Go to A-Z Databases: eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
Cyber Warfare
This timely handbook traces the development of cyber capabilities from their roots in information warfare and cryptology to their potential military application in combat. * Incorporates expertise from diverse viewpoints from the military, government agencies, industry, and academia * Provides an informative timeline of key events in the development of cyber warfare capabilities * Highlights the most prominent and effective cyber attacks in history as well as legal attempts to curb them
Designing Resilience : Preparing for Extreme Events
In the wake of severe climatic events and terrorist acts, and the emergence of dangerous technologies, communities, nations, and global organizations have diligently sought to create strategies to prepare for such events. Designing Resilience presents case studies of extreme events and analyzes the ability of affected individuals, institutions, governments, and technological systems to cope with disaster. This volume defines resilience as it relates to disaster management at specific stages: mitigation, prevention, preparation, and response and recovery. The book illustrates models by which to evaluate resilience at levels ranging from individuals to NGOs to governmental jurisdictions and examines how resilience can be developed and sustained. A group or nation's ability to withstand events and emerge from them with their central institutions intact is at the core of resilience. Quality of response, capacity to improvise, coordination, flexibility, and endurance are also determinants. Individual case studies, including Hurricane Katrina in the United States, the London bombings, and French preparedness for the Avian flu, demonstrate effective and ineffective strategies. The contributors reveal how the complexity and global interconnectivity of modern systems--whether they are governments, mobile populations, power grids, financial systems, or the Internet--have transcended borders and created a new level of exposure that has made them especially vulnerable to extreme events. Yet these far-reaching global systems also possess the ability to alert and respond at greater speeds than ever before. The authors analyze specific characteristics of resilient systems--the qualities they possess and how they become resilient--to determine if there are ways to build a system of resilience from the ground up. As such, Designing Resilience will inform a broad range of students and scholars in areas of public administration, public policy, and the social sciences.
Disaster and Recovery Planning : A Guide for Facility Managers
Disaster and Recovery Planning provides a rationale for systematically identifying and evaluating the hazards that create the potential for disas- ters. In doing so, it details specific strategies that are necessary to mini- mize the impact of disaster on a company’s operations.
APA (American Psychological Assoc.)
Gustin, J. F. (2002). Disaster and Recovery Planning : A Guide for Facility Managers. Lilburn, GA: Fairmont Press.
MLA (Modern Language Assoc.)
Gustin, Joseph F. Disaster and Recovery Planning : A Guide for Facility Managers. vol. 2nd ed, Fairmont Press, 2002. EBSCOhost.
Emergency Response Planning for Corporate and Municipal Managers
Emergency Response Planning for Corporate and Municipal Managers, Second Edition, outlines the essential roles of corporate and municipal managers when responding to a wide range of natural and man-made disasters. It demonstrates the importance of their relationships with federal, state, and local government agencies as well as public and private community sectors. Author Paul Erickson, one of the leading experts in the field, focuses on proactively planning for emergencies, particularly in the recognition and advanced coordination of response to incidents instead of simply implementing emergency measures. This book provides specific recommendations regarding the immediate and long-term health and safety of emergency response. End of chapter summaries and questions provide concise information on learning objectives and a review of important concepts. This book is recommended for graduate and undergraduate students studying emergency planning, management, and response; security, disaster recovery, loss prevention, and business continuity professionals and consultants; municipal managers involved in emergency planning and response; and corporate risk management/hazard professionals. Helps you to develop and implement an Emergency Response Plan Provides specific recommendations regarding the immediate and long-term health and safety of emergency response personnel End of Chapter summaries and questions provide concise information on learning objectives and a review of important concepts
Emerging Security Challenges: American Jihad, Terrorism, Civil War, and Human Rights
This book looks into four areas of our world's international security crisis: the growing threat of America's homegrown jihadists, the continuing rise of terrorism, the causes of gross violations of human rights, and the pervasiveness of civil war. * Examines four closely related security issues * Employs a systematic, empirical approach * Supports analysis with data * Makes feasible policy recommendations pertaining to growing security threats
Evolving Approaches to Understanding Natural Hazards
The 21st century presents many challenges to the hazard manager; dynamic climatic conditions combined with population growth, rapid urbanization, and changing socio-economic relationships are reshaping disaster impacts, community responses, and social safety mechanisms.
The Facility Manager's Emergency Preparedness Handbook
Facility managers have to know exactly what to do in response to any sort of emergency or disaster, and have a plan written, rehearsed and ready to deploy. Packed with detailed strategies and step-by-step guidance, this is a resource containing proven tools for emergency response planning.
