Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must be on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
Case Studies in Organizational Communication
This updated edition integrates ethical theory and practice to help strengthen readers' awareness, judgment, and action in organizations by exploring ethical dilemmas in a diverse range of well-known business cases. This volume explores a range of complex issues in today's organizations, addresses ethical concerns, and investigates the fundamentals that enable organizations to be simultaneously productive and ethical. Compiled with a variety of important examples of organizational communication ethics of today, case studies include the discussion of ethical dilemmas faced by Walmart, Toyota, Enron, Mitsubishi, BP, Arthur Andersen, Google, college athletics, and the pharmaceutical industry, among others. Through these case studies, students are able to directly assess ethical and unethical decision making in a rich, diverse, and complex manner that moves beyond simple explanations of ethics. This book is an invaluable resource for students and those interested in organizational communication ethics.
Having Difficult Conversations (HBR Emotional Intelligence Series)
Build your ability to discuss tough topics at work. At times in our careers, we face conversations that bring out tense emotions. Our instinct may be to avoid them entirely, but engaging in challenging conversations can create opportunities to build stronger work relationships, teams, and organizations. This book will help you learn how to communicate productively under stress, offer and accept critical feedback, and ensure teams walk away from challenging conversations feeling united. This volume includes the work of: Amy Gallo Rebecca Knight Liane Davey Joseph Grenny HOW TO BE HUMAN AT WORK. The HBR Emotional Intelligence Series features smart, essential reading on the human side of professional life from the pages of Harvard Business Review. Each book in the series offers proven research showing how our emotions impact our work lives, practical advice for managing difficult people and situations, and inspiring essays on what it means to tend to our emotional well-being at work. Uplifting and practical, these books describe the social skills that are critical for ambitious professionals to master.
HBR's 10 Must Reads on Employee Engagement
Engage your employees and transform your organization. If you read nothing else on employee engagement, read this book. We've combed through hundreds of Harvard Business Review articles and selected the most important ones to help you make your employees feel valued, motivated, and ready to do great things. This book will inspire you to: Invest in a culture of cohesive teams Turn employee feedback into action Learn why people quit--and how to retain them Curb burnout by designing better jobs Make HR a champion of employees Create a purpose-driven organization This collection of articles includes "Creating a Purpose-Driven Organization," by Robert E. Quinn and Anjan V. Thakor; "How Customers Can Rally Your Troops," by Adam Grant, "Why Employees Quit," by Ethan Bernstein, Michael B. Horn, and Bob Moesta; "The Power of Hidden Teams," by Marcus Buckingham and Ashley Goodall; "Do You Tell Your Employees You Appreciate Them?" by Jack Zenger and Joseph Folkman; "The Case for Good Jobs," by Zeynep Ton; "To Curb Burnout, Design Jobs to Better Match Employees' Needs," by Michael P. Leiter and Christina Maslach; "HR's New Role," by Peter Cappelli and Ranya Nehmeh; "Turn Employee Feedback into Action," by Ethan Burris, Benjamin Thomas, Ketaki Sodhi, and Dawn Klinghoffer; "Beware a Culture of Busyness," by Adam Waytz; "Collaborative Overload," by Rob Cross, Reb Rebele, and Adam Grant; "Designing the Hybrid Office," by Anne-Laure Fayard, John Weeks, and Mahwesh Khan; and "Blue Ocean Leadership," by W. Chan Kim and Renee Mauborgne. HBR's 10 Must Reads are definitive collections of classic ideas, practical advice, and essential thinking from the pages of Harvard Business Review. Exploring topics like disruptive innovation, emotional intelligence, and new technology in our ever-evolving world, these books empower any leader to make bold decisions and inspire others.
