Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Fourth Edition
Highly anticipated and fully updated, Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Fourth Edition, is a practical and useful guide for nurses who need to bridge the gap from incomplete sentences to a published manuscript. Lead Author and Editor Cynthia Saver removes the fear and confusion most nurses have about the writing and publishing process. Along the way, 25 of nursing's top writing experts and decision makers share important insights to increase the likelihood that your manuscript is accepted for publication. In this book, you will learn how to: ? Collaborate and coauthor with professionals in other healthcare disciplines ? Navigate interprofessional continuing education (IPCE) Write qualitative studies and report the different instruments used ? Avoid being the victim of predatory publishing? Turn your dissertation or capstone project into a published article? Write a letter to the editor or write a book review? Work with and manage contributors when writing a book? Understand open access, SQUIRE, APA, and more
APA Style and Citations for Dummies
Write right in for scholarly success While world-renowned for the precision and clarity it lends to scholarly writing, keeping track of APA style's exacting standards can be demanding (at times even excruciating!) for initiates and seasoned writers alike. Created and governed by the American Psychological Association, it provides a universal style for formatting, citations, and footnotes in psychological research, behavioral and social science journals, and beyond. Getting up to speed is tough stuff, but once you've got it, your work will have that easy-to-follow scholarly authority that will get high marks from your professors and peers alike. Your friendly, frustration-free guide for this adventure in simplifying APA style is Joe Giampalmi, who has taught more than 100 APA-style composition courses to college students. He takes the pain of following APA style away by breaking it down to its essential elements and focusing on the important stuff students encounter most. You'll work through specific, real-life examples of using APA style for psychology, criminology, business, and nursing papers. In addition to demystifying the intricacies of formatting and citation, APA Style & Citations For Dummies has got you covered in all matters of grammar and punctuation--as well as guidance on how APA style can help you negotiate issues around the ethics of authorship and the importance of word choice in reducing bias. Develop conciseness and clarity Pay attention to flow, structure, and logic in your writing Know when, why, how, and what to cite Keep your writing ethically conscious and bias-free Writing in APA style is something that almost all students will need to do at some point: APA Style & Citations For Dummies is a must-have desk reference to know how to win the approval of your professors--and earn the marks you need for success!
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions
The revised edition of the Handbook offers the only guide on how to conduct, report and maintain a Cochrane Review 
 The second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions contains essential guidance for preparing and maintaining Cochrane Reviews of the effects of health interventions. Designed to be an accessible resource, the Handbook will also be of interest to anyone undertaking systematic reviews of interventions outside Cochrane, and many of the principles and methods presented are appropriate for systematic reviews addressing research questions other than effects of interventions. This fully updated edition contains extensive new material on systematic review methods addressing a wide-range of topics including network meta-analysis, equity, complex interventions, narrative synthesis, and automation. Also new to this edition, integrated throughout the Handbook, is the set of standards Cochrane expects its reviews to meet. Written for review authors, editors, trainers and others with an interest in Cochrane Reviews, the second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions continues to offer an invaluable resource for understanding the role of systematic reviews, critically appraising health research studies and conducting reviews.
The Concise APA Handbook
"Most students struggle with learning how to find references, use them effectively, and cite them appropriately in a required format. One of the most common formats is that of APA. The authors all have vast experience teaching writing courses to various levels of students from undergraduates to graduates in other countries. However, there was lacking a book that could explain the basics of APA in simple, easy-to-understand language for non-native speakers of English, who are often unfamiliar with using references and formatting an essay in a particular method. In order to offer English Learner student writers a source of information that is appropriate for their level, and is cost-effective, this updated APA 7th edition guidebook provides students with important information in clear, concise, user-friendly language, as well as to offer practical examples that will help them grasp the concept of secondary research writing. Much of the published materials on the market targets native speakers of English. The problem with this is that they present the nitpicky details of APA in ways that do not make sense to native speakers of English, let alone to those for whom English is not their first language, because the information is presented in very technical terms that are not easy to understand. This handbook presents the same information in simplified terms with images and step-by-step instructions in ways that make sense to both native and non-native English speaking student writers. Additionally, student writers often struggle with understanding the concept of plagiarism, as well as how to find sources, evaluate the appropriateness of sources, and use sources in effective ways (e.g., how to integrate quotes, when to paraphrase, among others). This book provides this important information that is concise and easy to understand."--
Critical Thinking for Nursing, Health and Social Care
This practical book will equip students with the critical thinking, reading and writing skills required to succeed both on their course and in their professional placements. It takes readers through the core stages of working on an assignment, from finding and evaluating sources through to critically reading material and demonstrating critical analysis in their writing. With chapters featuring content-specific examples and engaging exercises, this book is an essential resource for undergraduate students of Nursing, Health, Social Care and related disciplines.
