LibGuides: Welding: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

Applied Welding Engineering: Processes, Codes, and Standards While there are several books on market that are designed to serve a company's daily shop-floor needs. Their focus is mainly on the physically making specific types of welds on specific types of materials with specific welding processes. There is nearly zero focus on the design, maintenance and troubleshooting of the welding systems and equipment. Applied Welding Engineering: Processes, Codes and Standards is designed to provide a practical in-depth instruction for the selection of the materials incorporated in the joint, joint inspection, and the quality control for the final product. Welding Engineers will also find this book a valuable source for developing new welding processes or procedures for new materials as well as a guide for working closely with design engineers to develop efficient welding designs and fabrication procedures. Applied Welding Engineering: Processes, Codes and Standards is based on a practical approach. The book's four part treatment starts with a clear and rigorous exposition of the science of metallurgy including but not limited to: Alloys, Physical Metallurgy, Structure of Materials, Non-Ferrous Materials, Mechanical Properties and Testing of Metals and Heal Treatment of Steels. This is followed by self-contained sections concerning applications regarding Section 2: Welding Metallurgy & Welding Processes, Section 3: Nondestructive Testing, and Section 4: Codes and Standards. The author's objective is to keep engineers moored in the theory taught in the university and colleges while exploring the real world of practical welding engineering. Other topics include: Mechanical Properties and Testing of Metals, Heat Treatment of Steels, Effect of Heat on Material During Welding, Stresses, Shrinkage and Distortion in Welding, Welding, Corrosion Resistant Alloys-Stainless Steel, Welding Defects and Inspection, Codes, Specifications and Standards. The book is designed to support welding and joining operations where engineers pass plans and projects to mid-management personnel who must carry out the planning, organization and delivery of manufacturing projects. In this book, the author places emphasis on developing the skills needed to lead projects and interface with engineering and development teams. In writing this book, the book leaned heavily on the author's own experience as well as the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (www.asme.org), American Welding Society (www.aws.org), American Society of Metals (www.asminternational.org), NACE International (www.nace.org), American Petroleum Institute (www.api.org), etc. Other sources includes The Welding Institute, UK (www.twi.co.uk), and Indian Air force training manuals, ASNT (www.asnt.org), the Canadian Standard Association (www.cas.com) and Canadian General Standard Board (CGSB) (www.tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca).
Audel Pipefitter's and Welder's Pocket Manual This little book is big on answers Whether you're an apprentice in the piping trades or a seasonedtradesperson, you'll find this completely revised and updated guidehas answers to the questions you'll encounter on the job. Get current, concise facts on * Metrics and conversions * Tungsten inert gas welding and arc welding * Steam heating, hot water, refrigeration, and air conditioningsystems * Grooved end/plain end piping systems * Process piping using plastics * Automatic fire protection systems * Terms, BTU fuel values, abbreviations, angle calculations, andmore
Corrosion of Weldments Corrosion failures of industrial components are commonly associated with welding. The reasons are many and varied. For example, welding may reduce the resistance to corrosion and environmentally assisted cracking by altering composition and microstructure, modifying mechanical properties, introducing residual stress, and creating physical defects. This book details the many forms of weld corrosion and the methods used to minimize weld corrosion. Chapters on specific alloys groups--carbon and alloy steels, stainless steels, high-nickel alloys, and nonferrous alloys--describe both general welding characteristics and the metallurgical factors that influence corrosion behavior. Corrosion problems associated with dissimilar metal weldments are also examined. Case histories document corrosion problems unique to specific industries including oil and gas, chemical processing, pulp and paper, and electric power. Special challenges caused by high-temperature environments are discussed. Commonly used methods to monitor weld corrosion and test methods for evaluation of intergranular, pitting, crevice, stress-corrosion cracking, and other forms of corrosion are also reviewed.
