American Sign Language the Easy WayCurrent estimates have more than one million people using American Sign Language (ASL) in the United States, including approximately 450,000 deaf people. As growing numbers of deaf students are integrated into standard schools, the need for ASL interpreters continues to increase. Today, many public education systems offer an ASL course as a language elective in their curriculum, and this book--which can be used to teach both interpreters and the deaf--is an ideal text for such courses. Following a general introduction to American Sign Language and Deaf Culture, the author explains the use of "facial grammar" as a preliminary step to learning and understanding manual signing. Two succeeding chapters present the first eleven key grammatical rules of ASL. The 36 lessons that follow are divided into four groups that put these rules into practice and introduce additional rules. All lessons conclude with a practice session that reviews the lesson's material and progressively develops the student's proficiency in communicating in ASL. Following each of the four groups of nine lessons is a brief chapter dealing with Deaf Culture. The book's many line drawings illustrate approximately 720 ASL signs and their multiple meanings. The author has focused the text to make learning American Sign Language as easy as it is useful, both for instructors and students.
Complete Idiot's Guide to Learning Sign LanguageYou're no idiot, of course. You studied a foreign language, you can give good hand signals to a driver parallel parking, and you know when your boss is in a bad mood based on body language. But when it comes to using sign language, you feel like you're all thumbs. Don't throw up your hands yet When you finish reading The Complete Idiot's Guide to Learning Sign Language, you'll have enough knowledge of the basic sign handshapes, grammar, and syntax to get started signing by yourself. In this Complete Idiot's Guide, you get:
Form, Meaning, and Focus in American Sign LanguageThe meaning of any linguistic expression resides not only in the words, but also in the ways that those words are conveyed. In her new study, Miako N. P. Rankin highlights the crucial interrelatedness of form and meaning at all levels in order to consider specific types of American Sign Language (ASL) expression. In particular, Form, Meaning, and Focus in American Sign Language considers how ASL expresses non-agent focus, similar to the meaning of passive voice in English. Rankin's analyses of the form-meaning correspondences of ASL expressions of non-agent focus reveals an underlying pattern that can be traced across sentence and verb types. This pattern produces meanings with various levels of focus on the agent. Rankin has determined in her meticulous study that the pattern of form-meaning characteristic of non-agent focus in ASL is used prolifically in day-to-day language. The recognition of the frequency of this pattern holds implications regarding the acquisition of ASL, the development of curricula for teaching ASL, and the analysis of ASL discourse in effective interpretation.
Grammar, Gesture, and Meaning in American Sign LanguageIn sign languages of the deaf some signs can meaningfully point toward things or can be meaningfully placed in the space ahead of the signer. This obligatory part of fluent grammatical signing has no parallel in vocally produced languages. This book focuses on American Sign Language to examine the grammatical and conceptual purposes served by these directional signs. It guides the reader through ASL grammar, the different categories of directional signs, the types of spatial representations signs are directed toward, how such spatial conceptions can be represented in mental space theory, and the conceptual purposes served by these signs. The book demonstrates a remarkable integration of grammar and gesture in the service of constructing meaning. These results also suggest that our concept of 'language' has been much too narrow and that a more comprehensive look at vocally produced languages will reveal the same integration of gestural, gradient, and symbolic elements.
Language from the Body : Iconicity and Metaphor in American Sign LanguageWhat is the role of meaning in linguistic theory? Generative linguists have severely limited its influence while cognitivist and functionalist linguists believe that meaning pervades and motivates all levels of linguistic structure. This dispute can now be resolved conclusively by evidence from signed language. Language from the Body rebuts the generativist linguistic theories that separate form and meaning and asserts that iconicity can only be described in a cognitivist framework where meaning can influence form.
