Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
12-Lead EKG Confidence
Praise for the Second Edition: This is an excellent workbook for students or healthcare professionals who are just beginning to interpret 12-lead EKGs. The book covers what is expected, but the manner in which it presents the material brings much clarity to the topic. --Doody's Medical Reviews This handy, step-by-step guide for medical and nursing students and novice practitioners delivers ample information for confidently interpreting 12-lead EKGS. It goes beyond the many EKG books that rely on rote memorization by actively engaging students in the learning process. The guide fosters the understanding needed for students to comprehend, analyze, and interpret the variety of rhythm strips involved with 12-lead EKGs, and provides a solid grounding in the clinical relevance of dysrhythmias. This third edition features an expanded section on arrhythmias with double the amount of EKGs for practice, a revised worksheet design with larger 12-lead EKG printouts for readability, more practice worksheets and case studies, and additional 12-Lead EKGs in a digital folder for extra practice. Written clearly while avoiding a simplistic approach, the guide features a step-by-step progression that enables self-paced study. It presents basic principles of anatomy and physiology, including a review of the heart's electrical system, followed by foundational EKG concepts. The segment featuring the 12-Lead EKG rhythm strip is enlarged to ensure students can view the appropriate lead while seeing the entire strip. The guide discusses clinical reasoning for each type of rhythm and includes actual EKGs at the end of each chapter to test comprehension. Worksheets in each chapter include guidelines for interpreting actual EKG printouts and require students to practice measurement, evaluation, and analysis of rhythms and develop improved diagnostic reasoning skills. Case examples, Critical Concept Boxes, and tables highlight important points within the text. New to the Third Edition: Expanded Arrhythmia section with twice as many practice EKGs Revised Worksheet design offers larger 12-lead EKG printouts for readability More practice worksheets and case studies Additional 12-Lead EKGs in digital folder for extra practice Key Features: Facilitates step-by-step, self-paced learning Organizes EKG changes by causative abnormality Teaches clinical reasoning for each type of rhythm Includes plentiful worksheets for practicing measurement, evaluating and analyzing rhythms, and honing diagnostic reasoning skills Offers actual EKGs at the end of each chapter
Case Files: Microbiology
Students need exposure to cases from an early stage. This book presents 50 clinical cases emphasising the basic science aspects of microbiology, traditionally one of the most difficult basic science subjects. Each case includes an extended discussion, key points, and comprehension questions.
Clinical Microbiology: Quality in Laboratory Diagnosis
"About the Diagnostic Standards of Care Series A key issue for every laboratory and individual laboratory practitioner is the assessment of risk and a current working knowledge of the standards of care established for diagnostic testing via guidelines, major studies and trials. The Diagnostic Standards of Care series presents an overview of the key diagnoses in clinical pathology using case examples to illustrate effective analysis of the case in light of current evidence and standards for the problem discussed. In addition to being practical diagnostic guides, these volumes will have a unique emphasis on quality assurance and evidence-based testing practices and the role of the pathologist in ensuring quality and patient safety. Clinical Microbiology addresses common medical errors seen in the clinical microbiology laboratory in order to show these errors to pathologists and laboratory technicians as well as clinicians. The goal is to allow such errors to be corrected by both individual effort and a systems approach in the laboratory. The book addresses potential medical errors in test ordering and specimen collection, testing in the laboratory, and reporting and interpretation of test results. Each of these phases can have an adverse impact on the diagnosis and treatment of an infectious disease if a medical error occurs. Potential medical errors are described and discussed in a clinical case-based learning format to effectively illustrate the conditions that contribute to these errors and enable the reader to recognize and avoid them in daily practice. Clinical Microbiology Features Descriptions of potential errors in test ordering and specimen collection in clinical microbiology Descriptions of potential errors in test performance in clinical microbiology Descriptions of potential errors in test reporting and interpretation in clinical microbiology Clinical case discussions provide "real world" illustrations of potential errors and how to anticipate and avoid them in practice Is pocket-sized for portability "
A Concise Manual of Pathogenic Microbiology
A quick, concise reference to pathogenic microorganisms and the diseases they cause, this book is divided into specific groups of pathogenic microorganisms including bacteria, protozoa, fungi, viruses, and prions. It lists important pathogenic taxa in each group, covering their natural habitats, the diseases they cause, microbiological highlights, laboratory diagnosis, and measures of prevention and control, including availability of vaccines and effective therapeutic agents. All healthcare professionals and public health workers will benefit from having this reliable source of information at their fingertips.
Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications
Best money I have spent in a LONG time. "I'm a nursing student and part of our clinical rotation was to write down our patient's lab results and note on any abnormals why they were abnormal for my particular patient. This book lists out not just the normal levels, but what conditions can contribute to the high or low values. Sometimes it's pages and pages of possible reasons. This baby is a fantastic time saver for me."--Online Reviewer Great for nursing school, you will use it constantly. "Best nursing lab book I've encountered. Definitely worth the money."--Online Reviewer Accuracy. "Very useful in clinical settings. Easy to read! Love this book!"--Katrina, Online Reviewer The information nurses need...when, where, and how they need it! Nursing-focused and easy-to-read, this full-color manual delivers all the information you need to understand how tests work, interpret their results, and provide quality patient care--pre-test, intra-test, and post-test. Tests and procedures are listed in alphabetical order by their complete name for quick reference. The integrated index allows fast searches by abbreviation, synonym, disease/disorder, specimen type, or test classification. Explore MORE online! An access code in new print texts unlocks Fast Find: Lab & Dx, the complete study library online, anytime, anywhere.
Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology
This Third, Revised Edition of a unique, encyclopaedic reference work covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology in one volume. The Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology, Third Edition, Revised: Reflects the latest developments in the field Features over 18,000 entries from concise definitions of terms to review-length articles Provides extensive cross-referencing between topics Includes numerous references from scientific journals and other relevant sources With its wide-ranging description of different areas of microbiology, the Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology, Third Edition, Revised is an indispensable reference for every researcher, lecturer and student.
ECG from Basics to Essentials: Step by Step
This brand new guide assists students, interns and residents in developing a functional understanding of the set-up, workings and interpretation of ECGs Step-by-step graphics and short, bite-sized explanations Covers all major cardiac abnormalities including hypertrophy, arrhythmias, conduction blocks, and pre-excitation syndromes Begins with a section on physiology of the heart and the basic set up of ECG recording Features top tips on what to look for, complete with illustrated examples Supported by a companion website featuring additional practice tracings
Essential Microbiology
Essential Microbiology 2nd Edition is a fully revised comprehensive introductory text aimed at students taking a first course in the subject. It provides an ideal entry into the world of microorganisms, considering all aspects of their biology (structure, metabolism, genetics), and illustrates the remarkable diversity of microbial life by devoting a chapter to each of the main taxonomic groupings. The second part of the book introduces the reader to aspects of applied microbiology, exploring the involvement of microorganisms in areas as diverse as food and drink production, genetic engineering, global recycling systems and infectious disease. Essential Microbiology explains the key points of each topic but avoids overburdening the student with unnecessary detail. Now in full colour it makes extensive use of clear line diagrams to clarify sometimes difficult concepts or mechanisms. A companion web site includes further material including MCQs, enabling the student to assess their understanding of the main concepts that have been covered. This edition has been fully revised and updated to reflect the developments that have occurred in recent years and includes a completely new section devoted to medical microbiology. Students of any life science degree course will find this a concise and valuable introduction to microbiology.
