Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
ASHP Best Practices 2016-2017
The most comprehensive set of quality guidelines available to the pharmacy profession. More than half a century ago, ASHP#65533; developed its earliest proposed practice standard - the Proposed Minimum Standards for Pharmacies in Hospitals. Today, ASHP continues to foster concrete improvements in pharmacy practice and in the therapeutic use of drugs with its annual compilation of ASHP guidance documents: ASHP Best Practices. These guidance documents have stimulated improvements in pharmacy practice and operations, influenced accreditation standards, laws, and regulations (both in the United States and in other countries), and contributed to an awareness among consumers and policymakers of the vital patient care role of pharmacists. ASHP positions and more than 70 ASHP guidance documents of varying scope that provide ongoing advice to practitioners and health systems to help improve the medication-use process, patient care and safety, and patient outcomes and quality of life. It includes: ASHP Statements. ASHP Guidelines. Technical Assistance Bulletins. Therapeutic Position Statements. Therapeutic Guidelines. ASHP-Endorsed Documents.
Case Studies in Pharmacy Ethics
Pharmacists face ethical choices constantly - sometimes dramatic life-and-death decisions, but more often subtle, less conspicuous choices that are nonetheless important. Among the topics confronted are assisted suicide, conscientious refusal, pain management, equitable distribution of drug resources within institutions and managed care plans, confidentiality, and alternative and non-traditional therapies. Veatch and Haddad's book, first published in 1999, was the first collection of case studies based on the real experiences of practicing pharmacists, for use as a teaching tool for pharmacy students. The second edition accounts for the many changes in pharmacy since 1999, including assisted suicide in Oregon, the purchasing of less expensive drugs from Canada, and the influence of managed care on prescriptions. The presentation of some cases is shortened, most are revised and updated, and two new chapters have been added.The first new chapter presents a new model for analyzing cases, while the second focuses on the ethics of new drug distribution systems, for example hospitals where pharmacists are forced to choose drugs based on cost-effectiveness, and internet based pharmacies.
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, 17th Edition
Ideal for courses in nursing programs covering drug and/or drug administration. Also serves practicing nurses Monographs provide user-friendly "Cure" and "Care" organization to allow users to find must-know information quickly and easily Designed to focus on patient safety by calling out 'High Alert' drugs and using red, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects Includes 1-year free access to Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, a database of over 5,000 drugs and FDA news alerts Canadian-specific content, including Canadian trade names and drugs specifically approved for use in Canada A wealth of online resources including an audio pronunciation library, calculators, and video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, 19th edition
Nursing student must-have. "This is a must-have. Hands down the best book ever."--Jennifer S. SAFETY FIRST WITH 'CURE & CARE'! Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Nineteenth Edition delivers everything you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--well-organized monographs encompassing hundreds of generic drugs and thousands of trade names. It's the #1 Drug Guide for patient safety. BONUS! FREE DIGITAL ACCESS An access code inside new, printed texts unlocks a one-year, FREE subscription to DrugGuide.com, Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine. You'll have information on more than 5,000 trade names and generic drugs at your fingertips, as well as audio pronunciations and color photographs, all updated regularly. LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE AT A GLANCE In depth coverage of patient safety, including a red tab for high alert medications, red, bold, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects, a REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon, and more Special considerations for patient populations IV administration subheads Pharmacogenomic content Maple leaf icon for Canadian-specific content Patient and family teaching guidance FREE ONLINE LEARNING, CARE PLANNING, AND PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Audio Library of 1,200+ drug names Tutorials with self-tests, Preventing Medication Errors and Psychotropic Drugs Calculators for body mass index (BMI), metric conversions, IV drip rates, dosage/KG and Fahrenheit/Celsius. Interactive Case Studies, each followed by a series of questions Video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications
Medicine Management Skills for Nurses
Anxious about managing medicines? Worried you'll make a mistake? This handy book is an essential guide for all nursing students, enabling you to understand the theory and practice of drug administration and facilitate your confidence and competence. This essential guide explores the theory and practice of drug administration briefly and coherently, with ?test your knowledge? exercises and questions throughout to assess your learning. It also includes ?words of wisdom?- tips from real life students from their own experiences. Ideal for carrying to clinical placements, Medicine Management Skills for Nurses is an essential guide to drugs and medicine administration. Special features: - Pocket sized for portability - Clear, straightforward, and jargon-free - Takes away the fear of drugs and medicines management, making it approachable, easy and fun - Features tips and advice from real life nursing students - Ties in with the NMC standards for pre-registration education and the Essential Skills Clusters - Examples and questions based on real life nursing and healthcare examples
Principles of Pharmacology
This new resource introduces students and researchers to the fundamentals of pharmacology using easy-to-understand language, to provide a solid background, and help readers develop a deeper understanding and appreciation of this important and evolving subject. Pharmacology is a branch of biology that studies the interaction of drugs and living organisms to better understand how they can affect biochemical function. Today, pharmacologists rely on genetics, molecular biology, and biochemistry in the quest to develop effective, personalized medicine. In over 120 articles arranged in A to Z order, Principles of Pharmacology addresses a variety of topics in this field. Entries related to basic principles and concepts include fields of study related to the topic; an abstract that provides a brief, concrete summary of the topic; key concepts important to a proper understanding of the topic; text that gives an explanation of the background and significance; illustrations that clarify difficult concepts via models, diagrams, and charts; and further reading lists that relate to each entry.
Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.
2020 Nurse's Drug Handbook
The Jones & Bartlett Learning 2020 Nurse's Drug Handbook is the most up-to-date, practical, and easy-to-use nursing drug reference. Updated annually, it provides accurate and timely facts on hundreds of drugs from A-Z. Written in a no-nonsense style that speaks your language in terms you use every day, it offers concise and consistently formatted drug entries organized alphabetically.The 2020 Nurse's Drug Handbook includes:* Index of all generic, trade, and alternate drug names* Chemical and therapeutic classes, FDA pregnancy risk category, and controlled substance schedule* Indications and dosages, as well as route, onset, peak, and duration information* Incompatibilities and contraindications* Interactions with drugs, food, and activities* Adverse reactions* Nursing considerations, including key teaching points for patients* Mechanism-of-action illustrations* Warnings and precautions* Updated antineoplastic drug therapy appendix* Addition of bolded Life-Threatening Adverse Reactions (ADRs)
Buzzed
"The essential source for understanding how drugs affect the body and behavior. Fully updated, this matter-of-fact handbook includes the most recent discoveries about drug use, including new information on electronic smoking devices, abuse of prescription stimulants, and the opioid crisis. “Lively, highly informative, unbiased, [and] thorough” (Addiction Research & Theory), Buzzed surveys drugs from caffeine to heroin to reveal how these drugs affect the body, the different “highs” they produce, and the circumstances in which they can be deadly. Neither a “Just Say No” treatise nor a “How to” manual, Buzzed is based on the conviction that people make better decisions with accurate information at hand." -- Provided by publisher.
Dimensional Analysis: Calculating Doses Safely
"Dimensional Analysis: Calculating Dosages Safely provides a systematic approach to solving both simple and complex dosage problems. The dimensional analysis method organizes data methodically and allows learners to examine developing calculations for errors. It is an ideal method to build confidence, speed, and competency in dosage calculations. The third edition of this book serves to correct errors in the previous edition; eliminate bias in examples and case studies;"-- Provided by publisher.
Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 16th Edition
"Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, along with case studies that introduce clinical problems. chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. Updated to reflect the latest research, this sixteenth edition features a new chapter on cannabinoids, USMLE-style questions, new drug tables, and more"-- Publisher's description.
Pharmacology Clear and Simple
Save time and money with two books in one + online Q&A! Half pharmacology, half dosage calculations --plus an intensive, yet clear & simple review of basic math and online quizzing! Here's the must-have knowledge and guidance you need to gain a solid understanding of pharmacology and the safe administration of medications in one text. A body systems approach to pharmacology with a basic math review and a focus on drug classifications prepare you to administer specific drugs in the clinical setting. Now with online Q&A practice in Davis Edge! Purchase a new, print copy of the text and receive a FREE, 3-year subscription to Davis Edge, the online Q&A program with 1,600 questions in all, 800 for Medical Assisting and 800 for Nursing. Davis Edge helps you to create quizzes in the content areas you choose to focus on, build simulated practice exams, and track your progress every step of the way. The Text New! Pronunciations for key terms at the beginning of each chapter New! Word-building and gerontological issues features New! New appendix on intravenous therapy Basic math review helps students learn to perform the calculations necessary to administer medications correctly. Medication administration presented through pharmacology basics, techniques and procedures, supplies, safety and regulations, and prescriptions and label "Master the Essentials" tables cover side effects, precautions, contraindications, and interactions for each classification. Drug classification review tables reinforce need-to-know information in each class. "Fast Tip" boxes offer quick facts and mnemonics. "A Closer Look" boxes examine important information in detail. "Check-up Questions" throughout each chapter promote understanding and help students retain and apply the information. Coverage of specific drugs provides context for learning drug classifications. Critical-thinking exercises encourage students to think beyond the chapter and apply their new knowledge to real-life scenarios. Review questions at the end of each chapter reinforce learning. Davis Edge Online Q&A FREE, 3-year access with purchase of new, print text 800 questions for Medical Assisting and 800 for Nursing "Quiz Builder" lets you select practice questions by exam section or topic area. Rationales for correct and incorrect responses provide immediate feedback. "Student Success Center" dashboard monitors your performance over time, helping to identify areas for additional study.
Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy
Ready to master the medication process? Tap into the go-to resource for nursing pharmacology basics, with the fully updated new fifth edition of Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy!®. Offering clear, concise descriptions of crucial nursing pharmacology concepts and procedures, this easy-to-follow, colorfully illustrated guide offers step-by-step guidance so to can grasp the fundamentals in enjoyable Incredibly Easy style. From initial assessment to safe medication administration and patient care plans, this is the perfect supplement to class materials, offering solid preparation for NCLEX®, as well as a handy refresher for experienced nurses. Learn the ins and outs of nursing pharmacology care, with the latest data and protocols: NEW chapters on patient education, sensory drugs, and dermatologic drugs NEW chapter on medication safety, including abbreviations to avoid and a review of dosage calculations NEW content on current approved medications, and dosages, and expected versus adverse effects NEW content on emergency drugs, herbs/supplements, immunization schedule, and more Hundreds of colorful diagrams, drawings, and charts that illustrate core concepts, with easy-to-retain definitions and clear direction on administering drugs; drug distribution, absorption, and metabolism; drug classes and their uses; and potential drug interactions Quick-scan outline format offers up-to-date guidance on areas including: Nursing pharmacology fundamentals Concepts of pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, and pharmacotherapeutics Pain drugs, autonomic nervous system drugs, neurologic and neuromuscular drugs Psychotherapeutic, anti-infective, anti-inflammatory, anti-allergy, and immunosuppressant drugs Antineoplastic drugs, drugs for fluid and electrolyte balance Ways a drug may affect patients of different ages and other warnings Content reflects the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model - guidance from initial assessment to evaluating outcomes "Practice Makes Perfect" end-of-book practice exam - approximately 100 new NCLEX®-style questions, to increase your exam confidence Chapter features include: Prototype pro - Actions, indications, and nursing considerations for common prototype drugs A three-step process is provided throughout the chapters to help you care for individuals taking commonly prescribed medications Pharm function - Explains and illustrates how drugs act in the body, and addresses how to recognize and treat adverse reactions Before you give that drug - Warnings to consider before you administer a drug Education edge - Information to share with your patient Black Box Warnings boxes draw attention to life-threatening concerns Lifespan Lightbulb boxes highlight information about how a drug or drug class may affect patients of different ages Quick quiz - End-of-chapter questions with answers/explanations, to help you remember the essentials Nurse Joy and Jake illustrated characters offer tips and insights throughout About the Clinical Editors Cherie R. Rebar, PhD, MBA, RN, CNE, CNECI, COI, FAADN, is a Professor of Nursing at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio Nicole Heimgartner, DNP, MSN, RN, CNE, CNECI, COI, is a Nursing Faculty member at Galen College of Nursing in Louisville, Kentucky Carolyn Gersch, PhD, MSN, RN, CNE, is a Professor of Practice in the Nursing Program at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio
Pharmacology Mnemonics: the Most Common Medication Prefixes, Suffixes, and Roots and How to Remember Them by
Pharmacology Mnemonics: Memorize the Most Common Generic Drug Names Looking to learn pharmacology quickly and effectively? Look no further. Get the tools you need to master pharmacology, fast! Compound Your Learning to Gain Confidence Quickly Memorize the signature pieces of generic medication names to instantly 10x your learning 60 prefixes, suffixes, and roots provide the master keys to hundreds of medications Unique memory devices to solidify you new knowledge Create your own mnemonics and watch your retention double Easy-to-Read formatting 5.5" x 8.5" pages Stop Stressing and Start Synthesizing. Get Your Copy Today!
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
