Applied PhysicsBoiled-down essentials of the top-selling Schaum's Outline series, for the student with limited time What could be better than the bestselling Schaum's Outline series? For students looking for a quick nuts-and-bolts overview, it would have to be Schaum's Easy Outline series. Every book in this series is a pared-down, simplified, and tightly focused version of its bigger predecessor. With an emphasis on clarity and brevity, each new title features a streamlined and updated format and the absolute essence of the subject, presented in a concise and readily understandable form. Graphic elements such as sidebars, reader-alert icons, and boxed highlights feature selected points from the text, illuminate keys to learning, and give students quick pointers to the essentials.
Fluid Mechanics and Thermodynamics of TurbomachineryThe new edition will continue to be of use to engineers in industry and technological establishments, especially as brief reviews are included on many important aspects of Turbomachinery, giving pointers towards more advanced sources of information. For readers looking towards the wider reaches of the subject area, very useful additional reading is referenced in the bibliography. The subject of Turbomachinery is in continual review, and while the basics do not change, research can lead to refinements in popular methods, and new data can emerge. This book has applications for professionals and students in many subsets of the mechanical engineering discipline, with carryover into thermal sciences; which include fluid mechanics, combustion and heat transfer; dynamics and vibrations, as well as structural mechanics and materials engineering.
Materials ThermodynamicsA timely, applications-driven text in thermodynamics Materials Thermodynamics provides both students and professionals with the in-depth explanation they need to prepare for the real-world application of thermodynamic tools. Based upon an actual graduate course taught by the authors, this class-tested text covers the subject with a broader, more industry-oriented lens than can be found in any other resource available. This modern approach: Reflects changes rapidly occurring in society at large--from the impact of computers on the teaching of thermodynamics in materials science and engineering university programs to the use of approximations of higher order than the usual Bragg-Williams in solution-phase modeling Makes students aware of the practical problems in using thermodynamics Emphasizes that the calculation of the position of phase and chemical equilibrium in complex systems, even when properly defined, is not easy Relegates concepts like equilibrium constants, activity coefficients, free energy functions, and Gibbs-Duhem integrations to a relatively minor role Includes problems and exercises, as well as a solutions manual This authoritative text is designed for students and professionals in materials science and engineering, particularly those in physical metallurgy, metallic materials, alloy design and processing, corrosion, oxidation, coatings, and high-temperature alloys.
Newton : A Very Short IntroductionNewton's contributions to an understanding of the heavens and the earth are considered to be unparalleled. This book explains his scientific theories, and uses unpublished writings to paint a picture of an extremely complex man whose beliefs had a huge impact on Europe's political, intellectual, and religious landscape.
Physics DemystifiedNow anyone with an interest in the physical sciences can master physics -- without formal training or drowning in a sea of complicated formulas and equations. In Physics Demystified best-selling author Stan Gibilisco offers a fun, effective, and totally painless way to learn the fundamentals and general concepts of physics.
Thermodynamics for DummiesTake some heat off the complexity of thermodynamics Does the mere thought of thermodynamics make you sweat? It doesn't have to! This hands-on guide helps you score your highest in a thermodynamics course by offering easily understood, plain-English explanations of how energy is used in things like automobiles, airplanes, air conditioners, and electric power plants. Thermodynamics 101 -- take a look at some examples of both natural and man-made thermodynamic systems and get a handle on how energy can be used to perform work Turn up the heat -- discover how to use the first and second laws of thermodynamics to determine (and improve upon) the efficiency of machines Oh, behave -- get the 411 on how gases behave and relate to one another in different situations, from ideal-gas laws to real gases Burn with desire -- find out everything you need to know about conserving mass and energy in combustion processes Open the book and find: The laws of thermodynamics Important properties and their relationships The lowdown on solids, liquids, and gases How work and heat go handin hand The cycles that power thermodynamic processes Chemical mixtures and reactions Ten pioneers in thermodynamics Real-world applications of thermodynamic laws and concepts Learn to: Master the concepts and principles of thermodynamics Develop the problem-solving skills used by professional engineers Ace your thermodynamics course
Also available in print: Also available in print collection QC311 .P238 2011
Commonly Asked Questions in PhysicsIn the 300 years since Newton's seminal work, physics has explained many things that used to be mysterious. Particularly in the last century, physics has addressed a range of questions, from the smallest fundamental particles to the large-scale structure and history of the entire universe. But there are always more questions. Suitable for a wide audience, Commonly Asked Questions in Physicscovers a broad scope of subjects, from classical physics that goes back to the age of Newton to new ideas just formulated in the twenty-first century. The book highlights the core areas of physics that predate the twentieth century, including mechanics, electromagnetism, optics, and thermodynamics. It also focuses on modern physics, covering quantum mechanics, atomic and nuclear physics, fundamental particles, and relativity. Each chapter explains the numbers and units used to measure things and some chapters include a "Going Deeper" feature that provides more mathematical details for readers who are up to the challenge. The suggested readings at the end of each chapter range from classic textbooks to some of the best books written for the general public, offering readers the option to study the topic in more depth. Physics affects our lives nearly every day--using cell phones, taking x-rays, and much more. Keeping the mathematics at a very basic level, this accessible book addresses many physics questions frequently posed by physics students, scientists in other fields, and the wider public.
