Basic Skills for Organic ChemistryThis text will help students integrate and understand the large body of information typically covered in a year-long course in organic chemistry. It can be used as a supplement to discussions in class and the required textbook. Guiding students to focus on skills and tools, Basic Skill for Organic Chemistry: A Tool Kit, fosters the development of conceptual skills that can help minimize the need to memorize specific material.
Invitation to Organic ChemistryInvitation to Organic Chemistry provides students with an elementary understanding of organic chemistry in order to support study in career fields such as nursing, agricultural sciences, biology, allied health sciences and pharmacy. Invitation to Organic Chemistry is not a truncated two-semester text. It was written specifically for the shorter one-semester, or one- or two-quarter organic chemistry course at the college level. Johnson's approach is to present only that material which is essential for understanding the elementary workings of organic chemistry. This encourages a more thorough understanding of the information as opposed to memorizing, and then forgetting, a larger body of it. Johnson also attempts to make organic chemistry interesting and relevant, easing students into new concepts by moving logically and gradually from one topic to the next.
Laboratory Manual of Organic ChemistryAbout the Book: The manual has been thoroughly revised, several new experiments and tests have been added while some redundant material has been deleted. Chapter 2 has been completely rewritten. An obvious change of this edition constitutes the splitting of Chapter 7 into two separate Chapters. Tables on derivatives of organic compounds have been expended. Also included are 20 estimations, 75 preparations and isolation experiments and approximately 135 in-text questions related to the experiments. The approximation of modern spectroscopic techniques to structure determination have been discussed in the last Chapter. This book is designed both for undergraduate and postgraduate level students with its enhanced and comprehensive presentation. This is an indispensable book for organic chemistry practicals. Contents: Safety in the chemical laboratory Laboratory equipments and techniques Detection of elements Tests for functional groups Tests for common organic compounds Preparation of derivatives Estimation of functional groups Organic preparations Spectroscopic methods
Materials Syntheses: A Practical GuideMaterials syntheses are more complex than syntheses of inorganic or organic compounds. Materials synthesis protocols often suffer from unclarities, irreproducibility, lack in detail and lack in standards. The need to change this situation is the main motivation for this book. It collects a number of detailed protocols, ranging from organic polymers to carbonaceous and ceramic materials, from gels to porous and layered materials and from powders and nanoparticles to films.
Organic ChemistryFox and Whitesell's Organic Chemistry, Second Editionrepresents a new way of learning that is based on the authors' experiences teaching undergraduate students at the University of Texas, Austin. The aim of its approach is to teach the students concepts that they will need to know for future course work, medical school, etc., rather than promoting tedious memorization. As a result, they will be better prepared for the future, and leave your class with a greater understanding of what makes organic chemistry such an important course.
Organic Reaction MechanismsIn-depth discussion of the subject.Basic concept dealt adequately with using appropriate examples.Thoroughly revised with new sections.Inclusion of recent bibliography.ABOUT THE BOOK:This long awaited fourth edition continues with its current and outstanding methodologies for the elucidation of reaction mechanisms and their understading. This book has constantly tried to assist the students in learning reaction mechanisms considering a broad coverage of important aspects of mechanistic techniques. It has been extensively used as a text for the last thirty years by both graduate and postgraduate level students. In addition, research workers have also enormously benefited because of the in-depth discussion of the subject and inclusion of recent bibliography.The book consists of 14 chapters and is written in a reader friendly language. The contents of the new edition provide a concrete and compact description of the subject. New end-of-chapter problems have been appended. This book will hopefully continue to inspire its readers in focussing on the mechanistic approach to chemistry.
Solid State Organometallic ChemistryAn authoritative and up-to-date account of structure analysis techniques and chemical applications in the solid state focusing on X-ray diffraction, Mossbauer spectroscopy and solid-state NMR. As solid state chemistry becomes increasingly important, organometallic chemistry will play a key role in addressing complex structures and developing novel interface chemistry. This book presents state-of-the-art reviews by leading chemists which detail the progress that has been made in the physical models and physical measurements of organometallics in the solid state. * Critically analyses X-ray diffraction techniques in advanced and single crystal structure determination * Discusses the potentials of Mossbauer spectroscopy, solid state NMR and X-ray spectroscopy in structural analysis * Includes ab initio calculations on bonding in transition metal complexes This book will be invaluable to organometallic and solid state chemists and will also be of interest to physicists as well as polymer and materials scientists.
Basic Organic Chemistry for the Life SciencesThis book is designed for students of biology, molecular biology, ecology, medicine, agriculture, forestry and other professions where the knowledge of organic chemistry plays the important role. The work may also be of interest to non-professionals, as well as to teachers in high schools. The book consists of 11 chapters that cover: - basic principles of structure and constitution of organic compounds, - the elements of the nomenclature, - the concepts of the nature of chemical bond, - introductions in NMR and IR spectroscopy, - the concepts and main classes of the organic reaction mechanisms, - reactions and properties of common classes or organic compounds, - and the introduction to the chemistry of the natural organic products followed by basic principles of the reactions in living cells.
