LibGuides: Lifespan Development: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development remains the most authoritative and accessible account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, its comprehensive coverage includes everything from prenatal development to adolescence, pediatrics, theories and research methods, physical development, social and emotional development, perceptual and cognitive development, language development, psychopathology, and parenting.
Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories - Piaget's Theories of Developmental Stages In attempting to understand and explain various behavior, events, and phenomena in their field, psychologists have developed and enunciated an enormous number of 'best guesses' or theories concerning the phenomenon in question. Such theories involve speculations and statements that range on a potency continuum from 'strong' to 'weak'. The term theory, itself, has been conceived of in various ways in the psychological literature. In the present dictionary, the strategy of lumping together all the various traditional descriptive labels regarding psychologists 'best guesses' under the single descriptive term theory has been adopted. The descriptive labels of principle, law, theory, model, paradigm, effect, hypothesis and doctrine are attached to many of the entries, and all such descriptive labels are subsumed under the umbrella term theory. The title of this dictionary emphasizes the term theory (implying both strong and weak best guesses) and is a way of indication, overall, the contents of this comprehensive dictionary in a parsimonious and felicitous fashion. The dictionary will contain approximately 2,000 terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts, as well as the historical definition, analysis, and criticisms of psychological concepts. Terms and definitions are in English.
Encyclopedia of Aging - Developmental Psychology
Great Myths of Child Development Great Myths of Child Development reveals the latest evidence-based science behind the myths and misconceptions about the developing child. Shatters the most commonly-held child development myths. Reveals the science behind such topical issues as twin-telepathy, sex-prediction, and imaginary friends. Covers hot-button issues like childhood vaccines, spankings, "time-outs," and breastfeeding of older children. Features numerous pop culture references and examples drawn from popular TV shows and movies, such as Duck Dynasty, Modern Family and Mad Men Points to a wealth of supplementary resources for interested parents--from evidence-based treatments and self-help books to relevant websites.
Handbook of Psychology & Developmental Psychology Psychology is of interest to academics from many fields, as well as to the thousands of academic and clinical psychologists and general public who can't help but be interested in learning more about why humans think and behave as they do. This award-winning twelve-volume reference covers every aspect of the ever-fascinating discipline of psychology and represents the most current knowledge in the field. This ten-year revision now covers discoveries based in neuroscience, clinical psychology's new interest in evidence-based practice and mindfulness, and new findings in social, developmental, and forensic psychology.
Human Growth and Development Human Growth and Development pulls together information from leading experts in a variety of fields to create a one-volume resource on the human growth stages, environmental effects, and the research methods scientists should use. This text promises to be a great course-planning guide for instructors in various medical and scientific fields in addition to a thorough reference for further research. Both biological and bio-medical approaches to human development; Chapters on research methods of growth data collection; Annotated reference lists for every chapter; Tremendous breadth of knowledge within a single source.
Key Concepts in Developmental Psychology
The Oxford Handbook of Human Development and Culture The Oxford Handbook of Human Development and Culture provides a comprehensive synopsis of theory and research on human development, with every chapter drawing together findings from cultures around the world. This includes a focus on cultural diversity within nations, cultural change, and globalization. Expertly edited by Lene Arnett Jensen, the Handbook covers the entire lifespan from the prenatal period to old age. It delves deeply into topics such as the development of emotion, language, cognition, morality, creativity, and religion, as well as developmental contexts such as family, friends, civic institutions, school, media, and work. Written by an international group of eminent and cutting-edge experts, chapters showcase the burgeoning interdisciplinary approach to scholarship that bridges universal and cultural perspectives on human development. This "cultural-developmental approach" is a multifaceted, flexible, and dynamic way to conceptualize theory and research that is in step with the cultural and global realities of human development in the 21st century.
Personality Development Across the Lifespan Personality Development across the Lifespan examines the development of personality characteristics from childhood, adolescence, emerging adulthood, adulthood, and old age. It provides a comprehensive overview of theoretical perspectives, methods, and empirical findings of personality and developmental psychology, also detailing insights on how individuals differ from each other, how they change during life, and how these changes relate to biological and environmental factors, including major life events, social relationships, and health. The book begins with chapters on personality development in different life phases before moving on to theoretical perspectives, the development of specific personality characteristics, and personality development in relation to different contexts, like close others, health, and culture. Final sections cover methods in research on the topic and the future directions of research in personality development.