Introducing Research and Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing and Healthcare Professionals
Research can seem difficult to get to grips with. However, at the heart of this new edition is the view that research is essentially a simple activity, the principles of which can be readily understood by students new to the subject. Each chapter guides the reader to uncover the 'mysteries' of research, exposing each aspect in turn, while demonstrating how research in healthcare is a practical activity, orientated directly to patient care. Fully updated to refer to the latest sources and studies, the third edition includes:  a new chapter on systematic literature reviews;  a new chapter on research ethics;  a completely revised chapter on evidence-based practice which now focuses more tightly on the implementation of research and other forms of evidence. This book is designed for all students of nursing and allied health professions at any level but who find themselves studying research for the first time. Research is illustrated through examples of activities familiar to students from their daily lives, which help build confidence in undertaking research and evidence-based practice.
Nursing Research: Reading, Using, and Creating Evidence
Nursing Research: Reading, Using, and Creating Evidence, Fifth Edition is a foundational text for students which teaches the basics for creating and using evidence in nursing practice. Written in a conversational tone, the hallmark of this text is its readability and the author's skillfulness in simplifying otherwise complex topics such as evidence-based care, qualitative and quantitative studies, and translation of research to practice. Evidence-based practice is an integral part of nursing. Today's nurse needs to demonstrate proficiency in reading research, determining its use in their practice, and participating in the research process. The Fifth Edition is intuitively organized around the three main competencies - reading, using and creating evidence - all of which enable the reader to translate research into evidence in a practical way. This text is intended to teach and support the clinical practice of students, professional nurses returning to school, and practicing nurses that must apply evidence to patient care.
Nursing Research Using Data Analysis: Qualitative Designs and Methods in Nursing
This is a concise, step-by-step guide to conducting qualitative nursing research using various forms of data analysis. It is part of a unique series of books devoted to seven different qualitative designs and methods in nursing, written for both novice researchers and specialists seeking to develop or expand their competency. This practical resource encompasses such methodologies as content analysis, a means of organizing and interpreting data to elicit themes and concepts; discourse analysis, used to analyze language to understand social or historical context; narrative analysis, in which the researcher seeks to understand human experience through participant stories; and focus groups and case studies, used to understand the consensus of a group or the experience of an individual and his or her reaction to a difficult situation such as disease or trauma.
Nursing Research Using Historical Methods: Qualitative Designs and Methods in Nursing
This is a concise, step-by-step guide to conducting qualitative nursing research using various forms of historical analysis. It is part of a unique series of books devoted to seven different qualitative designs and methods in nursing, written for both novice researchers and specialists seeking to develop or expand their competency. Historical research is a qualitative research method that systematically examines past events from existing documents or other data, or by interviewing individuals who lived through those events, in order to understand the past.
Nursing Research Using Participatory Action Research: Qualitative Designs and Methods in Nursing
Participatory action research is a qualitative research method conducted in collaboration with a community of people in order to effect changes in the community that are relevant to the residents. This is a practical, "how-to" resource for conducting participatory action research that guides readers, step by step, through planning, conducting, and disseminating nursing research using this qualitative design. It is part of a unique series of seven books devoted to nursing research using qualitative designs and methods.