Essentials of Clinical Infectious Diseases
This practical handbook provides readers with a quick but comprehensive overview of the major infectious disease topics and clinical approach to diagnosis and management. Covering the core areas of importance to students, residents, fellows, and practitioners in any discipline, the book presents a systematic method for understanding basic mechanisms, establishing a diagnosis, and implementing appropriate treatment for commonly encountered problems. Written in outline format with 46 short, focused chapters, this ready reference is essential reading for physicians looking for guidance in navigating the constellation of symptoms and myriad treatment options for patients with infectious diseases. Organized by body system, each section begins with a general framework covering clinical presentation, laboratory and diagnostic evaluation, and empirical antibiotic therapy. Individual chapters within sections are devoted to particular diseases and cover pathogenesis and risk factors, microbial causes, clinical manifestations, approach to the patient (history, examination, and diagnostic studies), diagnostic criteria, and medical, antimicrobial, and surgical management. Essentials of Clinical Infectious Diseases also addresses important related topics including antimicrobial agents, medical microbiology, fever and neutropenia, approach to evaluating leukocytosis, infectious diseases approach to SIRS and sepsis, and basics of infection control and hospital epidemiology. With this book, readers will have at hand the fundamental knowledge necessary to sharpen the clinical problem-solving skills that every medical professional needs to provide quality care to patients. Features of Essentials of Clinical Infectious Diseases include: A detailed discussion of core infectious disease topics Antibiotic information specific to the disease process with adult, pediatric, and OB-GYN dosing considerations Basic infection control procedures for hospitalized patients Coverage of important related topics References to current literature and classic articles for further study A focus on clinical approaches to evaluation and management of the patient "
Essentials of Medical Laboratory Practice
Consistent organizational structure for each chapter features an outline, introduction, objectives, key terms, certification standards, chapter summary, learning activities, case study, and additional resources. Pertinent CAAHEP and ABHES standards are outlined clearly in each chapter. Unit on collecting and handling specimens discusses how to gather and transfer blood, urine, and microbial samples. Coverage of advanced procedures performed outside of the physician's office, such as complete blood counts (CBC), provides perspective on samples gathered to be sent out. Microscopic photographs of hematology cells, urinalysis sediment, and more, illustrate exactly what is discussed in each chapter. Tables and charts, including reference range tables, summarize important information and case studies provide real-world context. "Point of Interest" boxes highlighting additional, pertinent information provide you with a context for learning. Test Your Knowledge sections and chapter review questions let you monitor your progress. Quality control considerations highlight the purpose and importance of proper testing protocols. Suggested procedures and result report forms outline procedures that can be performed in the practice lab. Patient considerations describe important patient information for each topic.
Focus for Excellence Laboratory Practice
Laboratory Investigation is a big tool for biological and medical work around the world. The present concept of laboratory investigation is to provide the best analysis. This covers several facets and all phases of the laboratory cycle. In this book, concept and scenarios on excellent laboratory practice will be discussed and presented.
Guide to Clinical Documentation
Develop the skills you need to effectively and efficiently document patient care for children and adults in clinical and hospital settings. This handy guide uses sample notes, writing exercises, and EMR activities to make each concept crystal clear, including how to document history and physical exams and write SOAP notes and prescriptions. This edition has been completely revised and upgraded with more in-depth coverage of documentation and its ramifications, more documentation samples to analyze and emulate, and even more learning tools.
The Human Microbiota: How Microbial Communities Affect Health and Disease
The Human Microbiota offers a comprehensive review of all human-associated microbial niches in a single volume, focusing on what modern tools in molecular microbiology are revealing about human microbiota, and how specific microbial communities can be associated with either beneficial effects or diseases. An excellent resource for microbiologists, physicians, infectious disease specialists, and others in the field, the book describes the latest research findings and evaluates the most innovative research approaches and technologies. Perspectives from pioneers in human microbial ecology are provided throughout.
Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology
A comprehensive and authoritative text that discusses the roles microorganisms play in human health and illness, with important correlations in moleulcar mechanisms, chemotherapy, and prevention.
Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Critical testing information and key clinical protocols in the palm of your hand McGraw-Hill's Manual of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests focuses specifically on what you need to know to understand the test, educate the patient, and provide safe, effective care before, during, and after the test. In addition, this easy-to-use clinical companion is the only text to actively incorporate evidence-based practice features throughout, both in test monographs and appendices-a major advantage that enhances your ability to apply the book's content to your daily practice. Features: A cohesive 5-part organization covering the full range of laboratory tests, diagnostic tests, laboratory/diagnostic assessments of body function, education, and screening Time-saving alphabetical organization of tests with handy thumb tabs Full-color icons that highlight the organization of each test, and clearly identify important features throughout Skill-sharpening references to national guidelines, including JCAHO Full coverage of clinical interventions/implications Essential insights into the possible meanings of abnormal values and contraindications Key references that pertain to evidence-based practice Timely appendix on the increasing use of evidence-based practice Critical patient teaching information
Microbes: Concepts and Applications
An accessible introduction to the world of microbes--from basic microbe biology through industrial applications Microbes affect our lives in a variety of ways--playing an important role in our health, food, agriculture, and environment. While some microbes are beneficial, others are pathogenic or opportunistic. Microbes: Concepts and Applications describes basic microbe biology and identification and shows not only how they operate in the subfields of medicine, biotechnology, environmental science, bioengineering, agriculture, and food science, but how they can be harnessed as a resource. It provides readers with a solid grasp of etiologic agents, pathogenic processes, epidemiology, and the role of microbes as therapeutic agents. Placing a major emphasis on omics technology, the book covers recent developments in the arena of microbes and discusses their role in industry and agriculture, as well as in related fields such as immunology, cell biology, and molecular biology. It offers complete discussions of the major bacterial, viral, fungal, and parasitic pathogens; includes information on emerging infectious diseases, antibiotic resistance, and bioterrorism; and talks about the future challenges in microbiology. The most complete treatment of microbial biology available, Microbes features eye-opening chapters on: Human and Microbial World Gene Technology: Application and Techniques Molecular Diagnostic and Medical Microbiology Identification and Classification of Microbes Diversity of Microorganisms Microbes in Agriculture Microbes as a Tool for Industry and Research Complete with charts and figures, this book is an invaluable textbook for university teachers, students, researchers, and people everywhere who care about microorganisms.
