LibGuides: Writing, Research & Presentations for the Sciences: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

Science and Technical Writing: A Manual of Style With this new edition, Science and Technical Writing confirms its position as the definitive style resource for thousands of established and aspiring technical writers. Editor Philip Rubens has fully revised and updated his popular 1992 edition, with full, authoritative coverage of the techniques and technologies that have revolutionized electronic communications over the past eight years.
Scientific Writing : A Reader and Writer's Guide Check out the author's website at www.scientific-writing.comGiven that scientific material can be hard to comprehend, sustained attention and memory retention become major reader challenges. Scientific writers must not only present their science, but also work hard to generate and sustain the interest of readers. Attention-getters, sentence progression, expectation-setting, and “memory offloaders” are essential devices to keep readers and reviewers engaged. The writer needs to have a clear understanding of the role played by each part of a paper, from its eye-catching title to its eye-opening conclusion. This book walks through the main parts of a paper; that is, those parts which create the critical first impression.The unique approach in this book is its focus on the reader rather than the writer. Senior scientists who supervise staff and postgraduates can use the book to review drafts and to help with the writing as well as the science. Young researchers can find solid guidelines that reduce the confusion all new writers face. Published scientists can finally move from what feels right to what is right, identifying mistakes they thought were acceptable, and fully appreciating their responsibility: to guide the reader along carefully laid-out reading tracks.Contents:The Reading Toolkit:Require Less from MemorySustain Attention to Ensure Continuous ReadingReduce Reading TimeKeep the Reader MotivatedBridge the Knowledge GapSet the Reader's ExpectationsSet Progression Tracks for Fluid ReadingCreate Reading MomentumControl Reading Energy ConsumptionPaper Structure and Purpose:Title: The Face of Your PaperAbstract: The Heart of Your PaperHeadings/Subheadings: The Skeleton of Your PaperIntroduction: The Hands of Your PaperIntroduction Part II: Popular TrapsVisuals: The Voice of Your PaperConclusion: The Smile of Your PaperReadership: All scientists for whom the “publish or perish” saying applies, whether in academia or in companies engaged in research activities, and postgraduates writing dissertations or theses.
Scientific Writing: Easy When You Know How This comprehensive and practical book covers the basics of grammar as well as the broad brush issues such as writing a grant application and selling to your potential audience. The clear explanations are expanded and lightened with helpful examples and telling quotes from the giants of good writing. These experienced writers and teachers make scientific writing enjoyable.
Scientific Writing and Publishing in Medicine and Health Sciences : A Quick Guide Writing and publishing scientific papers is the core business of every researcher, but is often experienced as difficult and frustrating. Good scientific content of a paper alone does not guarantee its publication in a good journal, because various aspects affect the writing and publishing process. This book is a quick guide into effective writing and publishing papers. It provides authors with clear and concise key information on 12 major parts of the process, from how to get started to dealing with reviewers' comments. We describe each part succinct and easy-to-read, structured into background information (''What you should know''), concrete advice (''What you should do''), and a checklist of the main points to consider. Authors can read the book as a whole but can also use it as a reference book to look-up advice for a particular part while writing. With the information from this book authors from the medical and health sciences increase their joy in writing papers and their effectiveness in getting them published in good journals.
Successful Scientific Writing The detailed, practical, step-by-step advice in this user-friendly guide will help students and researchers to communicate their work more effectively through the written word. Covering all aspects of the writing process, this concise, accessible resource is critically acclaimed, well-structured, comprehensive, and entertaining. Self-help exercises and abundant examples from actual typescripts draw on the authors' extensive experience working both as researchers and with them. Whilst retaining the user-friendly and pragmatic style of earlier editions, this third edition has been updated and broadened to incorporate such timely topics as guidelines for successful international publication, ethical and legal issues including plagiarism and falsified data, electronic publication, and text-based talks and poster presentations. With advice applicable to many writing contexts in the majority of scientific disciplines, this book is a powerful tool for improving individual skills and an eminently suitable text for classroom courses or seminars.

Featured Print Books

Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.

The ACS Style Guide : Effective Communication of Scientific Information In the time since the second edition of The ACS Style Guide was published, the rapid growth of electronic communication has dramatically changed the scientific, technical, and medical (STM) publication world. This dynamic mode of dissemination is enabling scientists, engineers, and medicalpractitioners all over the world to obtain and transmit information quickly and easily. An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. This extensive revision of The ACS Style Guide thoroughly examines electronic tools now available to assist STM writers in preparing manuscripts and communicating with publishers. Valuable updates include discussions of markup languages, citation of electronic sources, online submission ofmanuscripts, and preparation of figures, tables, and structures. In keeping current with the changing environment, this edition also contains references to many resources on the internet. With this wealth of new information, The ACS Style Guide's Third Edition continues its long tradition of providing invaluable insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style for any STMauthor, reviewer, or editor.
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper This newly updated version of the classic guide to writing and publishing scientific papers provides the tools needed to succeed in the communication aspects of a scientific career. * Includes scientific graphs and photographs as well as cartoons by Sidney Harris, Charles Schulz, Jorge Cham, and others * Provides a glossary of nearly 100 key terms in writing, publishing, and related realms * Includes a thorough topic index
Principles of Scientific Research Students and researchers need more information than ever on STEM content and the practice of science. Unlike any other resource, this new title delves into the world of scientific research, to give high school and undergraduate students a better understanding of concepts and theories behind scientific research across all disciplines. These easy-to-understand articles will provide students and teachers with instructional articles about each topic and provide a context for application and incorporation into their own scientific practices.
Scientific Style and Format : The CBE Manual For Authors, Editors, and Publishers Scientific Style and Format: the CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, Sixth Edition, is a detailed and authoritative manual recommending both general and scientific publication styles and formats for journals, books, and other forms of publication. It covers all sciences, not just biology and the medical sciences, and both American and British preferences are recognised. Every author of a scientific paper or book will profit from this essential resource. Editors and publishers engaged in the sciences, students in the sciences, and translators of scientific papers destined for English-language publication will also find this manual an invaluable resource. It is far more up-to-date, more specific, more authoritative, and easier to use than any other reference to scientific style and format.
Scientific Writing and Communication : Papers, Proposals, and Presentations Scientific Writing and Communication: Papers, Proposals, and Presentations covers all the areas of scientific communication that a scientist needs to know and to master to successfully promote his or her research and career. This unique "all-in-one" handbook begins with a discussion of thebasics of scientific writing style and composition and then applies these principles to writing research papers, review articles, grant proposals, research statements, and resumes as well as to preparing academic presentations and posters.
A Short Guide to Writing about Chemistry This writing guide, by the author of Pearson's best-selling Short Guide to Writing about Biology along with two well-known chemists, teaches students to think as chemists and to express ideas clearly and concisely through their writing.
A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology This book provides practical advice to students who are learning to write according to the conventions in biology. Using the standards of journal publication as a model, the author provides, in a user-friendly format, specific instructions on: using biology databases to locate references; developing sound reading strategies; paraphrasing for improved comprehension; writing for a particular audience with the appropriate tone; preparing lab reports or scientific papers, posters, and oral presentations with accepted format and content; self-evaluating drafts; using peer and instructor feedback for professional development; and preparing oral presentations in PowerPoint.