling can address.
Penguin Dictionary of Biology Fully revised and updated to include the latest developments in the field, this dictionary offers clear explanations of biological concepts and processes, and the broadest coverage of the subject, from ecology to immunology and cytology.
Philosophy of Biology : A Contemporary Introduction Is life a purely physical process? What is human nature? Which of our traits is essential to us? In this volume, Daniel McShea and Alex Rosenberg – a biologist and a philosopher, respectively – join forces to create a new gateway to the philosophy of biology; making the major issues accessible and relevant to biologists and philosophers alike. Exploring concepts such as supervenience; the controversies about genocentrism and genetic determinism; and the debate about major transitions central to contemporary thinking about macroevolution; the authors lay out the broad terms in which we should assess the impact of biology on human capacities, social institutions and ethical values.
Population Ecology Ecology is capturing the popular imagination like never before, with issues such as climate change, species extinctions, and habitat destruction becoming ever more prominent. At the same time, the science of ecology has advanced dramatically, growing in mathematical and theoretical sophistication. Here, two leading experts present the fundamental quantitative principles of ecology in an accessible yet rigorous way, introducing students to the most basic of all ecological subjects, the structure and dynamics of populations.
Primate Anatomy This book is unlike ay other work on primates: it systematically reviews the biology of all living primates, including humans. It describes their bio-geographical information and provides crucial data pertaining to their body size, fur coloration external distinguishing features, habitat and basic life strategies. Now in its third edition, Primate Anatomy discusses species that are new to science since the last edition with details concerning anatomical features among primates that were re-discovered.
The Princeton Guide to Evolution The Princeton Guide to Evolution is a comprehensive, concise, and authoritative reference to the major subjects and key concepts in evolutionary biology, from genes to mass extinctions.
Principles of Ecology Ecology considers how organisms of the same species interact with each other, how organisms of different species in the same space interact, and how multiple communities interact to make up an ecosystem, information crucial in understanding how biodiversity affects ecological function. In over 120 articles, Principles of Ecology addresses topics including: Morphology, Human ecology, Resilience, Social ecology, Co-evolution, Traits, Biome and Biosphere.
The Runes of Evolution : How the Universe Became Self-Aware How did human beings acquire imaginations that can conjure up untrue possibilities? How did the Universe become self-aware? In The Runes of Evolution, Simon Conway Morris revitalizes the study of evolution from the perspective of convergence, providing us with compelling new evidence to support the mounting scientific view that the history of life is far more predictable than once thought.
The Secret Body : How the New Science of the Human Body Is Changing the Way We Live "A perfect blend of cutting-edge science and compelling storytelling."--Bill Bryson A revolutionary new vision of human biology and the scientific breakthroughs that will transform our lives Imagine knowing years in advance whether you are likely to get cancer or having a personalized understanding of your individual genes, organs, and cells. Imagine being able to monitor your body's well-being, or have a diet tailored to your microbiome. The Secret Body reveals how these and other stunning breakthroughs and technologies are transforming our understanding of how the human body works, what it is capable of, how to protect it from disease, and how we might manipulate it in the future. Taking readers to the cutting edge of research, Daniel Davis shows how radical new possibilities are becoming realities thanks to the visionary efforts of scientists who are revealing the invisible and secret universe within each of us. Focusing on six important frontiers, Davis describes what we are learning about cells, the development of the fetus, the body's immune system, the brain, the microbiome, and the genome--areas of human biology that are usually understood in isolation. Bringing them together here for the first time, Davis offers a new vision of the human body as a biological wonder of dizzying complexity and possibility. Written by an award-winning scientist at the forefront of this adventure, The Secret Body is a gripping drama of discovery and a landmark account of the dawning revolution in human health.
Species Diversity and Extinction Species diversity is an index that incorporates the number of species in an area and also their relative abundance. Since species diversity is central to a large amount of ecological theory, its accurate measurement is key to understanding community structure and dynamics. Consequently, during the course of evolution, species have always gone extinct; however, the rate of extinction has increased in recent decades by as much as one hundred fold, some owing to environmental impact, mainly due to human activities. The authors of this book present and review important data on biodiversity and species extinction.
Zero to Birth: How the Human Brain Is Built A revelatory tale of how the human brain develops, from conception to birth and beyond. By the time a baby is born, its brain is equipped with billions of intricately crafted neurons wired together through trillions of interconnections to form a compact and breathtakingly efficient supercomputer. Zero to Birth takes you on an extraordinary journey to the very edge of creation, from the moment of an egg's fertilization through each step of a human brain's development in the womb--and even a little beyond. As pioneering experimental neurobiologist W. A. Harris guides you through the process of how the brain is built, he takes up the biggest questions that scientists have asked about the developing brain, describing many of the thrilling discoveries that were foundational to our current understanding. He weaves in a remarkable evolutionary story that begins billions of years ago in the Proterozoic eon, when multicellular animals first emerged from single-cell organisms, and reveals how the growth of a fetal brain over nine months reflects the brain's evolution through the ages. Our brains have much in common with those of other animals, and Harris offers an illuminating look at how comparative animal studies have been crucial to understanding what makes a human brain human. An unforgettable chronicle of one of nature's greatest achievements, Zero to Birth describes how the brain's incredible feat of orchestrated growth ensures that every brain is unique, and how breakthroughs at the frontiers of science are helping us to decode many traits that only reveal themselves later in life.