Healthy, Resilient, and Sustainable Communities After Disasters : Strategies, Opportunities, and Planning for Recovery
In the devastation that follows a major disaster, there is a need for multiple sectors to unite and devote new resources to support the rebuilding of infrastructure, the provision of health and social services, the restoration of care delivery systems, and other critical recovery needs. In some cases, billions of dollars from public, private and charitable sources are invested to help communities recover. National rhetoric often characterizes these efforts as a "return to normal." But for many American communities, pre-disaster conditions are far from optimal. Large segments of the U.S. population suffer from preventable health problems, experience inequitable access to services, and rely on overburdened health systems. A return to pre-event conditions in such cases may be short-sighted given the high costs - both economic and social - of poor health. Instead, it is important to understand that the disaster recovery process offers a series of unique and valuable opportunities to improve on the status quo. Capitalizing on these opportunities can advance the long-term health, resilience, and sustainability of communities - thereby better preparing them for future challenges. Healthy, Resilient, and Sustainable Communities After Disasters identifies and recommends recovery practices and novel programs most likely to impact overall community public health and contribute to resiliency for future incidents. This book makes the case that disaster recovery should be guided by a healthy community vision, where health considerations are integrated into all aspects of recovery planning before and after a disaster, and funding streams are leveraged in a coordinated manner and applied to health improvement priorities in order to meet human recovery needs and create healthy built and natural environments. The conceptual framework presented in Healthy, Resilient, and Sustainable Communities After Disasters lays the groundwork to achieve this goal and provides operational guidance for multiple sectors involved in community planning and disaster recovery. Healthy, Resilient, and Sustainable Communities After Disasters calls for actions at multiple levels to facilitate recovery strategies that optimize community health. With a shared healthy community vision, strategic planning that prioritizes health, and coordinated implementation, disaster recovery can result in a communities that are healthier, more livable places for current and future generations to grow and thrive - communities that are better prepared for future adversities.
Homeland Security and Critical Infrastructure Protection
A compelling overview of the systems and strategies that have been implemented to safeguard U.S. resources from a plethora of threats, the vulnerabilities and security gaps in these infrastructure systems, and options to enable the future security of the homeland. * Provides a timely, relevant work that is crucial to understanding the current state of U.S. critical infrastructure security and resilience (CISR) * Offers a comprehensive examination of foundations and contemporary issues within CISR, using various real-world incidents as focusing events * Analyzes the 16 critical infrastructure sectors for purposes of comparison, analysis, and discussion * Investigates various threats and hazards--manmade, natural, and technological--that specifically affect CISR * Summarizes updated federal legislation and doctrine in a clear and concise manner * Overviews academic, training, and career preparedness resources for those interested in the field * Includes learning objectives, key terms, and discussion questions in each chapter to facilitate the book's use in an academic environment
Homeland Security Technologies for the 21st Century
A comprehensive textbook that overviews common technologies utilized within the homeland security enterprise with an emphasis on contemporary homeland security mission areas and end-user applications. * Provides an overview of technology trends and transformations from the viewpoint of contemporary homeland security mission areas and user applications as well as analysis of the impacts on contemporary and future homeland security practices * Comprehensively addresses the opportunities and risks associated with homeland security technologies * Supplies a taxonomy for homeland security technology types * Describes the methodologies for identifying technology needs and characteristics * Itemizes standards for promoting interoperability, compatibility, and system safety
Introduction to Emergency Management
Introduction to Emergency Management, Third Edition provides a comprehensive update of this foundational text on the background components and systems involved in the management of disasters and other emergencies. The book details current practices, strategies, and the key players involved in emergency management, especially in the U.S. but also around the world. Expanded coverage of local and state issues, particularly as they need to interact and work with FEMA and other federal agencies, adds value to public administrators locally tasked with protecting their community. The Third Edition is fully updated to cover FEMA's continually changing role within the Department of Homeland Security and the impact and aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. Lessons including proper planning, mitigation, in-crisis decisions, evacuation, and recovery shed light on how managers can avoid devastating breakdowns in communication and leadership during an event. Not only terrorist events but many such natural disasters require similar preparedness planning. Emergency planning is vital to the security of entire communities and thus an essential focus for research, planning and training. This new edition continues in its tradition of serving as an essential resource for students and young professionals in the discipline of Emergency Management. * Case examples provide current specific examples of disasters and how they were managed * Full-color hurricane Katrina section with event timeline * Written by 2 former FEMA senior officials who draw on firsthand experience in day-to-day emergency management operations
Introduction to Homeland Security
INTRODUCTION TO HOMELAND SECURITY was the first book to provide practitioners, educators, and students with a comprehensive account of the original and ongoing developments in the Department of Homeland Security's reorganization, as well as the practices, policies and programs enacted in relation to the government restructure. The new edition continues to prove the standard in providing the latest information on the developments in national security in the context of DHS. Continuing in the tradition of the first edition, the book recounts US Government and private sector actions taken since 9/11 in the areas of legislation, government organization, communications, technology, and emergency management practices. It is packed with reference sections, notations directing the reader to relevant publications and websites, and contributions from media reports or experts. Case studies provide insightful guidance for security managers having to deal effectively with similar situations. . The US Senate recently passed a $31.8 billion Homeland Security spending bill and universities are continually adding homeland security programs . Current edition has sold over 2,500 copies in less than one year . Includes an up-to-date, complete and comprehensive contact list of Federal and State government homeland security offices and officials
Learning from Megadisasters : Lessons from the Great East Japan Earthquake
While not all natural disasters can be avoided, their impact on a population can be mitigated through effective planning and preparedness. These are the lessons to be learned from Japan's own megadisaster: the Great East Japan Earthquake of 2011, the fi rst disaster ever recordedthat included an earthquake, a tsunami, a nuclear power plant accident, a power supply failure, and a large-scale disruption of supply chains. It is a sad fact that poor communities are often hardest hit and take the longest to recover from disaster. Disaster risk management (DRM) should therefore be taken into account as a major development challenge, and countries must shift from a tradition of response to a culture of prevention and resilience.Learning from Megadisasters: Lessons from the Great East Japan Earthquake consolidates a set of 36 Knowledge Notes, research results of a joint study undertaken by the Government of Japan and the World Bank. These notes highlight key lessons learned in seven DRM thematic clusters--structural measures; nonstructural measures; emergency response; reconstruction planning; hazard and risk information and decision making; the economics of disaster risk, risk management, and risk fi nancing; and recovery and relocation. Aimed at sharing Japanese cutting-edge knowledge with practitioners and decision makers, this book provides valuable guidance to other disaster-prone countries for mainstreaming DRM in their development policies and weathering their own natural disasters.