Fluid Mechanics DeMYSTiFiedPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Your solution to mastering fluid mechanics Need to learn about the properties of liquids and gases the pressures and forces they exert? Here's your lifeline! Fluid Mechanics Demystified helps you absorb the essentials of this challenging engineering topic. Written in an easy-to-follow format, this practical guide begins by reviewing basic principles and discussing fluid statics. Next, you'll dive into fluids in motion, integral and differential equations, dimensional analysis, and similitude. Internal, external, and compressible flows are also covered. Hundreds of worked examples and equations make it easy to understand the material, and end-of-chapter quizzes and two final exam, with solutions to all their problems, help reinforce learning. This hands-on, self-teaching text offers: Numerous figures to illustrate key concepts Details on Bernoulli's equation and the Reynolds number Coverage of entrance, laminar, turbulent, open channel, and boundary layer flows SI units throughout A time-saving approach to performing better on an exam or at work Simple enough for a beginner, but challenging enough for an advanced student, Fluid Mechanics Demystified is your shortcut to understanding this essential engineering subject.
From the Cosmos to Quarks"Basic Concepts in Physics: From the Cosmos to Quarks" is the outcome of the authors' long and varied teaching experience in different countries and for different audiences, and gives an accessible and eminently readable introduction to all the main ideas of modern physics. The book's fresh approach, using a novel combination of historical and conceptual viewpoints, makes it ideal complementary reading to more standard textbooks. The first five chapters are devoted to classical physics, from planetary motion to special relativity, always keeping in mind its relevance to questions of contemporary interest. The next six chapters deal mainly with newer developments in physics, from quantum theory and general relativity to grand unified theories, and the book concludes by discussing the role of physics in living systems. A basic grounding in mathematics is required of the reader, but technicalities are avoided as far as possible; thus complex calculations are omitted so long as the essential ideas remain clear. The book is addressed to undergraduate and graduate students in physics and will also be appreciated by many professional physicists. It will likewise benbsp;of interest to students, researchers and teachers of other natural sciences, as well as to engineers, high-school teachers and the curious general reader, who will come to understand what physics is about and how it describes the different phenomena of Nature. Not only will readers of this book learn much about physics, they will also learn to love it. nbsp;
Fundamentals of Physics : Mechanics, Relativity, and ThermodynamicsProfessor R. Shankar, a well-known physicist and contagiously enthusiastic educator, was among the first to offer a course through the innovative Open Yale Course program. His popular online video lectures on introductory physics have been viewed over a million times. In this concise and self-contained book based on his online Yale course, Shankar explains the fundamental concepts of physics from Galileo's and Newton's discoveries to the twentieth-century's revolutionary ideas on relativity and quantum mechanics. The book begins at the simplest level, develops the basics, and reinforces fundamentals, ensuring a solid foundation in the principles and methods of physics. It provides an ideal introduction for college-level students of physics, chemistry, and engineering, for motivated AP Physics students, and for general readers interested in advances in the sciences. Instructor resources--including problem sets and sample examinations--and more information about Professor Shankar's course are available athttp://oyc.yale.edu/physics/phys-200.
The Laws of Thermodynamics : A Very Short IntroductionThe laws of thermodynamics drive everything that happens in the universe. From the sudden expansion of a cloud of gas to the cooling of hot metal--everything is moved or restrained by four simple laws. Written by Peter Atkins, one of the world's leading authorities on thermodynamics, this powerful and compact introduction explains what these four laws are and how they work, using accessible language and virtually no mathematics.