Featured Print Books

Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.

A Brief History of Everyone Who Ever Lived : The Human Story Retold Through Our Genes National Book Critics Circle Award--2017 Nonfiction Finalist "Nothing less than a tour de force--a heady amalgam of science, history, a little bit of anthropology and plenty of nuanced, captivating storytelling."--The New York Times Book Review, Editor's Choice A National Geographic Best Book of 2017 In our unique genomes, every one of us carries the story of our species--births, deaths, disease, war, famine, migration, and a lot of sex. But those stories have always been locked away--until now. Who are our ancestors? Where did they come from? Geneticists have suddenly become historians, and the hard evidence in our DNA has blown the lid off what we thought we knew. Acclaimed science writer Adam Rutherford explains exactly how genomics is completely rewriting the human story--from 100,000 years ago to the present. A Brief History of Everyone Who Ever Lived will upend your thinking on Neanderthals, evolution, royalty, race, and even redheads. (For example, we now know that at least four human species once roamed the earth.) Plus, here is the remarkable, controversial story of how our genes made their way to the Americas--one that's still being written, as ever more of us have our DNA sequenced. Rutherford closes with "A Short Introduction to the Future of Humankind," filled with provocative questions that we're on the cusp of answering: Are we still in the grasp of natural selection? Are we evolving for better or worse? And . . . where do we go from here?
Complexity: The Evolution of Earth's Biodiversity and the Future of Humanity Tracing the arc of evolutionary history, biologist William C. Burger shows that cooperation and symbiosis have played a critical role in the ever increasing complexity of life on earth. Life may have started from the evolution of cooperating organic molecules, which outpaced their noncooperating neighbors. A prime example of symbiosis was the early incorporation of mitochondria into the eukaryotic cell (through a process called "endosymbiosis"). This event gave these cells a powerful new source of energy. Later, cooperation was again key when millions to trillions of individual eukaryotic cells eventually came together to build the unitary structures of large plants and animals. And cooperation between individuals of the same species resulted in complex animal societies, such as ant colonies and bee hives. Turning to our own species, the author argues that our ability to cooperate, along with incessant inter-group conflict, has driven the advancement of cultures, the elaboration of our technologies, and made us the most "invasive" species on the planet. But our very success has now become a huge problem, as our world dominion threatens the future of the biosphere and confronts us with a very uncertain future. Thought-provoking and full of fascinating detail, this eloquently told story of life on earth and our place within it presents a grand perspective and raises many important questions.
Eating the Sun : How Plants Power the Planet A story of a world in crisis and the importance of plants, the history of the earth, and the feuds and fantasies of warring scientists--this is not your fourth-grade science class's take on photosynthesis. From acclaimed science journalist Oliver Morton comes this fascinating, lively, profound look at photosynthesis, nature's greatest miracle. Wherever there is greenery, photosynthesis is working to make oxygen, release energy, and create living matter from the raw material of sunlight, water, and carbon dioxide. Without photosynthesis, there would be an empty world, an empty sky, and a sun that does nothing more than warm the rocks and reflect off the sea. With photosynthesis, we have a living world with three billion years of sunlight-fed history to relish. Eating the Sun is a bottom-up account of our planet, a celebration of how the smallest things, enzymes and pigments, influence the largest things; the oceans, the rainforests, and the fossil fuel economy. From the physics, chemistry, and cellular biology that make photosynthesis possible, to the quirky and competitive scientists who first discovered the beautifully honed mechanisms of photosynthesis, to the modern energy crisis we face today, Oliver Morton offers a complete biography of the earth through the lens of this mundane and most important of processes.
Evolution : The Whole Story Evolution: The Whole Story provides an in-depth and up-to-the- minute account of evolution, one of the ultimate keystone theories in modern science. Ten esteemed experts thoroughly survey how each of Earth''s major groups of living things diversified and evolved through time and using visual features that make the story comprehensible, the book gives readers, even those with no previous knowledge of the topic, a clear understanding of evolution and how it brought us to the present day. Each of seven chapters takes one of Earth''s major living groups and describes the evolution of its subgroups and how they diversified and evolved. The stories are fascinating. In some cases, a subgroup fell off the evolutionary chain, like the dinosaurs that were part of the Early Reptiles group, and which became extinct by the second extinction event. In other cases, a living subgroup may contain a life form virtually the same as its evolutionary ancestors, such as the horseshoe crab from the Invertebrates group, which is a "living fossil" closely related to prehistoric sea scorpions. Along with profiles of the most important scientists that have influenced evolutionary theory, the book reveals how these advances have added to and often changed the story.