Handbook of Laser Welding Technologies Laser welding is a rapidly developing and versatile technology which has found increasing applications in industry and manufacturing. It allows the precision welding of small and hard-to-reach areas, and is particularly suitable for operation under computer or robotic control. The Handbook of laser welding technologies reviews the latest developments in the field and how they can be used across a variety of applications. Part one provides an introduction to the fundamentals of laser welding before moving on to explore developments in established technologies including CO2 laser welding, disk laser welding and laser micro welding technology. Part two highlights laser welding technologies for various materials including aluminium and titanium alloys, plastics and glass. Part three focuses on developments in emerging laser welding technologies with chapters on the applications of robotics in laser welding and developments in the modelling and simulation of laser and hybrid laser welding. Finally, part four explores the applications of laser welding in the automotive, railway and shipbuilding industries. The Handbook of laser welding technologies is a technical resource for researchers and engineers using laser welding technologies, professionals requiring an understanding of laser welding techniques and academics interested in the field.
Joining Processes: An Introduction This is an introductory text for students of materials science and engineering interested in the scientific background to the joining and assembly of components in engineering systems. The principles of joining and the common methods employed to achieve a reliable joint are covered in chapters that all conclude with a summary of the points covered, and a set of problems for individual study, or class discussion. In the first chapters, thorough introductory overviews are given of firstly, the mechanical, chemical and physical phenomena related to surfaces, contacts and joins. In subsequent chapters, any necessary metallurgical or chemical background is adequately covered to enable students to understand the basic principles of a variety of joining methods, microelectronic devices and vacuum assemblies. Contents: Introduction; Surface Science; The Mechanics of Joining; Mechanical Bonding; Welding; Weld Metallurgy; Soldering and Brazing; Metal-ceramic Joints and Diffusion Bonding; Adhesives; Vacuum Seals; Micro-electronic Packaging.
Principles of Soldering If you work with soldering processes or soldered components, Principles of Soldering will help you understand and solve practical engineering challenges. Clearly written and well referenced, this book takes you from the fundamental characteristics of solders, fluxes, and joining environments to the impact these have in the selection and successful use of soldering processes. Priority is given to the fundamental principles that underlie this field of technology rather than recipes for making joints. Striking a balance between being unduly simplistic or overly mathematical in their approach, the authors provide the critical analysis that is missing from much of the literature on soldering. An entire section is devoted to the difficult art of fluxless soldering and includes strategies for devising successful processes. The final chapter is devoted to recent advances in soldering technology and covers a variety of topics including lead-free solders, flip-chip interconnection, diffusion soldering, amalgams as solders, composite solders and other "hot" areas of research. Containing approximately 200 figures and 60 tables, this book updates and greatly expands the soldering content in the book Principles of Soldering and Brazing (1993) by the same authors. A companion volume, Principles of Brazing, is in development.
Solder Joint Reliability The decision to move to lead-free solders has been made, but processing and performance challenges remain. This paper considers the transition in terms of performance, with particular emphasis on long term, high reliability applications. Comparison of key mechanical properties indicates generally beneficial outcomes of the transition to lead-free alloys, although there is a lack of understanding surroundingˆanomalous’’ observations, such as the effects of the bismuth. The lower melting point of Sn-Zn-Bi alloys, together with their comparable mechanical properties, provide further impetus to address their shortcomings during processing. Some lead-free alloys, such as Sn-0.5Cu, are susceptible to tin-pest formation following prolonged exposure below 138C, and this possibility remains for the more concentrated Sn-3.8Ag-0.7Cu alloy.
Welding Complete, 2nd Edition : Techniques, Project Plans & Instructions Welding is a satisfying skill that will yield many rewards, Welding Complete shows you everything you need to know to become a competent and safe welder. Welding is a fun and surprisingly affordable activity, with complete welding kits available at home-improvement stores for just a few hundred dollars. This book shows you everything you need to know to become a competent and safe welder of a wide variety of metal projects. Featured projects include a coffee table, magazine rack, wine rack, truck rack, firepit, and gate. The time has never been better to learn to weld. New tools and equipment are lower in price and easier to use. Growing interest in metalworking has made supplies easier to come by, with most home-improvement stores now stocking a variety of metals and fuels. As interest in welding expands, the number of great plans and designs continues to grow. This updated edition of Welding Complete comes packed with fresh designs and up-to-date information, this new book is your personal metal shop teacher.