Nursing Research Using Phenomenology: Qualitative Designs and Methods in Nursing
This "how-to" book describes the foundations of phenomenology and the specifics of how to conduct nursing research using phenomenological designs.
Person-Centred Nursing Research: Methodology, Methods and Outcomes
This book is the first ever to offer a contemporary collection of different perspectives on person-centredness in international doctoral nursing research. The research in the book is based on the ideas and values of personhood and person-centeredness, which have been used and can be seen to guide research approaches, inform research designs and theorize research findings. Further, a specific framework for person-centred nursing is embedded throughout the research studies presented in the text. The Person-centred Nursing Framework (PCNF) developed by Brendan McCormack and Tanya McCance in 2010, is recognized as a nursing theory and this book further develops it as a basis for research and for advancing person-centredness in nursing. The framework informs all stages of the research process, from design through to dissemination. The book is structured into a number of highly engaging chapters written by doctoral candidates, and recently graduated candidates. The opening and closing chapters, written by the editors, place the subsequent chapters in a global context of person-centredness and nursing. The potential for person-centred nursing research to be a global movement is recognized and debated. The subsequent chapters lead readers through philosophical ideas, methodologies and methods whilst also offering reflective and honest insights into learning how to become a person-centred researcher. This field is growing and developing but yet there is no specific book available. As a result, researchers spend considerable time and effort translating existing research methodologies into person-centred perspectives. This book fills this gap and acts as a key resource for future nurse researchers. The text is intended for, and benefits nursing doctoral candidates, masters candidates and academic staff who teach and supervise research candidates; it may also appeal to other graduate learners. The book has international contributions which makes it appealing internationally.
Qualitative Metasynthesis
Qualitative Metasynthesis presents a research method developed for upcycling and synthesis of qualitative primary studies, aimed at researchers within medicine and health sciences. This book demonstrates how and why qualitative metasynthesis can be a method for reuse and expansion of medical knowledge. It presents the principles of metasynthesis as a qualitative research method, so that the reader can assess whether this is a research strategy that fits the aim of their study. The author offers practical advice for conducting research using this methodology. The presentation is illustrated by a study carried out by the author and collaborators,　reflecting on real-life challenges and solutions as an example of meta-ethnography, one of the most frequently used strategies for qualitative metasynthesis. The author also looks at systematic reviews, a methodology developed within in the tradition of evidence-based medicine, discussing strengths, weaknesses and pitfalls of this methodology. Rooted in the interpretative paradigm, qualitative metasynthesis challenges several of the principles from the evidence-based medicine tradition, offering reflections on challenges when epistemologically very different methodologies intersect. This book should be considered essential reading for anyone carrying out qualitative research within the fields of medicine, health and social care.
Qualitative Research in Health Care
Provides the essential information that health care researchers and health professionals need to understand the basics of qualitative research Now in its fourth edition, this concise, accessible, and authoritative introduction to conducting and interpreting qualitative research in the health care field has been fully revised and updated. Continuing to introduce the core qualitative methods for data collection and analysis, this new edition also features chapters covering newer methods which are becoming more widely used in the health research field; examining the role of theory, the analysis of virtual and digital data, and advances in participatory approaches to research. Qualitative Research in Health Care, 4th Edition looks at the interface between qualitative and quantitative research in primary mixed method studies, case study research, and secondary analysis and evidence synthesis. The book further offers chapters covering: different research designs, ethical issues in qualitative research; interview, focus group and observational methods; and documentary and conversation analysis. A succinct, and practical guide quickly conveying the essentials of qualitative research Updated with chapters on new and increasingly used methods of data collection including digital and web research Features new examples and up-to-date references and further reading The fourth edition of Qualitative Research in Health Care is relevant to health care professionals, researchers and students in health and related disciplines.
Reflective Writing for Nursing, Health and Social Work
This book takes students step-by-step through the process of planning and writing a reflective essay, beginning with crucial guidance on planning and structure. It introduces different reflective frameworks and shows readers how to structure a piece of writing according to a particular framework. Chapters contain a wealth of activities and exercises which will help build students' skills and confidence. Suitable for students of all health-related disciplines in which written assignments requiring reflective practice are required.