The Basics of Organic ChemistryStudents see chemistry in action in this thorough but accessible informational text that is aligned to science core curriculum. It includes crosscutting concepts and covers carbon bonding, chains, and rings; alcohol and acids; other organic compounds, such as esters, aldehydes, ketones, ethers, amines, and halides; and polymers. Fact boxes about key terms, events, people, discoveries, and technologies, along with sidebars that give everyday examples of chemical applications help make the subject fun for readers. The volume also contains information about the life of German chemist Friedrich Whler, one of the fathers of organic chemistry.
E-Z Organic ChemistryBarron's growing list of E-Z Series titles are new, updated, and improved versions of Barron's longtime popular Easy Way books. New cover designs reflect the all-new interior layouts, which feature extensive two-color treatment, a fresh, modern typeface, and more graphic material than ever. These books are self-teaching manuals designed to improve students' grades in a wide variety of academic and practical subjects. Skill levels range between senior high school and college-101 standards. All titles present detailed reviews of the target subject plus short quizzes and longer tests to help students assess their learning progress. All exercises and tests come with answers. This reader-friendly supplementary text for organic chemistry students reviews important topics that include stereochemistry, alkenes, nucleophilic substitution and elimination reactions, free-radical reaction, alcohols and thiols, and more.
Experimental Organic ChemistryThis cutting-edge lab manual takes a multiscale approach, presenting both micro, semi-micro, and macroscale techniques. The manual is easy to navigate with all relevant techniques found as they are needed. Cutting-edge subjects such as HPLC, bioorganic chemistry, multistep synthesis, and more are presented in a clear and engaging fashion.
Hands on ChemistryThis lab manual offers a modern approach to the two semester general chemistry laboratory course. The manual contains over 37 labs that cover all of the topics commonly taught in the course. Each experiment contacts extensive background and procedure outlines to give students a solid conceptual background before completing the lab.
Hazardous Materials ChemistryThe second edition of Hazardous Materials Chemistry explores basic principles of chemistry and toxicology so that first responders can efficiently identify a chemical hazard, anticipate potential outcomes, and make safe and informed decisions. Step-by-step coverage of the names of chemical families and their general categorical hazards and incompatibilities enable readers to not only grasp the science behind the chemicals and reactions but also apply principles to actual incidents. An all-new chapter on infrared spectroscopy brings the book up to date with the latest detection technology used in fire departments today.
Organic ChemistryFor two-semester courses in Organic Chemistry taken primarily by science and pre-health majors. Wade, organized around functional groups, is known for his student-oriented approach--he incorporates problem solving help (features in green), orientation features (in blue), and complete discussions of mechanisms (mechanism boxes and key mechanism spreads). As always, he explains concepts without taking the unnecessary short cuts that often lead to misconceptions. Additionally, he integrates up-to-date aspects of spectroscopy, bioorganic chemistry (often through accessible margin notes), and many applications to polymer chemistry throughout. The PH online organic homework system, ACE Organic, provides instructors and students a tool that is created specifically to mimic how students do organic homework--by drawing organic structures. This program provides detailed feedback for incorrect answers to enhance the learning process.
Organic Chemistry as a Second Language : First Semester TopicsStudents continue to turn to Klein because it enables them to better understand fundamental principles, solve problems, and focus on what they need to know to succeed. This edition explores the major principles in the field and explains why they are relevant. It is written in a way that clearly shows the patterns in organic chemistry so that students can gain a deeper conceptual understanding of the material. Topics are presented clearly in an accessible writing style along with numerous of hands-on problem solving exercises.
Organic Chemistry DemystifiedThis work follows the organization of standard organic courses and can also be used as a study guide for the MCAT (Medical College Admission Test) and DAT (Dental Admissions Testing) exams. This is a self teaching guide that comes with key points, background information, quizzes and a final exam at the end of each chapter.
Organic Chemistry I for Dummies®Organic Chemistry I For Dummies, 2nd Edition (9781118828076) is now being published as Organic Chemistry I For Dummies, 2nd Edition (9781119293378). While this version features an older Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the new release and should not be considered a different product. The easy way to take the confusion out of organic chemistry Organic chemistry has a long-standing reputation as a difficult course. Organic Chemistry I For Dummies takes a simple approach to the topic, allowing you to grasp concepts at your own pace. This fun, easy-to-understand guide explains the basic principles of organic chemistry in simple terms, providing insight into the language of organic chemists, the major classes of compounds, and top trouble spots. You'll also get the nuts and bolts of tackling organic chemistry problems, from knowing where to start to spotting sneaky tricks that professors like to incorporate. Refreshed example equations New explanations and practical examples that reflect today's teaching methods Fully worked-out organic chemistry problems Baffled by benzines? Confused by carboxylic acids? Here's the help you need--in plain English!