Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
The 42nd Parallel by
The trilogy opens with THE 42nd PARALLEL, where we find a young country at the dawn of the twentieth century. Slowly, in stories artfully spliced together, the lives and fortunes of five characters unfold. Mac, Janey, Eleanor, Ward, and Charley are caught on the storm track of this parallel and blown New Yorkward. As their lives cross and double back again, the likes of Eugene Debs, Thomas Edison, and Andrew Carnegie make cameo appearances.
100 Selected Poems by
e.e. cummings is without question one of the major poets of this century, and this volume, first published in 1959, is indispensable for every lover of modern lyrical verse. It contains one hundred of cummings's wittiest and most profound poems, harvested from thirty-five of the most radically creative years in contemporary American poetry. These poems exhibit all the extraordinary lyricism, playfulness, technical ingenuity, and compassion for which cummings is famous.
The American Short Story, 1917 by
Short stories have long been regarded as a potent form of writing. Concentrated and distilled yet engaging the reader at a pace that commands attention in the pages it occupies. Narrative and characters are still fully fleshed and the story is usually no longer, or shorter, than it needs to be. Handed down from the oral tradition they have been variously regarded as 'apprentice pieces' written by authors on their way to becoming better writers as well as fodder for innumerable periodicals over the decades for those who liked their reading in more succinct chunks or perhaps with a 'cliffhanger ending' to keep the interest until the next exciting instalment.
The Beautiful and Damned by
F. Scott Fitzgerald's second novel, The Beautiful and Damned explores many of the same themes and subjects that would animate his later work, including Tender is the Night and The Great Gatsby. This novel delves into the mysteries and complexities of marriage, taking as its focus the relationship of heir and bon vivant Anthony Patch and his wife Gloria, a couple that critics believe reflect many autobiographical elements of the tempestuous bond between F. Scott Fitzgerald and his wife, the artist and flamboyant flapper Zelda.
Cather: Early Novels and Stories by
"Let your fiction grow out of the land beneath your feet." Willa Cather's remark describes her own reasons for re-creating in her powerful fiction the Nebraska frontier of her youth. The vast Great Plains, where the earth has only recently come beneath the plow and the sky is huge and open, mirrors the uniquely American ethic of her characters: their heroic aspirations and stoicism, their passion for creativity, their rebelliousness of spirit.
Chicago Poems by
Chicago Poems (1916) was Carl Sandburg's first-published book of verse. Written in the poet's unique, personal idiom, these poems embody a soulfulness, lyric grace, and a love of and compassion for the common man that earned Sandburg a reputation as a "poet of the people."
Collected Poems by
This 1921 collection of Robinson's poetry garnered him his first of three Pulitzer Prizes. The volume contains 166 selections in both long and short verse forms. Themes such as thwarted desires, bad luck, and personal struggles figure prominently here as in Robinson's other work. Among the selections are two of Robinson's best known poems, “Richard Cory," and “Miniver Cheevy."
Complete Poems of Claude McKay by
Containing more than three hundred poems, including nearly a hundred previously unpublished works, this unique collection showcases the intellectual range of Claude McKay (1889-1948), the Jamaican-born poet and novelist whose life and work were marked by restless travel and steadfast social protest. McKay's first poems were composed in rural Jamaican creole and launched his lifelong commitment to representing everyday black culture from the bottom up. Migrating to New York, he reinvigorated the English sonnet and helped spark the Harlem Renaissance with poems such as "If We Must Die." After coming under scrutiny for his communism, he traveled throughout Europe and North Africa for twelve years and returned to Harlem in 1934, having denounced Stalin's Soviet Union. By then, McKay's pristine "violent sonnets" were giving way to confessional lyrics informed by his newfound Catholicism.McKay's verse eludes easy definition, yet this complete anthology, vividly introduced and carefully annotated by William J. Maxwell, acquaints readers with the full transnational evolution of a major voice in twentieth-century poetry.
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by
"The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" is a 1922 short story by F. Scott Fitzgerald. The story begins in 1860, just before the beginning of the American Civil War, with the birth of the central character, Benjamin Button. Benjamin is born with the body and demeanor of a very old man and within a few hours is already able to talk. To dodge humiliation, Benjamin's father makes him to shave and dye his hair to make him look more like the child he is supposed to be. As the tale evolves it becomes obvious that Benjamin is aging in reverse. "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" has been adapted into a blockbuster movie starring Cate Blanchette and Brad Pitt in what's been deemed "the finest performance of his career".
Curious Case of Benjamin Button : And Other Tales of the Jazz Age by
"The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" is a 1922 short story by F. Scott Fitzgerald. The story begins in 1860, just before the beginning of the American Civil War, with the birth of the central character, Benjamin Button. Benjamin is born with the body and demeanor of a very old man and within a few hours is already able to talk. To dodge humiliation, Benjamin's father makes him to shave and dye his hair to make him look more like the child he is supposed to be. As the tale evolves it becomes obvious that Benjamin is aging in reverse."The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" has been adapted into a blockbuster movie starring Cate Blanchette and Brad Pitt in what's been deemed "the finest performance of his career".