Living with Hazards, Dealing with Disasters
This is the first concise introduction to emergency management, the emerging profession that deals with disasters from floods and earthquakes to terrorist attacks. Twenty case studies illustrate the handling of actual disasters including the Northridge Earthquake and the Oklahoma City Bombing. Discussion questions and guides to on-line information sources facilitate use of the book in the classroom and professional training programs.
Pandemic Planning
Preparedness and rigorous planning on community, state, and regional levels are critical to containing the threat of pandemic illness. Steeped in research and recommendations from lessons learned, Pandemic Planning describes the processes necessary for the efficient and effective preparation, prevention, response, and recovery from a pandemic threat. This evidence-based book guides plan development and provides solutions to common strategic, ethical, and practical challenges to pandemic preparedness. Topics discussed include: The current threat of pandemics and how they relate to homeland security and emergency management Leadership and incident management structure as they relate to pandemic preparedness Computer simulation models and data visualization for strengthening prevention and control measures within a community Marketing principles and how they promote pandemic preparedness for a community Lessons learned from pandemic influenza exercises conducted with regional hospitals and how those lessons can be applied to other institutions Government resources available to assist with the planning for and monitoring of a pandemic event Economic and logistic concerns that arise during a pandemic Discussing preparedness across a variety of institutional levels, the authors' collaboration with national research leaders and community stakeholders has enabled them to assemble the most current and essential information available on pandemic preparedness. Their book distills this information into workable strategies to bolster public health, mitigate risk, and protect the population.
Public Health Emergency Preparedness
Public Health Emergency Preparedness: Practical Applications for the Real World is a comprehensive examination of the critical competencies necessary to prepare for and respond to Public Health emergencies.Starting with a historical context of the early preparedness need, the book defines emergency preparedness and the legal framework for the field. The book goes on to cover the full range of the field from hazards and threats to considerations for leadership development in the field. It includes information on roles and responsibilities of local, state, and national organizations, the cycle of practice for preparedness officials, as well as principles of incident management and response; and finally, considerations for leadership development in the field.With real-world stories and anecdotes throughout, the authors synthesize a wealth of material in an easy-to-read format that stimulates learning and provokes reflection about emergency preparedness.
Public Health Risks of Disasters : Communication, Infrastructure, and Preparedness -- Workshop Summary
The National Research Council's Disasters Roundtable and the Institute of Medicine's Roundtable on Environmental Health Sciences, Research, and Medicine were established as mechanisms for bringing various stakeholders together to discuss timely issues in a neutral setting. The goal was not to resolve these issues, but to create an environment conducive to scientific debate. The members of the respective Roundtables comprise representatives from academia, industry, nongovernmental agencies, and government, whose perspectives range widely and represent the diverse viewpoints of researchers, federal officials, and public interest. This report is the summary of a workshop was convened by the two Roundtables as a contribution to the debate on the health risks of disasters and the related need to build capacity to deal with them. The meeting was strengthened by integrating perspectives from these two fields, so that the agenda represented information from both communities and provided an opportunity to look at some of the most pressing research and preparedness needs for health risks of disasters.
Risk and Security Management : Protecting People and Sites Worldwide
Learn to measure risk and develop a plan to protect employees and company interests by applying the advice and tools in Risk and Security Management: Protecting People and Sites Worldwide. In a world concerned with global terrorism, instability of emerging markets, and hazardous commercial operations, this book shines as a relevant and timely text with a plan you can easily apply to your organization. Find a series of strategic to granular level policies, systems, and concepts which identify and address risk, enabling business to occur in a manner which best protects you and your company.
Terrorism, Political Violence, and Extremism
A must-read for psychologists--clinical and academic alike--as well as for political scientists, policy analysts, and others working in the realm of terrorism, political violence, and extremism, this book carefully explores the theories, observations, and approaches of authorities in the field and addresses how and why terrorism has perpetuated for so long. * Addresses how various groups are affected by terrorism, including children, older adults, and, arguably more relevant than ever before, refugees * Tackles the perplexing question of why terrorism has remained such a difficult problem to overcome * Includes contributions from Islamic subject matter expert, scholar, and author Dr. Sayed Ammar Nakshawani, listed among The 500 Most Influential Muslims * Serves as appropriate reading for students taking courses in subjects ranging from international psychology, military psychology and theory, political science, and political theory to religious studies, peace studies, military sciences, law enforcement, social work, feminist theory, public health, sociology, and anthropology
Terrorism and Homeland Security : An Introduction with Applications
Terrorism and Homeland Security: An Introduction with Applications provides a comprehensive introduction to the problem of terrorism and to its solution, Homeland Security. In addition to its extensive treatment of terrorism, the book describes public and private sector counterterrorism as well as all hazards emergency management. It presents national, state, and local perspectives and up-to-date information, including the reorganization of the Department of Homeland Security, the renewed Patriot Act, and intelligence reform. This book covers a wide range of issues, including such topics as the effectiveness of terrorism; weapons of mass destruction; privatization of counterterrorism; and wars of globalization. Learning objectives and key terms outline chapter content and highlight important topics. Scenarios are placed at the beginning of each chapter to explain concepts and relate theory to practice. The book includes Reality Check sections and critical thinking boxes to help the reader to formulate alternative perspectives on issues and events in order to seek creative and improved solutions to problems. At the end of each chapter are discussion questions that reinforce content and provide an opportunity for the reader to review, synthesize, and debate the key issues; applications that use assessment center and red team techniques to help the student develop analytical and decision-making skills in the context of understanding the mindset and planning processes of terrorist; and web links that provide direction for additional resources, information, and research. This book's primary market are students attending community college homeland security programs, as well as state, federal, and private security training programs. Its secondary market are professionals of the Department of Homeland Security and security professionals belonging to ASIS. Learning objectives and key terms outline chapter content and highlight important topics. Scenarios are placed at the beginning of each chapter to explain concepts and relate theory to practice. "Reality Check" sections and critical thinking boxes help the reader to formulate alternative perspectives on issues and events in order to seek creative and improved solutions to problems. Discussion questions at the end of each chapter reinforce content and provide an opportunity for the reader to review, synthesize, and debate the key issues. Web links at the end of each chapter provide direction for additional resources, information, and research.