Molecular Microbial Ecology
Microoganisms are distributed across every ecosystem, and microbial transformations are fundamental to the operation of the biosphere. Microbial ecology is the study of this interaction between microorganisms and their environment, and arguably represents one of the most important areas of biological research. Yet for many years our study of microbial flora was severely limited: the primary method of culturing microorganisms on media allowed us to study only between 0.1 and 10% of the total microbial flora in any given environment. Molecular Microbial Ecologygives a comprehensive guide to the recent revolution in the study of microorganisms in the environment. Details are given on molecular methods for isolating some of the previously uncultured and numerically dominant microbial groups. PCR-based approaches to studying prokaryotic systematics are described, including ribosomal RNA analysis and stable isotope probing. Later chapters cover DNA hybridisation techniques (including fluorescent in situ hybridisation), as well as genomic and metagenomic approaches to microbial ecology. Gathering together some of the world's leading experts, this book provides an invaluable introduction to the modern theory and molecular methods used in studying microbial ecology.
Practical Aspects of ECG Recording
Practical Aspects of ECG Recording is for everyone who records or teaches ECGs. Most electrocardiography courses and textbooks skim over recording and place their main emphasis on interpretation. The purpose of this book is to shift the focus firmly back onto good recording technique as the fundamental starting point for developing ECG competency. Although the chapters are self-contained, pedagogical aids provide an opportunity to deepen learning through the integration of accumulated skills and knowledge. Each chapter contains review and comprehension questions, and key points which test the readerOCOs understanding, skills and knowledge on newly acquired topic areas. Active learning is encouraged through the use of OCywhat ifOCO prediction style questions and clinical scenarios which allow the reader to apply critical thinking, reasoning and problem solving skills. Each chapter ends with a summary of the key points. This provides a brief outline of the main concepts and facts discussed providing a revision snapshot of the topic area."
Practical Patient Safety
Following recent high profile cases of surgical error in the UK and USA, patient safety has become a key issue in healthcare, now placed at heart of junior doctor's training. Errors made by doctors are very similar to those made in other high risk organisations, such as aviation, nuclear andpetrochemical industries. Practical Patient Safety aims to demonstrate how core principles of safety from these industries can be applied in surgical and medical practice, in particular through training for health care professionals and healthcare managers.Whilst theoretical aspects of risk management form the backdrop, the book focuses on key techniques and principles of patient safety in a practical way, giving the reader practical advice on how to avoid personal errors, and more importantly how to start patient safety training within his or herdepartment or hospital.
