Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Healthy Stretching
The author demonstrates how to become more flexible through using his daily programme of simple exercises for each part of the body. In addition, he shows which exercises are best for different lifestyles, and how parents may train their own children to increase their strength and abilities.
Complete Idiot's Guide to Jogging and Running
Collier on Bankruptcy has been a critical research source for bankruptcy law and practice over the years. The 15th edition revision, written and edited by the leading scholars and practitioners in the field, provides a useful bankruptcy tool. The text focuses on the state of the law, with coverage of historical developments. Chapters are organized with descriptive captions enabling you to find specific information more efficiently. The expert authors and editors provide their considered opinions on issues that are unclear or unsettled, giving you the authority you need to take a position. The appendix volumes include all bankruptcy-related legislation and legislative history.
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Managing Stress
A guide that includes self-tests for identifying sources of stress, and tips for de-stressing the home and office. Also included are tips on time management and organization, as well as exercises for de-stressing the body and mind, along with advice on setting priorities and simplifying your life.
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Yoga
For the millions who are stressed out, this easy-to-use book will help them live easier, breathe easier, and heal ailments. THE COMPLETE IDIOT'S GUIDE TO YOGA will remove the complexity factor from yoga by explaining how basic stretching, meditation, and breathing exercises increase body flexibility, relax tense minds and muscles, and improve life productivity and self-satisfaction. Containing step-by-step, easy-to-follow diagrams of standard yoga moves, this book also explains in layperson's terms the philosophies behind the positions and who created them.
The Gale Encyclopedia Of Fitness
The Gale Encyclopedia Of Fitness covers 300 topics on physiology and fitness, including coverage of Healthy People 2010 / 2020, the nationwide initiative sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to improve the nation's health, as well as topics on diseases and conditions related to fitness.
Harvard Medical School Special Health Reports
Harvard Medical School Special Health Reports provide thorough insight into common conditions, diseases, and wellness issues. Each report focuses on a specific health concern and provides helpful tips for readers to further understand how to address and improve their health.
Key Concepts in Sport & Exercise Sciences
Provides students and scholars with a fail-safe guide to the key concepts in the field of Sport and Exercise Science.
Mindfulness and Meditation: Your Questions Answered
This book is an approachable introduction to the topics of mindfulness and meditation as they relate to teens and young adults. The information, guidance, and resources offered make it a valuable tool for anyone curious about this trending topic. Although mindfulness and meditation have been practiced for millennia, modern neurobiologists and psychologists are only just beginning to understand their full potential for improving physical and emotional well-being. Part of Greenwood's Q&A Health Guides series, Mindfulness and Meditation: Your Questions Answered provides clear, concise information for readers interested in the contemporary practice of, and research behind, mindfulness and meditation. It explores definitions of mindfulness and meditation, offers solutions for successfully incorporating them into our often-chaotic lives, and explains their many practical applications and benefits for practitioners. Each book in this series follows a reader-friendly question-and-answer format that anticipates readers' needs and concerns. Prevalent myths and misconceptions are identified and dispelled, and a collection of case studies illustrates key concepts and issues through relatable stories and insightful recommendations. The book also includes a section on health literacy, equipping teens and young adults with practical tools and strategies for finding, evaluating, and using credible sources of health information both on and off the Internet--important skills that contribute to a lifetime of healthy decision-making. Makes the subject accessible to readers by means of a simple Q&A format Helps readers hone their research and critical thinking skills in a Guide to Health Literacy section Provides real-world examples of concepts discussed in the book through case studies Dispels popular misconceptions in a Common Myths section and directs readers towards accurate information Points readers towards additional books, organizations, and websites for further study and research in an annotated directory of resources
Principles of Sports Medicine and Kinesiology
This volume introduces students and researchers to the science of human performance and health. It focuses on how a healthy human body works during exercise and how sports and physical activity promote health and performance, ranging from the cellular level to whole body perspectives. Coverage also includes exercise physiology, sports psychology, human anatomy and physiology, biomechanics, biokinetics, diet, the nature and pathology of sport injuries, and injury rehabilitation.