The Handy Biology Answer Book Plain and simple answers to more than 1,250 questions about the formulas, history, major personalities, latest developments, milestones, evolution and organisms that make up the world of biology. This major new reference work is a go-to guide for students and the more learned, and is helpfully laid out with numerous black-and-white illustrations.
The Human Genome : A User's Guide Significant advances in our knowledge of genetics were made during the twentieth century but in the most recent decades, genetic research has dramatically increased its impact throughout society. Genetic issues are now playing a large role in health and public policy, and new knowledge in this field will continue to have significant implications for individuals and society. Written for the non-majors human genetics course, Human Genetics, 3E will increase the genetics knowledge of students who are learning about human genetics for the first time. This thorough revision of the best-selling Human Genome,2E includes entirely new chapters on forensics, stem cell biology, bioinformatics, and societal/ethical issues associated with the field. New special features boxes make connections between human genetics and human health and disease. Carefully crafted pedagogy includes chapter-opening case studies that set the stage for each chapter; concept statements interspersed throughout the chapter that keep first-time students focused on key concepts; and end-of-chapter questions and critical thinking activities.
The Life of Mammals From the under-snow tunnels of Arctic lemmings to the egg nests of the bizarre Australian echidna, from the Pacific waters inhabited by sea otters and whales to the subways of major cities, this extraordinary and attractive book brings us into the homes and lives of some of earth's most fascinating animals. Published in conjunction with a ten-part television series that will air on the Discovery Channel, The Life of Mammals brings us nose-to-nose with mammals in all of their beauty and immense variety. Containing more than 200 spectacular color photographs, this is a book that will gratify anyone intrigued by the natural world and the animals that inhabit it. Informative, utterly absorbing, and classic Attenborough, it represents natural history at its finest.
Micro Life: miracles of the miniature world revealed Explore the miracles of the microscopic world. Find out all about the unique and beautiful kingdoms of life at a microscopic scale and how every organism meets the challenges of survival no matter its size. The perfect book for people who enjoy photography, nature and biology. Inside the pages of this exciting educational nature book, you'll find:    * Microscopic life-forms (often neglected), and their life-forms in extreme close-ups, revealing details such as nerve cells and hair follicles.    * Artworks support the beautiful images, providing a deeper insight into structure and function and building a picture of how living organisms work at a microscopic level.     * Comprehensive coverage of the natural world, including all the main groups of living things.    * Explores overlooked groups that have a huge role in the natural world: insects, which make up 80% of the world's animal species, and bacteria -- of which there are more in a human mouth than there are people in the world.    * The book is organized according to the main functions of life: movement, reproduction, energy and feeding, sensing the surroundings, defense, etc.     * Optional 80-page section containing a catalog of the major kingdoms of life. The beauty of nature under a microscope Explore the inhabitants of an invisible world in incredible detail with this book, which contains macro photography and spectacular microscope imagery. You'll have so much information about the hidden world of intricate structures beyond the naked eye. From the tiniest spiders and insects to even microscopic creatures like bacteria and viruses, this book contains it all! See the beauty of a pollen grain, a butterfly egg, the spore of a fungus and a human's nerve cell in extreme close up. The amazing imagery in Micro Life contains focus-stacked macro photographs and micrographs (microscope images), including scanning electron micrographs. Illustrations in this book explain the science -- from the workings of an insect's eye to how a plant "breathes" through its leaves.  Micro Life is an unexpectedly breathtaking look at the natural world. Find out how life works and how organisms solve the fundamental problems of movement, reproduction, energy, communication and defense. This book belongs on the bookshelves of schools, libraries and homes for those interested in photography, nature or biology.
Molecular and Cell Biology If you are looking for a quick nuts-and-bolts overview, turn to Schaum's Easy Outlines! Schaum's Easy Outline Molecular and Cell Biology is a pared-down, simplified, and tightly focused review of the topic. With an emphasis on clarity and brevity, it features a streamlined and updated format and the absolute essence of the subject, presented in a concise and readily understandable form. Graphic elements such as sidebars, reader-alert icons, and boxed highlights stress selected points from the text, illuminate keys to learning, and give you quick pointers to the essentials. Expert tips for mastering molecular and cell biology Last-minute essentials to pass the course Supports the major textbooks for molecular and cell biology courses Appropriate for the following courses: Molecular and Cell Biology, Cell Biology, Cytology, Molecular Biology, Molecular Genetics, Genetics, Microbial Genetics, Biotechnology, Molecular Evolution, Evolution Easy-to-follow review of molecular and cell biology Supports all the major textbooks for molecular and cell biology courses
Opportunities in Biological Science Careers The most comprehensive career book series available. Explores a vast range of professions to help job seekers find the job that's best for them. Each book offers: The latest information on a field of interest Training and education requirements for each career Up-to-date professional and internet resources Salary statistics for different positions within each field and much more.
