Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
Facilities Evaluation Handbook: Safety, Fire Protection and Environmental Compliance
This "nuts and bolts" handbook is designed for on-the-job use by facility and plant managers, building engineers, and maintenance managers who are charged with the responsibility of keeping their facilities operating smoothly, efficiently and safely, with minimum downtime. Well organized for quick reference, it equips you with all the information and tools you'll need to carry out a comprehensive facility evaluation, showing you streamlined methods for identifying current problems, accurately tracking labor and material expenditures, compiling information necessary to justify capital, operational and man-hour budget forecasts, and effectively formulating plans for corrective measures. Using the detailed guidelines provided, you'll be able to pinpoint and solve problems in the key areas of maintenance, safety, energy efficiency and environmental compliance. Helpful features include self-evaluation checklists, including a new one assessing energy efficiency, as well as guidelines for scoring the evaluation, compiling an evaluation report, and developing your corrective action strategies. Your complete on-the-job guide to assessing facility operation and performance, featuring... Ready-to-use self-evaluation checklists. Specific assessment approaches for safety management, fire protection, electrical safety, and environmental compliance. Tips for conducting a more effective facility walk-through and inspection. Follow-through strategies for scoring your evaluation, preparing a report, and formulating a corrective action plan.
Fundamental Principles of Occupational Health and Safety
This is a practical guidebook for developing effective occupational health and safety (OHS) policies and programs. It focuses on the key topics essential to promoting and managing national and enterprise OHS systems. It presents a concise overview of the issues involved, together with specific guidelines for policy design, implementation, and management at both national and enterprise levels. The operational aspects of meeting health and safety requirements are also covered, with detailed sections on legislation and enforcement, occupational health surveillance, and preventive and protective measures, as well as health education and training. The second edition covers new areas such as the recent ILO standard on the promotion of OSH, HIV/AIDS and the world of work, occupational safety and health management systems, and new chemical safety information tools.
Handbook of Occupational Safety and Health
Occupational safety and health ¿ safe work in a safe environment. The challenge, of course, is how to make this happen and make it happen economically. A comprehensive study presenting the state of the art in the field, Handbook of Occupational Safety and Health provides a wide range of methods along with specific criteria for assessing hazard and exposure in the workplace environment. More importantly, it also offers ways to reduce these hazards. The book supplies a compendium of interdisciplinary knowledge that includes physical, chemical, and psychosocial risk factors in the working environment, highlighting issues in Occupational Safety and Health management. The book discusses the ergonomic principles of shaping products, workstands, and work processes, highlighting the significance of international requirements for competitiveness in world economy. It presents the scientific basis for each safety and health issue, followed by well-illustrated case studies to demonstrate the concepts and theories and their application in real-world situations. Based on the results of international research, the book covers: Psychological capabilities of humans in the working environment Basic risk factors in the working environment Law-based protection of labor The effects of hazards in work processes Basic directions in shaping conditions of occupational safety and ergonomics Developed by a team of renowned contributors, the book includes strategies for creating safe working conditions, accurately assessing hazards posed by harmful environmental factors, and preventing occupational accidents and diseases. Meticulously designed to be user-friendly, it provides the tools to create a safety culture beginning at the enterprise level through to the individual employee.
The History and Characteristics of Human Factors and Ergonomics
Human factors/ergonomics (HFE) as a discipline has grown by accretions rather than having been developed systematically and deliberately. Therefore, this book's goal creates a formal conceptual structure for HFE. It is intended as a contribution to cultural history because (a) ours is a technological civilization, and (b) one cannot understand technology outside of the various disciplines that make up that technology. A disciplinary history is highly specialized, but the author maintains that HFE is distinctive in being the only discipline that relates humans to technology. Other behavioral disciplines like anthropology have little connection with technology, and this is what makes HFE important in the present historical era.
The Manager's Guide to OSHA
Clearly explains employee and employer rights and responsibilities under Occupational Safety and Health Act.
