LibGuides: Policy: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

Controlling Cyberspace: The Politics of Internet Governance and Regulation Informed by theories of international relations, this book assesses global political conflicts over cyberspace. It also analyzes the unique governance challenges that the Internet presents, both in terms of technical problems and control over content. Reviews how the Internet works and reveals how Internet governance has evolved over time, both at the regional and international levels; Enables readers to understand that Internet governance is not an esoteric topic of interest only to academics, but one that profoundly affects how our personal information is collected, used, and controlled; Provides an assessment of the consequences of following alternative paths to realize global Internet governance.
The Fifth Estate What role do think tanks play in shaping public policy and public discourse in the United States? In The Fifth Estate: Think Tanks, Public Policy, and Governance, James G. McGann illustrates how policymakers have come to value the independent analysis and advice provided by think tanks and why it has become one of the defining characteristics of the American political system. Drawing on case studies in both foreign and domestic policy, McGann clarifies the correlation between think tank research and the policies enacted by the past three presidential administrations. He also describes a phenomenon known as "the revolving door," where think tanks provide former government officials an opportunity to share insights from public service, remain involved in policy debates, and continue to provide advice and commentary. Based on the history and the level of involvement seen today, the influence of think tanks is unlikely to diminish in the coming years.
For the Many or the Few: The Initiative, Public Policy, and American Democracy Direct democracy is alive and well in the United States. Citizens are increasingly using initiatives and referendums to take the law into their own hands, overriding their elected officials to set tax, expenditure, and social policies. John G. Matsusaka's For the Many or the Few provides the first even-handed and historically based treatment of the subject. Drawing upon a century of evidence, Matsusaka argues against the popular belief that initiative measures are influenced by wealthy special interest groups that neglect the majority view. Examining demographic, political, and opinion data, he demonstrates how the initiative process brings about systematic changes in tax and expenditure policies of state and local governments that are generally supported by the citizens. He concludes that, by and large, direct democracy in the form of the initiative process works for the benefit of the many rather than the few. An unprecedented, comprehensive look at the historical, empirical, and theoretical components of how initiatives function within our representative democracy to increase political competition while avoiding the tyranny of the majority, For the Many or the Few is a most timely and definitive work.
Marijuana Politics: Uncovering the Troublesome History and Social Costs of Criminalization What is the big deal about cannabis? This modern book covers everything from botany to the historical uses of marijuana to common misconceptions about the use of cannabis, with a primary focus on the political process of prohibition and legalization of cannabis in the United States. Clearly presents the facts on how cannabis prohibition started and why cannabis prohibition is ending; Identifies and challenges the common misconceptions about cannabis on both sides of this hot-button issue; Provides a current perspective on the state trends toward legalization that explains the who, why, and how of the issue; Explains the complex relationship between state marijuana legalization and the federal government, including findings from the executive, legislative, and judicial branch.
The Path of American Public Policy Among all the worlds' democracies, the American system of government is perhaps the most self-conscious about preventing majority tyranny. The American constitutional system is predicated on an inherent ideational and institutional tension dating back to the foundation of the nation in the eighteenth century, which constrains innovative policy development. Namely, the framers designed a system that simultaneously seeks to protect the rights of the minority out of power and provide for majority rule. These opposing goals are based on the idea that limiting governmental power will guarantee individual liberty. The Path of American Public Policy: Comparative Perspectives asks how this foundational tension might limit the range of options available to American policy makers. What does the resistance to change in Washington teach us about the American system of checks and balances? Why is it so difficult (though not impossible) to make sweeping policy changes in the United States? How could things be different? What would be the implications for policy formation if the United States adopted a British-style parliamentary system? To examine these questions, this book gives an example of when comprehensive change failed (the 1994 Contract with America) and when it succeeded (the 2010 Affordable Care Act). A comparison of the two cases sheds light on how and why Obama's health care was shepherded to law under Nancy Pelosi, while Newt Gingrich was less successful with the Contract with America. The contrast between the two cases highlights the balance between majority rule and minority rights, and how the foundational tension constrains public-policy formation. While 2010 illustrates an exception to the rule about comprehensive policy change in the United States, the 1994 is an apt example of how our system of checks and balances usually works to stymie expansive, far-reaching legislative initiatives.
The Reference Shelf: Guns in America A national debate continues to rage in regard to 2nd amendment rights in contemporary society. This collection will deal with concerns about domestic violence committed by guns, the ramifications of a widely armed citizenry, the government's failure to pass comprehensive gun legislation, as well as police brutality, strong gun lobbies, open-carry laws, home-grown terrorism, fatal shootings of black men by police in Louisiana and Minnesota, and the Orlando massacre. From domestic terrorism, to the Black Lives Matter movement articles in this title will reflect differences in policy views on the subject in the longstanding debate around gun rights and gun control.