Principles of Biotechnology his volume provides readers with the important information they need to understand the basic concepts, philosophical and ethical arguments, possibilities, and consequences of biotechnology.
Principles of Ecology Ecology considers how organisms of the same species interact with each other, how organisms of different species in the same space interact, and how multiple communities interact to make up an ecosystem, information crucial in understanding how biodiversity affects ecological function. In over 120 articles, Principles of Ecology addresses topics including: Morphology, Human ecology, Resilience, Social ecology, Co-evolution, Traits, Biome and Biosphere.
Scientific American the Amateur Biologist Gathered here, in the most comprehensive, wide-ranging collection of projects available for the amateur biologist, are some of the finest experiments from Scientific American's popular ""Amateur Scientist"" column. Whether you'd like to find out how to measure the metabolism of an insect, learn museum secrets for preserving plants, or discover how to teach a sow bug to navigate a maze, you'll find the project to suit your needs. Filled with experiments from a wide range of specialties, including botany, genetics, behavioral studies, cellular biology, microscopy, microbiology, and entomology, this fascinating book also contains helpful hints and clear instructions on how to build experimental apparatus using simple household materials and affordable alternatives to more expensive scientific equipment.
The Secret Language of Cells: what biological conversations tell us about the brain-body connection, the future of medicine, and life itself Your cells are talking about you. Right now, both your inner and outer worlds are abuzz with chatter among living cells of every possible kind--from those in your body and brain to those in the environment around you. From electrical alerts to chemical codes, the greatest secret of modern biology, hiding in plain sight, is that all of life's activity boils down to one thing: conversation. While cells are commonly considered the building block of living things, it is actually the communication between cells that brings us to life, controlling our bodies and brains, determining whether we are healthy or sick, and directly influencing how we think, feel, and behave. In The Secret Language of Cells, doctor and neuroscientist Jon Lieff lets us listen in on these conversations, and reveals their significance for everything from mental health to cancer. He explains the surprising science of how very different cells--bacteria and brain cells, blood cells and viruses--all speak the same language. This overarching principle has been long overlooked because scientific journals use impenetrable jargon that makes it hard to be understood across disciplines, much less by the general public. Lieff presents a fascinating and accessible look into cellular communication science--a groundbreaking and comprehensive exploration of this biological phenomenon. In these pages, discover the intriguing lives of cells as they ask questions, get answers, give feedback, gather information, call for each other, and make complex decisions. During infections, immune T-cells tell brain cells that we should "feel sick" and lie down. Cancer cells warn their community about immune and microbe attacks. Gut cells talk with microbes to determine which are friends and which are enemies, and microbes talk with each other and with much more complicated human cells in ways that determine which medicines work and which will fail. With applications for immunity, chronic pain, weight loss, depression, cancer treatment, and virtually every aspect of health and biology, cellular communication is revolutionizing our understanding not just of disease, but of life itself. The Secret Language of Cells is required reading for anyone interested in following the conversation.
The Smart Guide to Biology From single cells to large, complex ecosystems, the major topics in biology are covered by expert Anne Maczulak in this enjoyable guide. As they work their way through the book, readers are introduced to the structure of the cells that make up the human body; microorganisms, fungi, algae, protists, and plants and animals; the principles of genetics; the body’s major tissues, organs, and systems; the body’s biochemistry; and ecology and ecosystems. The Smart Guide to Biology reveals the relevance of biology to everyday life by explaining how the body works and uses food; how people fit into food chains; how nutrients are cycled through the air, soil, water, and the human body; and how stress affects the body’s normal functioning, among other topics.
Undeniable : Evolution and the Science of Creation "Evolution is one of the most powerful and important ideas ever developed in the history of science. Every question it raises leads to new answers, new discoveries, and new smarter questions. The science of evolution is as expansive as nature itself. It is also the most meaningful creation story that humans have ever found"Bill Nye. Sparked by a controversial debate in February 2014, Bill Nye has set off on an energetic campaign to spread awareness of evolution and the powerful way it shapes our lives. In Undeniable: Evolution and the Science of Creation, he explains why race does not really exist; evaluates the true promise and peril of genetically modified food; reveals how new species are born, in a dog kennel and in a London subway; takes a stroll through 4.5 billion years of time; and explores the new search for alien life, including aliens right here on Earth.