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by
Recently the basis for a major motion picture starring Hollywood golden boy Brad Pitt, "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" was written in 1922 by the golden boy of early twentieth-century American fiction, F. Scott Fitzgerald, author of such era-defining masterworks as The Great Gatsby and Tender is the Night. The tale follows the travails and triumphs of the title character, who is born in the body of an elderly man and becomes progressively younger over the course of his life.
Her America : “A Jury of Her Peers” and Other Stories by
One of the preeminent authors of the early twentieth century, Susan Glaspell (1876-1948) produced fourteen ground-breaking plays, nine novels, and more than fifty short stories. Her work was popular and critically acclaimed during her lifetime, with her novels appearing on best-seller lists and her stories published in major magazines and in The Best American Short Stories. Many of her short works display her remarkable abilities as a humorist, satirizing cultural conventions and the narrowness of small-town life. And yet they also evoke serious questions--relevant as much today as during Glaspell's lifetime--about society's values and priorities and about the individual search for self-fulfillment. While the classic "A Jury of Her Peers" has been widely anthologized in the last several decades, the other stories Glaspell wrote between 1915 and 1925 have not been available since their original appearance. This new collection reprints "A Jury of Her Peers"--restoring its original ending--and brings to light eleven other outstanding stories, offering modern readers the chance to appreciate the full range of Glaspell's literary skills. Glaspell was part of a generation of midwestern writers and artists, including Sherwood Anderson, Sinclair Lewis, Willa Cather, and F. Scott Fitzgerald, who migrated first to Chicago and then east to New York. Like these other writers, she retained a deep love for and a deep ambivalence about her native region. She parodied its provincialism and narrow-mindedness, but she also celebrated its pioneering and agricultural traditions and its unpretentious values. Witty, gently humorous, satiric, provocative, and moving, the stories in this timely collection run the gamut from acerbic to laugh-out-loud funny to thought-provoking. In addition, at least five of them provide background to and thematic comparisons with Glaspell's innovative plays that will be useful to dramatic teachers, students, and producers. With its thoughtful introduction by two widely published Glaspell scholars, Her America marks an important contribution to the ongoing critical and scholarly efforts to return Glaspell to her former preeminence as a major writer. The universality and relevance of her work to political and social issues that continue to preoccupy American discourse--free speech, ethics, civic justice, immigration, adoption, and gender--establish her as a direct descendant of the American tradition of short fiction derived from Hawthorne, Poe, and Twain.
Home to Harlem by
A novel that gives voice to the alienation and frustration of urban blacks during an era when Harlem was in vogue.
The Jungle by
Upton Sinclair's The Jungle is a novel portraying the corruption of the American meat industry in the early part of the twentieth century. The dismal living and working conditions and sense of hopelessness prevalent among the impoverished workers is compared to the corruption of the rich. Upton aimed to make such "wage slavery" issues center-stage in the minds of the American public. Despite already being serialized, it was rejected as a novel five times before being published in 1906, when it quickly became a bestseller.
Katherine Anne Porter Collected Stories & Other Writings by
Eudora Welty said that Katherine Anne Porter ?writes stories with a power that stamps them to their very last detail on the memory.? Set in her native Texas and her beloved Mexico, prewar Nazi Germany and the gothic Old South, they are stories of love, outrage, betrayal, and spiritual reckoning that are severe but never cruel, and always exquisitely precise. They number fewer than thirty, but as Robert Penn Warren commented, ?many are unsurpassed in modern fiction,? and when gathered in one volume in 1965 they won their author both the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award.
The Letters of Robert Frost, 1886 - 1921 by
Pensive, mercurial, and often funny, the private Robert Frost remains less appreciated than the public poet. The Letters of Robert Frost, the first major edition of the correspondence of this complex and subtle verbal artist, includes hundreds of unpublished letters whose literary interest is on a par with Dickinson, Lowell, and Beck
A Long Way from Home by
Claude McKay (18891948) was one of the most prolific and sophisticated African American writers of the early twentieth century. A Jamaican-born author of poetry, short stories, novels, and nonfiction, McKay has often been associated with the New Negro or Harlem Renaissance, a movement of African American art, culture, and intellectualism between World War I and the Great Depression. But his relationship to the movement was complex. Literally absent from Harlem during that period, he devoted most of his time to traveling through Europe, Russia, and Africa during the 1920s and 1930s. His active participation in Communist groups and the radical Left also encouraged certain opinions on race and class that strained his relationship to the Harlem Renaissance and its black intelligentsia. In his 1937 autobiography, A Long Way from Home, McKay explains what it means to be a black rebel sojourner and presents one of the first unflattering, yet informative, exposés of the Harlem Renaissance. Reprinted here with a critical introduction by Gene Andrew Jarrett, this book will challenge readers to rethink McKays articulation of identity, art, race, and politics and situate these topics in terms of his oeuvre and his literary contemporaries between the world wars.
My Antonia by
My Ántonia, first published 1918, is one of Willa Cather's greatest works. It is the last novel in the Prairie trilogy, preceded by O Pioneers! and The Song of the Lark. My Ántonia tells the stories of several immigrant families who move out to rural Nebraska to start new lives in America, with a particular focus on a Bohemian family, the Shimerdas, whose eldest daughter is named Ántonia. The book's narrator, Jim Burden, arrives in the fictional town of Black Hawk, Nebraska, on the same train as the Shimerdas, as he goes to live with his grandparents after his parents have died.