Restorative Yoga for Ethnic and Race-Based Stress and Trauma
Presenting ways in which Restorative Yoga can contribute to healing emotional wounds, this book invites yoga teachers, therapists and practitioners to consider the psychological impact of ethnic and race-based stress and trauma. It aids in the process of uncovering, examining, and healing one's own emotional wounds and offers insight into avoiding wounding or re-wounding others. The book describes how race-based traumatic stress differs from PTSD and why a more targeted approach to treatment is necessary, as well as what can trigger it. It also considers the implications of an increasingly racially and ethnically diverse and global yoga community, as well as the importance of creating conscious yoga communities of support and connection, where issues of race and ethnicity are discussed openly, non-defensively and constructively. By providing a therapeutic structure that assists those directly and indirectly impacted by ethnic and race-based stress and trauma, Restorative Yoga for Ethnic and Race-Based Stress and Trauma provides valuable tools for aiding in the processing of stressful experiences and in trauma recovery.
Wellness Culture : How the Wellness Movement Has Been Used to Empower, Profit and Misinform
Wellness has become synonymous with yoga, meditation, and other forms of self-care. Over the past 60 years, what began as an alternative to mainstream medicine has coalesced with consumer culture and has been commercialised to such an extent that the term is now synonymous with an industry of exclusive products and services. This book traces the emergence of wellness culture as a countercultural movement to a trillion-dollar industry, examining the social, economic and political conditions that enabled wellness to assume mainstream cultural significance. It explores the role of the internet in making wellness more accessible to consumers, while simultaneously questioning who wields influence in these digital spaces. A must read for anyone interested in learning about wellness and its online penetration, Wellness Culture offers an in-depth yet accessible examination of how wellness has been weaponised during the COVID-19 pandemic to spread medical misinformation, conspiratorial thinking and political extremism.
Yoga XXL : A Journey to Health for Bigger People
Yoga XXL shows you how to create a safe, enjoyable, and effective yoga practice no matter what your age, size, shape, or physical fitness level. Yoga is not just for the lean and limber. With modified postures and props, everyone can experience yoga's many health benefits including increased flexibility, strength, stamina, balance, energy, and calm. For the person who has never done yoga before or the regular practitioner looking to refine their practice at home, Yoga XXL includes: Practical information about clothing, mats, and equipment. Over 50 postures in a variety of positions including seated, lying down, and standing, chosen specifically for people with larger bodies and those with limited mobility. Variations to accommodate every body shape, size, and fitness level to ensure comfort and safety.
Postures to ease back aches, tight muscles, and joint stiffness. Quick daily routines to help recharge and relieve stress throughout the day. Detailed instructions and photos illustrating each pose, and much more. With Yoga XXL you'll have everything you need to bring yoga - and more health and wellness - into your daily life immediately."
Your Best Body Ever
Your Best Body Ever is the first fitness program for balancing the three elements of optimal fitness - flexibility, strength, and stamina. It features the breakthrough Goa System: a dynamic exercise program that combines the benefits of weight training, yoga, and aerobics for increased weight loss and body toning, improved posture and balance, and relief of lower back and joint pain. If you practice yoga, aerobics, or weight training, you don't need to abandon your existing program of exercise. You can enter the program from start or add to your existing exercise routine, easily integrating the additional elements for maximum fitness and long-term effects, while accelerating the benefits of the exercise program. balance, prevent injuries, and optimize overall shape by reducing fat and adding muscle. Whether you're lean with six days a week to work out or heavyset with only one day available, this book works with your personal goals and needs. It also works for people at all levels of athletic ability. The book presents alternate versions of every exercise so that readers can ease into the more difficult exercises, while still feeling accomplished as they work towards their goals.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
ACSM Fitness Book
The world's leading experts in exercise and fitness have updated and expanded the successful first edition. This easy-to-use, color-coded guide outlines new programs for improving strength, flexibility, aerobic endurance, and body composition.
Anatomy for Strength and Fitness Training
Learn how your muscles work before you work your muscles Perfect for beginning and advanced fitness practitioners alike, this is an in-depth look into the most magnificent machine ever created--the human body. Using detailed anatomical illustrations, Anatomy for Strength and Fitness Training provides you visual insight into what happens to this organic machine during exercise--muscles and tendons working in concert to strengthen your body's building blocks. With a basic knowledge of how the body works, you can buff up your body with the book's 90 exercises, grouped by body region and involving gym machines, free weights, and body weight/stretching, as well as yoga and Pilates. Each exercise is vividly illustrated by a full-color anatomical illustration of the targeted muscles, together with instructions on execution and technique.
