COM Library has some great collections of primary sources. Primary sources are records created at the time of an event or experience, or as told by people who were present at the event. Must be on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding primary sources? Try Tips for Finding Primary Sources or Tips for Finding Primary Sources Open Access.
Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must be on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
Defining Documents in American History - Censorship
Offers in-depth analysis of sixty-five documents, including diary excerpts, speeches, court rulings, legal texts, legislative acts, essays, newspaper and magazine articles and interviews that help define events concerning different forms of censorship experienced since colonial times, and how those events have helped shape history.
Defining Documents in American History: Civil Rights (1954–2015)
Defining Documents in American History: Civil Rights offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents and historic events that shaped civil rights struggles in American history. This text closely studies more than forty primary source documents to deliver a thorough examination of civil rights movements in the U.S. from 1954 to 2015.
Defining Documents in American History: Dissent and Protest
Dissent & Protest studies crucial documents from various protests, dissents, revolts, riots, and revolutions throughout American history, from the American Revolution to the Black Lives Matter Movement of today. This text closely studies more than eighty primary source documents to deliver a thorough examination of issues so important to Americans that they took action, exercised their rights and stood up to protest.
Defining Documents in World History: Human Rights
After World War II, the United Nations’ Universal Declaration of Human Rights set the modern standard in international law following the horrors of the war. Since then, human rights have come to be widely espoused by liberal Western nations and generally disparaged by authoritarian regimes. Organizations like Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch promote human rights and document abuses.
This set, Defining Documents in World History: Human Rights, offers in-depth analysis of fifty-two documents, including agreements, book excerpts, constitutions, conventions, declarations, legislative acts, proclamations, speeches, statements, statutes, and treaties. These selections trace the evolution of human rights, in its many forms and contexts, from 539 BCE to today. The first volume of this set includes essays on the following topics: Race, Ethnicity, and Colonialism; Political and Civil Rights; and International Efforts and the Work of the United Nations. The second volume continues with the following: Gender, Sexuality, and the Family; and Economic and Labor Rights.
Documents Decoded: Freedom of Speech
Detailed yet highly readable, this book explores essential and illuminating primary source documents that provide insights into the history, development, and current conceptions of the First Amendment to the Constitution. * Provides readers with accessible explanations of key points in many seminal Supreme Court cases, thereby enabling a better appreciation of specific developments in freedom of speech in the United States * Explains confusing legal terms and phrases in plain English for nonspecialist readers * Offers easy-to-follow explanations from a noted First Amendment scholar and authority who has been explaining and teaching First Amendment topics for two decades
Documents Decoded: Women's Rights
Taking a broad view of the ongoing efforts to attain rights for women, this work provides unique insight into the context of the issues and reveals the range of factors that can influence a particular policy decision. * Carefully examines the major issues that helped frame women's rights in various key policy areas * Blends the practical explanations of the government's role in women's rights with the feminist theoretical foundations of the quest for these rights * Supplies crucial context for all women's rights policy statements, including information about the statements' authors as well as the political dynamics surrounding the issue * Presents coverage of policy statements that illustrate some of the key players in the attainment of women's rights and uniquely demonstrate the various ways women's rights have been framed across history * Clearly illustrates the relationship of women's rights issues to fields of study as disparate as business, history, healthcare, law enforcement, and political science, among others * Includes coverage of some of the major political challenges to women's reproductive rights witnessed in the previous decade * Considers some of the most difficult and controversial issues related to women's rights, such as the "war on women" and the country's pervasive rape culture
Essential Primary Sources: Human and Civil Rights
Primary source documents focusing on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Covers slavery and genocide, labor, civil rights, education and more.
Testimonio: A Documentary History of the Mexican-American Struggle for Civil Rights
Beginning with the early 1800s and extending to the modern era, Rosales collects illuminating documents that shed light on the Mexican-American quest for life, liberty, and justice. Documents include petitions, correspondence, government reports, political proclamations, newspaper items, congressional testimony, memoirs, and even international treaties.
Search OneSearch for more books in COM Library.
Brown v. Board of Education: A Brief History with Documents
This book addresses the origins, development, meanings, and consequences of the 1954 Supreme Court decision to end Jim Crow segregation. Using legal documents to frame the debates surrounding the case, Waldo Martin presents Brown v. Board of Education as an event, a symbol, and a key marker in the black liberation struggle.
Here are more primary sources. Must be on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Check Open Access for primary sources that anyone can access.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