My Grandpa and the Haint by
With his characteristically rich sense of place and deep understanding of the human psyche, Ernest Gaines, National Book Critics Circle Award winner and author of the classic novel A Lesson Before Dying, presents a raconteur's tale of rustic Southern living, A selection from Gaines's collection of prose, Mozart and Leadbelly.
New Orleans Sketches by
In 1925 William Faulkner began his professional writing career in earnest while living in the French Quarter of New Orleans. He had published a volume of poetry (The Marble Faun), had written a few book reviews, and had contributed sketches to the University of Mississippi student newspaper. He had served a stint in the Royal Canadian Air Corps and while working in a New Haven bookstore had become acquainted with the wife of the writer Sherwood Anderson. In his first six months in New Orleans, where the Andersons were living, Faulkner made his initial foray into serious fiction writing. Here in one volume are the pieces he wrote while in the French Quarter. These were published locally in the Times-Picayune and in the Double Dealer. The pieces in New Orleans Sketches broadcast seeds that would take root in later works. In their themes and motifs these sketches and stories foreshadow the intense personal vision and style that would characterize Faulkner's mature fiction. As his sketches take on parallels with Christian liturgy and as they portray such characters as an idiot boy similar to Benjy Compson, they reveal evidence of his early literary sophistication. In praise of New Orleans Sketches, Alfred Kazin wrote in the New York Times Book Review that "the interesting thing for us now, who can see in this book the outline of the writer Faulkner was to become, is that before he had published his first novel he had already determined certain main themes in his work." In his trailblazing introduction, Carvel Collins often called "Faulkner's best-informed critic," illuminates the period when the sketches were written as the time that Faulkner was making the transition from poet to novelist. "For the reader of Faulkner," Paul Engle wrote in the Chicago Tribune, "the book is indispensable. Its brilliant introduction . . . is full both of helpful information . . . and of fine insights." "We gain something more than a glimpse of the mind of a young genius asserting his power against a partially indifferent environment," states the Book Exchange (London). "The long introduction . . . must rank as a major literary contribution to our knowledge of an outstanding writer: perhaps the greatest of our times."
Of Mice and Men by
Over seventy-five years since its first publication, Steinbeck's tale of commitment, loneliness, hope, and loss remains one of America's most widely read and taught novels. An unlikely pair, George and Lennie, two migrant workers in California during the Great Depression, grasp for their American Dream. They hustle work when they can, living a hand-to-mouth existence. For George and Lennie have a plan: to own an acre of land and a shack they can call their own. When they land jobs on a ranch in the Salinas Valley, the fulfillment of their dream seems to be within their grasp. But even George cannot guard Lennie from the provocations, nor predict the consequences of Lennie's unswerving obedience to the things George taught him.
O Pioneers! by
A Swedish family migrate to Nebraska at the turn of the 20th century. The daughter of the family inherits the land when her father dies, and the story follows her struggle to maintain it when many around her are leaving the prairie in defeat. There are two romantic narratives in the novel: that of the daughter and a family friend, and of her brother and a married woman.
The Road Not Taken and Other Poems by
"These deceptively simple lines from the title poem of this collection suggest Robert Frost at his most representative: the language is simple, clear and colloquial, yet dense with meaning and wider significance. Drawing upon everyday incidents, common situations and rural imagery, Frost fashioned poetry of great lyrical beauty and potent symbolism. Now a selection of the best of his early works is available in this volume, originally published in 1916 under the title Mountain Interval.
The Road Not Taken and Other Poems by
"Two roads diverged in a wood, and I I took the one less traveled by, And that has made all the difference. "These deceptively simple lines from the title poem of this collection suggest Robert Frost at his most representative: the language is simple, clear and colloquial, yet dense with meaning and wider significance. Drawing upon everyday incidents, common situations and rural imagery, Frost fashioned poetry of great lyrical beauty and potent symbolism. Now a selection of the best of his early works is available in this volume, originally published in 1916 under the title Mountain Interval. Included are many moving and expressive poems: "An Old Man's Winter Night," "In the Home Stretch," "Meeting and Passing," "Putting In the Seed," "A Time to Talk," "The Hill Wife," "The Exposed Nest," "The Sound of Trees" and more. All are reprinted here complete and unabridged. Includes "The Road Not Taken."
A Rose for Emily and Other Stories by
Included:
A Rose for Emily;
The Hound;
Turn About;
That Evening Sun;
Dry September;
Delta Autumn;
Barn Burning;
An Odor of Verbena
Selected Poems by
In his 1918 autobiographical essay, "A Negro Poet Writes," Claude McKay (1889–1948), reveals much about the wellspring of his poetry.
"I am a black man, born in Jamaica, B.W.I., and have been living in America for the last years. It was the first time I had ever come face to face with such manifest, implacable hate of my race, and my feelings were indescribable … Looking about me with bigger and clearer eyes I saw that this cruelty in different ways was going on all over the world. Whites were exploiting and oppressing whites even as they exploited and oppressed the yellows and blacks. And the oppressed, groaning under the leash, evinced the same despicable hate and harshness toward their weaker fellows. I ceased to think of people and things in the mass. [O]ne must seek for the noblest and best in the individual life only: each soul must save itself.
