LibGuides: Parenting: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

The Complete Idiot's Guide to Motherhood Providing advice that begins with birth and extends well beyond the teenage years, this work aims to alleviate the doubts and worries of motherhood.
Complete Idiot's Guide to Parenting A Teenager Offers advice on understanding and communicating with teenagers; discouraging drug and alchohol use; instilling healthy habits and work ethics; and preparing teens for life after high school.
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Raising Money-Smart Kids A beginner's guide to help parents teach their kids everything they need to know about money, from savings and money values, to investing.
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Well-Behaved Children The 2003 edition of this handbook on international electronic countermeasures features expanded coverage of Russian, Eastern European and Chinese electronic warfare, electronic intelligence-gathering, and guided-weapon systems. It also contains new and revised entries for defence electronics systems from all nations. With system technical data, photographs and operational details, this resource should be of use to military and industry professionals who are concerned with defence electronics in the modern world.
Parenting: Styles and Strategies For new parents, those thinking about becoming parents, and old pros, this new title brings together informative and helpful information about parenting styles and strategies for infants, toddlers, school-age children, pre-teens and teenagers. Hundreds of essays take a deep dive into issues that contemporary parents are facing now, and offer tools and strategies to help deal with difficult behavior, develop sound parenting techniques, and promote learning and cooperation.
Also available in print: HQ 755.8 .M645 2022
Why Boys Don't Talk - And Why It Matters Helps parents reopen the lines of communication with "silent" teenage sons and stay emotionally connected with them Adolescent boys are notoriously uncommunicative. Unfortunately, too many parents equate not talking with not feeling, and, as authors Susan Morris Shaffer and Linda Perlman Gordon explain in this groundbreaking guide, parents who make that assumption end up validating only the most superficial aspects of their sons. Recent bestsellers such as Real Boys and The Wonder of Boys have done a good job of sensitizing parents to the inner lives of boys and opening their eyes to how society shortchanges boys emotionally. Now, Why Boys Don't Talk--and Why It Matters goes a step further. Coauthored by a nationally acclaimed expert on gender equity and a social worker--both of whom successfully raised teenagers of both sexes--it: Arms parents with proven techniques for communicating with their adolescent sons and reestablishing strong emotional bonds with them Draws upon focus groups as well as the authors' considerable experience in gender equity research and counseling, to analyze the subtle ways boys communicate connection
Why Girls Talk--and What They're Really Saying: A Parent's Survival Guide to Connecting With Your Teen Helps parents cut through the drama of teenage daughters and maintain positive emotional connectionsBecause adolescent girls tend to talk so much, parents often assume that girls are easier to communicate with than boys. In reality, much of what teenage girls say is the opposite of a healthy expression of emotion--often taking the form of fighting, brooding hostility, or, at times, overinvolvement. While recent bestsellers such as Queen Bees and Odd Girl Out explore the social and psychological pressures that inform teenage girls' behavior, they provide little or no guidance on how to manage the communication problems that develop between parents and their daughters.Why Girls Talk--and What They're Really Saying does that and much more. Based on the authors' years of clinical and research experience, it:Deconstructs the ways girls communicate with their parents--especially mothers Arms parents with tools for cutting through the chatter and drama and getting at what their daughters are really saying Helps moms and dads to avoid becoming overinvolved in their daughters lives and to set healthy boundaries

Featured Print Books

Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.