The Three U. S.-Mexico Border Wars
This book addresses the three central issues that continue to dominate the U.S.-Mexico relationship today: drugs, immigration, and security. Nowhere is this more palpable than at the 2,000-mile border shared by the two countries. * Provides a historical perspective that is necessary to understand today's border conflicts * Includes new coverage of weapons trafficking, human trafficking, the diversified activities of organized crime, the role of drug consumption in America, the decay of the border infrastructure, the militarization of the border, and the effects of Arizona's immigration policy changes * Challenges current views about the border as unsafe, unstable, crime-riddled, and a burden on the nation * Portrays the border as a place of hope in need of better management rather than reinforcement of the security regime that has prevailed in the last decades * Includes a chapter on the Peña government and its effect on the binational relationship, the war on the Cartels, and escalation of violence * Draws on the author's current research and interviews with new government actors * Offers penetrating analysis and sound policy recommendations, particularly on how to achieve a truly binational border management system * Features a new final chapter that projects the future of the border over the next 25 years
Tracking and Predicting the Atmospheric Dispersion of Hazardous Material Releases
For many years, communities have prepared themselves to deal with accidental atmospheric releases from industrial sites, energy facilities, and vehicles transporting hazardous materials. Today, these communities must also worry about the terrorist threat of the intentional use of chemical, biological, and nuclear (C/B/N) agents. Because of this threat, the ability to predict and track the dispersal of harmful agents has become a critical element of terrorism planning and response. Our nationAAA1/2s capacity to respond to atmospheric C/B/N events stands, like a three legged stool, on the strength of three interconnected elements: 1) dispersion models that predict the path and spread of the hazardous agent; 2) observations of the hazardous plume itself and of local meteorological conditions, which provide critical input for the models; and 3) interaction with emergency responders who use the information provided by the models. As part of the National Academies continuing focus on issues of homeland security, Tracking and Predicting the Atmospheric Dispersion of Hazardous Material Releases examines our nationAAA1/2s current capabilities in these three areas and provides recommendations for strengthening them.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
All Hazard Field Guide : A Responder's Handbook Using the National Incident Management System's Incident Command System
The All Hazard Field Guide is a new generation NIMS ICS guide, that provides responders with more tools than ever for any type of emergency response, regardless of size or complexity. Chapters providing ICS position specific responsibilities are accompanied by chapters with job aids and "how to" checklists and figures that are derived from responder experience and have been field tested. The All Hazard Field Guide is a companion document to Beyond Initial Response: Using the National Incident Management System's Incident Command System.
Behind the Backlash : Muslim Americans After 9/11
How Muslim-American identity has been shaped by 9/11 and its after effects
The Big Ones : How Natural Disasters Have Shaped Us (and What We Can Do About Them)
By the world-renowned seismologist, a riveting history of natural disasters, their impact on our culture, and new ways of thinking about the ones to come Earthquakes, floods, tsunamis, hurricanes, volcanoes--they stem from the same forces that give our planet life. Earthquakes give us natural springs; volcanoes produce fertile soil. It is only when these forces exceed our ability to withstand them that they become disasters. Together they have shaped our cities and their architecture; elevated leaders and toppled governments; influenced the way we think, feel, fight, unite, and pray. The history of natural disasters is a history of ourselves. In The Big Ones, leading seismologist Dr. Lucy Jones offers a bracing look at some of the world's greatest natural disasters, whose reverberations we continue to feel today. At Pompeii, Jones explores how a volcanic eruption in the first century AD challenged prevailing views of religion. She examines the California floods of 1862 and the limits of human memory. And she probes more recent events--such as the Indian Ocean tsunami of 2004 and the American hurricanes of 2017--to illustrate the potential for globalization to humanize and heal. With population in hazardous regions growing and temperatures around the world rising, the impacts of natural disasters are greater than ever before. The Big Ones is more than just a work of history or science; it is a call to action. Natural hazards are inevitable; human catastrophes are not. With this energizing and exhaustively researched book, Dr. Jones offers a look at our past, readying us to face down the Big Ones in our future.