The Short Stories by
For the first time in many years, Langston Hughes's published collections of stories are now available in a single book. Included in this volume are: Ways of White Folks, originally published in 1934; Laughing to Keep from Crying, originally published in 1952; and additional stories from Something in Common and Other Stories, originally published in 1963; as well as previously uncollected stories. These fictions, carefully crafted in the language Hughes loved, manifest the many themes for which he is best known. We meet and come to know many characters--black and white, young and old, men and women--all as believable as our own families, friends, and acquaintances. Hughes's stories portray people as they actually are: a mixture of good, bad, and much in-between. In these short stories, as in the Simple stories, the reader enjoys Hughes's humor and irony. The stories show us his inclination to mock himself and his beloved people, as much as he ridicules the flaws of those who belittle his race. His genuine characters interact and realistically bring to life this era of America's past. By maintaining the form and format of the original story collections, this volume presents Hughes's stories as he wanted them to be read. This volume will be an invaluable addition to the library of anyone interested in African American literature generally and the fiction of Langston Hughes specifically.
The Sound and the Fury by
"I give you the mausoleum of all hope and desire. . . . I give it to you not that you may remember time, but that you might forget it now and then for a moment and not spend all of your breath trying to conquer it. Because no battle is ever won he said. They are not even fought. The field only reveals to man his own folly and despair, and victory is an illusion of philosophers and fools." —from The Sound and the Fury
Their Eyes Were Watching God by
One of the most important and enduring books of the twentieth century, Their Eyes Were Watching God brings to life a Southern love story with the wit and pathos found only in the writing of Zora Neale Hurston. Out of print for almost thirty years—due largely to initial audiences' rejection of its strong black female protagonist—Hurston's classic has since its 1978 reissue become perhaps the most widely read and highly acclaimed novel in the canon of African-American literature.
This Side of Paradise by
The bestselling novel that established F. Scott Fitzgerald's literary reputation and brought to vivid life the glory and despair of the "Lost Generation" Raised by his mother, a charismatic eccentric determined to show her son the very best that life has to offer, Amory Blaine spends his childhood traveling from one party to the next. For this worldly sophisticate, life is heaven--until reality comes crashing through the door. When a burst appendix limits his mobility, Blaine is sent to live in Minneapolis, where he finds that his unique sensibility does not endear him to the other boys. From prep school to Princeton to the crushing inhumanity of the US Army during World War I, Blaine searches for his proper place in the world. His quest brilliantly personifies the struggles of an entire generation that came of age in a time of great turmoil. This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.
The Troll Garden and Selected Stories by
Virginia-born writer Willa Cather burst onto the American literary scene with this riveting collection of short stories, all loosely yoked together via the theme of the arts, artists, and creativity. Fans of Cather's later work will be surprised at the sophistication of these assured, mannered early pieces, which hint strongly of her admiration for the fiction of Henry James.
The Ways of White Folks by
In these acrid and poignant stories, Hughes depicted black people colliding—sometimes humorously, more often tragically—with whites in the 1920s and '30s.
Winesburg, Ohio by
Winesburg, Ohio is a series of loosely linked short stories set in the fictional town of Winesburg. The stories are held together by George Willard, a resident to whom the community confide their personal stories and struggles. The townspeople are withdrawn and emotionally repressed and attempt in telling their stories to gain some sense of meaning and dignity in an otherwise desperate life. The work has received high critical acclaim and is considered one of the great American works of the 20th century.
Zora Neale Hurston : Collected Plays by
Though she died penniless and forgotten, Zora Neale Hurston is now recognized as a major figure in African American literature. Best known for her 1937 novel Their Eyes Were Watching God, she also published numerous short stories and essays, three other novels, and two books on black folklore. Even avid readers of Hurston's prose, however, may be surprised to know that she was also a serious and ambitious playwright throughout her career. Although several of her plays were produced during her lifetime--and some to public acclaim--they have languished in obscurity for years. Even now, most critics and historians gloss over these texts, treating them as supplementary material for understanding her novels. Yet, Hurston's dramatic works stand on their own merits and independently of her fiction. Now, eleven of these forgotten dramatic writings are being published together for the first time in this carefully edited and annotated volume. Filled with lively characters, vibrant images of rural and city life, biblical and folk tales, voodoo, and, most importantly, the blues, readers will discover a "real Negro theater" that embraces all the richness of black life.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
As I Lay Dying by
Selected by the Modern Library as one of the 100 best novels of all time. From the Modern Library's new set of beautifully repackaged hardcover classics by William Faulkner--also available are Snopes, The Sound and the Fury, Light in August, Absalom, Absalom!, and Selected Short Stories.
Black Boy : (American Hunger) : A Record of Childhood and Youth by
Richard Wright grew up in the woods of Mississippi amid poverty, hunger, fear, and hatred. He lied, stole, and raged at those around him; at six he was a "drunkard," hanging about in taverns. Surly, brutal, cold, suspicious, and self-pitying, he was surrounded on one side by whites who were either indifferent to him, pitying, or cruel, and on the other by blacks who resented anyone trying to rise above the common lot. Black Boy is Richard Wright's powerful account of his journey from innocence to experience in the Jim Crow South. It is at once an unashamed confession and a profound indictment--a poignant and disturbing record of social injustice and human suffering.