All the Rage: Mothers, Fathers, and the Myth of Equal Partnership Why do men do so little at home? Why do women do so much? Why don't our egalitarian values match our lived experiences? Journalist-turned-psychologist Darcy Lockman offers a clear-eyed look at the most pernicious problem facing modern parents--how progressive relationships become traditional ones when children are introduced into the household. In an era of seemingly unprecedented feminist activism, enlightenment, and change, data shows that one area of gender inequality stubbornly persists: the disproportionate amount of parental work that falls to women, no matter their background, class, or professional status. All the Rage investigates the cause of this pervasive inequity to answer why, in households where both parents work full-time and agree that tasks should be equally shared, mothers' household management, mental labor, and childcare contributions still outweigh fathers'.  How, in a culture that pays lip service to women's equality and lauds the benefits of father involvement--benefits that extend far beyond the well-being of the kids themselves--can a commitment to fairness in marriage melt away upon the arrival of children? Counting on male partners who will share the burden, women today have been left with what political scientists call unfulfilled, rising expectations. Historically these unmet expectations lie at the heart of revolutions, insurgencies, and civil unrest. If so many couples are living this way, and so many women are angered or just exhausted by it, why do we remain so stuck? Where is our revolution, our insurgency, our civil unrest? Darcy Lockman drills deep to find answers, exploring how the feminist promise of true domestic partnership almost never, in fact, comes to pass. Starting with her own marriage as a ground zero case study, she moves outward, chronicling the experiences of a diverse cross-section of women raising children with men; visiting new mothers' groups and pioneering co-parenting specialists; and interviewing experts across academic fields, from gender studies professors and anthropologists to neuroscientists and primatologists. Lockman identifies three tenets that have upheld the cultural gender division of labor and peels back the ways in which both men and women unintentionally perpetuate old norms. If we can all agree that equal pay for equal work should be a given, can the same apply to unpaid work? Can justice finally come home?
Family Building : The Five Fundamentals of Effective Parenting The truth is, child rearing is not complicated. Therefore, it is not hard. There will be difficult moments, of course, . . . but if a parent is experiencing the rearing of a child or children as generally difficult--as emotionally, intellectually, and even physically exhausting, then the parent is doing something wrong. --John Rosemond, Family Building Trusted family psychologist John Rosemond has a revolutionary message for today's parents: Your grandparents' generation knew a lot more about raising children than all of today's experts. The experts have turned child rearing into a complicated, exhausting chore rather than the simple, straightforward task it should be. In Family Building: The Five Fundamentals of Effective Parenting, Rosemond outlines the five key principles of traditional parenting that are crucial to raising well-behaved children today. * It's about the family, not the children. * Where discipline is concerned, it's about communication, not consequences; leadership not relationship. * It's about respecting others, not high self-esteem. * It's about manners and morals, not skills. * It's about responsibility, not high achievement.  Each chapter includes questions from real parents faced with real-life parenting challenges, and in his typical no-nonsense style, Rosemond provides practical solutions. Family Building restores common sense to parenting and puts the parents back in charge. Once again, John Rosemond delivers child-rearing wisdom that no parent should miss.
How to Talk So Kids Listen and Listen So Kids Will Talk This down-to-earth, respectful approach of Faber and Mazlish makes relationships with children of all ages less stressful and more rewarding
The New Father : A Dad's Guide to the First Year An indispensable handbook on all aspects of fatherhood during the first 12 months, by the author of The Expectant Father. The essential handbook for all things first-year father is now fully updated and revised. Not only will new dads get a month-by-month guide to their baby's development, men reading The New Father will learn how they change, grow, and develop over the first twelve months of fatherhood. In each chapter, Brott focuses on What's Going On with the Baby; What You're Going Through; What's Going On with Your Partner; You and Your Baby; Family Matters; and more. The latest research, as well as time-honored wisdom--and humor, thanks to New Yorker cartoons and Brott's light touch--make The New Father indispensible for the modern father who doesn't want to miss a moment of his child's first year. What's new? * How technology is changing fatherhood * Changing definitions of fatherhood * Changes in the way society deals with dads--from changing tables in public men's rooms to workplace flexibility * Research proving that a father's love is just as important as a mother's * How being an involved dad rewires a man's brain * How changes in women's roles in the family affect dads and their roles * Special concerns for: young dads, older dads, at-home dads, unmarried dads, dads in same-sex couples, dads in blended families, dads of kids with special needs, and men who became dads with the help of technology * The special impact dads have on girls and boys * Specific strategies dads can use to get--and stay--involved in their children's lives * Updated resources for new fathers Not to mention new research and information on: * How to understand what your baby is telling you * Babies' amazing abilities * Baby massage--they love it! * The latest on vaccinations and healthcare * And much, much more
Raising a Child With Dyslexia This user-friendly guide provides detailed assistance to parents and educators who want to help dyslexic children achieve their best life. Written by Don M. Winn, an award-winning dyslexic author and parent of a (now adult) dyslexic child, this compassionate and helpful handbook will help parents watch for signs of dyslexia in their growing baby, toddler, preschooler, or school-aged child. Topics include symptoms that warrant diagnosis by a professional, what to expect during the testing process, how parents can help their child at home, tips on working with the school to create an optimal learning environment, and most importantly, how to offer a dyslexic child a safe, encouraging emotional space in which to cope with the emotional fallout of the dyslexic struggle. The book is keyed to current, cutting edge research and testing methods for dyslexia and all of its attendant conditions, and also includes coping strategies to help those who did not get an early diagnosis or support.