Chief Crisis Officer : Structure and Leadership for Effective Communications Response
An organization's crisis response involves public communications response: ensuring the general public, media, employees and other stakeholders understand (1) what has happened, and (2) what you are doing about it. Crisis events tend to ripple and echo long after the initial drama, as today's plant explosion is tomorrow's government investigation and next week's class action lawsuit. In this environment a fumbled ineffective response can mean the different between a crisis that is managed...and one that manages you. Chief Crisis Officer: Structure and Leadership for Effective Communications Response explains why every company and organization needs to identify a Chief Crisis Officer, who will take the lead in preparing the organization for crisis communications response, and responding effectively when the inevitable crisis hits. Using a mixture of real life examples, strategies, and tactics, the book will break down various forms of crises into their component parts and provide both a strategic approach and the proper tools to enable the Chief Crisis Officer to assemble his or her team, and respond--effectively and efficiently--when the crisis occurs.
Cities and Disasters
Cities and Disasters presents interdisciplinary and multinational perspectives on emergency management policy, economic development, and the various factors that affect the recovery process after natural disasters strike urban areas. The book has three central themes: policy, urbanity, and the interplay of events after disasters that affect the process of a community's return to normalcy. It covers differing approaches to emergency management policy at local, state, and federal levels, as well as economic development and redevelopment issues in urban areas. It also analyzes the issues of race and ethnicity involved in urban disaster response and recovery plans. The book looks at recent catastrophes such as Hurricane Katrina, Superstorm Sandy, and the 2011 earthquake and tsunami in East Japan. The case studies highlight the diverse challenges that communities face with regard to emergency planning and response. Given global climate change, rising sea levels, and the increasing impacts of disasters upon people, particularly in densely populated urban areas, there is a clear and urgent necessity to rethink issues involved in preparation methods for disasters and their aftermath. The analyses in Cities and Disasters help guide policymakers and policy actors in making decisions that strengthen communities for the future.
Columbine
EXPANDED WITH A NEW EPILOGUE "The tragedies keep coming. As we reel from the latest horror . . . " So begins a new epilogue, illustrating how Columbine became the template for nearly two decades of "spectacle murders." It is a false script, seized upon by a generation of new killers. In the wake of Newtown, Aurora, and Virginia Tech, the imperative to understand the crime that sparked this plague grows more urgent every year. What really happened April 20, 1999? The horror left an indelible stamp on the American psyche, but most of what we "know" is wrong. It wasn't about jocks, Goths, or the Trench Coat Mafia. Dave Cullen was one of the first reporters on scene, and spent ten years on this book-widely recognized as the definitive account. With a keen investigative eye and psychological acumen, he draws on mountains of evidence, insight from the world's leading forensic psychologists, and the killers' own words and drawings-several reproduced in a new appendix. Cullen paints raw portraits of two polar opposite killers. They contrast starkly with the flashes of resilience and redemption among the survivors.
Counter-Terrorism Technologies
This book critically discusses the role of technology for counter-terrorism in general, and for securing our vulnerable open societies in particular. It is set against the backdrop of the terrorist threat posed by the combined forces of Al Qaeda and ISIS/Daesh in the foreseeable future. The book commences by illuminating current and foreseeable tactics and weapons used by these implacable enemies - weapons that may well include chemical, biological, radiological and potentially even nuclear (CBRN) devices. In a second part, it introduces technologies already available or in development that promise an increase in safety and security when it comes to the dangers posed by these terrorists. This part also includes a critical discussion of advantages and disadvantages of such technologies that are, quite often, sold as a 'silver bullet' approach in the fight against terrorism. Controversies such as those triggered by the abuse of millimeter wave scanners deployed at several Western European airports will demonstrate that there are costs involved with regard to human rights. The third, analytical part takes the critical discussion further by arguing that the uncritical fielding of new surveillance and control technologies in parallel with the on-going outsourcing and privatization of key services of the state could well lead to dystopias as envisaged in a rather prescient way by the so-called cyperpunk novels of the 1980s. The book concludes with the question that any liberal democracy should ask itself: how far can we go with regard to hardening our societies against terrorist threats?
Crisis Communication : Practical PR Strategies for Reputation Management and Company Survival
Senior management and leaders within companies embroiled in crisis, have learned the hard way what happens when the unthinkable becomes a reality - an accident results in death or injury; a failed company takeover causes share prices to plummet; or toxic food, medicines and drinks leads to mass hysteria. All attention focuses on the guilty parties - and the media can be expected to make this crisis headline news within a matter of hours. No company or organisation is immune to crisis. Everyday, organisations run the risk of being affected. However, a crisis does not necessarily have to turn into a disaster for the business or organisation involved. Crisis Communication provides readers with advice on how to limit damage effectively by acting quickly and positively. Moreover, it explains how to turn a crisis into an opportunity by communicating efficiently, through the use of successful public relations strategies. Providing information on accountability; crisis communication planning; building your corporate image; natural disasters; accidents; financial crises; legal issues; corporate re-organisation; food crises; dealing with negative press; media training; and risk managers, Crisis Communication is a thorough guide to help prepare your organisation for any future calamities. Including international case studies, crisis communication checklists and sample crisis preparation documents, this book ensures that you are fully prepared for the absolute necessity of proactive crisis communication and proper planning, should you be confronted with a crisis.
Damage Control: The Essential Lessons of Crisis Management
No one knows this better than Eric Dezenhall and John Weber, who help companies, politicians, and celebrities get out of various kinds of trouble. In this brutally honest and eye-opening guide, they take you behind the scenes of some of the biggest public relations successes--and debacles--of modern business, politics, and entertainment. You'll discover: * Why the 1982 Tylenol cyanide-poisoning case is always cited as the best model for damage control, when in fact it has no relevance to the typical corporate crisis. * Why Audi never fully recovered from driver accusations of "sudden acceleration"--despite evidence that nothing was wrong with their cars. * What the crises faced by George W. Bush, Jim McGreevey, Sammy Sosa, Lance Armstrong, Martha Stewart, Coca-Cola, and the Catholic Church have in common . . . and what they don't. This new revised edition includes an additional chapter "Our Permanent Leakocracy" including information about WikiLeaks and what that notorious case means for business.