Cather: Early Novels and Stories by
"Let your fiction grow out of the land beneath your feet." Willa Cather's remark describes her own reasons for re-creating in her works the Nebraska frontier of her youth. Set on the vast northern Great Plains, where the earth has only recently come beneath the plow, the stories and novels in this Library of America volume partake of an impressive physical space and a uniquely American ethnic.
Chandler - Stories and Early Novels by
In Raymond Chandler's hands, the pulp crime story became a haunting mystery of power and corruption, set against a modern cityscape both lyrical and violent. Now Chandler joins the authoritative Library of America series in a comprehensive two-volume set displaying all the facets of his brilliant talent.
The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter by
María Concepción -- Virgin Violeta -- The Martyr -- Magic -- Rope -- He -- Theft -- That Tree -- The Jilting of Granny Weatherall -- Flowering Judas -- The Cracked Looking-Glass -- Hacienda -- Old Mortality -- Noon Wine -- Pale Horse, Pale Rider -- The Old Order -- The Source -- The Journey -- The Witness -- The Circus -- The Last Leaf -- The Fig Tree -- The Grave -- The Downward Path to Wisdom -- A Day's Work -- Holiday -- The Learning Tower.
Collected Stories of William Faulkner by
Barn burning -- Shingles for the Lord -- The tall men -- A bear hunt -- Two soldiers -- Shall not perish -- A rose for Emily -- Hair -- Centaur in brass -- Dry September -- Death drag -- Elly -- Uncle Willy -- Mule in the yard -- That will be fine -- That evening sun -- Red leaves -- A justice -- A courtship -- Lo! -- Ad Astra -- Victory -- Crevasse -- Turnabout -- All the dead pilots -- Wash -- Honor -- Dr. Martino -- Fox hunt -- Pennsylvania Station -- Artist at home -- The brooch -- My Grandmother Millard -- Golden land -- There was a queen -- Mountain victory -- Beyond -- Black music -- The leg -- Mistral -- Divorce in Naples -- Carcassonne.
Early Poems by
Renascence -- Interim -- The Suicide -- God's World -- Afternoon on a Hill -- Sorrow -- Tavern -- Ashes of Life -- The Little Ghost -- Kin to Sorrow -- Three Songs of Shattering -- The Shroud -- The Dream -- Indifference -- Witch-Wife -- Blight -- When the Year Grows Old -- Thou art not lovelier than lilacs,-no -- Time does not bring relief, you all have lied -- Mindful of you the sodden earth in spring -- Not in this chamber only at my birth -- If I shoud learn, in some quiet casual way -- Bluebeard -- First Fig -- Second Fig -- Recuerdo -- Thursday -- To the Not Impossible Him -- Macdougal Street -- The Singing-Woman from the Wood's Edge -- She is Overhead Singing -- The Prisoner -- The Unexplorer -- Grown-up -- The Penitent -- Daphne -- Portrait by a Neighbour -- Midnight Oil -- The Merry Maid -- To Kathleen -- To S. M. -- The Philosopher -- I do, but ask that you be always fair -- Love, though for this you riddle me with darts -- I think I shuold have loved you presently -- Oh, think not I am faithful to a vow -- I shall forget you presently, my dear -- Spring -- City Trees -- The Blue-Flag in the Bog -- Journey -- Eel-Grass -- Elegy before Death -- The Bean-Stalk -- Weeds -- Passer Mortuus Est -- Pastoral -- Assault -- Travel -- Low-Tide -- Song of a Second April -- Rosemary -- The Poet and His Book -- Alms -- Inland -- To a Poet That Died Young -- Wraith -- Ebb -- Elaine -- Burial -- Mariposa -- The Little Hill -- Doubt No More than Oberon -- Lament -- Exiled -- The Death of Autumn -- Ode to Silence -- Memorial to D. C. -- Wild Swan -- We talk of taxes, and I call you friend -- Into the golden vessel of great song -- Not with libations, but with shouts and laughter -- Only until this cigarette is ended -- Once more into my arid days like dew -- No rose that in a garden every grew -- When I too long have looked upon your face -- And you as well must die, beloved dust -- Let you not say of me when I am old -- Oh, my beloved, have you thought of this -- As to some lovely temple, tenantless -- Cherish you then the hope I shall forget.
A Farewell to Arms by
The best American novel to emerge from World War I, A Farewell to Arms is the unforgettable story of an American ambulance driver on the Italian front and his passion for a beautiful English nurse. Hemingway's frank portrayal of the love between Lieutenant Henry and Catherine Barkley, caught in the inexorable sweep of war, glows with an intensity unrivaled in modern literature, while his description of the German attack on Caporetto -- of lines of fired men marching in the rain, hungry, weary, and demoralized -- is one of the greatest moments in literary history. A story of love and pain, of loyalty and desertion, A Farewell to Arms, written when he was 30 years old, represents a new romanticism for Hemingway.
Five Plays by Langston Hughes by
Tambourines to Glory, Soul Gone Home, Little Ham, Mulatto, and Simply Heavenly reflect the black author's concern with the position of the Negro in the United States.
