Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
Essential Law and Ethics in Nursing
This thoroughly updated third edition lays a solid foundation for understanding the intersection of law, ethics and the rights of the patient, in the context of everyday nursing and health care practice. Outlining the key legal and ethical principles relevant to nurses, Essential Law and Ethics in Nursing: Patients, Rights and decision making- previously entitled: Patients' Rights: Law and Ethics for Nurses- uses an easy-to-read style that conveys key principles in an accessible way. It: provides a clear understanding not only of basic legal provisions in health care, but also of wider issues relating to human rights; covers topics such as ethical decision making, the regulation of nursing, confidentiality, laws concerning human rights, safe practice, vulnerable people, elder abuse, and employment regulations; and includes thinking points, case studies and relevant case law to help link theory to practice. This is essential reading for nurses, and an important reference for midwives and allied health professionals.
Legal and Ethical Issues in Nursing Education
Understand the legal framework that provides the structure of Nursing!This is the only current text to critically examine the vast array of legal and ethical matters confronting nursing faculty in classroom and clinical settings. Designed to assist students preparing to be nurse educators, academic nursing administrators, and novice and seasoned faculty in making real-life decisions about academic issues within a legal and ethical framework. Replete with practical advice from experts in the fields of nursing, law, and ethics, this text guides the reader through legal and ethical principles, analyses of relevant case-based scenarios, and practical recommendations for handling problems in accordance with existing laws and institutional policy. Clearly and concisely written and organized, this text provides a comprehensive description of the legal process, including higher education law, the courts, case law, the role of a university attorney, and how to read and cite judicial decisions. Real-world case scenarios and detailed analyses of pertinent issues, including coverage of incivility, discrimination, harassment, academic dishonesty, and freedom of speech, are examined from the perspective of students, faculty, and administrators. Key Features: An entire section of legal and ethical cases, featuring a unique philosophical and ethical perspective Delivers best practices for nursing faculty Provides tips on when to consult the university attorney, critical elements to consider, actions to take when law and ethics conflict, helpful resources, and a glossary of legal terms An Instructor's Manual and discussion questions facilitate teaching.
Nurse Practitioner's Business Practice and Legal Guide
Nurse Practitioner's Business Practice and Legal Guide, Seventh Edition is a must-have resource for every new or current nurse practitioner (NP). Drawing from the author's extensive experience as an NP followed by nearly 30 years as a practicing attorney focused on the many and varied legal issues affecting NPs, it is unlike any other text. This unique resource explains and analyzes the legal issues relevant to NPs in a straightforward and easy-to-read approach. The Seventh Edition discusses NP competencies, how the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) degree relates to NPs, the differences in primary care and acute care NPs, definitions of medical bio-ethics terminology, malpractice cases and the lessons to learn from them, emerging issues in health policy, guidelines around prescribing opioids and controlled drugs, clinical performance measures, electronic health records, and other relevant and practical topics specific to NPs.In how many states can NPs write prescriptions? What can an NP do if an insurance company refuses to pay the bill for a patient's visit? What should be covered in an employment contract? What is involved, legally, when starting a private practice? How does an NP know when to consult a physician? Nurse Practitioner's Business Practice and Legal Guide, Seventh Edition answers these questions and more, making it an indispensable resource for practicing NPs, students, those employing NPs, and attorneys representing NPs or the medical facilities in which NPs are employed.
Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and into Practice
Awarded second place in the 2023 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Professional Issues category!Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and Into Practice continues to provide a solid ethical foundation for nursing students in an updated sixth edition. This comprehensive, easy-to-read text covers ethics across the nursing curriculum, making it a perfect fit for any undergraduate course.Logically divided into three parts, Nursing Ethics, Sixth Edition underscores how ethics is interwoven with nearly every aspect of professional nursing practice. It guides students through the foundations of ethics in nursing, ethical considerations across the lifespan, and ethical considerations for areas such as leadership and public health. Engaging learning features, including case studies, legal perspectives, and research notes bring concepts to life and serve to remind students that ethics really does sit at the heart of professional nursing practice and quality patient care.The Sixth Edition features information on current mainstream topics as related to nursing ethics, including:* Updated content on the status of abortion;* Updated content reflecting and referencing the overturning of Roe v. Wade by the Supreme Court;* Updated content related to women's rights/pro-life arguments;* Contains new information and a case study surrounding the RaDonda Vaught case;* Updated content related to HPV and the.
