LibGuides: Academic Writing: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

College & University Writing Super Review College & University Writing Super Review contains an in-depth review that fully explains everything high school and college students need to know about the subject. Written in an easy-to-read format, this study guide is an excellent refresher and helps students grasp the important elements quickly and effectively.
College Research Papers for Dummies Get ready to take on your first college research paper like a pro Just got assigned your first college research paper? Don't sweat it! College Research Papers For Dummies has your back with the perfect companion to these not-as-hard-as-they-look assignments. Discover how to research, argue, problem-solve, analyze, and synthesize your way through even the densest material. Find out how to best revise and rework your paper until it's a polished gem. Plus, get some quick tips on higher-level research papers, such as literature reviews and white papers. Accurately cite references using APA, MLA, and Chicago styles Take advantage of all the resources available to you as you write your first research paper, from your university's library databases to your local college center's support services Develop common research paper writing techniques, including argumentation, research questions, and thesis statements Don't wait until the night before your paper is due! Grab a copy of College Research Papers For Dummies today and ace that first research paper like we all know you can.
The College Student's Guide to Writing a Great Research Paper Staring at a blank word processing document on your computer screen can create an uneasy feeling, especially as you wish for words to magically fill your 20-page assignment. For the majority of college students, whether you go to Harvard or to community college, this is a universal feeling. This complete guide was created just for you the college student. In this new book, you will learn tips for formatting your research paper, as well as how to complete a cohesive, well-structured assignment for any college course.
College Writing for Dummies Transform your next college essay into an A+ masterpiece Taking a 100-level English composition course? Just doing your best to get ready for the rigors of college-level writing? Then it's probably time you picked up College Writing For Dummies, the single greatest roadmap to writing high-quality essays, reports, and more! This book is the ideal companion for any introductory college writing course and tracks the curriculum of a typical English Composition, College Writing, English 101, or Writing & Rhetoric course. You'll learn composition techniques, style, language, and grammar tips, and discover how to plan, write, and revise your material. You'll also get: Ten can't-miss resources for improving your college writing Strategies for revising and repairing inadequate essays on your own Techniques to help non-native English speakers master the challenging world of English essay writing Full of real-world examples, lessons in essay structure, grammar, and everything in between, this book is a must-read for every incoming college freshman looking for a head start in one of the most important skills you'll need over the next few years. Grab a copy of College Writing For Dummies today.
Effective Writing for Business, College, and Life International best-selling author William Stanek helps you get the edge you need. Whether we like it or not, writing is a part of our every day lives and to get by you need an edge. Enter Effective Writing for Business, College & Life: the down in the trenches writing resource you need to be successful. Use this concise guide to help you: write essays, papers, and dissertations; create reports and presentations; develop articles, stories, and novels; publish online, and CD-ROM. Business, college and life always give us writing challenges and it is time you took control. This indispensable resource will help you be creative, get organized, be effective, and complete the task at hand.
Essential Writing Skills for College and Beyond Hone Your Writing Skills for Success in College and in Life! Every student knows that writing a successful college paper is no small undertaking. To make the grade, you need to express your ideas clearly and concisely. So how do you do it? In Essential Writing Skills for College and Beyond, you'll learn down-to-earth strategies for organizing your thoughts, researching the right sources, getting it down on paper...and earning an A.
How to Write a Paragraph : The Art of Substantive Writing Though close reading and substantive writing are essential skills for the educated person, they are frequently ignored in education. How to Write a Paragraph applies critical thinking tools to the process of writing to guide students towards developing clear, effective, and meaningful written communication. As a companion to How to Read a Paragraph, this volume in the Thinker's Guide Library includes activities to sharpen writing skills and overall reasoning abilities. Readers who work through this guide learn to be clearer, more purposeful, more aware of the assumptions guiding their thoughts, and more substantive in their approach to writing. As part of the Thinker's Guide Library, this book advances the mission of the Foundation for Critical Thinking to promote fairminded critical societies through cultivating essential intellectual abilities and virtues across every field of study across world.
Last Minute Term Papers Offers advice on producing a quality research paper in half the time, including tips on how to find material quickly, rewrite efficently, and proofread effectively.