The Psychology of Aging 101 The text discusses theoretical models underlying geropsychology, and examines common difficulties that affect older adults along with the most effective treatment approaches for this population. With a focus on the strengths and functions of older adults, the text examines the unique psychological problems of later life and conflicts caused by retirement, living longer, financial stressors, and chronic illness.
Zero to Birth: How the Human Brain Is Built A revelatory tale of how the human brain develops, from conception to birth and beyond. By the time a baby is born, its brain is equipped with billions of intricately crafted neurons wired together through trillions of interconnections to form a compact and breathtakingly efficient supercomputer. Zero to Birth takes you on an extraordinary journey to the very edge of creation, from the moment of an egg's fertilization through each step of a human brain's development in the womb--and even a little beyond. As pioneering experimental neurobiologist W. A. Harris guides you through the process of how the brain is built, he takes up the biggest questions that scientists have asked about the developing brain, describing many of the thrilling discoveries that were foundational to our current understanding. He weaves in a remarkable evolutionary story that begins billions of years ago in the Proterozoic eon, when multicellular animals first emerged from single-cell organisms, and reveals how the growth of a fetal brain over nine months reflects the brain's evolution through the ages. Our brains have much in common with those of other animals, and Harris offers an illuminating look at how comparative animal studies have been crucial to understanding what makes a human brain human. An unforgettable chronicle of one of nature's greatest achievements, Zero to Birth describes how the brain's incredible feat of orchestrated growth ensures that every brain is unique, and how breakthroughs at the frontiers of science are helping us to decode many traits that only reveal themselves later in life.

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

Child Development Thorough. Accurate. Reliable. Engaging. These are just a few of the words used by adopters and reviewers of John Santrock's Child Development. Anew Connections theme shows how it all fits together in the most accurate and up-to-date topically-organized text in the field. Used by hundreds of thousands of students over twelve editions, Santrock's proven learning system provides a clear roadmap to content mastery. The fully revised thirteenth edition continues with Santrock's highly contemporary tone and focus, featuring over 1,000 new citations.
Child Development In the Third Edition of the topically organized Child Development: An Active Learning Approach, authors Laura E. Levine and Joyce A. Munsch invite students to take an active journey toward understanding the latest findings from the field of child development. Using robust pedagogical tools built into the chapter narratives, students are challenged to confront myths and misconceptions, participate in real-world activities with children and independently, and utilize video resources and research tools to pursue knowledge and develop critical thinking skills on their own. This new edition covers the latest findings on developmental neuroscience, positive youth development, the role of fathers, and more, with topics of diversity and culture integrated throughout. More than a textbook, this one-of-a-kind resource will continue to serve students as they go on to graduate studies, to work with children and adolescents professionally, and to care for children of their own.
Child Psychology: A Very Short Introduction This Very Short Introduction provides an up-to-date, authoritative, and accessible guide to modern child psychology, from birth to early adolescence. Beginning with infancy, Usha Goswami considers the process of attachment and "bonding", showing how secure attachments enable the development of self-understanding. Exploring childhood learning, ranging from aspects of language and thinking to cognitive reasoning, Goswami looks at how babies and toddlers develop an understanding of the physical, biological, and social worlds, and develop complex abilities like language and morality. Demonstrating how learning is shaped by the environments surrounding the child; at home, school, with peers, and in wider society, Goswami emphasizes the importance of childhood friendships and siblings for psychological development. Introducing the key theories in child psychology, Goswami explains why children develop as they do and how society can further optimize their development through the adolescent years.
The Everything Child Psychology and Development Book: A Comprehensive Resource on How Children Think, Learn, and Play--From the Final Months Leading Up to Birth to Their Adolescent Years What is my baby thinking? Why does my two-year-old suddenly throw a tantrum when it's time to go out? Is my surly teenager just acting her age, or is she suffering from a mood disorder? Questions like these have long plagued parents, teachers, and care providers. But now, with The Everything Child Psychology and Development Book, you can unlock the psyche of children and more fully understand the reasons why they do the things they do. Inside you'll find information on: Brain development in children--starting in the womb; Cognitive and behavioral stages, from babies to teenagers; Helping your children deal with today's unprecedented stress and anxiety; The impact your family history has on emotional development; Warning signs and symptoms that should raise red flags. From what your baby can understand in utero to deciphering "typical" adolescent behavior from a genuine disorder--this guide is the ideal tool for parents wanting to know more about what goes on in the mind of a child.