Occupational Health and Safety
Workplace accidents and errors cost organizations hundreds of billions of dollars each year, and the injured workers and their families endure considerable financial and emotional suffering. It's obvious that increasing employee health and safety pays. The accumulating evidence shows that investing in occupational health and safety results in improved financial and social responsibility performance. There are extensive country differences and wide occupational differences in the incidence of accidents and errors. The International Labour Organization (ILO) estimates that every year there are 2.2 million fatal and 270 million non-fatal accidents or occupational diseases worldwide. Occupational Health and Safety looks at the research into what causes accidents and errors in the workplace. In line with other titles in the series, Occupational Health and Safety emphasizes the psychological and behavioral aspects of risk in organizations. It highlights how organizations differ in their health and safety performance, with case studies throughout and best practices. Key elements focus on: employee selection and training, fostering employee understanding, participation and engagement in health and safety matters, developing a health and safety culture at organizational and group/work unit levels, communicating and reinforcing safe workplace practices and bench-marking one's organization against the industry leaders. The contributors to this volume come from various countries, reflecting unique interest and knowledge in particular areas.
Occupational Injury: Risk, Prevention and Intervention
Occupational injury is a major and often preventable health problem in the work environment. Each year throughout the world millions are affected by traumatic occupational injuries and many thousands are actually killed in work-related incidents. This book provides a diverse and multi-faceted look at some of the themes directing late-1990s research and intervention within the area of occupational injury and safety. The book is divided into seven thematic parts with an introduction provided for each section. The topics include estimating the size of the problem, with discussions of different analytical techniques and their efficacy; the nature of causal agents the relative roles of risk, behaviour and organization processes; and the role played by compensation processes. Together the book brings into focus twenty chapters which address some of the issues of occupational injury and safety.
Practical Industrial Safety, Risk Assessment and Shutdown Systems
This is a book for engineers that covers the hardware and software aspects of high-reliability safety systems, safety instrumentation and shutdown systems as well as risk assessment techniques and the wider spectrum of industrial safety. Rather than another book on the discipline of safety engineering, this is a thoroughly practical guide to the procedures and technology of safety in control and plant engineering. This highly practical book focuses on efficiently implementing and assessing hazard studies, designing and applying international safety practices and techniques, and ensuring high reliability in the safety and emergency shutdown of systems in your plant. This book will provide the reader with the most up-to-date standards for and information on each stage of the safety life cycle from the initial evaluation of hazards through to the detailed engineering and maintenance of safety instrumented systems. It will help them develop the ability to plan hazard and risk assessment studies, then design and implement and operate the safety systems and maintain and evaluate them to ensure high reliability. Finally it will give the reader the knowledge to help prevent the massive devastation and destruction that can be caused by today's highly technical computer controlled industrial environments.
Risk-Reduction Methods for Occupational Safety and Health
This book covers system safety methods related to occupational health and safety. It argues for anticipating hazards, risk reduction strategies for hazards processes, and making sure workers' tasks correspond to human capabilities. To this end, the text provides pro-active methods for identifying hazards, assessing risk, analyzing hazards, using tools from system safety, conducting post-incident investigations, considering human errors, applying risk reduction strategies, and managing process safety. While emphasizing methods suitable for all countries, it includes references to U.S. military and Department of Energy documents, as well as a discussion of fault-tree construction.
Risky Work Environments: Reappraising Human Work Within Fallible Systems
Risky Work Environments provides new insights into the multiple and dynamic trajectories of both near misses and mistakes in complex work environments, based on actual case examples. It also studies the interactions between various activity systems or work practices (design, maintenance, incident investigation, regulation, operation) and their consequences for operational performance. The role of rules and regulations is explored, considering the consequences of deviations and the limitations of enforced compliance. Further, the book explains how to search for, think about and act on information about vulnerability, near misses and mistakes in a way that emphasizes accountability in ways that are not punitive but instead responsible, innovative and provide opportunities for learning. Writing from different disciplines and theoretical perspectives, the contributors analyse working in risky environments which include air traffic control, offshore mining, chemical plants, neo-natal intensive care units, ship piloting and emergency call dispatch centres. In each chapter the authors present rich empirical data and their analyses illustrate a variety of ways in which, despite imperfect systems, safety and resilience is created in human action. In the chapters where the focus is on error or mistakes, the analysis undertaken reveals the logic of actions undertaken at the time as well as their constraints. The contributors are all active researchers within their disciplines and come from Australia, Finland, France, Norway and the Netherlands. The book will be of direct interest to safety scientists, researchers and scientists, as well as human factors practitioners working in complex technological systems.