Frost: Collected Poems, Prose & Plays by
Justly celebrated at home and abroad, Robert Frost is perhaps America's greatest twentieth-century poet and a towering figure in American letters. From the publication of his first collections, A Boy's Will (1913) and North of Boston (1914), Frost was recognized as a poet of unique power and formal skill, and the enduring significance of his work has been acknowledged by each subsequent generation. His poetry ranges from deceptively simply pastoral lyrics and genial, vernacular genre pieces to darker meditations, complex and ironic. Here, based on extensive research into his manuscripts and published work, is the first authoritative and truly comprehensive collection of his writings. Brought together for the first time in a Library of America single volume is all the major poetry, a generous selection of uncollected poems, all of Frost's dramatic writing, and the most extensive gathering of his prose writings ever published, several of which are printed here for the first time. The core of this collection is the 1949 Complete Poems of Robert Frost, the last collection supervised by Frost himself. This version of the poems is free of unauthorized editorial changes introduced into subsequent editions. Also included is In the Clearing (1962), Frost's final volume of poetry. Verse drawn from letters, articles, pamphlets, and journals makes up the largest selection of uncollected poems ever assembled, including nearly two dozen beautiful early works printed for the first time. Also gathered here are all the dramatic works: three plays and two verse masques. The unprecedented prose section includes more than three times as many items as any other collection available. It is rich and diverse, presenting many newly discovered or rediscovered pieces. Especially unusual items include Frost's contribution to John F. Kennedy's inauguration and two fascinating 1959 essays on "The Future of Man." Several manuscript items are published here for the first time, including the essays "'Caveat Poeta'" and "The Way There," Frost's remarks on being appointed poetry consultant to the Library of Congress in 1958, the preface to a proposed new edition of North of Boston, and many others. A selection of letters represents all of Frost's important comments about prosody, poetics, style, and his theory of "sentence sounds."
The Great Gatsby by
The authentic edition from Fitzgerald's original publisher. The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald's third book, stands as the supreme achievement of his career. This exemplary novel of the Jazz Age has been acclaimed by generations of readers. The story of the fabulously wealthy Jay Gatsby and his love for the beautiful Daisy Buchanan, of lavish parties on Long Island at a time when The New York Times noted "gin was the national drink and sex the national obsession," it is an exquisitely crafted tale of America in the 1920s. The Great Gatsby is one of the great classics of twentieth-century literature.
Hart Crane: Complete Poems and Selected Letters by
Legend -- Black Tambourine -- Emblems of Conduct -- My Grandmother's Love Letters -- Sunday Morning Apples -- Praise for an Urn -- Garden Abstract -- Stark Major -- Chaplinesque -- Pastorale -- In Shadow -- The Fernery -- North Labrador -- Repose of River -- Paraphrase -- Possessions -- Lachrymae Christi -- Passage -- The Win Menagerie -- Recitative -- For the Marriage of Faustus and Helen -- At Melville's Tomb -- Voyages -- O Carib Isle! -- The Mermen -- To the Cloud Juggler -- The Mango Tree -- Island Quarry -- Old Song -- The Idiot -- A Name for All -- Bacardi Spreads the Eagle's Wing -- Imperator Victus -- Royal Palm -- The Air Plant -- THe Hurricane -- Key West -- -And Bees of Paradise -- To Emily Dickinson -- Moment Fugue -- By Nilus Once I Knew... -- To Shakespeare -- C 33 -- October-November -- Carmen de Boheme -- The Hive -- Fear -- Annunciations -- Echoes -- The Bathers -- Modern Craft -- Exile --- Postscript -- Forgetfulness -- To Portapovitch -- Legende -- Interior -- Porphyro in Akron -- A Persuasion -- Three Locutions des Pierrots -- The Great Western Plains -- America's Plutonic Estasies -- Interludium -- March -- The Broken Tower -- A Song for Happy Feast Days -- Sonnet -- The Moth That God Made Blind -- To Earth -- Medusa -- Meditation -- Episode of Hands -- The Bridge of Estador -- After Jonah -- Euclid Avenue -- To Buddha - "Where gables pack the rainless" -- Well/Well/Not-At-All -- Of an Evening -- What Nots? -- In a Court -- With a Photograph to Zell, Now Bound for Spain -- "This way where November takes the leaf" -- "You are that frail decison that devised" -- "Thou canst read nothing except through appetite" -- To Liberty -- Miror of Narcissus -- The Masters -- "Her eyes had the blue of desperate days" -- "O moon, thou cool sibilance of the sun, we utmost love" -- Lenses -- To the Empress Josephine's Statue -- Supplication to the Muses on a Trying Day -- "The sea raised up a campanile...The wind I heard" -- Eternity -- "So dream thy sails, O phantom bark" -- A Postscript -- The Sad Indian -- "I have that sure enclitic to my act" -- The Pillar and the Post -- The Visibe and the Untrue -- "Shall I subsume the shadow of the world-" -- "Tenderness and resolution" -- "Time cannot be worn strapped to the supple wrist" -- "I rob my breast to reach those altitudes-" -- "Enrich my resignation as I usurp those far" -- "All this-and the housekeeper-" -- A Traveller Born -- "The alert pillow, the hayseed spreads" -- "There are the local orchard boughs" -- "Dust now is the old-fashioned house" -- "They were there falling" -- Havana Rose -- Purgatorio -- The Circumstance -- Hieroglypic -- To Conquer Variety -- The Case Against Nietzsche -- Joyce and Ethics -- Review of The Ghetto and Other Poems -- Review of Minna and Myself -- Review of Winesburg, Ohio -- A Note on Minns -- Sherwood Anderson -- Review of Eight More Harvard Poets -- General Aims and Theories -- A Letter to Harriet Monroe -- Modern Poetry -- Note on the Paintings of David Siqueiros -- From Haunts of Proserpine -- "A pure approach to any art..." -- Selected Letters.