Dark Tide
Around noon on January 15, 1919, a group of firefighters was playing cards in Boston's North End when they heard a tremendous crash. It was like roaring surf, one of them said later. Like a runaway two-horse team smashing through a fence, said another. A third firefighter jumped up from his chair to look out a window-"Oh my God!" he shouted to the other men, "Run!" A 50-foot-tall steel tank filled with 2.3 million gallons of molasses had just collapsed on Boston's waterfront, disgorging its contents as a 15-foot-high wave of molasses that at its outset traveled at 35 miles an hour. It demolished wooden homes, even the brick fire station. The number of dead wasn't known for days. It would be years before a landmark court battle determined who was responsible for the disaster.
Disaster Recovery, Second Edition
Since the publication of the first edition of Disaster Recovery, a number of important new studies and guides have become available. Now revised, updated, and expanded, this second edition meets the high standards for providing evidence-based best practices in a user-friendly textbook set by its predecessor. It is also more international in scope, incorporating case studies from around the world, including coverage of the Haiti earthquake of 2010, the Japanese tsunami of 2011, and overseas recovery practices. Highlights of the Second Edition: Takes a more international approach by examining developments and recovery efforts from recent global disasters New case examples added to the beginning of each chapter Deepened practical content drawn from lessons learned through scientific studies and best practices developed over time Integrates content on social vulnerability in each chapter Links recovery to best practices in mitigation Each chapter includes learning objectives and key terms at the beginning as well as end-of-chapter questions to reinforce and expand learning. Also, information, studies, and best practices related to socially vulnerable populations are integrated throughout the book. Disaster Recovery, Second Edition provides a necessary update to a landmark text in the field of recovery preparedness and execution. The updates and expansions in this edition make it the new standard in the field for learning how to design and implement the best possible recovery efforts, as well as how to evaluate efforts.
Disaster Relief
Hurricane Katrina brought to light many questions about Americans' preparedness for handling large-scale disasters: Is FEMA effective? Are the local, state, and federal governments sufficiently coordinated? What is the role of the National Guard and the Army Corps of Engineers in responding to disasters? Is federal flood insurance capable of cutting costs? Examining these issues from different perspectives, ""Disaster Relief"" offers students the tools to form their own opinions by bringing recent events into balanced focus.
Disaster Response
It is impossible to ignore the relentless media reports of various human-made and natural disasters and the constant threats they pose to our society. Beyond the news headlines, recent disasters have prompted the restructuring of the U.S. government, namely the formation of the Department of Homeland Security and the reorganization of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). With the ever-present threat of disasters from hurricanes, tornadoes, earthquakes, floods, wildfires, landslides, drought, winter storms, nuclear accidents, terrorist attacks, and chemical contamination, the role of government in protecting the population seems more important than ever.""Disaster Response"" explores the issue of natural and human-made disasters and the nation's response to them in the popular Library in a Book format. It begins with a comprehensive, up-to-date overview of the history of the topic and the opinions surrounding it. Contemporary case studies range from the terrorist attacks of 9/11 to such natural disasters as Hurricane Katrina. Capsule biographies, a large annotated bibliography, a chronology of significant events, organization and agency listings, and a glossary also provide invaluable information for students, teachers, librarians, activists, policymakers, and general readers interested in exploring the controversy surrounding this issue.
Fire on the Mountain: The True Story of the South Canyon Fire
In 1994, a wildfire on Colorado's Storm King Mountain was wrongly identified at the outset as occurring in South Canyon. This unintentional, seemingly minor human error was merely the first in a string of mistakes that would be compounded into one of the greatest tragedies in the annals of firefighting. Before it was done, fourteen courageous firefighters--men and women, hotshots, smokejumpers, and helicopter crew--would lose their lives battling the deadly, so-called South Canyon blaze. John N. Maclean's award-winning national bestseller Fire on the Mountain is a stunning reconstruction of the killer conflagration and its aftermath.
The Great Influenza : The Epic Story of the Deadliest Plague in History
At the height of WWI, history's most lethal influenza virus erupted in an army camp in Kansas, moved east with American troops, then exploded, killing as many as 100 million people worldwide. It killed more people in twenty-four months than AIDS killed in twenty-four years, more in a year than the Black Death killed in a century. But this was not the Middle Ages, and 1918 marked the first collision of science and epidemic disease. Magisterial in its breadth of perspective and depth of research and now revised to reflect the growing danger of the avian flu, The Great Influenzais ultimately a tale of triumph amid tragedy, which provides us with a precise and sobering model as we confront the epidemics looming on our own horizon. John M. Barry has written a new afterword for this edition that brings us up to speed on the terrible threat of the avian flu and suggest ways in which we might head off another flu pandemic.