Schaum's Quick Guide to Writing Great Research Papers This text offers information needed to be able to write a research paper, whether for school, business or personal purposes. Research papers are required of nearly all high school and college students, and professional people often have to research and present a topic to their colleagues.
Student Writing Handbook Now more portable and easier to navigate! Webster's New World Student Writing Handbook, Fifth Edition has been refreshed and updated to give you a more portable and efficient reference for all of your high school and college writing needs! From essays to feature articles, from book reports to scripts, you'll get coverage of all thirty-seven types of student writing, good writing principles, subject-specific writing samples, and important considerations for writing and the Internet. You'll enjoy updated coverage and improvements including: All-new sections on term papers A sleek interior design that makes content easier to navigate Brand-new coverage of specific considerations when writing for various subjects, including English, social sciences, science, business, and technical subjects Expanded content on job applications, college application essays, special program admission essays, and scholarship essays A companion Web site features concrete examples of the topics covered in each core subject area Acclaimed by fellow students, educators, and parents, Webster's New World Student Writing Handbook is your one-stop reference for writing top-quality essays, term papers, and reports--on any school subject.
Writing an Assignment : How to Improve Your Research and Presentation Skills Discover techniques and insights that will make writing your assignment enjoyable as well as successful. This is a practical book that gives you the tools and planning techniques for making light work of assignments, essays, reports and dissertations. Examples and mini case studies show the difference between good and bad practice. Self-evaluation exercises ensure you stay on the right track. My own students tell me they have found this book really useful.A" Pauline Smith REVIEWS: ...contains everything to need to know to write an assignment, from how to unpack a hypothesis, to referencingA" Reader Review AUTHOR BIOG: PAULINE SMITH, an experienced teacher, chief examiner and Open University tutor, was Head of Continuing Professional Development at Manchester Metropolitan University and a Senior Education Adviser with the Department for Education and Skills (DFES). She is how an independent consultant. CONTENTS: List of illustrations Preface 1. What is an assignment? 2. Making the right start 3. Analysing the title question or brief 4. How to plan and take notes 5. Drafting the structure 6. Improving your style 7. Presenting your final assignment 8. Improving through reflection 9. Where are you now? Glossary Further reading Index.
Your Research Project : How to Manage It This book guides the student through the transition from passive learner to active researcher. Covering everything from choosing and refining a research topic to writing the actual report, the book shows students how to manage their workload, and how to approach the viva. Key areas covered include: personal time management aims and objectives working towards success common problems the final report and publishing your results the viva voce examination. It is ideal for all final year undergraduates and students on Masters degrees, and contains useful information for course supervisors and tutors to pass on to the students who approach them for advice.

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

Academic Research and Writing : Inquiry and Argument in College This text shows that research is important beyond the classroom and is a necessary component in any career. Beginning with coverage of skills and techniques, this comprehensive text then moves into specific kinds of academic research tasks, showing the generic features and constraints of academic writing. The main issues necessary for understanding how to read and construct research projects are discussed, including plagiarism, copyright and patents, conventions used by different discourse communities, and how writers use sources in different ways.
Becoming an Academic Writer Becoming an Academic Writer helps you gain control over writing and publishing, master specific aspects of academic writing, and improve your productivity. Patricia Goodson's book offers weekly exercises and tools to achieve these goals. The exercises are grounded in a theoretically-sound and empirically-based mode comprising a set of behavioural principles (e.g., writing regularly, separating generating from editing) and specific practices (weekly exercises) which ensure success. Based on the work of writing theoretician Peter Elbow, the empirical research done by Robert Boice (and others) on writing productivity of college professors, and the research into the practice patterns of elite performers (such as Olympic athletes), the principles and practices have been developed and tested over time. Inside you'll find: Exercises tailored to specific segments of academic papers and reports Tips for ESL Writers boxes, providing additional support. This book uniquely combines these successful principles with a set of original exercises applicable to the writing needs of academics as well as students.