The Reference Shelf: Immigration Each book in the Reference Shelf series offers extensive, unbiased exploration of a topic of importance in modern society, in a compilation of notable articles from respected publications, abstracts of 20 to 30 additional articles, and a bibliography of other sources.
The Reference Shelf: Internet Abuses and Privacy Rights From the controversy surrounding Edward Snowden's security leak of classified information, to hacked email accounts of prominent political candidates, Internet privacy and cyber security present major ethical issues in today's technology-centric society. Countries are challenged to find the right balance in securing personal data and how to regulate the sale and exchange of information obtained on the internet. Innovative technologies and data collection that enable novel modes of interaction and new opportunities for knowledge can also be abused to invade people's privacy, provide new tools of discrimination, and harm individuals and communities. This title will address both sides of this complex topic.
Religious Freedom in America: A Reference Handbook This book provides the answers to controversial questions about religious liberties in the United States and connected issues through balanced, thorough, and nonjudgmental coverage of the issues in a reference format. Ideally suited for students and general readers who want to learn more about the history and current events concerning religious freedom in an easy-to-understand fashion; Includes a Perspectives chapter that allows readers to "hear" opposing voices from individuals who are concerned with religious freedom in America; Presents the facts about religious freedom so that readers can reach their own conclusions; Highlights the challenge of reaching an agreement on the line of church/state separation that exempts some individuals from obeying laws because of their religious beliefs in an increasingly pluralistic society comprising members of diverse faiths.
When Religious and Secular Interests Collide This book examines the countervailing arguments in the religious exemption debate and explains why this issue continues to be so heated and controversial in modern-day America. Provides up-to-date coverage that highlights the full history of religious exemption cases from the 19th through 21st centuries; Presents a detailed analysis of the Hobby Lobby case that stemmed from a corporation's response to portions of the Affordable Care Act, an ongoing topic of both scholarly and public debate. Highly valuable to any classroom, public library, or academic library as well as to anyone interested in the interplay between religion and the law in the United States.

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

American Foreign Policy: Past, Present, and Future Glenn Hastedt's clear and succinct introduction to the field provides a compelling way to prepare students to think about America's changing role in the world and to develop the critical thinking skills they need to participate in the debate about the conduct and content of American foreign policy. He does so in four specific ways. First, he raises the question, "what are the key components of foreign policy and what is the national interest?" Second, Hastedt looks to the past and asks, "how did we get here?" and "how do we learn from the past?" He finds the answers in the nature of the contemporary international system, the American national style, and the actions of past administrations. Third, he asks "how is foreign policy made?" Answering this question leads to an examination of American domestic politics on foreign policy, the institutions that make it, how they all come together to make policy, and the policy instruments available to decision makers. Fourth, he asks, "what next?" The tenth edition updates reflect the latest headlines, helping students see American policy toward Syria, Russia, Eastern Europe, China, and other world hotspots in historical and geopolitical context.
American Foreign Policy Since World War II As distinctive as it has been, the Bush administration's foreign policy still fits within Hook and Spanier's coherent theme of American exceptionalism. Chances are that the Obama administration, no matter how different it may be, will also share this orientation in important ways, thereby giving your students the historical context they need to understand not just the past eight years, but the full history of American foreign policy since World War II. This revision to their classic text is much more than a simple update. Careful editing and streamlining of key chapters keep the book relevant and accessible, while placing recent events in their proper perspective. Key revisions include: Previously separate chapters on U.S. relations with the developing world and U.S. involvement in Vietnam have been combined to show the collision of East-West and North-South relations. Chapters on the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan are thoroughly updated. Full treatment is given to the current economic crisis. A new concluding chapter makes note of the changing of the guard from Bush to the Obama administration, and looks ahead to Obama's leadership, strategic goals, and policy initiatives. Students will also find abundant resources in new or updated tables, figures, and maps, as well as a robust set of appendixes and end-of-chapter materials, including a chronology of world events and annotated web resources.