Safety Cases and Safety Reports: Meaning, Motivation and Management
The safety case and its associated reports are quickly becoming not only a mechanism for achieving safety goals, but also a valuable decision-support asset, and a vital industrial liability management tool. Recent developments in industry have led to safety cases being frequently required as contractual deliverables as part of large and complex commercial programmes. A safety case consists of a rational argument and detailed evidence to justify and demonstrate that a system or product is tolerably safe in its use, and that it has a management programme to ensure that this remains so. The safety case report is the snap-shot presentation of the arguments and evidence demonstrating the contemporary safety performance of the system and the programme that is in place. This book, written from personal experience and reference, provides a concentrated source document for assessing and constructing safety cases and safety case reports - from understanding their purposes, through their development and on to their presentation.
Safe Work in the 21st Century: Education and Training Needs for the Next Decade's Occupational Safety and Health Personnel
Despite many advances, 20 American workers die each day as a result of occupational injuries. And occupational safety and health (OSH) is becoming even more complex as workers move away from the long-term, fixed-site, employer relationship. This book looks at worker safety in the changing workplace and the challenge of ensuring a supply of top-notch OSH professionals. Recommendations are addressed to federal and state agencies, OSH organizations, educational institutions, employers, unions, and other stakeholders. The committee reviews trends in workforce demographics, the nature of work in the information age, globalization of work, and the revolution in health care delivery-exploring the implications for OSH education and training in the decade ahead. The core professions of OSH (occupational safety, industrial hygiene, and occupational medicine and nursing) and key related roles (employee assistance professional, ergonomist, and occupational health psychologist) are profiled-how many people are in the field, where they work, and what they do. The book reviews in detail the education, training, and education grants available to OSH professionals from public and private sources.
Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.
Accident/Incident Prevention Techniques. Second Edition
Published more than ten years ago, the first edition of Accident/Incident Prevention Techniques provided clear, comprehensive guidance on how to mitigate the cost, in personnel and to the bottom line, of accidents/incidents in the workplace. Significantly revised and updated, this Second Edition takes its place as the A to Z hands-on guide to the responsibilities, principles, tools, and techniques involved in accident investigative planning and preparation. Written by safety expert Charles D. Reese, the book details tried and true techniques that have been used by the occupational safety and health community for many years. It also presents the best theoretical methods to help those responsible for occupational safety develop the best prevention initiative for them and their workforce. Based on the premise that all businesses and industries must face the reality that occupational accidents and illnesses will transpire and the results of these events will have a negative impact on the company¿s bottom line, the book provides practical examples, easy-to-implement processes, numerous illustrations, and usable forms throughout. See What¿s New in the Second Edition Topics such as safety culture and behavior-based safety Expanded coverage of some topics such as analysis tools and accident investigation Updated statistical data, sources, and contacts Updated changes in regulations and compliance Relevance with current trends and issues in accident prevention By investigating the various methods and equipment used in system safety applications, the book covers a myriad of accident/incident prevention techniques and supplies the illustrations and tools that allow readers to begin to develop and build a safety and health program in their workplace. The author draws on his more than 30 years of experience to supply a template for the development of an effective safety and health program.