The Beginning Runner's Handbook: The Proven 13 Week Walk-Run Program
Developed by sports medicine physicians, and refined through years of clinic testing, this basic program explains how beginners should train daily. Get on the road to long-term health and fitness by improving cardiovascular conditioning. Personal anecdotes address everything from motivation to injury.
Built from Broken: a science-based guide to healing painful joints, preventing injuries, and rebuilding your body
Heal painful joints, prevent injuries, and rebuild your body from the ground up. Most middle-aged fitness enthusiasts and athletes have been dragged down by joint pain, injuries, and other ailments commonly accepted as "part of getting older." But it doesn't have to be this way. In fact, anyone can conquer joint pain and rebuild their body. It simply requires understanding the hidden causes and a road map (this book) that leads to the solution. Built from Broken presents a paradigm shift in how to think about corrective exercise, sports nutrition, and joint health. Once you see how the system works, you'll never look at exercise or joint health the same way again. Part 1 lays the foundation for understanding why your joints are breaking down. You'll learn: The 5 primary causes of joint pain. How to prevent the "Big 3" injuries that trap you in the Pain/Injury Cycle. Why conventional pain management merely masks symptoms (and 3 natural pain relief techniques that actually work). How to identify and fix muscle imbalances that lead to tension, pain, and injuries. Natural injury recovery strategies that improve healing time and tissue repair quality. Part 2 gives you a step-by-step corrective exercise guide and list of action steps to rebuild your body from the ground up. Including: The ideal training schedule to maximize muscle recovery and connective tissue repair (in as little as 2 days per week, at any age). Illustrated corrective exercise instructions (with several home workout options). How to strengthen joints with cutting-edge connective tissue training techniques. A step-by-step training program complete with workout routines. ​​​​​​​If you are living with joint pain and dysfunction... Toughing it out... training through it... or ignoring it... You are actively participating in the deterioration of your joints The scaffolding of your body is crumbling. And it only worsens with time. Unless you intervene You need a new plan, and you need to take action now. If the conventional path of lifting and stretching has left you broken down, why not try a new strategy? This book is your way out of the pain/injury cycle. All you have to do is follow three simple steps. Read the book. Follow the action steps inside to resolve your pain. Implement the 4-week corrective training program outlined in the book. Just imagine, in 4-8 weeks from now, you could be in a pain-free, mobile, strong, and functional body. One that allows you to do the activities you love, push the limits of your capabilities, and achieve your true physical potential. This process can start for you right now. All you have to do is click the "buy" button and order your copy of Built from Broken.
Complete Guide to Fitness and Health
You know the importance of good health, but how do you achieve it? And how do you maintain it through the years as your body and lifestyle change, introducing obstacles to physical activity and optimal nutrition? In ACSM's Complete Guide to Fitness & Health, you will find the answers and much, much more. The American College of Sports Medicine, the largest and most-respected sport science and medicine organization in the world, has created the ACSM's Complete Guide to Fitness & Health to strip away common fads, myths, and misconceptions and provide you with the latest research, sound advice, and age-specific recommendations that you can trust. You will learn these strategies: -Optimize your weight, improve heart health, and increase aerobic fitness, strength, flexibility, and balance. -Improve your health by managing diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, arthritis and joint pain, pregnancy, and osteoporosis through exercise and proper nutrition. -Determine your body composition and current cardiorespiratory and muscular fitness levels. -Monitor, evaluate, and adjust your exercise program over time for optimal results. -Introduce exercise, increase physical activity, and improve your diet for more energy and better health (no matter what your age ). Featuring step-by-step instructions and full-color photos for the most effective exercises, sample workouts, practical advice, age-specific physical activity guidelines, and strategies for incorporating exercise into even the busiest of lifestyles, ACSM's Complete Guide to Fitness & Health is a resource that belongs in every family's library.