Understanding Patient Safety
This book offers everything you need to deliver safe patient care or to improve patient safety in your organization. Understanding Patient Safety is the essential book for anyone seeking to learn the key clinical, organizational, and systems issues in patient safety. Written in a lively and accessible style by one of the world's leaders in the fields of patient safety and quality, Understanding Patient Safety is filled with valuable cases and analyses, as well as up-to-date tables, graphics, references and tools - all designed to introduce the patient safety field to medical, nursing, pharmacy, hospital administration and other trainees, and to be the go-to book for experienced clinicians and non-clinicians alike.Ths book features: concise coverage of the core principles of patient safety; all the key insights to help you understand and prevent a broad range of errors: including medication errors, surgical errors, diagnostic errors, errors at the man-machine interface, and nursing-related errors; a focus on how reporting systems, teamwork training, simulation, the malpractice system, and information technology can impact patient safety and quality; a practical overview on how to implement an effective safety program in both hospital and ambulatory settings; realistic case studies that illustrate key points and clarify pivotal concepts; and a detailed glossary, key references, and useful tools, websites, tables, and graphics.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
Berry & Kohn's Operating Room Technique
* Fundamentals of theory and practice
* The perioperative patient care team
* The patient as a unique individual
* The perioperative environment
* Surgical asepsis and sterile technique * Surgical instrumentation and equipment
* Preoperative patient care
* Pharmacology and anesthesia
* Intraoperative patient care
* Surgical site management
* Perianesthesia and postprocedural patient care
* Surgical specialties
Fischbach's A Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! The perfect point-of-care guide for nurses and health professionals caring for patients undergoing diagnostic tests and procedures, Fischbach's A Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests, 11th Edition, provides an essential foundation for safe, effective, informed nursing practice. This proven, comprehensive manual is organized the way a nurse thinks -- by specimen, function, and test type -- describing an extensive array of tests for diverse populations and delivering step-by-step guidance on correct procedures, tips for accurate interpretation, and expert information on patient preparation and aftercare. Extensively updated and easy to navigate, the 11th Edition clarifies the role today's healthcare providers play in quality care planning, individualized patient assessment, analysis of patient needs, interventions, patient education, patient follow-up, and outcome evaluation. This unique resource also alerts users to potential risks and complications, interfering factors, and more to ensure the most confident, competent application in clinical settings.
Microbiology for the Health Sciences
Microbiology for the Health Sciences is the market's leading textbook for microbiology for allied health students. It is the ideal source for health professions and nursing students who need to learn the basic microbiological concepts involved in the care of patients and protection against infectious diseases. The Seventh Edition is fully updated with the latest research, techniques, and philosophies of microbiology in the health sciences today. There are free online instructor and student resources on the book’s companion Website. For more information, visit http://connection.LWW.com/go/burton7e.
Mosby's® Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference
Perform today's important lab tests safely and accurately! With test entries organized the way you'll use them, Mosby's® Diagnostic & Laboratory Test Reference makes it fast and easy to look up current testing information. Concise monographs are arranged alphabetically and include vital information such as the type of test, alternate or abbreviated test names, test explanation, normal and abnormal findings, possible critical values, contraindications, potential complications, interfering factors, and guidelines to patient care before, during, and after the test. From the experienced author team of Kathleen Deska Pagana, Timothy J. Pagana, and Theresa Noel Pagana, this bestselling handbook offers a compact size, durable cover, and A-to-Z thumb tabs for quick reference while on the job. Alphabetically organized tests offer quick reference with A-to-Z thumb tabs. Each test entry begins on a new page, making tests easy to find. User's Guide to Test Preparation and Procedures provides an overview and guidelines for each type of laboratory test and diagnostic procedure to ensure that each is performed accurately and safely, and to prevent having to repeat a test due to an error. Normal findings for adult, elderly, and pediatric patients are included where applicable. Abnormal findings are highlighted with directional arrows, and are now alphabetized for fast reference. Possible critical values are highlighted to alert you to situations requiring immediate intervention. Icons for drug-related interfering factors alert you to the effects of pharmacologic agents on tests. Icons for patient teaching-related care indicate information that should be shared with patients and their families. Abbreviations for diagnostic and laboratory tests are provided inside the back cover, and appendices list blood tests used for disease and organ panels as well as symbols and units of measurement. Appendix with lists of tests by body system and by type allow you to quickly locate related studies. Inside front cover includes pages with easy-to-find information on common reference ranges for healthy adults, routine blood testing, and routine urine testing. Durable cover with rounded edges makes this manual ideal for use in the practice setting. NEW! Thirteen new monographs cover the latest tests and procedures; 11 outdated monographs are removed. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest research relating to accuracy of testing, diagnostic values of results, and patient care and education for each test.
Professionalism
This new addition to the Medical Assisting Made Incredibly Easy series gives students a thorough understanding of the professional traits and behavior required for medical assistants. A host character guides students through the material in a light-hearted, humorous, readable, extremely practical manner that makes teaching and learning fun. Boxes with eye-catching icons provide practical advice about workplace scenarios and other topics. More than 130 illustrations enhance visual learning. A free Instructor's Resource CD-ROM including PowerPoint slides, lesson plans, test generator, skill evaluation forms, case studies, and WebCT/D2L-ready materials is available to instructors who adopt the text.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