Welding Symbols on Drawings Weld symbols on drawings was originally published in 1982 based on BS 499 (British Standards Institution 1980), ISO 2553 (International Standards Organisation 1979) and ANSI/AWS A2.4 (American Welding Society-1979) standards. These standards have been through numerous revisions over the last few years; and the current standards are ISO 2553 1992, BSEN 22553 1995, and ANSI/AWS A2.4 1998. The American system of symbolisation is currently used by approximately half of the world's industry. Most of the rest of the world use ISO. The British system was standardised in 1933 and the latest of five revisions was published in 1995 as BSEN 22553, which is identical to ISO 2553. For many years an ISO committee has been working on combining ISO and AWS to create a combined worldwide standard, but while discussions continue this could take many years to achieve. This contemporary book provides an up-to-date review on the application of ISO and AWS standards and a comparison between them. Many thousands of engineering drawings are currently in use, which have symbols and methods of representation from superseded standards. The current European and ISO standards and the American standard are substantially similar, but the ANSI/AWS standard includes some additional symbols and also symbols for non-destructive testing. Although symbols in the different standards are similar, the arrows showing locations of welds are different, these important differences are explained. ISO contains limited information on brazed or soldered joints these are covered in ANSI/AWS. Some examples of the application of welding symbols are also included.

Featured Print Books

Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.

The Art of Welding  Overview Ryan Friedlinghaus, the celebrated guru of automotive customization and host ofWest Coast Customs on Fox Sports (read About the Author for more), adds practical knowledge to William Galvery's acclaimed welding insight and everyday tips and tricks developed over his long professional career as an educator. This unique and original book improves upon the shortcomings of competitive titles by providing complete, in-depth coverage of the equipment and techniques used in the most popular welding processes: oxyacetylene, stick welding, MIG welding and TIG welding. What's more, it presents information in a lively, easy-to-follow design. Each chapter contains the pros and cons of each process and information on equipment, setup, materials, safety and welding techniques. To provide a solid footing for the novice welder, there is a chapter that provides an overview of welding and another on tools and materials. The bulk of the book is devoted to the more popular welding techniques. The authors also provide a chapter on soldering and brazing and another on plasma cutting. The Art of Welding is perfect for anyone who wants to learn welding, to make repairs or as part of a hobby. Even experienced welders will discover many tips and procedures to improve their welding technique. Features Presents the accumulated experience and knowledge of two welding professionals. William Galvery provides insight to the proper use of equipment and the science behind welding, including how welding affects different metals. Ryan Friedlinghaus provides the tips and techniques he uses everyday at West Coast Customs. Offers in-depth information about all popular welding processes, step-by-step photos and an engaging design that will appeal to do-it-yourselfers and hobbyist who want a solid background in welding. Emphasis is placed on safety with sections on selecting the proper clothing and safety lens for welding. Each welding process includes tips on approaching the job in a safe manner. Contains troubleshooting guides offering users an opportunity to learn from their mistakes by comparing inadequate welds to the troubleshooting guides located throughout the book. A chapter on welding projects shows welders how to compensate for the natural distortion that welding causes to various metals
Blueprint Reading for Welders This hands-on, reader-friendly guide provides comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of welding symbols and their application to welding prints and practices. BLUEPRINT READING FOR WELDERS, Ninth Edition, uses step-by-step instructions and detailed illustrations to help you gain the knowledge and skills you need to interpret a wide range of working documents, from simple sketches to the most complex blueprints. The text covers auxiliary views, detail views, projections, sections, and detail and assembly drawings. Now updated and expanded, the new Ninth Edition features the latest AWS symbols and terms along with the ISO welding symbols,, current specifications and dimensioning practices, relevant industry developments, and cutting-edge information to support your professional success in this dynamic field.