Metaphor in American Sign Language"Only recently have linguists ceased to regard metaphors as mere frills on the periphery of language and begun to recognize them as corner-stones of discourse. Phyllis Wilcox takes this innovation one step further in her fascinating treatise Metaphor in American Sign Language." "Such an inquiry has long been obscured by, as Wilcox calls it, "the shroud of iconicity." American Sign Language's iconic nature once discouraged people from recognising it as a language; more recently it has served to confuse linguists examining its metaphors. Wilcox, however, presents methods for distinguishing between icon and metaphor, allowing the former to clarify, not cloud, the latter. As she explains, "If the iconic influence that surrounds metaphor is set aside, the results will be greater understanding and interpretations that are less opaque."" "Wilcox concludes her study with a close analysis of the American Sign Language poem, "The Dogs," by Ella Mae Lentz. In presenting Deaf Americans', Deaf Germans', and Deaf Italians' reactions to the poem, Wilcox manages not only to demonstrate the influence of culture upon metaphors, but also to illuminate the sources of socio-political division within the American Deaf community. Metaphor in American Sign Language proves an engrossing read for those interested in linguistics and Deaf culture alike."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
American Sign Language for Beginners : Learn Signing Essentials in 30 DaysA 30-day beginner's guide for learning American Sign Language There's an easy way to leap right in to learning American Sign Language (ASL). American Sign Language for Beginners delivers 30 days of lessons that will help you sign with those in your home, community, and classroom. From letters and numbers to essential vocabulary and grammar basics, this beginner's guide provides the essentials needed to develop a solid foundation for American Sign Language in the real world. Each daily lesson takes less than 30 minutes to complete and focuses on a single set of vocabulary or ASL grammar. Throughout the course, you'll find key phrases, helpful memory tips, signing practice activities, and insight into deaf culture. Start your ASL masterclass today. American Sign Language for Beginners includes: 30 Days of easy ASL--Start off right with an accelerated plan designed to help you begin signing in just one month. Easy-to-understand instructions--Lessons concentrate on a single idea or subject and include photographs to demonstrate signs. Everyday phrases--Daily instruction highlights vocabulary you're most likely to need as you explore ASL in your daily life. Jump-start your learning experience with American Sign Language for Beginners!
The American Sign Language Phrase BookOpen up a whole new world of communication through ASL You can easily learn ASL with help from The American Sign Language Phrase Book. With more than 500 phrases, this is the reference guide to everyday expressions in American Sign Language, providing a quick way for you to converse with deaf people. Clearly illustrated with hundreds of line drawings, this book focuses on areas such as health, family, school, sports, travel, religion, time, money, food and drink, and small talk. This edition's new chapter on technology boasts 50 phrases to help you communicate about the Internet, computing, video relay, and more. There is even a chapter that gives you phrases for communicating about signing: asking people to sign slower, indicating your fingerspelling ability, and requesting help with your fledgling skills. From asking simple questions (“How are you?”) to more complex phrases (“There's no sign for that, you have to fingerspell it.”), The American Sign Language Phrase Book gives you the power to communicate easily and comfortably in ASL.
Don't Just Sign... Communicate!: A Student's Guide to Mastering ASL GrammarAre You Making Common Signing Errors? Make no mistake about it... when venturing into the world of American Sign Language, the first thing you must understand is that ASL is its own language. It is different from English. ASL is also not like other Signing Systems. Like any other Language, ASL contains its own unique rules of syntax, phonology, grammar, etc. To become fluent in the ASL language, you must first be armed with these essential rules and terminology. Don't Just "Sign"... Communicate methodically takes you, step-by-step, through the essentials of ASL Grammar to prepare you to truly and effectively communicate in and understand ASL. This carefully outlined guide not only illustrates the importance of understanding ASL's overall differences in grammar, the topics are broken up into the six (6) major aspects of the language, making it that much easier for you to understand and follow Here's just a glimpse of what you'll find in this guide: - Get the "inside scoop" about ASL -- Learn vocabulary concepts not taught in most ASL dictionaries and discover the most essential ASL grammar rules. - Packed full with "must have" tools, a glossary of over 200 terms, and a grammar study sheet you'll use again and again - Everything you need in just one place... And answers to questions you may not even know to ask... Regardless of your reasons for learning to communicate in ASL, once you have read this book with its expert advice and hints, you will truly be prepared to master the communication nuances of the ASL Language
The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language*More than 3,000 ASL Sign Illustrations *Fully Searchable Full-Color DVD Featuring Every Sign *Special ASL Classifier Section *Complete Index of English Synonyms for Every Sign Created by an unparalleled board of experts led by renowned ASL linguist and poet Clayton Valli, The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language represents the culmination of more than five years of meticulous assessment and labor. More than 3,000 illustrations arrayed in this volume display the most useful selection of signs to be found in any single ASL reference resource. Each sign illustration, including depictions of fingerspelling when appropriate, incorporates a complete list of English synonyms. A full, alphabetized English index enables users to cross-reference words and signs throughout the entire volume. The comprehensive introduction lays the groundwork for learning ASL by explaining in plain language the workings of ASL syntax and structure. It also offers examples of idioms and describes the antecedents of ASL, its place in the Deaf community, and its meaning in Deaf culture. This extraordinary reference also provides a special section unique to this volume on ASL classifiers and their use. Readers will find complete descriptions of the various classifiers and examples of how to use these integral facets of ASL. The full-color DVD included with this dictionary features a diverse group of native ASL signers demonstrating how to form each of the 3,077 signs. Fully searchable, users can view a sign and quickly go to its synonyms. This and the many other exclusive features in The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language combine to make it the outstanding ASL reference for all instructors, students, and users of ASL.