HBR's 10 Must Reads on Managing People
Bring out their best. If you read nothing else on managing people, read this book. We've chosen a new selection of current and classic Harvard Business Review articles that will help you earn your people's trust, build successful teams, and coach employees to help them reach their potential. This book will inspire you to: Balance the competing priorities of managing both up and down Identify the most common sources of conflict--and learn how to resolve them Fine-tune your management style using emotional intelligence Navigate the challenges of dispersed and hybrid teams Cultivate high engagement without overwork or burnout Find--and keep--the best people This collection of articles includes: "Leadership That Gets Results," by Daniel Goleman; "The Power of Small Wins," by Teresa M. Amabile and Steven J. Kramer; "The Leader as Coach," by Herminia Ibarra and Anne Scoular; "Superbosses Aren't Afraid to Delegate Their Biggest Decisions," by Sydney Finkelstein; "The Set-Up-to-Fail Syndrome," by Jean-Francois Manzoni and Jean-Louis Barsoux; "The Overcommitted Organization," by Mark Mortensen and Heidi K. Gardner; "Global Teams That Work," by Tsdeal Neeley; "Four Types of Team Conflict--and How to Resolve Them," by Randall S. Peterson, Priti Pradhan Shah, Amanda J. Ferguson, and Stephen L. Jones; "Why Employees Quit," by Ethan Bernstein, Michael B. Horn, and Bob Moesta; "The Feedback Fallacy," by Marcus Buckingham and Ashley Goodall; "To Excel, Diverse Teams Need Psychological Safety," by Henrik Bresman and Amy C. Edmondson; "Managers Can't Do It All," by Diane Gherson and Lynda Gratton; "Are You a Good Boss--or a Great One?" by Linda A. Hill and Kent Lineback. HBR's 10 Must Reads are definitive collections of classic ideas, practical advice, and essential thinking from the pages of Harvard Business Review. Exploring topics like disruptive innovation, emotional intelligence, and new technology in our ever-evolving world, these books empower any leader to make bold decisions and inspire others. This Updated and Expanded edition features new, breakthrough articles, additional short-form pieces, and a detailed discussion guide to give you and your team the tools you need for sustained success.
HBR Guide to Retaining Your Best People
Stop your top talent from walking out the door. Employees have a sea of options when it comes to where and how they work, and if they're not getting what they want, they'll move on. If the threat of having your top performers working for the competition isn't bad enough, high turnover can inflict serious financial and emotional costs on your company. The HBR Guide to Retaining Your Best People offers concrete advice and tactics to keep valuable employees engaged and loyal to your organization. You'll discover how to meet their intrinsic needs, create opportunities for career development, and build a workplace where they want to excel. You'll learn how to: Uncover the real reasons employees quit Discover the elements of work your people value most Ensure your team feels seen, heard, and appreciated Keep your employees learning and growing Adjust how your people work in order to offer flexibility and avoid burnout Identify where your retention strategies fall short--and fix them Arm yourself with the advice you need to succeed on the job, with the most trusted brand in business. Packed with how-to essentials from leading experts, the HBR Guides provide smart answers to your most pressing work challenges.
Humanocracy: Creating Organizations As Amazing As the People Inside Them
A powerful new edition of the Wall Street Journal bestseller that helps leaders build radically more human--and capable--organizations. Now more than ever, we need organizations that are daring, resilient, and creative. Unfortunately, when confronted by unprecedented challenges, most companies and institutions prove to be timid, plodding, and orthodox. The culprit is bureaucracy. With its top-down power structures and rule-choked systems, bureaucracy hobbles ingenuity and innovation. In a time of upheaval, these long-tolerated impediments are fast becoming competitively and economically untenable. Humanity needs and deserves something better. In Humanocracy, Gary Hamel and Michele Zanini make a passionate, data-driven argument for uninstalling bureaucracy and reinventing management as we know it. In this extensively updated and expanded edition, readers will find new and compelling case studies, the latest research findings, and a wealth of fresh and provocative insights. Humanocracy is both a manifesto for institutional renewal and a blueprint for building organizations that are as courageous, energetic, and ingenious as the people inside them. Essential building blocks include: Motivation: Rallying colleagues to the challenge of reimagining management as usual Models: Leveraging the experience of vanguard organizations that have successfully disrupted the bureaucratic status quo Mindsets: Escaping the industrial-age thinking that undermines the quest to build radically more capable organizations Mobilization: Activating a pro-change coalition to hack outmoded management systems and processes Migration: Embedding the principles of humanocracy--ownership, markets, meritocracy, community, openness, experimentation, and paradox--in your organization's DNA If you've finally run out of patience with bureaucratic bullshit; if you're eager to build an organization that can outrun change and outperform expectations; if you believe every team member deserves the chance to do something extraordinary, then this book's for you.
Human Resources in Research and Practice: The RQ Reader
Covering a broad spectrum of topics on HR management that are essential in today’s global world, this compilation includes real-life experiences and perspectives of HR professionals to illustrate the many challenges and opportunities encountered in the field. These articles offer insight into many aspects of the HR profession, including organization development, staffing management, employee relations, and effective communication. Demonstrating how HR can contribute to the success of the company’s strategy, mission, and goals, this record will be of interest to professionals and academics who will value the scope and depth of information.
Key Concepts in Human Resource Management
Key Concepts in Human Resources Management is an essential guide to the theories and issues that define the field - from the critical debates to the more practical considerations that every student should be aware of.
