LibGuides: Pathophysiology: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

Atlas of Heart Disease and Stroke Cardiovascular disease now ranks as the world's top cause of death, causing one third of all deaths globally. Heart disease can no longer be seen as the problem of overworked and overweight middle-aged men in developed countries. In today's world, women and children too are at risk. Already 75% of all CVD deaths occur in the poorer regions of the world and this is likely to increase in the future.
Emerging Infectious Diseases : Trends and Issues This new work updates the highly regarded first edition...and is equally excellent. It offers a wealth of timely information about a variety of emerging and reemerging infections...This is an excellent reference for anyone interested in emerging infections, and will be a valuable resource for health science students, especially those in nursing and public health....Highly recommended. Upper-level undergraduates through professionals/practitioners.'--Choice Emerging, re-emerging, and antibiotic-resistant infectious diseases continue to increase at an alarming rate throughout the world.
Gastroenteritis Viruses
Human Diseases and Conditions Presents information on numerous diseases and conditions. Articles include a definition of the disease or condition, an explanation of how it works in the body, information on causes, symptoms and diagnosis, treatment or cure, and lifestyles.
Immunology : Clinical Case Studies and Disease Pathophysiology 26 real-life cases illustrate the applications of basic immunology in clinical settings May be utilized alone or as a companion to Immunology: A Short Course, 7th Edition by Richard Coico and Geofftry Sunshine (ISBN 9781118396919) Each case study is introduced by clearly written descriptions of the major immunological disorders Full colour photographs and illustrations complement complete presentation of real data Includes complete set of problems and discussion questions for each chapter
Just the Facts : Pathophysiology This quick-reference handbook provides the essential "must-have" pathophysiology facts that nurses need in day-to-day patient care. The book covers more than 130 diseases organized by body system, with separate chapters on genetics and fluid and electrolyte disorders. Information is presented in a format that is ideal for rapid access, with bullets, graphic illustrations, and flow charts that demonstrate pathophysiologic processes. Signs and symptoms are clearly linked to pathophysiologic changes in each disorder. Each chapter begins with a brief review of pathophysiologic concepts. An appendix provides a quick-scan chart of less common disorders.
Mechanisms of Disease : An Introduction to Clinical Science To reflect the changing face of undergraduate and postgraduate medical education, this new edition emphasises the principles of disease processes and their underlying mechanisms, bringing the content up to date with the latest developments from the fields of molecular and cellular biology. The focus is on describing the fundamental features of pathophysiological processes with examples to illustrate the similar mechanisms underlying apparently diverse clinical conditions. By understanding the cellular interactions in one disease area, similar principles can be applied to other disease groups and to the scientific basis of medical management and treatment strategies. Throughout, the student is encouraged to evaluate and integrate the evidence critically, developing skills for self-directed learning and the application of knowledge. To further encourage the reader to integrate the theory with clinical practice, each chapter concludes with a series of clinical scenarios and MCQs, with answers provided.
Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Visual Publisher's Note:   Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Know the how and why of common conditions--and assess them accurately--with the newly updated Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Visual, 3rd Edition.   Fully illustrated in the popular Made Incredibly Visual style, this essential guide offers easy-to-follow explanations for the causes and mechanisms of numerous common disorders, listing symptoms and indications for each. Use this as the perfect study guide for the NCLEX® or certification exam, to support class materials, and to absorb the pathophysiology principles every nurse needs to know.   Absorb the expert wisdom and insights of this invaluable guide . . .   Walks you through the development stages of numerous diseases and disorders, illustrating their cellular process, symptoms, and effects on tissue and organs Explains cell parts and their functions, as well as cell division, adaptation, injury, and stress and disease Hundreds of photos, illustrations, and diagrams explaining key concepts and providing clear direction on how to recognize common conditions Supports accurate diagnosis and treatment - Common disorders for each major body system, such as: Cardiovascular - Acute coronary syndromes, aortic aneurysms, cardiomyopathy Respiratory - ARDS, asthma, chronic bronchitis, lung cancer Neurologic - Alzheimer's, cerebral aneurysm, migraine headaches Gastrointestinal - Cholecystitis, cirrhosis, Crohn's disease Musculoskeletal - Carpal tunnel syndrome, herniated disk, osteoarthritis Hematologic - Anemia, leukemia, sickle cell disease Immune - AIDS, allergic rhinitis, rheumatoid arthritis Endocrine - Adrenal hypofunction, diabetes mellitus, metabolic syndrome Renal - Acute renal failure, acute tubular necrosis, pyelonephritis Integumentary - Acne, burns, pressure ulcers Reproductive - Breast, cervical, ovarian, and prostate cancer Special chapter features: Vision Quest - End-of-chapter quizzes in the form of puzzles, riddles, and multiple-choice questions, to help you retain vital information Risky business - Risk factors to be aware of while treating each condition How it happens - The physiological process that creates a particular condition What to look for - A list of symptoms for each condition Age-old story - Discusses how a condition develops and presents, according to the patient's age Memory board - Visual tricks that help you remember vital concepts and key treatments
Pathophysiology Review Based on Marlene Hurst's popular nursing seminars that train over 30,000 students annually, "Pathophysiology Review" is unlike any other resource as it explains how to apply critical thinking and test-taking skills rather than how to re-learn course content. Marlene shows you how to "think on your feet" in order to succeed on your Pathophysiology exams. Features: A complete Pathophysiology course toolkit - from the world's most sought after speaker on nursing exam preparation Skill-building questions, answers, and explanations at the end of each chapter Concise, easy-to-remember strategies that cut study time in half Eye-catching full-color format Marlene Moments - Marlene's humorous anecdotes of common student mistakes that offer a light-hearted look at how new nurses learn to succeed.