The Human Spark: The Science of Human Development As infants we are rife with potential. For a short time, we have before us a seemingly infinite number of developmental paths. Soon, however, we become limited to certain paths as we grow into unique products of our genetics and experience. But what factors account for the variation -- in skills, personalities, values -- that results? How do experiences shape what we bring into the world? In The Human Spark, pioneering psychologist Jerome Kagan offers an unflinching examination of personal, moral, and cultural development that solidifies his place as one of the most influential psychologists of the past century. In this definitive analysis of the factors that shape the human mind, Kagan explores the tension between biology and the environment. He reviews major advances in the science of development over the past three decades and offers pointed critiques and new syntheses. In so doing, Kagan calls out the shortcomings of the modern fad for neuroscience, shows why theories of so-called attachment parenting are based on a misinterpretation of research, and questions the field's reflexive tendency to pathologize the behavior of the young. Most importantly, he reminds us that a life, however influenced by biology and upbringing, is still a tapestry to be woven, not an outcome to be endured. A profound exploration of what is universal and what is individual in human development, The Human Spark is the result of a scientist's lifelong quest to discover how we become who we are. Whether the reader is a first-time parent wondering what influence she, her genes, and the wider world will have on her child; an educator seeking insight into the development of her students; or simply a curious soul seeking self-knowledge, Kagan makes an expert and companionable guide.
Principles of Sociology: Personal Relationships and Behavior Principles of Sociology: Personal Relationships & Behavior provides valuable information and ideas about different aspects of personal relationships and behavior. Articles discuss these topics through the lens of sociology and offer understanding through how they impact people on an individual and social level. Principles of Sociology: Personal Relationships & Behavior is the first title in Salem's Principles of Sociology series. The next two volumes are Group Relationships & Behavior and Societal Issues & Behavior. This series is intended to introduce students and researchers to the fundamentals of important and far-reaching topics in sociology using easy-to-understand language. The field of sociology is vital in the world we live in today, and relevant in many social groupings and behaviors. This work includes categories such as "Day-to-Day Interaction," "Family & Relationships," "Socialization," "Social Change," and "Aging & Elderly Issues."
The Science Inside the Child: The Story of What Happens When We're Growing Up This engaging book presents some of the ways in which science can describe and explain how and why children develop in the way they do. It looks at children's individual development within the development of our species, at genes, at the hormone systems that flood our bodies, at the neuroscience of children's brains, and at patterns of behavior. It looks, in other words, at the different influences on child development according to the scientific disciplines of evolutionary theory, genetics, epigenetics, endocrinology, neuroscience, epidemiology and psychology. Filled with entertaining anecdotes, Sara Meadows shares the story of what happens when we're growing up, revealing how science can add depth to our understanding. This book will be an informative and enriching read for all parents, educators and carers, and those interested in how children develop to be emotionally balanced, socially skilled, and enthusiastic seekers after knowledge.
Will My Kid Grow Out of It? A Child Psychologist's Guide to Understanding Worrisome Behavior At some point most parents wonder whether their child's behavior is "normal." He won't focus on his homework-could he have ADHD? She seems sad a lot-is she depressed? She's falling behind at school-could she have a learning disability? Such anxieties can plague parents, who are often hesitant to seek help for fear of stigmatizing their child or are unsure where to turn. Will My Kid Grow Out of It? is an indispensable guide to the most common mental, neurological, and developmental issues kids-from newborn through high school-may be struggling with. Dr. Forrest draws on more than 20 years of experience treating and advocating for children to help worried parents sort through the health scares, contradictory information, and latest buzz terms to assess whether their child's behavior is typical for his or her age or a sign that professional attention may be warranted. She uses lay terms to describe sets of behaviors that may be problematic, possible diagnoses, which professionals are appropriate to consult, effective treatments, and the steps to take to get support and services from schools and the state. The book even includes a code allowing readers access to a free online screening tool. A vital guide to have on hand during a child's formative years, Will My Kid Grow Out of It? is the most informative, fresh, and essential parenting guide released in years.