Defining Documents in American History: Workers' Rights Volume 1 Explores the development of workers' rights in the United States from the country's founding to present. Documents examined include charters, constitutions, legislative debates, political speeches, historical accounts, court cases, disputes between unions andgovernments, and more.
Defining Documents in American History: Workers' Rights Volume 2 Explores the development of workers' rights in the United States from the country's founding to present. Documents examinedinclude charters, constitutions, legislative debates, political speeches, historical accounts, court cases, disputes between unions andgovernments, and more.
How to Weld Welding is a skill that any do-it-yourself enthusiast needs in his arsenal. It's only when you can join metal that you can properly repair and create. This book is the perfect introduction for neophytes and an excellent refresher for veteran welders, a work so comprehensive and so complete that most readers won't need any further instruction. How to Weld starts with a brief history of welding, an overview of the different types of welding, and a thorough discussion of safety practices. Longtime welding instructor Todd Bridigum describes various tools and types of metals, as well as techniques and types of joints. Bridigum discusses gas, stick, wire-feed (MIG and TIG), even brazing, completing each section with a series of exercises that fully illustrate the skills he has covered.
Metal: Forming, Forging, and Welding Techniques Metal is an unusually satisfying medium for many artists, but working in metal requires a considerable amount of specialized knowledge and practical skill. This book teaches those skills. It makes a fine textbook for apprentice metalworking artists, presenting a basic overview of the science of metallurgy, then discussing needed tools, safety equipment, and metalworking methods. Detailed chapters cover such techniques as welding, shaping, and cutting metals as a means of fashioning art objects and practical items. A variety of beautiful and useful objects are shown as they are being made in a series of step-by-step photos. Objects include weather vanes, wrought-iron decorative fixtures for inside and outside the home, trays, tables, and imaginative sculptures. Students are instructed in how to work with iron, aluminum, copper, zinc, and several other metals. The book is filled with hundreds of color illustrations.
Techcareers - Welding Technology This book provides a detailed overview to become a welding technician including the benefits, job options and skill requirements for succeeding in this rewarding career. Through course listings, welding programs and personal interviews with instructors, students, employers, and employees, anyone can gain insight into this exciting career field. Features include comprehensive listing of welding programs in the United States, an overview of educational requirements and career pathways and sample degree plans and additional sources of industry information.
Welder's Handbook : A Guide to Plasma Cutting, Oxyacetylene, ARC, MIG, and TIG Welding A newly-updated, state-of-the-art guide to MIG and TIG arc welding technology. Written by a noted authority in the field, this revised edition of HP's bestselling automotive book-for over 20 years-is a detailed, instructional manual on the theory, technique, equipment, and proper procedures of metal inert gas (MIG) and tungsten inert gas (TIG) welding.
Welding Complete : Techniques, Project Plans & Instructions. A one-of-a-kind welding book exploring the practical and decorative aspects of welding, with an emphasis on the hardworking projects most popular with serious workshop enthusiasts. It includes information on tools and materials, metal basics, setting up shop, safety, welding and cutting processes, but also includes dozens of plans for metalwork projects.
Welding for Dummies Get the know-how to weld like a pro Being a skilled welder is a hot commodity in today's job market, as well as a handy talent for industrious do-it-yourself repairpersons and hobbyists. Welding For Dummies gives you all the information you need to perform this commonly used, yet complex, task. This friendly, practical guide takes you from evaluating the material to be welded all the way through the step-by-step welding process, and everything in between. Plus, you'll get easy-to-follow guidance on how to apply finishing techniques and advice on how to adhere to safety procedures. Explains each type of welding, including stick, tig, mig, and fluxcore welding, as well as oxyfuel cutting, which receives sparse coverage in other books on welding Tips on the best welding technique to choose for a specific project Required training and certification information Whether you have no prior experience in welding or are looking for a thorough reference to supplement traditional welding instruction, the easy-to-understand information in Welding For Dummies is the ultimate resource for mastering this intricate skill.