Basic Guide to System Safety
This book provides guidance on including prevention through design concepts within an occupational safety and health management system. Through the application of these concepts, decisions pertaining to occupational hazards and risks can be incorporated into the process of design and redesign of work premises, tools, equipment, machinery, substances, and work processes including their construction, manufacture, use, maintenance, and ultimate disposal or reuse. These techniques provide guidance for a life-cycle assessment and design model that balances environmental and occupational safety and health goals over the life span of a facility, process, or product. The new edition is expanded to include primer information on the use of safety assurance techniques in design and construction.
Fundamentals of Occupational Safety and Health
The sixth edition of this popular handbook provides a thorough and up-to-date overview of the occupational safety and health field and the issues safety professionals face today, and does so in an accessible and engaging manner. An excellent introductory reference for both students and professionals, Fundamentals of Occupational Safety and Health provides practical information on technology, management, and regulatory compliance issues, covering crucial topics like organizing, staffing, directing, and evaluating occupational safety programs and procedures. Author Mark Friend addresses all major occupational safety and health topics in this comprehensive volume, including safety-related laws and regulations, hazardous materials, workplace violence, the threat of terrorism, and OSHA's recordkeeping standard. This new edition has been revised and updated throughout to include new information on a variety of topics. Some of the highlights: - The Globally Harmonized System for Hazard Communication of Classification and Labeling of Chemicals and related changes in terminology are addressed under Hazardous Materials - The chapter on Industrial Hygiene reflect the recent changes in the regulations regarding the Globally Harmonized System for Hazard Communication of Classification and Labeling of Chemicals - The chapter on Transportation Safety has been significantly edited and streamlined to provide the reader with a better format that is easier to read and comprehend The book includes a handy directory of resources such as safety and health associations, First Responder organizations, and state and federal agencies. The latest edition of this go-to reference work reflects the legal and cultural climate of safety and health in an easily comprehensible and well-organized format, giving readers a wealth of occupational safety and health information right at their fingertips.
Lees' Process Safety Essentials
Lees' Process Safety Essentials is a single-volume digest presenting the critical, practical content from Lees' Loss Prevention for day-to-day use and reference. It is portable, authoritative, affordable, and accessible -- ideal for those on the move, students, and individuals without access to the full three volumes of Lees'. This book provides a convenient summary of the main content of Lees', primarily drawn from the hazard identification, assessment, and control content of volumes one and two. Users can access Essentials for day-to-day reference on topics including plant location and layout; human factors and human err∨ fire, explosion and toxic release; engineering for sustainable development; and much more. This handy volume is a valuable reference, both for students or early-career professionals who may not need the full scope of Lees', and for more experienced professionals needing quick, convenient access to information.
Occupational Safety and Health Law Handbook
Now in its third edition, this popular Handbook has been your go-to guide to the fundamentals of occupational safety and health law for over a decade. This new edition provides an authoritative and up-to-date reference that you count on for its reliable information and straightforward explanation. Each chapter is written by a highly respected attorney who is an expert in the field. Yet the book is written without legal jargon, in plain English that anyone can understand. In it, the authors provide interpretations of many facets of the Occupational Safety and Health Act, review regulations and standards governing employee protection, and offer advice for dealing with regulatory authorities. The Handbook covers all of the important legal aspects of the Occupational Safety and Health Act with clearly written explanations of such issues as the boundaries of OSHA regulations, general administrative law concepts, and OSHA's enforcement tactics. It provides "Practitioner's Tips"--useful legal guidance given by experienced attorneys for complying with OSHA inspection regulations and enforcing employers' and employees' rights during inspections. It describes changes to the probable cause test under OSHA's "Warrant Requirement." It also explains the legal and practical consequences facing a business not contesting OSHA citations, OSHA's use of "Monitoring Devices on Employees," and more. This new edition covers major changes to the Hazard Communication Standard, new enforcement initiatives, updated regulations in the construction industry, new emergency response procedures, and more.