Heat Wave : A Social Autopsy of Disaster in Chicago
On Thursday, July 13, 1995, Chicagoans awoke to a blistering day in which the temperature would reach 106 degrees. The heat index, which measures how the temperature actually feels on the body, would hit 126 degrees by the time the day was over. Meteorologists had been warning residents about a two-day heat wave, but these temperatures did not end that soon. When the heat wave broke a week later, city streets had buckled; the records for electrical use were shattered; and power grids had failed, leaving residents without electricity for up to two days. And by July 20, over seven hundred people had perished-more than twice the number that died in the Chicago Fire of 1871, twenty times the number of those struck by Hurricane Andrew in 1992--in the great Chicago heat wave, one of the deadliest in American history. Heat waves in the United States kill more people during a typical year than all other natural disasters combined. Until now, no one could explain either the overwhelming number or the heartbreaking manner of the deaths resulting from the 1995 Chicago heat wave. Meteorologists and medical scientists have been unable to account for the scale of the trauma, and political officials have puzzled over the sources of the city's vulnerability. In Heat Wave, Eric Klinenberg takes us inside the anatomy of the metropolis to conduct what he calls a "social autopsy," examining the social, political, and institutional organs of the city that made this urban disaster so much worse than it ought to have been. Starting with the question of why so many people died at home alone, Klinenberg investigates why some neighborhoods experienced greater mortality than others, how the city government responded to the crisis, and how journalists, scientists, and public officials reported on and explained these events. Through a combination of years of fieldwork, extensive interviews, and archival research, Klinenberg uncovers how a number of surprising and unsettling forms of social breakdown--including the literal and social isolation of seniors, the institutional abandonment of poor neighborhoods, and the retrenchment of public assistance programs--contributed to the high fatality rates. The human catastrophe, he argues, cannot simply be blamed on the failures of any particular individuals or organizations. For when hundreds of people die behind locked doors and sealed windows, out of contact with friends, family, community groups, and public agencies, everyone is implicated in their demise. As Klinenberg demonstrates in this incisive and gripping account of the contemporary urban condition, the widening cracks in the social foundations of American cities that the 1995 Chicago heat wave made visible have by no means subsided as the temperatures returned to normal. The forces that affected Chicago so disastrously remain in play in America's cities, and we ignore them at our peril. For the Second Edition Klinenberg has added a new Preface showing how climate change has made extreme weather events in urban centers a major challenge for cities and nations across our planet, one that will require commitment to climate-proofing changes to infrastructure rather than just relief responses.
Heroic Efforts : The Emotional Culture of Search and Rescue Volunteers
Winner of the 2006 Outstanding Recent Contribution Award from the American Sociological Association, Sociology of Emotions Section Many search and rescue workers voluntarily interrupt their lives when they are called upon to help strangers. They awake in the middle of the night to cover miles of terrain in search of lost hikers or leave work to search potential avalanche zones for missing skiers, snowboarders, and snowmobilers in blizzard conditions. They often put their own lives in danger to rescue stranded, hypothermic kayakers and rafters from rivers. Drawing on six years of participant observation and in-depth interviews, Jennifer Lois examines the emotional subculture of “Peak,” a volunteer mountain-environment search and rescue team. Rescuers were not only confronted by physical dangers, but also by emotional challenges, including both keeping their own emotions in check during crisis situations, and managing the emotions of others, such as those they were rescuing. Lois examines how rescuers constructed meaning in their lives and defined themselves through their heroic work. Heroic Efforts serves as an easy to understand sociological introduction to the ways emotions develop and connect us to our surroundings, as well as to the links between the concept of heroism and other sociological theories such as those on gender stereotypes and edgework.
Local Disaster Resilience
Since 2000, the Gulf Coast states - Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Florida - have experienced a series of hurricanes, multiple floods and severe storms, and one oil spill. These disasters have not only been numerous but also devastating. Response to and recovery from these unprecedented disasters has been fraught with missteps in management. In efforts to avoid similar failures in the future, government agencies and policy practitioners have looked to recast emergency management, and community resilience has emerged as a way for to better prevent, manage, and recover from these disasters. How is disaster resilience perceived by local government officials and translated into their disaster response and recovery efforts? Ashley D. Ross systematically explores and measures disaster resilience across the Gulf Coast to gain a better understanding of how resilience in concept is translated into disaster management practices, particularly on the local government level. In doing so, she presents disaster resilience theory to the Gulf Coast using existing data to create county-level baseline indicators of Gulf Coast disaster resilience and an original survey of county emergency managers and elected municipal officials in 60 counties and 120 municipalities across the Gulf States. The findings of the original survey measure the disaster resilience perceptions held by local government officials, which are examined to identify commonalities and differences across the set of cases. Additional analyses compare these perceptions to objective baseline indicators of disaster resilience to assess how perceptions align with resilience realities. Local Disaster Resiliencenot only fills a critical gap in the literature by applying existing theories and models to a region that has experienced the worst disasters the United States has faced in the past decade, but it can also be used as a tool to advance our knowledge of disasters in an interdisciplinary manner.
Masters of Disaster
Whether you're a politician caught with his pants down, an investment bank accused of accounting improprieties, or even a family-owned restaurant with a lousy Yelp review, a crisis doesn't have to be the make-or-break moment of your career. Correctly managed, even the most embarrassing "reply all" can quickly become a thing of the past. InMasters of Disaster, Christopher Lehane and Mark Fabiani, reveal the magic formula you need to take control when it's your turn to be sucked into the vortex of the modern spin cycle. Covering the ten commandments of damage control, and based on their work for clients like Bill Clinton, Goldman Sachs and Hollywood studios, the authors outline the strategies that can make real time news alerts, Twitter trend lines and viral videos work for you rather against you. Full of both lively personal anecdotes and hard-knuckled straight talk, this is a must-read for anyone who wants to emerge with their reputation intact.
