Evidence Based Practice

Essential Evidence Plus™ & AHFS DI® Essentials™

Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research

Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing

Neonatal Nursing Care Handbook: An Evidence-Based Approach to Conditions and Procedures

Nursing Research: Reading, Using, and Creating Evidence

The PEACE Model: Evidence-Based Practice Guide for Clinical Nurses Nurses are in charge of the patients and their families throughout the hospital and health system experience. They assist patients through illness to achieve higher levels of health. They coordinate the care throughout the patients' experiences with the healthcare system. Nurses are the leaders of patient care at the bedside and beyond. It is important that as clinical leaders, nurses have the most accurate, most up-to-date, and evidence-based information available so that they can always do the right thing. The PEACE model develops clinical nurses as leaders in care of both patients and their families. Clinical nurses, those at the point of care, have embraced this model for guiding their practice. The PEACE model helps clinical nurses solve challenging problems through a rigorous evidence-based practice process-from problem identification to evaluation and dissemination. The crux of the PEACE model is the mnemonic that simplifies the evidence-based practice (EBP) process for clinical nurses. The PEACE model is used across NewYork-Presbyterian (NYP), one of the nation's most comprehensive academic healthcare delivery systems. NYP is composed of 10 hospitals in New York and employs more than 11,000 nurses across the enterprise. One striking advantage of the model is that it emerged from the work of clinical nurses who were struggling to find a way to remember and apply the components of other EBP models. Clinical nurses have indicated that the components of the PEACE model make the model memorable and useful: P for problem identification E for evidence review A for appraising the evidence C for changing practice or conducting research E for evaluating and disseminating the findings The last stage of the PEACE model is particularly important to advancing nursing practice across institutions. We have found that unless the model results are disseminated through scholarly presentations and publications, the clinical challenges continue to be present across sites and institutions. We emphasize this phase and conduct publication workshops to help clinical nurses shape the dissemination of their EBP work. Nurses' active participation in EBP and research is critical to improving the care we provide to patients and furthering nursing science. It is important to note that the design of the PEACE model intentionally linked EBP, quality improvement (QI), and research. The mnemonic PEACE promotes understanding and application by clinical nurses, providing a way to easily remember the EBP component stages. The uniqueness of the PEACE model is its simplicity. This relevance leads to continued application in day-to-day nursing practice. As we strive for peace at many levels of our lives and work, the mnemonic is easy to remember. The PEACE model may be adapted to any setting where nurses practice.

Essential Research for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing Care This textbook delves into nursing research's fundamental concepts, methodologies, and applications, equipping novice and experienced researchers with the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct rigorous and impactful studies. Nursing research is a systematic investigation that aims to generate new knowledge, enhance understanding, and contribute to evidence-based nursing practice. It provides a scientific foundation for decision-making, fosters innovation, and promotes delivering high-quality, patient-centered care. This textbook provides a comprehensive overview of research and evidence-based practice in nursing, catering to both nurses and nursing students. It describes the principles, methods, and processes involved in conducting research, critically appraising literature, and implementing evidence-based practice in nursing care. The main topics addressed include research design and methodology, critical appraisal of research literature, evidence-based practice concepts and processes, translating evidence into practice, disseminating research, and future directions in nursing research. The textbook also highlights the integration of emerging trends and technologies in healthcare research, empowering nurses to stay up-to-date with the latest advancements. Discussing topics like telehealth, big data analytics, and artificial intelligence in the context of evidence-based practice, the book equips nurses to leverage modern tools for improving patient outcomes effectively. Another distinguishing feature of this textbook is its emphasis on real-life case studies and scenarios. Offering practical examples, readers can visualize the application of research findings in different healthcare settings, making the content more engaging and relatable. This approach bridges the gap between theory and practice, promoting a deeper understanding of how evidence-based nursing care positively impacts patient wellbeing. This textbook can help a nursing student embarking on a research journey or an experienced nurse seeking to enhance research skills; it is a valuable resource to guide readers through the exciting and rewarding world of nursing research.

Essentials of Nursing Research: Appraising Evidence for Nursing Practice Essentials of Nursing Research, equips students with everything they need to confidently apply research to nursing practice. AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck clarify the language of nursing research and instill a practical understanding of nursing research fundamentals and the research process for both quantitative and qualitative studies -- including design principles; sampling and data collection; criteria for assessing data quality; appraising the quality, rigor, and trustworthiness of studies; and approaches to understand the statistical results. This updated edition incorporates the latest clinical insights and approaches to research to familiarize students with increasingly important considerations in today's nursing practice, including the involvement of patients and stakeholders in translating research evidence to local settings; the appraisal of not only the rigor of research designs and methods but also the relevance and applicability of practice-based evidence; and the effective use of research in local quality improvement (QI) projects.

Making Sense of Research in Nursing, Health and Social Care What is research and how does it work in the context of nursing, health and social care? This introductory guide provides you with a concise overview of the different research methods and terminology that you will come across when undertaking research in any course related to nursing, health and social care. The book's easy-to-follow structure takes you from research novice to confident researcher, helping you to make sense of research and understand how it is implemented in healthcare practice. The new edition includes: Improved case examples of real research, with more on group work, poster presentations, research output and dissemination, literature reviews, and dissertations. Upgraded activities that include reflective exercises, critical appraisal tools, a dissemination plan, and a glossary, all in the book. This is essential reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students within the health and therapy professions, nurses, midwives, physiotherapists, radiographers, occupational therapists, speech and language therapists, and paramedics.

Textbook for Transcultural Health Care: A Population Approach This textbook is the new edition of Purnell's famous Transcultural Health Care, based on the Purnell twelve-step model and theory of cultural competence. This textbook, an extended version of the recently published Handbook, focuses on specific populations and provides the most recent research and evidence in the field. This new updated edition discusses individual competences and evidence-based practices as well as international standards, organizational cultural competence, and perspectives on health care in a global context. The individual chapters present selected populations, offering a balance of collectivistic and individualistic cultures. Featuring a uniquely comprehensive assessment guide, it is the only book that provides a complete profile of a population group across clinical practice settings. Further, it includes a personal understanding of the traditions and customs of society, offering all health professionals a unique perspective on the implications for patient care.