LibGuides: Becoming a US Citizen: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

Becoming a US Citizen : A Guide to the Law, Exam, and Interview The path from green card to U.S. citizenship can be a winding one -- and running into bureaucratic hassles is inevitable. With Becoming a U.S. Citizen, you can get the job done, step by step. Becoming a U.S. Citizen covers topics that most other guides don't, helping you avoid troublespots. You may even be able to take advantage of special rules that allow some applicants to apply early, take the exam in their own language and more. The book provides forms with line-by-line instructions to fill them out, plus handy checklists that help you organize the application and interview materials. Book jacket.
A Beginner's Guide to America A stirring, witty, and poignant glimpse into the bewildering American immigrant experience from someone who has lived it. Also, a mirror held up to America. Into the maelstrom of unprecedented contemporary debates about immigrants in the United States, this perfectly timed book gives us a portrait of what the new immigrant experience in America is really like.   Written as a "guide" for the newly arrived, and providing "practical information and advice," Roya Hakakian, an immigrant herself, reveals what those who settle here love about the country, what they miss about their homes, the cruelty of some Americans, and the unceasing generosity of others. She captures the texture of life in a new place in all its complexity, laying bare both its beauty and its darkness as she discusses race, sex, love, death, consumerism, and what it is like to be from a country that is in America's crosshairs.   Her tenderly perceptive and surprisingly humorous account invites us to see ourselves as we appear to others, making it possible for us to rediscover our many American gifts through the perspective of the outsider. In shattering myths and embracing painful contradictions that are unique to this place, A Beginner's Guide to America is Hakakian's candid love letter to America.
Defining Documents in American History: American Citizenship This two-volume set examines how today's U.S. citizen was first imagined, how citizenship was established and codified, and how it has been refined over time. Essays also consider barriers to full citizenship, including voting rights, civil rights, prisoner's rights, immigration quotas, and the process of becoming a naturalized citizen. Slavery is also discussed, as slaves were not considered citizens at all and, in fact, only counted as three-fifths a man. Constitutional amendments, civil rights legislation, and a parade of court cases both advanced and prevented individuals from achieving citizenship. White women were considered citizens from the nation's earliest days, but they could not vote, hold office, or serve on juries, until the determined efforts of suffragists began the process of making all women full citizens with all of its attendant rights, including the right to vote. Native Americans were not officially U.S. citizens until passage of the Indian Citizenship Act in 1924.
Pass the U. S. Citizenship Exam This new translation is designed to help native Spanish speakers pass the U.S. Citizenship exam. It offers key information on the citizenship process in Spanish, as well as easy-to-read English. Candidates gain the confidence they need to pass the exam the first time by practicing the skills necessary to master the dictation, written, and oral sections of the exam.
U. S. Immigration Made Easy Highly recommended---Instructive and explanatory - United States Information Agency - Well worth the investment -- considerably less than what one would pay for an hour's consultation with a lawyer.- Irish Echo - It is user-friendly-and-doesn't intimidate like some lawyers - India Worldwide - Thoughtfully organized----a vast amount of useful information- Library Journal - A new option-- Save $500 to $8000 in legal fees.- Asian Week - Immigration is a jungle and the authors are helpful, patient guides - San Francisco Book Reader - Definitely ranks among the best.- University of California

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

Barron's U. S. Citizenship Test This manual has been updated to include explanations of recently instituted government procedures and regulations that pertain to application for United States citizenship. Progressive exercises, in addition to providing a review of information needed for the test, build practice in using spoken and written English. Topics include reviews of U.S. history, geography, and government, explanation of application procedures, advice on filling out citizenship application forms, and up-to-date information on eligibility for naturalization.
Citizenship Made Simple : An Easy-to-Read Guide to the US Citizenship Process Thousands of people apply for citizenship in the United States every year, and this fully revised reference provides valuable information for those wishing to apply-including foreign nationals who currently live and work in the US -- those who work with US Immigration and Naturalization Services, individuals who teach courses on US citizenship, English as a second language instructors, legal support staff, and others. Descriptions of the process, requirements, application procedure, and test samples are detailed. This edition provides the latest information on citizenship based on military service and also includes sample forms and a directory of Immigration and Naturalization Service offices and US passport agencies.
How to Become a U. S. Citizen Peterson'sHow to Become a U.S. Citizen is the perfect resource to help you pass the U.S. citizenship exam with flying colors! Learn about the benefits and responsibilities of citizenship, eligibility requirements, and what's involved in becoming naturalized. Follow step-by-step guidance on applying for U.S. citizenship. Prepare with practice questions for each portion of the new naturalization test, including civics and English speaking, reading, and writing. Selling Points: 1. Peterson's How to Become a U.S. Citizen offers readers the resources and expert guidance needed to become a U.S. citizen and to master the NEW naturalization test, which went into effect in October 2008. 2. Readers will find comprehensive information on the naturalization application (including citizenship requirements) and ways to prepare for the test, the naturalization interview, and the English and civics tests. 3. Five multiple-choice practice civics tests with answers and explanations, plus 100 practice civics questions, with answers-the exact questions that may be asked during the real oral exam. 4. Anyone thinking about becoming a U.S. citizen will find detailed information on the U.S. immigration system, including essential facts regarding visas (immigrant versus non-immigrant), green cards, and U.S. immigration laws. 5. Sample forms--filled in and blank--allow readers to practice and become familiar with what information is required and what is needed to properly submit the forms, including a complete list of mandatory fees.
McGraw-Hill's U. S. Citizenship Test with DVD This book provides a clear explanation of the U.S. citizenship test in language accessible to ESL students. The accompanying DVD provides audiovisual preparation for the interview.
Pass the U. S. Citizenship Exam This updated edition reflects the new exam and offers key information on the entire citizenship process in easy-to-read English. All official INS history and civics questions are covered as well as how and where to apply for citizenship.
U. S. Immigration Made Easy Green cards, visas, and more: What every immigrant needs to know Want to live, work, or travel in the United States? U.S. Immigration Made Easy has helped tens of thousands of people get a visa, green card, or other immigration status. You'll learn: whether you and your family qualify for a short-term visa, permanent U.S. residence, or protection from deportation how to obtain, fill out, and submit the necessary forms and documents insider tips on dealing with bureaucratic officials, delays, and denials strategies for overcoming low income and other immigration barriers, and where to find the latest immigration forms online. U.S. Immigration Made Easy provides detailed descriptions of application processes. There's also an immigration eligibility self-quiz, which helps you match your background and skills to a likely category of visa or green card--and avoid traps that might destroy your chances. The 18th edition is completely updated to cover recent legal and fee changes including an expanded provisional waiver of unlawful presence. NOTE: Does not cover naturalization.
Defining Documents in American History: American Citizenship This two-volume set examines how today's U.S. citizen was first imagined, how citizenship was established and codified, and how it has been refined over time. Essays also consider barriers to full citizenship, including voting rights, civil rights, prisoner's rights, immigration quotas, and the process of becoming a naturalized citizen. Slavery is also discussed, as slaves were not considered citizens at all and, in fact, only counted as three-fifths a man. Constitutional amendments, civil rights legislation, and a parade of court cases both advanced and prevented individuals from achieving citizenship. White women were considered citizens from the nation's earliest days, but they could not vote, hold office, or serve on juries, until the determined efforts of suffragists began the process of making all women full citizens with all of its attendant rights, including the right to vote. Native Americans were not officially U.S. citizens until passage of the Indian Citizenship Act in 1924.