Essential Writing Skills for College and Beyond Hone Your Writing Skills for Success in College and in Life! Every student knows that writing a successful college paper is no small undertaking. To make the grade, you need to express your ideas clearly and concisely. So how do you do it? In Essential Writing Skills for College and Beyond, you'll learn down-to-earth strategies for organizing your thoughts, researching the right sources, getting it down on paper...and earning an A. Write any type of college paper: Techniques for writing term papers, essays, creative assignments, and more. Improve your writing: Brainstorm ideas, research like a pro, draft and structure your paper, and polish your writing. Master the nuts and bolts: Avoid common mistakes in grammar, spelling, and punctuation. Turn it in on time: Stay organized with timelines tailored for a variety of papers. Take it to the next level: Get advice for writing effectively after graduation and on the job. College writing may seem daunting, but it doesn't have to be. No matter what your major or field of study, Essential Writing Skills for College and Beyond will help you take charge of your writing, your grades, and your path to success.
How to Write Book Reports : Step by Step An introduction to the techniques of writing book reports and reviews, including how to read correctly, note taking, topic limitation, outlining, sample introductions, checklists, and suggested topics.
How to Write Successfully in High School and College Previous editions of this instructive manual were titled How to Write Themes and Term Papers. The new edition of this book guides secondary school and college students in preparing basic writing assignments and term papers. It also instructs on writing the latest college-admission essays. Advice includes researching and organizing information, editing rough drafts, avoiding clich©s, and solving spelling and grammar problems. Chapters on advanced writing cover business, government, science, and high-tech topics. Term paper chapters offer bonus instruction on preparing charts and graphs and researching on the Internet.
Refining Composition Skills : Academic Writing and Grammar The new edition of this best-selling series combines comprehensive development and practice in the rhetorical modes while integrating instruction in reading, grammar, critical thinking, and vocabulary development. -Developing Composition Skills focuses students on narrating, describing, analyzing,comparing and contrasting, classifying, and evaluating at the paragraph level and offers a complete introduction that bridges the gap between the paragraph and the essay level.-Refining Composition Skills develops essay writing skills needed for success at thecollege level by thoroughly reviewing and presenting the following rhetorical modes:compare and contrast, example, classification, process analysis, cause and effect, and argument
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research This new edition of the SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research represents the sixth generation of the ongoing conversation about the discipline, practice, and conduct of qualitative inquiry. As with earlier editions, the Sixth Edition is virtually a new volume, with 27 of the 34 chapters representing new topics or approaches not seen in the previous edition. To mark the Handbook's 30-year history, we are pleased to offer a bonus PART VI in the eBook versions of the Sixth Edition: this additional section brings together and reprints ten of the most famous or game-changing contributions from the previous five editions.
Sin boldly! Dr. Dave's Guide to Writing the College Paper Cheeky, original, and decidedly practical to boot, Sin Boldly! is unlike any other writing handbook available. Jammed with sage advice, genuine encouragement, and surprising examples (of how to write and how not to write), this book gives beginning writers and confident students alike an easy-to-follow roadmap for improving one of the most important skills for success. En route to Sin Boldly!-induced, A+ paper bliss, readers encounter such topics as#65533; Choosing a Topic and Telling Your Story ("K.I.S.S.-Keep It Simple, Stupid")#65533; Literary Games (featuring "Francobabble for Freshman")#65533; Choosing a Voice ("Dissing the Prof")#65533; Grammatical Horrors ("A does not equal they")#65533; Common Mistakes ("Hopefully and Other Controversies")Fully revised and updated with new examples, quizzes, and tips, Sin Boldly! is not only a comprehensive guide, but also a fantastic, fun read for anyone who wants to write clearly and effectively .
Writing Papers in College : A Brief Guide Writing Papers in College provides clear, concise guidance on a comprehensive range of composition topics--writing, research, and grammar--in a portable size and at a low price. Writing Papers in College guides students through all stages of the writing process--while also offering essential organizational strategies--using brief instruction that delivers just enough detail to help students be effective writers. Rather than weigh students down with an overly complicated presentation or belabored concepts, Writing Papers keeps advice short and sweet so that students spend less time reading about writing and more time focusing on their own work.