The Death and Life of the Great American School System: How Testing and Choice Are Undermining Education A passionate plea to preserve and renew public education, The Death and Life of the Great American School System is a radical change of heart from one of America's best-known education experts. Diane Ravitch--former assistant secretary of education and a leader in the drive to create a national curriculum--examines her career in education reform and repudiates positions that she once staunchly advocated. Drawing on over forty years of research and experience, Ravitch critiques today's most popular ideas for restructuring schools, including privatization, standardized testing, punitive accountability, and the feckless multiplication of charter schools. She shows conclusively why the business model is not an appropriate way to improve schools. Using examples from major cities like New York, Philadelphia, Chicago, Denver, and San Diego, Ravitch makes the case that public education today is in peril. Ravitch includes clear prescriptions for improving America's schools: leave decisions about schools to educators, not politicians or businessmen; devise a truly national curriculum that sets out what children in every grade should be learning expect charter schools to educate the kids who need help the most, not to compete with public schools; pay teachers a fair wage for their work, not "merit pay" based on deeply flawed and unreliable test scores; encourage family involvement in education from an early age. The Death and Life of the Great American School System is more than just an analysis of the state of play of the American education system. It is a must-read for any stakeholder in the future of American schooling.
The Nuclear Age Provides a two volume set that explores the development of nuclear technology and its use in military weapons and power generation.
The Oxford Handbook of U. S. Social Policy The American welfare state has long been a source of political contention and academic debate. This Oxford Handbook pulls together much of our current knowledge about the origins, development, functions, and challenges of American social policy. After the Introduction, the first substantive part of the handbook offers an historical overview of U.S. social policy from the colonial era to the present. This is followed by a set of chapters on different theoretical perspectives available for understanding and explaining the development of U.S. social policy. The three following parts of the volume focus on concrete social programs for the elderly, the poor and near-poor, the disabled, and workers and families. Policy areas covered include health care, pensions, food assistance, housing, unemployment benefits, disability benefits, workers' compensation, family support, and programs for soldiers and veterans. The final part of the book focuses on some of the consequences of the U.S. welfare state for poverty, inequality, and citizenship. Many of the chapters comprising this handbook emphasize the disjointed patterns of policy making inherent to U.S. policymaking and the public-private mix of social provision in which the government helps certain groups of citizens directly (e.g., social insurance) or indirectly (e.g., tax expenditures, regulations). The contributing authors are experts from political science, sociology, history, economics, and other social sciences.
The Presidency and Domestic Policy: Comparing Leadership Styles, FDR to Obama This book systematically examines the first terms of every president from FDR to Barack Obama and assesses the leadership style and policy agenda of each. Success in bringing about policy change is shown to hinge on the leadership style and skill in managing a variety of institutional and public relationships. The second edition of this timely book adds chapters on George W. Bush and Obama and focuses on the significant domestic policy challenges of their respective times. The authors have reconfigured the analytical framework of the book to take into account the 'dynamic opportunity structure' that emerged during the George W. Bush administration. The Presidency and Domestic Policy provides unique insights into contemporary presidential leadership in a highly partisan age.
The Public Policy Theory Primer Public policy is a broad and interdisciplinary area of study and research in the field tends to reflect this. Yet for those teaching and studying public policy, the disjointed nature of the field can be confusing and cumbersome. This text provides a consistent and coherent framework for uniting the field of public policy. Authors Kevin B. Smith and Christopher W. Larimer offer an organized and comprehensive overview of the core questions and concepts, major theoretical frameworks, primary methodological approaches, and key controversies and debates in each subfield of policy studies from the policy process and policy analysis to program evaluation and policy implementation. The third edition has been updated throughout to include the latest scholarship and approaches in the field, including new and expanded coverage of behavioral economics, the narrative policy framework, Fourth Generation implementation studies, the policy regime approach, field experiments, and the debate of program versus policy implementation studies. Now with an appendix of sample comprehensive exam questions, The Public Policy Theory Primer remains an indispensable text for the systematic study of public policy.
Stress Testing the USA: Public Policy and Reaction to Disaster Events In this volume, the USA is treated as a system that has been stress-tested by four unique events: the War on Terror, Hurricane Katrina, the Financial Meltdown that led to the Great Recession and the Giant Oil Spill. The author uses stress-testing to identify weaknesses within the "system," and examine the response to disaster.
Understanding Public Policy An introduction to public policy that helps students learn how to think critically about politics. Understanding Public Policy provides an introduction to the study of public policy, as well as an overview of the models that political scientists use to describe and explain political life. Offering students the tools needed to analyze public policy, author Thomas Dye highlights why governments pursue particular policies, and helps students understand the consequences of these policy choices. The fifteenth edition has been updated to reflect the key issues that have defined President Obama's second term, with plenty of examples drawn from the headlines to help students see how public policy affects their own lives.
Welfare Reform Explores the criticisms that the current welfare system is anti-work and anti-family and discusses the proposed plans to reform it.