I Love Myself When I Am Laughing... and Then Again When I Am Looking Mean and Impressive : A Zora Neale Hurston Reader
On refusing to be humbled by second place in a contest you did not design: a tradition by now / Alice Walker -- Zora Neale Hurston: a woman half in shadow / Mary Helen Washington -- Autobiography, Folklore and Reportage -- from Dust Tracks on a Road -- from Mules and Men -- from Tell my Horse -- Essays and Articles -- How it feels to be colored me -- The "pet" Negro system -- My most humiliating Jim Crow experience -- Crazy for this democracy -- What white publishers won't print -- Fiction -- The Eatonville Anthology -- from Jonah's Gourd Vine -- Sweat -- The Gilded Six-Bits -- from Moses, Man of the Mountain -- from Their Eyes Were Watching God -- Looking for Zora.
Anthology of essays, folklore and fiction by a leading figure in the Harlem Renaissance.
The Letters of Ernest Hemingway, 1907-1922 by
With the first publication, in this edition, of all the surviving letters of Ernest Hemingway (1899-1961), readers will for the first time be able to follow the thoughts, ideas and actions of one of the great literary figures of the twentieth century in his own words. This first volume encompasses his youth, his experience in World War I and his arrival in Paris. The letters reveal a more complex person than Hemingway's tough guy public persona would suggest: devoted son, affectionate brother, infatuated lover, adoring husband, spirited friend and disciplined writer.
O'Neill: Complete Plays,1913-1920 by
The only American dramatist awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature, Eugene O'Neill wrote with poetic expressiveness, emotional intensity, and immense dramatic power. This Library of America volume (the first in a three-volume set) contains twenty-nine plays he wrote between 1913, when he began his career, and 1920, the year he first achieved Broadway success. Many of O'Neill's early plays are one-act melodramas whose characters are caught in extreme situations.
The Old Man and the Sea by
The last novel Ernest Hemingway saw published, The Old Man and the Sea has proved itself to be one of the enduring works of American fiction. It is the story of an old Cuban fisherman and his supreme ordeal: a relentless, agonizing battle with a giant marlin far out in the Gulf Stream. Using the simple, powerful language of a fable, Hemingway takes the timeless themes of courage in the face of defeat and personal triumph won from loss and transforms them into a magnificent twentieth-century classic.
Pale Horse, Pale Rider by
First published in 1939, these three short novels secured the author’s reputation as a master of short fiction.
The Poetry of Robert Frost: The Collected Poems by
A feast for lovers of American literature-the work of our greatest poet, redesigned and relaunched for a new generation of readers No poet is more emblematically American than Robert Frost. From "The Road Not Taken" to "Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening," he refined and even defined our sense of what poetry is and what it can do. T. S. Eliot judged him "the most eminent, the most distinguished Anglo-American poet now living," and he is the only writer in history to have been awarded four Pulitzer Prizes.
Richard Wright : Early Works by
This Library of America edition presents for the first time Wright's works in the form in which he intended them to be read. The authoritative new texts, based on Wright's original typescripts and proofs, reveal the full range and power of his achievement as an experimental stylist and as a fiery prophet of the tragic consequences of racism in American society. The volume includes notes on significant changes in Wright's text and a detailed chronology of his life.
Selected Poems
This new collection of Sandburg’s finest and most representative poetry draws on all of his previous volumes and includes four unpublished poems about Lincoln. The Hendricks’ comprehensive introduction discusses how Sandburg’s life and beliefs colored his work and why it continues to resonate so deeply with americans today. Edited and with an Introduction by George and Willene Hendrick.