The Media Training Bible: 101 Things You Absolutely, Positively Need to Know Before Your Next Interview
Delivering an effective media interview today is more challenging than ever before. Today's media spokesperson must compete with shrinking audience attention spans, cope with social media overload, and confront sensationalized reporting. Given those challenges, how can you create positive messages that cut through the noise and motivate your audiences? How can you respond to difficult questions in a confident manner that increases your credibility? And how can you navigate your company through a media crisis so it becomes a mere blip instead of a reputation-destroying disaster? Brad Phillips, one of the world's top media trainers, will lead you through an engaging mix of 101 two-page lessons, three dozen real-life case studies, and several hands-on exercises. He will teach you how to become an effective media spokesperson, eliminate your fear, build your brand, and enhance your reputation. You will learn how to: -Master the ground rules for working with reporters -Create memorable media messages -Support your message with media-friendly stories, statistics, and sound bites -Deliver a winning interview -Answer tough questions -Adjust your approach for print, radio, television, and social media -Use positive body language that reinforces your message -Dress for television -Prepare for and manage a media crisis One of the most comprehensive and well-organized books ever published on the topic, The Media Training Bible will prepare you for today's media culture, in which a tweet can become newsworthy and a news interview can become tweet-worthy.
Pandemic Influenza : Emergency Planning and Community Preparedness
The swine flu emergency needn't become a crisis. This critically acclaimed work provides public health officials, doctors, responders, and emergency planners with accurate current information that will help them understand the nature of an outbreak, assess risk, answer public concerns, and develop informed strategies. Devoid of sensationalism and agenda, this CRC Press resource provides all the information needed to understand pandemic influenzas including, avian, swine, and human variations and outlines the steps needed to develop and implement prevention, stabilization, and recovery efforts as needed at the local level. "... an amazing resource ... Dr. Ryan has assembled some of the best experts in the field to guide you in understanding the threat of pandemic influenza and how it can affect you and the people you are responsible for. ..." --From the foreword by Lynn A. Slepski, Captain, United States Public Health Service Make certain your response to Swine Flu is proactive and informed Edited by Jeffrey Ryan, Institute for Emergency Preparedness, this volume #65533; Arms planners and responders with guidance from 13 leading experts Takes lessons from past pandemics Covers biological and clinical aspects of influenza Discusses pharmaceutical and non-pharmaceutical measures Details response actions related to communication, travel, and quarantine While the swine flu outbreak has impacted Mexico; influenza has no respect for boundaries and is already being felt up north. Despite warnings from the World Health Organization, our preparedness continues to lag. Part of the problem is that the real action must occur at the local level. Triage, care, and containment, along with maintenance of infrastructure, are functions that must be carried out by local planners and responders. The first section reviews the history of pandemics. The middle chapters examine the biology of a virus and clinical aspects of influenza. The final chapters examine international and federal programs and discuss response at the local level, including service continuation planning and fatality management.
The Power of Communication : Skills to Build Trust, Inspire Loyalty, and Lead Effectively
Communication is the absolutely indispensable leadership discipline. But, too often, leaders and professional communicators get mired in tactics, and fail to influence public attitudes in the ways that would help them the most. The Power of Communication builds on the U.S. Marine Corps' legendary publication Warfighting, showing how to apply the Corps' proven leadership and strategy doctrine to all forms of public communication -- and achieve truly extraordinary results. World-renowned leadership communications expert, consultant, and speaker Helio Fred Garcia reveals how to orient on audiences, recognizing their centers of gravity and most critical concerns. You'll learn how to integrate and succeed with all three levels of communication: strategic, operational, and tactical. Garcia shows how to take the initiative and control the agenda... respond to events with speed and focus... use the power of maneuver... prepare and plan... and put it all together, becoming a "habitually strategic" communicator.
The Resilience Dividend
Building resilience--the ability to bounce back more quickly and effectively--is an urgent social and economic issue. Our interconnected world is susceptible to sudden and dramatic shocks and stresses: a cyber-attack, a new strain of virus, a structural failure, a violent storm, a civil disturbance, an economic blow. Through an astonishing range of stories, Judith Rodin shows how people, organizations, businesses, communities, and cities have developed resilience in the face of otherwise catastrophic challenges: * Medellin, Colombia, was once the drug and murder capital of South America. Now it's host to international conferences and an emerging vacation destination. * Tulsa, Oklahoma, cracked the code of rapid urban development in a floodplain. * Airbnb, Toyota, Ikea, Coca-Cola, and other companies have realized the value of reducing vulnerabilities and potential threats to customers, employees, and their bottom line. * In the Mau Forest of Kenya, bottom-up solutions are critical for dealing with climate change, environmental degradation, and displacement of locals. * Following Superstorm Sandy, the Rockaway Surf Club in New York played a vital role in distributing emergency supplies. As we grow more adept at managing disruption and more skilled at resilience-building, Rodin reveals how we are able to create and take advantage of new economic and social opportunities that offer us the capacity to recover after catastrophes and grow strong in times of relative calm.
Rising Tide: The Great Mississippi Flood of 1927 and How It Changed America
An American epic of science, politics, race, honor, high society, and the Mississippi River, Rising Tide tells the riveting and nearly forgotten story of the greatest natural disaster this country has ever known -- the Mississippi flood of 1927. The river inundated the homes of nearly one million people, helped elect Huey Long governor and made Herbert Hoover president, drove hundreds of thousands of blacks north, and transformed American society and politics forever. A New York Times Notable Book of the Year, winner of the Southern Book Critics Circle Award and the Lillian Smith Award.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