Lean but Agile: Rethink Workforce Planning and Gain a True Competitive Edge
As organizations strive to meet stringent budgets, the mandate to produce greater results with fewer resources is no longer sufficient. Rather than accepting less, managers and executives must strive for better--evaluating every process and every role and doing away with assumptions about how work gets done and who does it in order to streamline processes and maximize efficiency. William Rothwell, who was honored with the ASTD Distinguished Contribution Award in Workplace Learning and Peformance, presents a system for analyzing work and selecting the ideal combination of cost-effective resources--employees, consultants, contractors, temporary workers, and vendors--to accomplish it. Lean but Agile does this by teaching readers to focus on outcomes and work backwards--exploring the introduction, implementation, and management of lean work and agile staffing methods that will produce those outcomes. You'll also learn about advantageous changes in hiring, goal-setting, learning and development, and performance management, and the fundamental role technology can play in transforming your processes. Packed with practical advice, examples, guides, worksheets, diagrams, and metrics, Lean but Agile will help leaders, managers, and human resource professionals optimize their workforces while still achieving superior results.
Why Are We Here?: Creating a Work Culture Everyone Wants
A deeply human exploration of how our relationship with work has evolved--and a guide for leaders who aim to make things right--from the author of The Burnout Epidemic. Work has recently undergone profound changes, not all for the better. AI's acceleration has led to worker fears and uncertainties around job security. DEI initiatives are underfunded or canceled. The debate over remote, hybrid, and in-person work is growing more heated. And study after study confirms a widespread sense of employee unhappiness in the workplace. Workers are left to reexamine their relationship with work, asking themselves, Why are we here? Workplace expert Jennifer Moss, author of The Burnout Epidemic, takes readers to the front lines of this historic shift. Through extensive interviews, she uncovers why work has changed and highlights the leaders and organizations who have managed to build cultures that everyone really wants. Packed with fresh insights, new research, and compelling stories, Why Are We Here? illuminates this turbulent time and offers inspiration and practical guidance for leaders navigating our complex, ever-changing world.
Why Workplace Wellbeing Matters: The Science Behind Employee Happiness and Organizational Performance
The definitive account of workplace wellbeing and its key drivers, offering a fresh, data-driven perspective on the connections between happiness, productivity, and organizational success. Most of us spend a third of our waking lives at work. Work shapes our schedules, relationships, identities, and economies--but is it actually making us happy? This crucial question is explored in depth by leading Oxford researchers Jan-Emmanuel De Neve and George Ward, who provide the richest, most comprehensive picture of workplace wellbeing yet. In Why Workplace Wellbeing Matters, the authors clarify what workplace wellbeing is (and is not) and offer a framework for how businesses can approach and improve it. Drawing on extensive large-scale data--including the world's largest data set on employee wellbeing, gathered in partnership with the jobs platform Indeed--the book reveals the remarkable ways in which wellbeing at work varies across workers, occupations, companies, and industries. The authors present new, evidence-based insights into the origins of workplace wellbeing and how businesses can enhance the employee experience. Integrating work from multiple academic disciplines, they show that workplace wellbeing encompasses both how we think about our work as a whole and how we feel while doing it. Their research demonstrates that improving wellbeing can boost productivity, aid in talent retention and recruitment, and ultimately improve financial performance. With in-depth analysis and keen insight, De Neve and Ward debunk myths and test assumptions amid an often confusing cacophony of voices on wellbeing at work. Why Workplace Wellbeing Matters provides a firm foundation and indispensable resource for leaders seeking to shape the future of work.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
Fundamentals of Human Resource Management
Overview: Fundamentals of Human Resource Management, by Noe, Hollenbeck, Gerhart and Wrightis specifically written to provide a complete introduction to human resource management for the general business manager. This book is the most engaging, focused and applied HRM text on the market.
Overcoming the Five Dysfunctions of a Team : A Field Guide for Leaders, Managers, and Facilitators
In the years following the publication of Patrick Lencioni's best-seller, The Five Dysfunctions of a Team, fans have been clamoring for more information on how to implement the ideas outlined in the book. In Overcoming the Five Dysfunctions of a Team, Lencioni offers more specific, practical guidance for overcoming the Five Dysfunctions; using tools, exercises, assessments, and real-world examples. He examines questions that all teams must ask themselves: Are we really a team? How are we currently performing?
Reinventing Diversity : Transforming Organizational Community to Strengthen People, Purpose, and Performance
Diversity in business and other organizations has been a goal for more than a quarter of a century, yet companies struggle to create an inclusive work place. In Reinventing Diversity, one of America's leading diversity experts explains why most diversity programs fail and how we can make them work. In this inspiring guide, Howard Ross uses interviews, personal stories, statistics, and case studies to show that there is no quick fix, no easy answer. Acceptance needs to become part of the culture of a company, not just a mandated attitude. People still feel alienated because of their race, language, gender, sexuality, ethnicity, or culture. Many of these prejudices are unconscious and exclusions unintentional. Only through challenging our own preconceived notions about diversity can we build a productive and collaborative work environment in which all people are included.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