Faster, Better, Stronger: 10 Scientific Secrets to a Healthier Body in 12 Weeks
Are you one of the millions of people out there who feel like they've read everything there is to read on fitness and have spent an enormous amount of time and money trying to get fit--and still failed? Until you know how your body really works and reacts to physical activity, you may never succeed. Eric Heiden, M.D., and Massimo Testa, M.D., two preeminent sports physicians who know the training needs of beginners as intimately as those of elite athletes, want to fix this problem. They know there has been an entire field of training science and medicine that has never been translated for the general public--until now. In a program that is designed for everyday people, Heiden and Testa bring us Faster, Better, Stronger, a customized, science-based program designed to guide you into a lifelong fitness habit, giving you step-by-step instructions on how to make the most of your body through exercise--physically, mentally, biomechanically, and nutritionally. In Part I, the doctors detail the solid science behind your body's responses to exercise. They share the same philosophy and medical expertise they have shared with world-class athletes and give scientific "secrets" in several areas of fitness: the prescriptive aspects of exercise; the biology of movement; the importance of fueling your body with the right food and water; what rest really accomplishes; and motivation. They also debug and clarify some all-too-often misunderstood medical and biological truths about training, and offer you ways to find your hidden talents and strengths. These doctors know that the luxuries of time and access are significant factors in getting fit, and thus Part II helps you design your own unique, individualized exercise program no matter your age, ability, experience, or schedule. Once you have assessed your current fitness level, the doctors guide you through assembling blocks of activities into a twelve-week program that will get you started on the road to lifelong health.
The First 20 Minutes: Surprising Science Reveals How We Can Exercise Better, Train Smarter, Live Longer
A quick guide to getting in shape and improving performance from New York Times “Phys Ed” columnist and author of the New York Times Bestseller The First 20 Minutes Do you really know how to get fit and healthy? Bringing us cutting edge research and science-based prescriptions, Gretchen Reynolds shows us what we do and do not need to do to reach out fitness goals, whether that means running a marathon or just getting off the couch or. Busting popular myths, looking at which supplements actually work, giving us the lowdown on weight training, and singing the praises of just standing up, The First 20 Minutes Personal Trainer is the guide to take wherever you take your workout.
Fitness and Health
This study of fitness and health covers aerobic and muscular fitness, nutrition, weight management, work and sport performance. It seeks to enable the reader to create their own personal activity, fitness and nutrition programmes that improve health and quality of life.
Fitness for Geeks: Real Science, Great Nutrition and Good Health
If you're interested in how things work, this guide will help you experiment with one crucial system you usually ignore--your body and its health. Long hours focusing on code or circuits tends to stifle notions of nutrition, but with this educational and highly useful book you can approach fitness through science, whether it's investigating your ancestral health or using the latest self-tracking apps and gear. Tune into components of your health through discussions on food, exercise, sleep, hormesis, and other issues--as well as interviews with various scientists and athletes--and discover healthy ways to tinker with your lifestyle. Learn to live in the modern digital world and still be physically vibrant Examine apps and widgets for self-tracking various fitness issues Zero in on carbs, fats, proteins, vitamins, minerals, and phytochemicals Find and choose food, and learn when to eat and when to fast Reboot your system through movement in the outside world Select from more than a dozen techniques for your gym workout Fuel fitness by focusing on the science of nutrition and supplements Apply lifestyle hacks, such as high-intensity exercise and good stress
Hatha Yoga Illustrated
Designed to appeals to yoga participants and fitness enthusiasts looking for a different exercise option, this resource features twelve routines to choose from depending on experience, fitness and personal preference that range from gentle stretching to advanced sequences.
Lifetime Physical Fitness and Wellness: A Personalized Program
Written by noted authority Dr. Werner Hoeger, LIFETIME PHYSICAL FITNESS AND WELLNESS, 10e, delivers thorough, balanced, and up-to-date coverage that equips you with the theory and tools needed to make positive health behavior choices now and throughout your life. The text presents material that is interesting, timely, and relevant to your world--including practical steps you can take to start positive behavior changes to improve your health. Excellent photos and descriptive examples help you easily visualize and relate to chapter concepts. The text's unique design integrates activities throughout each chapter, enabling you to learn core concepts and immediately apply your knowledge to self-review and application exercises. LIFETIME PHYSICAL FITNESS AND WELLNESS features the latest research, including the new ACSM Guidelines, and interactive learning resources such as CengageNOW(tm), an online tutorial that includes pre- and post-tests, personalized study plans, activities, labs, and the personal change planner. The authors teach you how to take control of your personal fitness, health, and lifestyle habits so you can make a constant and deliberate effort to stay healthy--and realize your highest potential for good health.
Principles of Sports Medicine and Kinesiology
This volume introduces students and researchers to the science of human performance and health. It focuses on how a healthy human body works during exercise and how sports and physical activity promote health and performance, ranging from the cellular level to whole body perspectives. Coverage also includes exercise physiology, sports psychology, human anatomy and physiology, biomechanics, biokinetics, diet, the nature and pathology of sport injuries, and injury rehabilitation.
