Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
Careers in Healthcare
Written for students in high school or undergraduate programs, Careers in Healthcare explores a variety of growing fields to help young adults gain a head start in learning more about the many career opportunities available and to help those make a better-informed decisions when selecting a career path or field of study.
Improving Person-Centered Innovation of Nursing Care : Leadership for Change
This edition helps students and nursing professionals give each patient their unique position in healthcare delivery. The book provides tools to connect key topics and innovations in healthcare, developing a complete perspective on patient/person-centred care. It provides a comprehensive picture of important and recent insights on health and care. At its core, nurses provide care with a focus on the patient as a person. This person-centred care engages each patient's needs, preferences and expectations when providing integrated care. In this volume, care starts from the patient's point of view rather than from the role and function of the healthcare professional. The author relates themes such as relational care delivery, shared decision-making and empowerment to key concepts such as patient- and family-centred care, integrated care, patient-centred leadership(styles), quality of care and value-based healthcare. This book briefly and powerfully integrates these themes and describes them from a patient and client perspective, underpinned by the scientific literature on them. The themes are linked in a flowchart, starting from illness and working towards health, extending health even if people have a (physicalor mental) health problem. The purpose of this book is to offer a professional view of person-centred care. It stresses the importance of shared-decision making and leadership in promoting health in the care-setting. As such, it will be essential for any healthcare professional.
Innovative Decision Making in Healthcare : A Case-Based Approach to Nursing Leadership in Academic and Clinical Settings
Large, successful organizations only transform after failure. If everything is going well, there is a tendency not to challenge methods. It is only once things have gone radically wrong that a successful organization starts to reexamine their methods and culture. This book is about organizational leadership, but provides a unique spin to promoting innovation, inclusion and transparency among employees. It examines co-author Steven Rotkoff's experiences as a retired US Army Colonel and Red Team strategies used by the military and the corporate world to make better decisions and improve organizational culture and applies them to nursing in both clinical and academic settings. Centering cases derived from US-based academic and clinical settings, the book discusses how and why some strategies do and others don't work and examines how these military and corporate strategies apply effectively to nursing settings. Turning a lot of the available literature on its head, this book offers new models and methods to foster better conversations, particularly between managers and staff. Nursing has changed in both academic and clinical settings. Just as military and corporate organizations have had to change their organizational behavior and leadership styles and methods to meet the needs of today's employees and consumers, the nursing profession must change to meet the needs of faculty, an inter-professional health care environment and our increasingly inclusive and diverse environments.
Notes on... Nursing Leadership
NOTES ON... NURSING LEADERSHIP Unlock the secrets to effective nursing leadership with this essential guide In the ever-evolving landscape of healthcare, leadership capability is a vital skill for nurses, however, leadership development and application within the field is rarely addressed during training. This essential resource ensures nurses are equipped with the guidance needed to develop as effective and resilient leaders within the workplace. Centred on the clinical nurse's perspective, this text serves as a practical guide to applying nursing leadership concepts and provides a timely and authoritative overview of what it means to be a nurse leader in the health service. Throughout the text, the authors provide vignettes that share their personal experiences, highlight the value of applying nursing leadership, describe the different components of leadership, and more. Notes On... Nursing Leadership is a must-read for undergraduate and trainee nurses looking for a concise introductory text that links current key debates and thinking in leadership to nursing practice. It is also an invaluable resource for qualified and practicing nurses wanting to develop their leadership skills, broaden their leadership potential, or inspire and support other nurses in their approach to leadership.
Nursing Leadership Scope and Standards of Practice 3rd Edition by
The Nursing Leadership: Scope and Standards of Practice, Third Edition, formerly titled Nursing Administration, is an essential document for every nurse leader. The scope of practice statement answers the who, what, when, where, how, and why questions of nursing leadership. The standards provide authoritative statements of the actions and behaviors that all nurse leaders are expected to competently perform, regardless of role, population, specialty, and setting. The product of extensive thought work by many nurse leaders, this new edition provides 19 national standards of practice and professional performance. Many standards are accompanied by detailed competencies for nurse leaders. This premier professional resource informs and guides nurse leaders in their vital work providing safe, quality, and competent care. What is the value of this product for nurses? Great resource for nurse managers and leaders to scope of their role and the standards they are expected to meet in their practice. An essential resource for organizations applying to Pathway to Excellence or Pathway to Excellence in Long-Term Care.
Principles of Health: Nursing
Nursing is the largest U.S. healthcare profession with nearly 4 million registered nurses (RNs) nationwide, and is projected to grow at a much faster rate than the average for all occupations. Principles of Health: Nursing explores this vitally important profession from several angles, including: - The history of nursing, with profiles of well-known and influential persons in the field, like Florence Nightingale, Elizabeth Blackwell, and Clara Barton, as well as of professional organizations; - Various nursing disciplines, including pediatrics, home care, anesthesiology, end-of-life care, critical care, cardiology, among others; - Specific nursing settings, such as emergency rooms, intensive care units, neonatal units, assisted living facilities, hospice, and more. Essays are comprehensive and accessible to high school students, undergraduates, and general readers interested in the profession of nursing. Each essay includes multiple subheads including an opening Summary and Further Reading. The volume ends with a Glossary, Bibliography, and Subject Index.
Take Charge of Your Nursing Career
The essential theme of the book is the notion of career as a fluid process. A career is not stagnant or simply a job. It is a process that must be nurtured-constantly grown and managed. A career is an opportunity to find one's voice and use it to promote both the individual and professional impact of one's expertise. A career should be challenging, always giving way to more learning and mentoring opportunities. Career is a global concept; the intricacies of career development and management across the globe cannot be overlooked. A career journey ebbs and flows-one of the great characteristics of a professional nursing career. There are always options to consider on one's career path-opportunities to gain experience and expertise in diverse areas, often never considered by professional nurses. Take Charge of Your Nursing Career provides the reader with a unique and distinct perspective on career development and management. It covers timely and relevant topics, strategies, tips, and examples for professional nurses to use to develop and manage their careers from beginning to end. It also provides resources and websites that they can access as needed as they define their personal career trajectory. The topics discussed throughout the book are ones that professional nurses at all points on their career journey are asking about and dealing with in their careers, now and in the future. Professional nurses can turn to this user-friendly book through the entirety of their career.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
Nursing Scope and Standards of Practice, 4th Edition
The premier resource for professional nursing practice, Nursing: Scope & Standards of Practice, 3rd Edition, is informed by the advances in health care and professional nursing today. This keystone standard contains 17 national standards of practice and performance that define the who, what, where, when, why and how of nursing practice.
Self-Care for Nurses: 100+ Ways to Rest, Reset, and Feel Your Best
Take care of your patients by taking care of yourself with these 100 self-care activities specifically designed to help nurses reduce stress, feel their best--and ready to make a difference! There's no doubt about it: today's healthcare workers have a lot on their plates. Between balancing the needs of your patients and giving your all to support your coworkers, getting burnt out and overwhelmed is a real risk. So how do you make sure you take time for yourself to recharge? With Self-Care for Nurses, you'll find 100 activities specifically designed to help you relax, take a break, and feel reenergized. Whether you need a quick pick-me-up in the middle of your shift or are looking for some new ways to unwind after the workday is over, you'll find helpful solutions like: -Writing a list of your accomplishments -Practicing yoga -Learning how to ask for help -And much more! Whether you're a new nurse or a seasoned veteran, self-care is important for all. Start your nursing self-care practice--today!
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