Nursing Ethics: Feminist Perspectives
The aim of this book is to show how feminist perspectives can extend and advance the field of nursing ethics. It engages in the broader nursing ethics project of critiquing existing ethical frameworks as well as constructing and developing alternative understandings, concepts, and methodologies. All of the contributors draw attention to the operations of power inherent in moral relationships at individual, institutional, cultural, and socio-political levels. The early essays chart the development of feminist perspectives in the field of nursing ethics from the late 19th century to the present day and consider the impact of gender roles and gendered understandings on the moral lives of nurses, patients and families. They also consider the transformative potential of feminist perspectives to widen the scope of nursing and midwifery practices to include the social, economic, cultural and political dimensions of moral decision-making in health care settings. The second half of the book draws on feminist insights to critically discuss the role of nurses and midwives in leadership, healthcare organisations, and research as well as the provision of particular forms of care e.g. care in the home and abortion care.
Spiritual Dimensions of Advanced Practice Nursing
This book recognises the challenges associated with the concept of spirituality. An awareness of this concept is integral to the provision of person-centred holistic care. However, APNs ability to provide spiritual care is often impeded by time pressures and the prioritisation of clinical tasks. Confusion about the meaning of spiritually and its relationship to religion compound the challenges involved in providing spiritual care leaving APNs feeling ill-equipped to address this area of care. Indeed many APNs view spirituality as synonymous with religion. This book provides clarity with the assumption that spirituality is innate to all of our patients and is related to what gives them hope, meaning and purpose. Fundamentally it is about being human. APNs ability to practice with kindness, compassion and empathy will naturally resonate with spiritually competent practice. It begins with an outline of the definitions of spirituality in addition to the concept of spiritually competent practice. An emphasis on the importance of personal development follows. Case studies from countries across the globe illustrate the benefit of integrating spirituality and provide evidence of the importance and relevance of integrating spirituality into practice. These include discussion and presentations of the related concepts of availability and vulnerability which will give APNs more confidence and competence to integrate spirituality into practice. This book is relevant for APNs, students, educators and researchers.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
Bioethics: what everyone needs to know
The questions and dilemmas of bioethics touch everyone. Should people who refuse to be vaccinated be treated for COVID-19, even if that displaces vaccinated patients with other serious conditions? What restrictions on abortion should there be, if any? Should women be paid to donate eggs? Bioethics: What Everyone Needs to Know ® discusses these and other similar questions facing the public today--as well as providing a way for thinking deeply about them. Steinbock and Menzel first examine major moral theories and how they can be used to analyze bioethical issues. They then provide historical background to the birth of bioethics and explain how it shifted from a paternalistic doctor knows best approach to respect for autonomy, a fundamental value in contemporary bioethics. Subsequent chapters cover advance directives, experimentation on human subjects, the definition of death, physician-assisted dying, abortion, disability, just healthcare systems, the allocation of scarce resources, pharmaceutical drug pricing, assisted reproductive technology, egg donation, surrogate motherhood, sex selection, and the genetic modification of humans. Race and gender are considered throughout, as are the ethical issues raised by pandemics. Steinbock and Menzel consider the controversial questions that surface in the public sphere, explaining the facts, and then evaluating different approaches to resolving them.
Ethics and Issues in Contemporary Nursing
Learn how to think beyond the theoretical in any environment. Ethics & Issues in Contemporary Nursing, 1st Edition examines the latest trends, principles, theories, and models in patient care to help you learn how to make ethically sound decisions in complex and often controversial situations. Written from a global perspective, examples throughout the text reflect current national and international issues inviting you to explore cases considering socio-cultural influences, personal values, and professional ethics. Historical examples demonstrate how to think critically while upholding moral and professional standards, as well as the law. Key topics throughout explore advocacy and rights, diversity, nurse burnout, mass casualty events, social media, violence in the workplace, medication error prevention, opioid and other substance use, HIPAA, and healthcare reform. In addition, this new title contains supplemental case studies and review questions to further challenge and prepare you to make morally sound decisions in any healthcare setting. NEW! Case Presentations from the United States and around the World address ethical dilemmas across the practice of nursing. NEW! Think About It boxes present provocative questions within every case presentation. NEW! Thoroughly up-to-date and well referenced content ensures material presented is accurate. NEW! Straightforward and conversational writing style makes content interesting and understandable. NEW! Review questions on Evolve allow students to practice what they have learned. NEW! Case studies on Evolve help students apply the theoretical concepts they have learned. NEW! Ask Yourself questions integrated into each chapter help students understand the relevance of the material. NEW! Discussion questions and Activities within every chapter encourage students to think beyond the theoretical. NEW! Summary and Highlights within every chapter make it easier for students to thoroughly understand key elements.