Practical Guide to Human Cancer Genetics The 2006 third edition of this very successful book provides a comprehensive and practical guide to the diagnosis and management of inherited disorders conferring susceptibility to cancer. Issues discussed include risk assessment, genetic counselling, predictive testing and organisation of a cancer genetics service. A full reference list gives access to background literature. With molecular information, screening guidelines and management advice, this new edition will provide geneticists and clinicians in all disciplines with an invaluable resource for screening, managing and advising patients.
Respiratory Disease : A Case Study Approach to Patient Care Now edited by a pulmonologist, the 3rd edition is still one of the most well-written texts for students learning to understand the assessment and treatment of patients with respiratory disease. Each chapter begins with a background of selected disorders, followed by a case study with questions and answers designed to stimulate critical thinking skills.
Sexually Transmitted Diseases The most respected, all-in-one global STD reference - now in full-color With a level of detail and scientific rigor that no other text can match, Sexually Transmitted Diseases takes you through all aspects of STDs, from epidemiology to diagnosis and public health measures. Featuring an exciting new full-color format, the fourth edition of Sexually Transmitted Diseases delivers the most encyclopedic overview of the clinical, microbiological, and public health aspects of STDs, including HIV.

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

AIDS
American Diabetes Association Complete Guide to Diabetes This one-volume sourcebook contains all the information needed to live an active, healthy life with diabetes. Complete revised in 2005, this home reference contains information on the best self-care techniques and the latest medical advances.
Coronary Heart Disease : A Guide to Diagnosis and Treatment Coronary heart disease (CHD) is one of the most common and serious diseases in the United States, affecting 12 million Americans. This new edition addresses the concerns of those diagnosed with CHD, giving the most up-to-date and concise information regarding the disease and its treatment options. With the right medical treatment and lifestyle changes, those who suffer from CHD can live healthier and happier lives. Chapters explain how cholesterol affects the heart, what medical tests are needed, how medications work, what is involved in an angioplasty or bypass surgery, and how to spot the warning signs of a heart attack.
Diseases and Disorders Featuring more than 85 vibrant, fully annotated charts--19 new to this edition--this updated fourth edition of Diseases and Disorders: The World's Best Anatomical Charts is a perfect quick reference for medical and nursing students and an ideal visual aid for patient education.   Printed on oversized, cardstock pages and compiled in a convenient, 10" x 12" spiral-bound volume with a laminated cover, these full-color charts created by some of the world's best medical illustrators illustrate and explain common diseases and disorders of the brain; heart; GI tract; eye and ear; endocrine, muscular, skeletal, reproductive, and respiratory systems; dental diseases; infectious diseases; healthy lifestyle issues; and cancer.   Nineteen new charts cover Schizophrenia, Ovarian Cancer, Multiple Myeloma, Liver Cancer, Pancreatic Cancer, Prostate Cancer, Heart Failure, Peripheral Artery Disease, UC/Crohn's Disease, Irritable Bowel Syndrome, Age-Related Macular Degeneration, and more. All charts have been reviewed and updated. Medical terminology and easy-to-understand supporting text are printed directly on each chart. Every chart depicts an aspect of human anatomy, physiology, and disease presented in a clear, visual presentation. The book is ideal as a review resource or quick reference for studying human anatomy or for patient consultation and education.  
The Emperor of All Maladies : A Biography of Cancer Winner of the Pulitzer Prize-The Emperor of All Maladies, now a documentary from Ken Burns on PBS, is a magnificent, profoundly humane biography of cancer; from its first documented appearances thousands of years ago through the epic battles in the twentieth century to cure, control, and conquer it to a radical new understanding of its essence. The result is an astonishingly lucid and eloquent chronicle of a disease humans have lived with and perished from; for more than five thousand years. The story of cancer is a story of human ingenuity, resilience, and perseverance, but also of hubris, paternalism, and misperception. The book reads like a literary thriller with cancer as the protagonist.