Occupational Safety and Health Simplified for the Industrial Workplace
Occupational Safety and Health Simplified for the Industrial Workplace serves industrial businesses, workplaces, and managers who want quick answers to complicated questions. It is an essential reference for everyone involved with the safety and health of workers in the industrial workplace. It makes the difficult task of complying with the 29 CFR 1910 regulations easier to manage. From general safety provisions to violence in the workplace to hazardous wastes, it examines the standards of 29 CFR 1910 one-by-one with non-technical, implementation-friendly explanations of the requirements and how to implement and fulfill them. This book provides a breakdown of the training standards for industrial applications. In addition, it shows how to prevent the leading causes of fatal accidents, which OSHA industrial standards are violated most often, and how non-Spanish-speaking managers can effectively communicate safety requirements with Spanish-speaking employees. Most importantly, this book provides answers to a broad range of compliance questions, including who is obligated to observe the law, what OSHA compliance obligations are, and how state OSHA compares to federal OSHA standards.
Practical Industrial Safety, Risk Assessment and Shutdown Systems
This is a book for engineers that covers the hardware and software aspects of high-reliability safety systems, safety instrumentation and shutdown systems as well as risk assessment techniques and the wider spectrum of industrial safety. Rather than another book on the discipline of safety engineering, this is a thoroughly practical guide to the procedures and technology of safety in control and plant engineering. This highly practical book focuses on efficiently implementing and assessing hazard studies, designing and applying international safety practices and techniques, and ensuring high reliability in the safety and emergency shutdown of systems in your plant. This book will provide the reader with the most up-to-date standards for and information on each stage of the safety life cycle from the initial evaluation of hazards through to the detailed engineering and maintenance of safety instrumented systems. It will help them develop the ability to plan hazard and risk assessment studies, then design and implement and operate the safety systems and maintain and evaluate them to ensure high reliability. Finally it will give the reader the knowledge to help prevent the massive devastation and destruction that can be caused by today's highly technical computer controlled industrial environments.
Practical Machinery Safety
Practical Machinery Safety aims to provide you with the knowledge to tackle machinery safety control problems at a practical level whilst achieving compliance with national and international standards. The book highlights the major international standards that are used to support compliance with EU regulations and uses these standards as a basis for the design procedures. It looks at the risk assessment processes used to identify hazards and to quantify the risks inherent in a machine. It introduces the concepts of safety categories as defined by standard EN954-1 (Safety of Machinery) and illustrates the principles of failsafe design, fault tolerance and self-testing. It also provides an introduction to machinery protection devices such as guards, enclosures with interlocks and guard-monitoring relays, locking systems, safety mats, photo-electric and electro-sensitive principles and the application of light curtains, a study of Safety Control System techniques, and introduces the principles of safety-certified PLCs. Plan and implement safety systems that deliver a safe working environment and compliance with national and international standards Apply simple risk assessments and hazard design methods to your own projects Identify hazards that occur with machinery and know how to deal with them
Principles of Electrical Safety
Principles of Electrical Safety discusses current issues in electrical safety, which are accompanied by series of practical applications that can be used by practicing professionals, graduate students, and researchers. . Provides extensive introductions to important topics in electrical safety Comprehensive overview of inductance, resistance, and capacitance as applied to the human body Serves as a preparatory guide for today s practicing engineers
Toxic Safety : Flame Retardants, Chemical Controversies, and Environmental Health
Initially marketed as a life-saving advancement, flame retardants are now mired in controversy. Some argue that data show the chemicals are unsafe while others continue to support their use. The tactics of each side have far-reaching consequences for how we interpret new scientific discoveries. An experienced environmental sociologist, Alissa Cordner conducts more than a hundred interviews with activists, scientists, regulators, and industry professionals to isolate the social, scientific, economic, and political forces influencing environmental health policy today. Introducing "strategic science translation," she describes how stakeholders use scientific evidence to support nonscientific goals and construct "conceptual risk formulas" to shape risk assessment and the interpretation of empirical evidence. A revelatory text for public-health advocates, Toxic Safety demonstrates that while all parties interested in health issues use science to support their claims, they do not compete on a level playing field and even good intentions can have deleterious effects.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