Statistical Thinking in Clinical Trials
Statistical Thinking in Clinical Trials combines a relatively small number of key statistical principles and several instructive clinical trials to gently guide the reader through the statistical thinking needed in clinical trials. Randomization is the cornerstone of clinical trials and randomization-based inference is the cornerstone of this book. Read this book to learn the elegance and simplicity of re-randomization tests as the basis for statistical inference (the analyze as you randomize principle) and see how re-randomization tests can save a trial that required an unplanned, mid-course design change. Other principles enable the reader to quickly and confidently check calculations without relying on computer programs. The `EZ' principle says that a single sample size formula can be applied to a multitude of statistical tests. The `O minus E except after V' principle provides a simple estimator of the log odds ratio that is ideally suited for stratified analysis with a binary outcome. The same principle can be used to estimate the log hazard ratio and facilitate stratified analysis in a survival setting. Learn these and other simple techniques that will make you an invaluable clinical trial statistician.
Teach Yourself: Public Speaking in a Week: Presentation Skills In Seven Simple Steps
Write a speech to which people will want to listen that is well-researched, uses stimulating content and is tailored to the needs of the audience
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
Essentials of Nursing Research: Appraising Evidence for Nursing Practice
The world's most widely used nursing research textbook, Essentials of Nursing Research, Tenth Edition equips students with everything they need to confidently apply research to nursing practice. AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck clarify the language of nursing research and instill a practical understanding of nursing research fundamentals and the research process for both quantitative and qualitative studies -- including design principles; sampling and data collection; criteria for assessing data quality; appraising the quality, rigor, and trustworthiness of studies; and approaches to understand the statistical results. This updated edition incorporates the latest clinical insights and approaches to research to familiarize students with increasingly important considerations in today's nursing practice, including the involvement of patients and stakeholders in translating research evidence to local settings; the appraisal of not only the rigor of research designs and methods but also the relevance and applicability of practice-based evidence; and the effective use of research in local quality improvement (QI) projects. UPDATED! New organization simplifies the presentation of complex topics and better facilitates the use of research evidence in nursing practice. Clear, approachable writing makes difficult ideas easily digestible, even to students with no prior knowledge of technical terms. Critical Appraisal Guidelines walk students through studies and highlight aspects amenable to evaluation by research consumers. Research Examples and Critical Thinking Exercises emphasize important points and sharpen students' critical thinking skills. Tips help students confidently translate abstract notions of research methods into concrete applications. Colorful tables, figures, and examples engage students' attention and reinforce their understanding. Chapter Objectives emphasize essential information in each chapter. Key Terms familiarize students with common research terms. Bulleted Summary Points highlight key takeaways at a glance.
Fast Facts to Loving Your Research Project: A Stress-free Guide for Novice Researchers in Nursing and Healthcare
While often greeted with trepidation, the importance of a research project--how it is conducted and its significance to practice--is an essential aspect of nursing and other healthcare arenas. This innovative resource is a user-friendly introduction to evidence-based practice and other types of research-based initiatives that improve patient outcomes. Using a method formed through years of teaching experience, Brenda Marshall translates the difficult and sometimes confusing language of research into everyday vocabulary, linking complicated concepts with easily understood scenarios. Written in quick-access Fast Facts style, this book presents knowledge in a consistent, step-by-step format characterized by bite-sized information. Each chapter opens with learning objectives that unfold into new concepts, followed by everyday life examples. Fast Facts boxes, systematized tables, and new vocabulary reinforce learning and highlight key concepts. This application-based approach helps students question their preconceived notions about research and then engage in it with newfound confidence.Key Features: Translates complex research concepts into straightforward languageDemonstrates clear, step-by-step methods that facilitate successful attainment of research goalsHelps students to construct an argument, build a theory, and critically explore a beliefPromotes self-sufficiency in lifelong learning and achievementWritten by an instructor whose classes have propelled many successful research careers
Making Sense of Research in Nursing, Health and Social Care
What is research and how does it work in the context of nursing, health and social care? Now in its 7th edition, this introductory guide provides you with a concise overview of the different research methods and terminology that you will come across when undertaking research in any course related to nursing, health and social care. The book's easy-to-follow structure takes you from research novice to confident researcher, helping you to make sense of research and understand how it is implemented in healthcare practice. The new edition includes: Updates in line with the 2018 NMC standards, with more information on the impact of GDPR, consent and vulnerable groups, Personal and Public Involvement (PPI), and work-based projects. Improved case examples of real research, with more on group work, poster presentations, research output and dissemination, literature reviews, and dissertations. Upgraded activities that include reflective exercises, critical appraisal tools, a dissemination plan, and a glossary, all in the book. This is essential reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students within the health and therapy professions, nurses, midwives, physiotherapists, radiographers, occupational therapists, speech and language therapists, and paramedics.