The Ethics of Shared Decision Making
Patients today are more empowered and knowledgeable than they have ever been. By law, they must be told about the risks and benefits of proposed treatments and give informed consent before treatment is initiated. Through the democratization of medical information, they have access to peer-reviewed medical journals. Social media allows patients to share stories with others and to learn about other people's experiences with various treatments. There are websites written by experts at leading medical schools to help patients understand diseases and treatments. They have the right to see their medical records. The net result of all changes is a shift in the power balance between doctors and patients. Ideally, as a result of these shifts, the patients' values and preferences should guide treatment decisions. However, this proliferation of information often leads to confusion rather than clarity. Publicly available information often includes seemingly contradictory conclusions and recommendations. Patients don't know which opinions to trust. So, although patients have more information than ever, and many want to make decisions for themselves, they need more guidance than ever to help them process an avalanche of information. This volume aims to help both medical professionals and their patients navigate the evolving healthcare landscape by analyzing the process of shared decision-making (SDM) in clinical medicine. The concept of SDM has emerged in the last two decades as a middle ground between, on the one hand, old-fashinioned physician paternalism of the "doctor-knows-best" variety and, on the other hand, unfettered patient autonomy by which patients are thought capable of individually and independently choosing their own medical interventions. Advocates of SDM imagine that decisions will be made best if they follow a complex discussion and negotiation between doctor and patient; such discussions should incorporate the doctor's medical and technical expertise as well as the patient's goals, values, and preferences. SDM takes different forms for different patients in different clinical circumstances. This volume gathers experts in SDM to share their insights about how it ought to be done. The authors include clinicians, social scientist, and philosophers, all of whom have thought about or cared for patients from a variety of backgrounds and in a variety of clinical circumstances. The papers explore the complexity of SDM and offer practical guidance, gained from years of experience, about how to employ SDM as effectively as possible.
The Practical Guide to Hipaa Privacy and Security Compliance
Following in the footsteps of its bestselling predecessor, The Practical Guide to HIPAA Privacy and Security Compliance, Second Edition is a one-stop, up-to-date resource on Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) privacy and security, including details on the HITECH Act, the 2013 Omnibus Rule, and the pending rules. Updated and revised with several new sections, this edition defines what HIPAA is, what it requires, and what you need to do to achieve compliance. The book provides an easy-to-understand overview of HIPAA privacy and security rules and compliance tasks. Supplying authoritative insights into real-world HIPAA privacy and security issues, it summarizes the analysis, training, and technology needed to properly plan and implement privacy and security policies, training, and an overall program to manage information risks. Instead of focusing on technical jargon, the book spells out what your organization must do to achieve and maintain compliance requirements on an ongoing basis.
Toward a Better World
Nurses are positioned on healthcare's front line, intimately connected to individuals, families, and communities. How can they leverage this position to work for the common good?In Toward a Better World, Mark Lazenby, a philosopher and a nurse, presents a plan of action. He argues that nurses advance the good society when they fulfill fundamental obligations. Promoting equality, peace and respect, providing assistance and safety, and safeguarding the health of our planetare among these obligations. By acting upon them, nurses become a force for social change in their communities. But through the collective power of more than 20 million nurses worldwide, nurses become a global force for making the world a better place - in the present and for the future.A companion to Caring Matters Most, Lazenby's ethics book, Toward a Better World challenges readers to lead good lives of service to others. This book will invigorate all, nurses and non-nurses alike, who wish to spend their lives making the world a better place.
Understanding Ethics for Nursing Students
Ethics have an significant impact on the decisions nurses make in their day-to-day work, so it's important for all student nurses to develop their understanding of ethical frameworks as preparation for future practice. In this book, the author explains ethical ideas, theories and concepts in simple to understand terms, focussing on real-life nursing situations in order to make applying these principles to practice easy. This book will make student nurses consider their own values, and how ethics fit into who they are and how they behave, helping them to unlock this interesting and complex subject. Key features: Fully mapped to the NMC Future Nurse standards of proficiency (2018) A practical guide that explores how ethics applies to nursing and shows you how the theory fits in to the realities of practice Contains real work case studies with an emphasis on ethical decision making Activities challenge students to reflect on their own values, experiences and prejudices and to think about how ethics fits in with who they are and how they behave
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