Physics DemystifiedUnderstanding PHYSICS just got a whole lot EASIER! Stumped trying to make sense of physics? Here's your solution. Physics Demystified, Second Edition helps you grasp the essential concepts with ease. Written in a step-by-step format, this practical guide begins by covering classical physics, including mass, force, motion, momentum, work, energy, and power, as well as the temperature and states of matter. Electricity, magnetism, and electronics are discussed as are waves, particles, space, and time. Detailed examples, concise explanations, and worked problems make it easy to understand the material, and end-of-chapter quizzes and a final exam help reinforce learning. It's a no-brainer! You'll learn about: Scientific notation, units, and constants Newton's laws of motion Kirchhoff's laws Alternating current and semiconductors Optics Relativity theory Simple enough for a beginner, but detailed enough for an advanced student, Physics Demystified, Second Edition helps you master this challenging and diverse subject. It's also the perfect resource to prepare you for higher-level physics classes and college placement tests.
Physics for DummiesDoes just thinking about the laws of motion make your head spin? Does studying electricity short your circuits? Do the complexities of thermodynamics cool your enthusiasm? Thanks to this book, you don't have to be Einstein to understand physics. As you read about Newton's Laws, Kepler's Laws, Hooke's Law, Ohm's Law, and others, you'll appreciate the For Dummies law: The easier we make it, the faster people understand it and the more they enjoy it! Whether you're taking a class, helping kids with homework, or trying to find out how the world works, this book helps you understand basic physics. It covers: Measurements, units, and significant figures Forces such as displacement, speed, and acceleration Vectors and physics notation Motion, energy, and waves (sound, light, wave-particle) Solids, liquids, and gases Thermodynamics Electromagnetism Relativity Atomic and nuclear structures Steven Holzner, Ph.D. earned his B.S. at MIT and his Ph.D. at Cornell, where he taught Physics 101 and 102 for over 10 years. He livens things up with cool physics facts, real-world examples, and simple experiments that will heighten your enthusiasm for physics and science. The book ends with some out-of-this world physics that will set your mind in motion: The possibility of wormholes in space The Big Bang How the gravitational pull of black holes is too strong for even light to escape May the Force be with you!
Schaum's Outline of Physics for Engineering and ScienceTough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. This all-in-one-package includes more than 750 fully solved problems, examples, and practice exercises to sharpen your problem-solving skills. Plus, you will have access to 25 detailed videos featuring instructors who explain the most commonly tested concepts--it's just like having your own virtual tutor!nbsp;You'll find everything you need to build confidence, skills, and knowledge for the highest score possible. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum'sto help them succeed in the classroom and on exams.Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all theessential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you 788 fully solved problems Succinct review of physics topics such as motion, energy, fluids, waves, heat, and magnetic fields Support for all the major textbooks for physics for engineering and science courses Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum’s to shorten your study time--and get your best test scores!
Schaums Outline of Thermodynamics for Engineers, Fourth EditionTough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. Schaum's Outline of Thermodynamics for Engineers, Fourth Edition is packed with four sample tests for the engineering qualifying exam, hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This updated guide approaches the subject in a more concise, ordered manner than most standard texts, which are often filled with extraneous material. Schaum's Outline of Thermodynamics for Engineers, Fourth Edition features: * 889 fully-solved problems * 4 sample tests for the engineering qualifying exam * An accessible review of thermodynamics * Chapter on refrigeration cycles * Nomenclature reflecting current usage * Support for all the major leading textbooks in thermodynamics * Content that is appropriate for Thermodynamics, Engineering Thermodynamics, Principles of Thermodynamics, Fundamentals of Thermodynamics, and Thermodynamics I & II courses PLUS: Access to the revised Schaums.com website and new app, containing 20 problem-solving videos, and more. Schaum's reinforces the main concepts required in your course and offers hundreds of practice exercises to help you succeed. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines--Problem solved.
Thermal Science : essentials of thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, and heat transferWritten by a subject-matter expert with many years of academic and industrial experience, Thermal Science provides detailed yet concise coverage of thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, and heat transfer. The laws of thermodynamics are discussed with emphasis on their real-world applications. This comprehensive resource clearly presents the flow-governing equations of fluid mechanics, including those of mass, linear momentum, and energy conservation. Flow behavior through turbomachinery components is also addressed. The three modes of heat transfer--conduction, convection, and radiation--are described along with practical applications of each. Thermal Science covers: Properties of pure substances and ideal gases First and second laws of thermodynamics Energy conversion by cycles Power-absorbing cycles Gas power cycles Flow-governing equations External and internal flow structures Rotating machinery fluid mechanics Variable-geometry turbomachinery stages Prandtl-Meyer flow Internal flow, friction, and pressure drop Fanno flow process for a viscous flow field Rayleigh flow Heat conduction and convection Heat exchangers Transfer by radiation Instructor material available for download fromcompanion website