Pain-Free Writing for Nurses: A Step-by-Step Guide
This book will make you a more effective and prolific author of scholarship Pain-Free Writing for Nurses is an enjoyable but effective primer on writing and will improve your scholarly contributions to the nursing literature. The tips provided in this book will improve your writing, increase your output, and help you address the stress involved in creating meaningful, professional content. This concise, practical text provides: Strategies to deal with the anxiety and procrastination associated with writingRationales for writing in today's academic and professional nursing environmentBasic structures for scholarly writingHow to find a topicHow to develop and use a manuscript outline to save timeStrategies to increase readership of your workHow to deal with feedback, criticism, and critiqueHelpful examples of various scholarly documents, including: DNP and other scholarly projectsAbstractsData-based and non-data-based scholarly manuscriptsResearch proposalsAcademic assignments and job postingsJob application and recommendation letters, professional writing, and more The authors share personal stories and tips learned through years of professional and academic writing. Writing Tip The primary purpose of scholarly writing is to communicate new knowledge. If you want to write to mystify your reader, write a mystery novel. If you want to be creative in your writing, compose haiku. If you want to focus on scholarly writing, read this book☺
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association : the official guide to APA style, 7th edition
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Reading, Understanding, and Applying Nursing Research
What is the evidence? How do you find it? How do you evaluate it? Put the evidence to work in your practice! Integrate today's best scientific knowledge into your clinical decision-making. Step by step, you'll learn to effectively evaluate and apply nursing research and to understand its potential impact on the quality of your patient care. Easy to read."Great book, easy to read, very good review of research for beginners, lots of information but goes over a lot, definitely a keeper!"--Online Reviewer
Resource Manual for Nursing Research: Generating and Assessing Evidence for Nursing Practice
The perfect complement to Nursing Research: Generating and Assessing Evidence for Nursing Practice, 11th Edition, this knowledge-building Resource Manual strengthens students' understanding of concepts from the textbook and enhances their ability to confidently appraise and critique research studies. With an emphasis on careful reading and critical appraisal of actual studies, systematic learning exercises reinforce the acquisition of basic research skills fundamental to designing and planning one's own study. The Resource Manual appendices cover a range of nursing research endeavors, including critical appraisals of two research reports, two grant applications, and thirteen full research reports encompassing qualitative, qualitative, and mixed-methods studies, an instrument development study, and an evidence-based practice project report. The Resource Manual is accompanied by the invaluable online Toolkit, a must-have, timesaving innovation for students and seasoned researchers. Refined and easily adaptable research tools, available as editable Word files, address a broad range of research situations and can be customized to meet your specific needs. Crossword Puzzles provide an entertaining and challenging review of key terms and concepts. Study Questions encourage critical thinking and reinforce the most relevant content from each textbook chapter. Application Exercises hone students' ability to read, comprehend and critique nursing studies most effectively. Full research reports in the robust appendices cover a wide range of endeavors. TheToolkit delivers fast online access to dozens of timesaving, adaptable resources that can be downloaded and customized to meet your specific needs.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