The Selected Poetry of Edna St. Vincent Millay by
Renascence -- Interim -- The Suicide -- God's World -- Afternoon on a Hill -- Sorrow -- Tavern -- Ashes of Life -- The Little Ghost -- Kin to Sorrow -- Three Songs of Shattering -- The first rose on my rose-tree -- Let the little birds sing -- All the dog-wood blossoms are underneath the tree! -- The Shroud -- The Dream -- Indifference -- Witch-Wife -- Blight -- When the Year Grows Old -- Thou art not lovelier than lilacs,--no -- Time does not bring relief; you all have lied -- Mindful of you the sodden earth in spring -- Not in this chamber only at my birth -- If I should learn, in some quite casual way -- Bluebeard -- A Few Figs from Thistles -- First Fig -- Second Fig -- Recuerdo -- Thursday -- To the Not Impossible Him -- MacDougal Street -- The Singing-Woman from the Wood's Edge -- She Is Overheard Singing -- The Prisoner -- The Unexplorer -- Grown-up -- The Penitent -- Daphne -- Portrait by a Neighbor -- Midnight Oil -- The Merry Maid -- To Kathleen -- To S. M. -- The Philosopher -- Sonnets -- Love, though for this you riddle me with darts -- I think I should have loved you presently -- Oh, think not I am faithful to a vow! -- I shall forget you presently, my dear -- Second April -- Spring -- City Trees -- The Blue-Flag in the Bog -- Journey -- Eel-Grass -- Elegy Before Death -- The Bean-Stalk -- Weeds -- Passer Mortuus Est -- Pastoral -- Assault -- Travel -- Low-Tide -- Song of a Second April -- Rosemary -- The Poet and His Book -- Alms -- Inland -- To a Poet That Died Young -- Wraith -- Ebb -- Elaine -- Burial -- Mariposa -- The Little Hill -- Doubt No More That Oberon -- Lament -- Exiled -- The Death of Autumn -- Ode to Silence -- Memorial to D.C. -- Epitaph -- Praver to Persephone -- Chorus -- Elegy -- Dirge -- Sonnets -- We talk of taxes, and I call you friend -- Into the golden vessel of great song -- Not with libations, but with shouts and laughter -- Only until this cigarette is ended -- Once more into my arid days like dew -- No rose that in a garden ever grew -- When I too long have looked upon your face -- And you as well must die, beloved dust -- Let you not say of me when I am old -- Oh, my beloved, have you thought of this -- As to some lovely temple, tenantless -- Cherish you then the hope I shall forget -- Wild Swans -- Sonnets -- When you, that at this moment are to me -- I know I am but summer to your heart -- Oh, oh, you will be sorry for that word! -- Here is a wound that never will heal, I know -- Say what you will, and scratch my heart to find -- What lips my lips have kissed, and where, and why -- Euclid alone has looked on Beauty bare -- The Ballad of the Harp-Weaver.
Stevens: Collected Poetry and Prose by
"Undoubtedly, the single finest collection of Wallace Stevens ever produced." -- Library Journal Wallace Stevens's unique voice combined meditative speculation and what he called "the essential gaudiness of poetry" in a body of work of astonishing profusion and exuberance, poems that have remained an inspiration and influence for generations of poets and readers. Now, for the first time, the works of America's supreme poet of the imagination are collected in one authoritative Library of America volume. Here are all of Stevens's published books of poetry, side-by-side for the first time with the haunting lyrics of his later years and early work that traces the development of his art. From the rococo inventiveness of Harmonium, his first volume (including such classics as "Sunday Morning" and "Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Blackbird"), through "Notes Toward a Supreme Fiction," "Esth#65533;tique du Mal," "The Auroras of Autumn," and the other large-scale masterpieces of his middle years, to the austere final poems of "The Rock," Stevens's poetry explores with unrelenting intensity the relation between the world and the human imagination, between nature as found and nature as invented, and the ways poetry mediates between them. The volume presents over ninety poems uncollected by Stevens, including early versions of often-discussed works like "The Comedian as the Letter C" and "Owl's Clover." Also here is the most comprehensive selection of Stevens's prose writings. The Necessary Angel (1951), his distinguished book of essays, joins nearly fifty shorter pieces, many previously uncollected: reviews, speeches, short stories, criticism, philosophical writings, and responses to the work of T. S. Eliot, Marianne Moore, William Carlos Williams, and other poets. The often-dazzling aphorisms Stevens gathered over the years are included, as are his plays and selections from his poetic notebooks. Rounding out the volume is a fifty-year span of journal entries and letters, newly edited from manuscript sources, which provide fascinating glimpses of Stevens's thoughts on poetry and the creative process. The volume also contains explanatory notes, a detailed chronology of Stevens' life, and an essay on textual selection.
Tender Is the Night by
Published in 1934, Tender Is the Night was one of the most talked-about books of the year. "It's amazing how excellent much of it is," Ernest Hemingway said to Maxwell Perkins. "I will say now," John O'Hara wrote Fitzgerald, "Tender Is the Night is in the early stages of being my favorite book, even more than This Side of Paradise." And Archibald MacLeish exclaimed: "Great God, Scott...You are a fine writer. Believe it -- not me." Set on the French Riviera in the late 1920s, Tender Is the Night is the tragic romance of the young actress Rosemary Hoyt and the stylish American couple Dick and Nicole Diver. A brilliant young psychiatrist at the time of his marriage, Dick is both husband and doctor to Nicole, whose wealth goads him into a lifestyle not his own, and whose growing strength highlights Dick's harrowing demise. A profound study of the romantic concept of character -- lyrical, expansive, and hauntingly evocative -- Tender Is the Night, Mabel Dodge Luhan remarked, raised F. Scott Fitzgerald to the heights of "a modern Orpheus."
Their Eyes Were Watching God by
"A deeply soulful novel that comprehends love and cruelty, and separates the big people from the small of heart, without ever losing sympathy for those unfortunates who don't know how to live properly." --Zadie Smith One of the most important and enduring books of the twentieth century, Their Eyes Were Watching God brings to life a Southern love story with the wit and pathos found only in the writing of Zora Neale Hurston. Out of print for almost thirty years--due largely to initial audiences' rejection of its strong black female protagonist--Hurston's classic has since its 1978 reissue become perhaps the most widely read and highly acclaimed novel in the canon of African-American literature.
© 2023 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
Class Poll