Human Body in Health and Disease This widely read classic is an excellent primer on normal and abnormal anatomy, physiology and pathophysiology, basic microbiology, chemistry, and the human disease process. With an accessible design and a robust multimedia electronic ancillary package, the Twelfth Edition is even more engaging and understandable for students with diverse learning styles. It builds on its solid foundation by seamlessly integrating the placement and relationship of the art and text. A new full-body transparency insert has been added to the text to assist students in performing a virtual dissection of the human body from skin down to bone. The new editions' PASSport to Success retains all the visual, auditory, and kinesthetic activities introduced with the last edition, plus additional animations and activities. The interface has been enhanced to improve the student experience, while the connection with the text has been strengthened with a list of ancillaries by learning style on each chapter opener.
The Human Body in Health and Illness Using colorful cartoons, illustrations, and an easy-to-read approach, The Human Body in Health and Illness, 4th Edition makes it fun to learn anatomy & physiology. Clear, step-by-step explanations provide all the information you need to know, so concepts are easy to understand even if you have a limited background in the sciences. Written by well-known educator Barbara Herlihy, the book begins with a basic discussion of the human body and cellular structure and moves toward genetics and the greater complexity of the human organism. It breaks down complex concepts and processes into digestible chunks, and new features such as Re-Think and Go Figure! help you apply what you've learned to common problems in patient care. Full-color illustrations simplify difficult concepts and complex processes. Colorful cartoons use humor to clarify and reinforce the content, making it more memorable, accessible, and reader-friendly. Interesting analogies and examples make learning easier, especially if you're studying A&P for the first time. Key terms and objectives are listed at the beginning of every chapter, setting learning expectations and goals, with terms defined in a comprehensive glossary. Did You Know boxes include brief vignettes describing clinical scenarios or historical events related to A&P. Review tools include chapter summaries, Review Your Knowledge questions, and Go Figure! questions relating to figures and diagrams. UPDATED illustrations and content keep A&P information current and strengthen an already popular textbook. UPDATED Medical Terminology and Disorders tables include pronunciations, derivations, and word parts, along with expanded, in-depth descriptions of the most crucial information. UPDATED! The Evolve website assets include practice exams, interactive activities and exercises, the Body Spectrum Online Coloring Book, and more!
In Defense of Self : How the Immune System Really Works We live in a sea of seething microbial predators, an infinity of invisible and invasive microorganisms capable of setting set up shop inside us and sending us to an early grave. The only thing keeping them out? The immune system. William Clark's In Defense of Self offers a refreshingly accessible tour of the immune system, putting in layman's terms essential information that has been for too long the exclusive province of trained specialists. Clark explains how the immune system works by using powerful genetic, chemical,and cellular weapons to protect us from the vast majority of disease-causing microbes-bacteria, viruses, molds, and parasites. Only those microbes our bodies need to help us digest food and process vitamins are admitted. But this same system can endanger us by rejecting potentially life-saving organtransplants, or by overreacting and turning too much force against foreign invaders, causing serious--occasionally lethal--collateral damage to our tissues and organs. Worse yet, our immune systems may react as if we ourselves are foreign and begin snipping away at otherwise healthy tissues,resulting in autoimmune disease.
Introduction to Human Disease: Pathophysiology for Health Professionals As of March 1st: Each new print copy of Introduction to Human Disease, Sixth Edition now ships with an access code to Navigate 2 at no additional cost. Navigate 2 Advantage Access unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.For more information or to order the new package, visit: http://www.jblearning.com/catalog/9781284141542/
Microterrors : The Complete Guide to Bacterial, Viral and Fungal Infections That Threaten Our Health The hidden dangers surrounding us. Despite the confident strides of modern science, the threat of deadly unseen organisms such as viruses, bacteria and fungi still grip the imagination with their ferocious intensity. For instance, resistant strains of bacteria can now survive the strongest antibiotics and deadly new biological weapons are being cooked up in laboratories worldwide. Microterrors explores these threats as well as humanity's greatest living rivals that have been on the planet far longer than we have. The introduction covers terms, definitions and a brief natural history, including the role of viruses in human evolution, as well as bioengineering and biological weapons. Microterrors then presents the truly terrifying rogues' gallery of invisible killers. Dramatic life-like digital illustrations and computer-colored electron images provide mug book profiles of hundreds of naturally occurring and bioengineered microterrors, including: Ebola, bubonic plague, cholera, malaria Bacteria: pneumonia, anthrax, botulism Viruses: HIV, hepatitis, common cold Fungi and blood and tissue diseases.