Sport Stretch
This new edition of Sport Stretch is a complete guide to flexibility for both weekend warriors and elite competitors. It features more stretches than the first edition, a new user-friendly layout, and more background information on the hows and whys of stretching. The centerpieces of this comprehensive book are its illustrations and step-by-step guidelines for 311 different stretches. The stretches can be used individually or grouped with other stretches to form a personalized flexibility program. Athletes looking to use the stretches to improve performance in a specific sport will love the book's Stretching Program section. It's full of handy tables that detail the most effective exercises for individual sports. There are sample programs for 41 sports in all! Sport Stretchalso provides a selection of ""All Star"" stretches. These include the single best stretches for 28 muscle groups and the 12 best stretches overall. The exercises are perfect to use for warming up and cooling down. For those who are looking for background information on flexibility, this book explains the basic principles of stretching and describes how the body responds during stretching. Readers will discover what causes muscle soreness, how increased flexibility translates directly into better performance and lessens the chances of injury, and more. Sport Stretchhas everything athletes need to limber up and play their best. It takes the guesswork out of stretching by providing 311 exercises for 41 sports.
Understanding Fitness: How Exercise Fuels Health and Fights Disease
We've all heard the mantra, exercise for good health. In fact, exercise, or lack of it, may be the most important factor in avoiding, or surviving and recovering from, the top three killers across developed countries--heart disease, cancer, and stroke. But few of us understand exactly how different forms of exercise work--physiologically speaking--to keep us healthy and prevent or treat disease. Here, two nationally known exercise experts lead a stellar team explaining, in reader-friendly terms, what exercise does to our bodies and how it spurs beneficial biological actions.
Yoga: Your Home Practice Companion
Detailing the essential roles of meditation and breathing exercises, strategies to develop powers of concentration, and in-depth advice on a healthier diet, including more than 40 delicious recipes, Yoga: Your Home Practice Companion will help you achieve a strong, flexible body, mental alertness and inner serenity through the practice of yoga using the Sivanada Yoga Vedenta School method.
Your Weight Is Not the Problem
An evidence-based guide to breaking your fixation with weight, with simple strategies to make peace with your body and build healthy habits that actually matter.
Salem Health: Men's Health vol 1
These volumes provide a comprehensive guide for a variety of men’s health concerns including diseases, conditions, symptoms, syndromes, risk factors, and treatments. A wide variety of topics that are of interest to men at all stages of life are explored including the anatomy and physiology of the male body, fathering children, psychological and sociological health, gay and transgender issues, health, exercise, nutrition and more.
The goal of these volumes is to inform and educate readers about men’s health issues with reliable and useful sources of additional information. Essays provide detailed yet accessible information on the topics, with hundreds of photos, diagrams, and tables throughout to clearly illustrate the subjects and provide additional detail. Numerous “Information on” sidebars also appear throughout the text, with quick access to facts such as causes, symptoms, duration, and treatments.
Here are just some of the topics covered in this authoritative, yet accessible text:
Heart Disease
Diabetes
Stroke
Liver Disease
COPD and Other Respiratory Diseases
Cancers such as Prostate, Lung, and Colorectal
Influenza and Pneumonia
HIV and AIDS
Fertility Issues
Brain Trauma
Depression
Addiction
Salem Health: Men's Health vol 2
These volumes provide a comprehensive guide for a variety of men’s health concerns including diseases, conditions, symptoms, syndromes, risk factors, and treatments. A wide variety of topics that are of interest to men at all stages of life are explored including the anatomy and physiology of the male body, fathering children, psychological and sociological health, gay and transgender issues, health, exercise, nutrition and more.
The goal of these volumes is to inform and educate readers about men’s health issues with reliable and useful sources of additional information. Essays provide detailed yet accessible information on the topics, with hundreds of photos, diagrams, and tables throughout to clearly illustrate the subjects and provide additional detail. Numerous “Information on” sidebars also appear throughout the text, with quick access to facts such as causes, symptoms, duration, and treatments.
Here are just some of the topics covered in this authoritative, yet accessible text:
Heart Disease
Diabetes
Stroke
Liver Disease
COPD and Other Respiratory Diseases
Cancers such as Prostate, Lung, and Colorectal
Influenza and Pneumonia
HIV and AIDS
Fertility Issues
Brain Trauma
Depression
Addiction
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