Sincerely, Your Autistic Child A rare and diverse collection of autistic voices that highlights to parents the unique needs of girls and nonbinary people who are growing up with autism. A diverse collection of autistic voices that highlights how parents can avoid common mistakes and misconceptions, and make their child feel truly accepted, valued, and celebrated for who they are. Most resources available for parents come from psychologists, educators, and doctors, offering parents a narrow and technical approach to autism. Sincerely, Your Autistic Child represents an authentic resource for parents written by autistic people themselves. From childhood and education to culture, gender identity, and sexuality, this anthology tackles the everyday joys and challenges of growing up while honestly addressing the emotional needs, sensitivity, and vibrancy of autistic kids, youth, and young adults. Contributors reflect on what they have learned while growing up on the autism spectrum and how parents can avoid common mistakes and overcome challenges while raising their child. Part memoir, part guide, and part love letter, Sincerely, Your Autistic Child is an indispensable collection that invites parents and allies into the unique and often unheard experiences of autistic children and teens.
The Ten Basic Principles of Good Parenting Most parents do a pretty good job of raising kids, says psychologist Laurence Steinberg, but truly effective parenting means not just relying on natural instincts but also on knowing what works and why. In The Ten Basic Principles of Good Parenting, Dr. Steinberg distills decades of research into a parenting book that explains the fundamentals of raising happy, healthy children, giving readers an invaluable map to help them navigate parenthood from infancy to adolescence. Dr. Steinberg found that the basic principles for effective parenting are simple and universal, and apply to all parents and children regardless of background. He explains each principle and shows how to put it into action, using anecdotes and examples: from “What You Do Matters” (parents make an enormous difference; children are not simply the product of their genes) to “Establish Rules and Limits” (how to provide structure in your child's life, and how to handle conflicts over rules) and “Help Foster Your Child's Independence” (help your child think through decisions instead of making them for him or her). Concise and authoritative, written with warmth and compassion, The Ten Basic Principles of Good Parenting is an intelligent guide to raising a happy, healthy child and to becoming a happier, more confident parent in the process.
The Wall Street Journal : Financial Guidebook for New Parents A practical approach to affording your kids from cradle to college. Bringing home your bouncing baby boy or girl should be an exciting time of celebration–not cause for worry about how you’re going to pay for feeding, clothing, and caring for your new bundle of expenses. The average family will spend between $11,000 and $16,000 during a new baby’s first year, and more than $200,000 before a kid’s eighteenth birthday. Unfortunately, a second child only doubles your costs, with little economy of scale for each additional baby. Before you start using these statistics as birth control, take a deep breath and know that you can have a family and make a comfortable future for your children while saving for your own important goals. The Wall Street Journal Financial Guidebook for New Parents shows you the way, with information on how to: • Safeguard your child’s well-being with wills, trusts, and life insurance • Best weigh your child-care options and decide whether to go back to work • Save on taxes with child-friendly tax credits and deductions plus tax-advantaged benefits at work • Manage your family’s health-care costs • Save for long-term costs by setting up a college fund • Spend smart and save money at every stage of your child’s development • Continue to contribute to your own retirement savings From maternity (and paternity) leave to flexible spending accounts to 529 college plans, The Wall Street Journal Financial Guidebook for New Parents provides all the information you need to meet your child’s expenses while also protecting your family’s financial security.